Originally posted by sbst275:should anyone of us go try whether 160 & 170 can really cross x-fer now?
really this one is worse than cannot transfer between 160 & 170
must be something with the suspend/resume mechanism not recognizing 170 & 170x anymore just because they're variants of the same service.
but then, on the ground we really have to find out. and not many people actually takes a bus out to JB Sentral or Kotaraya II Ter, from what I know, whether they're transferring from 160 or 170.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:really this one is worse than cannot transfer between 160 & 170
must be something with the suspend/resume mechanism not recognizing 170 & 170x anymore just because they're variants of the same service.
but then, on the ground we really have to find out. and not many people actually takes a bus out to JB Sentral or Kotaraya II Ter, from what I know, whether they're transferring from 160 or 170.
no wo.. 170X & 170 still cannot cross.. 160 & 170, 160 & 170X boleh. So Parc Oasis > Woodlands Ctr connection DBTF accepted. As in online calculator.
Seriously 170X is meant to relieve Kranji & Woodlands Centre.
Wat abt from JB to SIN? Not many board from Kota Raya?
160, 170, 170X tis one is kena owned.
Really lor, if they want to play 'no x-fer to same service' for CIQ, I think ICA confirm going to faint w/ chaotic situation.
Just let ppl take any bus to clear e other side of e CIQ.
reminds me
Sv 405 is massive fare reduction.
Originally posted by sbst275:
no wo.. 170X & 170 still cannot cross.. 160 & 170, 160 & 170X boleh. So Parc Oasis > Woodlands Ctr connection DBTF accepted. As in online calculator.Seriously 170X is meant to relieve Kranji & Woodlands Centre.
Wat abt from JB to SIN? Not many board from Kota Raya?
actually agu also know right, cos nobody really takes a bus out to JB Sentral when they can just walk out from the CIQ to JB Sentral immediately after immigration clearance, without having to wait for a bus as well. as for kotaraya II, there's really nothing more than a relief point for drivers and the senai airport shuttle. the nearest places (public bank building or pasar seni) are a walk away. this is based on my observation lah.
KRT towards SIN, surprisingly, usually has people waiting for any bus out to the checkpoint, and sometimes i observed that we can have 10 pax boarding a bus, though most of the pax still only start their journey from JB CIQ or Larkin.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:actually agu also know right, cos nobody really takes a bus out to JB Sentral when they can just walk out from the CIQ to JB Sentral immediately after immigration clearance, without having to wait for a bus as well. as for kotaraya II, there's really nothing more than a relief point for drivers and the senai airport shuttle. the nearest places (public bank building or pasar seni) are a walk away. this is based on my observation lah.
KRT towards SIN, surprisingly, usually has people waiting for any bus out to the checkpoint, and sometimes i observed that we can have 10 pax boarding a bus, though most of the pax still only start their journey from JB CIQ or Larkin.
I know esp there's a bridge link to City Square now. Only tat I've never been taking 170 via e new CIQ
. In any case KRT > SIN gets some fare reduction w/ MRT x-fer.
So tat means ppl waiting to reboard 170 are usually heading to Larkin? I remembered last time to Larkin no pao jiak full, but out to SIN is pao jiak.
Originally posted by sbst275:Found a loophole
Bishan St 22/ Opp Bishan Nth Shopping Mall > Bishan MRT > HarbourFront > RWS.
If I take 13 > NSL/ NEL > 188R/ 963R to and fro, it cost $4.56 (2x $2.28). 188R/ 963R to and fro is $2.03 combi.
But if I take 13 > NSL/ NEL, the fare alone is $1.56. So w/ RWS8's $2 fare, it's $5.12!
Pre DBTF would have been $5.42 for both option.
Just take the free RWS shuttle from Bishan MRT and your ride is 71c 1 direction! :)
Originally posted by service_238:
Just take the free RWS shuttle from Bishan MRT and your ride is 71c 1 direction! :)
reminds me
Now there's free RWS shuttle from Jurong East & Tampines.
It used to be cheaper to take 178 straight from Parc Oasis to Woodlands Centre, now it's 160 > 170/ 178 combi.
Pre DBTF
178 direct: $1.31
MRT > 170/ 178 @ Kranji: $1.60
160 > 170/ 178: $1.52/ $1.40 depending on which bus stop x-fer pt.
Now
178 direct: $1.53
MRT > 170/ 178: $1.50
160 > 170/ 178: $1.41.
Originally posted by sbst275:
reminds meNow there's free RWS shuttle from Jurong East & Tampines.
yes. received pamphlet at my door. every hour till 10pm last bus! midnight on fri/sat. can go sentosa free riaos! opposite my house nia.
Originally posted by service_238:
swee la! ![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:I know esp there's a bridge link to City Square now. Only tat I've never been taking 170 via e new CIQ
. In any case KRT > SIN gets some fare reduction w/ MRT x-fer.
So tat means ppl waiting to reboard 170 are usually heading to Larkin? I remembered last time to Larkin no pao jiak full, but out to SIN is pao jiak.
most ppl at JB usually board or alight directly at e customs there..
Originally posted by sinicker:yes. received pamphlet at my door. every hour till 10pm last bus! midnight on fri/sat. can go sentosa free riaos! opposite my house nia.
I think more to come.. .lol
Originally posted by ngyk:With distance fares, bus fares are still cheaper than MRT fares…...........a trip on bus service 969 from Yishun to Tampines cost $1.67 while a MRT trip cost $1.86….......a difference of about $0.20.
Actually it all depends on the connection.
Dun forget MRT is fixed to its constructed tracks travelling the focal areas while buses are flexible to either using the most direct or serving the mass routing.
wat the?
From BNL to Jurong West St 63 is 0.8km, back is 0.5km?
Originally posted by sbst275:wat the?
distance from berth to exit traffic light also counted ah go round the bus park. ![]()
Originally posted by sinicker:distance from berth to exit traffic light also counted ah go round the bus park.
dun forget
For Svs like 75, 177... Bet Bt Panjang Int/ LRT Stop & Bt Panjang Int/ Alighting Bay is 0.1km inside DBTF.
kay kao until like that ![]()
in theory, distances for opposite directions on the same 2-way road should be the same, unless they are one way roads such as those in the city, Bendemeer, Serangoon road etc...
but then remember.. last time 156/159 turn out from Sengkang Int to Compasspoint stop already incur 1.0 fare stage...
thinking of it.. I wonder how calculative they are... 51m round up to 100m?
Originally posted by 105090:kay kao until like that
in theory, distances for opposite directions on the same 2-way road should be the same, unless they are one way roads such as those in the city, Bendemeer, Serangoon road etc...
but then remember.. last time 156/159 turn out from Sengkang Int to Compasspoint stop already incur 1.0 fare stage...
Compassvale Rd ma.
service 15 bus stop from outside east shore hospital to the next - 0.1m. (which seriously is just like 60m)
service 72 bus stop from hougang central block 830A to opposite hougang central int - 0.2m. (which i think is even less than 100m!!!!)
If you are a group going from Point A to B,
The senior citizen will take the slighty longer bus but 1 bus will reach.
The rest will have to hop buses to save on fares.
So you have to travel separately ??
Originally posted by sbst275:wat the?
Toa Payoh to Swim Pool 700m, Swim Pool to Toa Payoh 400m
Reason being entry point is caliberated at the vehicle entrance for all services, while exit point is caliberated at the Trunk exit where 143 berth is.
Feeder side all ganna jiak 300m...
Originally posted by service_238:You need to change your thinking from the fare stage era to the distance fare era
Cos how much you are charged on the subsequent trips after your first trip depends on how much distance you cover beforehand.
To get 20c on your S169 ride you may have probably travelled maximum 4.2km on your previous trip. Which means to say u may have come from TechPlace AMK Ave 5, Serangoon Ave 2 or probably Hougang Ave 8, before transferring to 169 to Mayflower Sec. The earlier trip that you travelled up to 4.2km will cost you 81c, then transfer to S169 for a 20c 4 stop ride at 1.7km. This gives a total fare of 101c for a 5.9km journey.
To get 3c on your S179 ride you are very likely to have taken 166/169 from Mayflower Sec to AMK Int OR 132/165 to AMK MRT, then MRT to Pioneer then 179.
S132/165/166/169 ride costs you 71c for 1.7km
MRT ride from AMK to Pioneer cost you 117c for 32.9km
S179 ride from Pioneer MRT to Canteen A costs you 3c for 3.1km
Total 37.7km 191cIf you see the fare chart the total fare is only tabulated based on your FULL journey, and not EACH journey that you take. That is why as long as you transfer, the fare for your transferred journey varies depending on how far you have travelled. That's because the per km fare band the incremental value for shorter distances is higher (at 10c per km jump) than longer distances (at 1c per km jump).
So dont worry you are not cheated :)
Hey thanks alot Service_238 and Tamago for the insight... Sorry I have been too busy to check up on the updates here... Looks like I need more time getting used to the new system... math fail man... lol
Anyway if i try out your example of choosing to take the 170, 67 and 65 from Dunearn Rd College Green to St. Michael's place, would it be cheaper compared to taking direct 66?