Originally posted by sbs8104h:i find the 97 amendment abit funny... frm MCT, go out, in and around before resuming route
to minimise affected pax at Suntec as far as possible.
New Shenton Way Terminal big sia
anyone took the amended 502. how is the crowd and the journey duration from orchard or many people dunno the route change yet. haha anyway the fare from somerset will increase from 195 to 225 from 20 to 30 plus fare stage something i am not very excited about something related to the other post about non basic service i would prefer a comfortable seat and speedy journey for paying premium fares and more ex fare over the old route of 502 of squeezing the kubs and standing throughout the journey. hope they deploy more dds with better frequencies haha.
Originally posted by service_238:A bus isnt a car. A car can swerve in and out of traffic jams if the driver is skilled. A bus cant and has to stay on the left most lane 93% of the time.
So if I give you 2 routes for express route from Synergy to Orchard, a bus using a straight route with lesser turns and changing lanes will edge out a winding route with changing lanes many times. Im ignoring mileage here as there's a clear winner for this.
1. PIE: L-Toh Tuck Ave (no problem) then keep right to turn right (so-so but depends on the queue to PIE), then enter PIE (have to deal with merging traffic) then keep right cos ALOT of vehicles exit at Clementi Ave 6 (big problem), then deal with merging traffic when entering the main PIE road. Then at every entry and exit points have to deal with the merging and exiting traffic and you know how cars and taxis cut lane like using penknife. Then you approaching Adam Flyover it feels slow. You tune in to hear Flying Dutchman saying "Heavy traffic on the PIE towards Changi at the Stevens Rd exit". If that makes it to the radio EVERY MORNING, you know u cant go anywhere faster with this. Stevens Rd ok but when it comes to the Anderson Rd right turn.. another problem. So many problems already you still want the drivers to continue driving? This is WITHOUT traffic lights being brought into the picture.
2. Holland: Straight down to C'wealth Ave West. Slight queue at the Clementi Ave 6 junction, then down to Clementi MRT and sometimes some idiots park their vehicle just before the Clementi MRT stop but keeping 1 lane out isnt a very big problem (but on PIE it IS a problem!). Then left to Clementi Ave 2 and you get a problem here - the cut 3 lanes to turn right to Ulu Pandan Rd. This area chews up time but its a one off issue. The traffic lights at this junction are favourable so it wont take very long for the bus to turn out. If S7 can do it, S502 can too. Ulu Pandan and Holland Rd are generally smooth flowing other than the fact that there's alot of traffic lights. Even if the left lane is blocked shifting to the centre lane is easier compared to the PIE when the cars and trucks and maybe the 190s overtake you like the road is collapsing from behind.
If applying this to PM peak, no 2 will still edge out despite both having equally bad jams. However in most cases PIE gets jams worse than holland rd.
People at Scotts are affected yes. But got think where they actually walk from to the bus stop for 502? probably areas like Hyatt, Far East Plaza, Lido, Wheelock, Hilton, Forum and Delfi. These fellas affected are likely to be young and able bodied. If they can walk from Wheelock to Far East Plaza for a cheap lunch I dont see what's the problem in walking from Far East Plaza to Thai Embassy for 502?
1) PIE jam but at least the traffic is moving. From Boon Lay way to Tph Guan route. Passby 2 traffic lights then to PIE. I understand the lornie rd that sector is the bottleneck but after that it is rather smooth. More importantly, smoother rides for passengers and drivers. There are many occasions where cars cut into the bus rote along holland rd.
2) Boon Lay to Commonwealth AVE is the bottleneck(along the viaduct). So this evening 2 - 3 buses are stuck there. You can see cars are jammed there stationary without moving. So had u counted how many traffic lights thaty the buses passes by? I had taken in the peak hrs where the bus stop in almost all the traffic lights along Commonwealth ave. Like I say just use cle ave 5 like svc 7 to clement ave 2 could save some time and avoid the heavy traffic. 7 traffic lights to Ulu pandan from Boon Lay Way ave. Then along ulu pandan Rd to holland rd, the bumpy rides that cause almost everyone onboard to vomit when the bus is speeding along that sector. Not to forget the heavy traffic along Holland RD during the peak hrs.
Compare the walking distance for ppl in Suntec to cross over the route to the ppl walking to Royal Thai embassy? I not picking on this point since it is amended but hope that SBS can think of the passenger affected in the future.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:1) PIE jam but at least the traffic is moving. From Boon Lay way to Tph Guan route. Passby 2 traffic lights then to PIE. I understand the lornie rd that sector is the bottleneck but after that it is rather smooth. More importantly, smoother rides for passengers and drivers. There are many occasions where cars cut into the bus rote along holland rd.
2) Boon Lay to Commonwealth AVE is the bottleneck(along the viaduct). So this evening 2 - 3 buses are stuck there. You can see cars are jammed there stationary without moving. So had u counted how many traffic lights thaty the buses passes by? I had taken in the peak hrs where the bus stop in almost all the traffic lights along Commonwealth ave. Like I say just use cle ave 5 like svc 7 to clement ave 2 could save some time and avoid the heavy traffic. 7 traffic lights to Ulu pandan from Boon Lay Way ave. Then along ulu pandan Rd to holland rd, the bumpy rides that cause almost everyone onboard to vomit when the bus is speeding along that sector. Not to forget the heavy traffic along Holland RD during the peak hrs.
Compare the walking distance for ppl in Suntec to cross over the route to the ppl walking to Royal Thai embassy? I not picking on this point since it is amended but hope that SBS can think of the passenger affected in the future.
If Ulu Pandan Rd is really tat bad as u claim, then why is it a semi expressway speed limit of 70kph?
PIE is always jam. And u have not even understand where e PM peak & AM peak jam come from.
Dun start counting traffic lights, go tabulate the overall travelling time.
Let me put 1 example on a non raining day.
If 151e PM peak routing uses Dunearn Rd, it takes 15 mins to Trellis Twr. But there's almost 7 traffic junctions which 3 are majors ones.
But if it insist on using PIE, it can take 29 - 32 mins.
Originally posted by sbst275:If Ulu Pandan Rd is really tat bad as u claim, then why is it a semi expressway speed limit of 70kph?
PIE is always jam. And u have not even understand where e PM peak & AM peak jam come from.
Dun start counting traffic lights, go tabulate the overall travelling time.
Nevertheless, they must be flexible. If they can use PIE then it is better to give customer a comfortable ride. Cannot die die also use commonwealth ave even knowing there are already 3 buses stucked there.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
Nevertheless, they must be flexible. If they can use PIE then it is better to give customer a comfortable ride. Cannot die die also use commonwealth ave even knowing there are already 3 buses stucked there.
Why 502A can afford to use PIE. Simply u can't afford e bus to go use Corp Rd, Boon Lay Way and join back while PIE bet original ending pt and Clementi Ave 6 is almost jam free.
By then there's no other routes the buses can use out of PIE. Eng Neo is off, Clementi Ave 6 is off either.
looks like slbp did well on 97 and 502 amendment compared to 133 and 518. so much bickering.
Casino likely to open tml as well, since license given out tis morning.
133, 133M esp sekali huat ar
Originally posted by SBS7485P:lol. there isnt a need for it in the first place. keep it at 45-50mins will do. or re deploy darts over at half the frequency.
by right 133M should not start from Shenton Way Ter, since during weekends that area will be quite remoted. should start from AMK instead.
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:
by right 133M should not start from Shenton Way Ter, since during weekends that area will be quite remoted. should start from AMK instead.
it's likely intention to be a MRT stop gap
Originally posted by SBS7485P:looks like slbp did well on 97 and 502 amendment compared to 133 and 518. so much bickering.
Good buses deployed but ask pax regarding the route they will tell you it is not.
Wonder who waited at the bus stop along Penang/Somerset/Orchard Turn and Scotts Rd today for 502... Wait for a million years bus still havent come.. lol
Originally posted by fmradio:anyone took the amended 502. how is the crowd and the journey duration from orchard or many people dunno the route change yet. haha anyway the fare from somerset will increase from 195 to 225 from 20 to 30 plus fare stage something i am not very excited about something related to the other post about non basic service i would prefer a comfortable seat and speedy journey for paying premium fares and more ex fare over the old route of 502 of squeezing the kubs and standing throughout the journey. hope they deploy more dds with better frequencies haha.
502 :
1) Route is acceptable . Then again , People dont really know of the ammendment/extension ...
2) waited 1 hour for a 502 @ Plaza Sing bus stop from 1815 to 1920 ( 4 svc 518s passed by ! )
3) People dont know , they dont board on the side heading to suntec
4) people waiting at old stops
5) think they should intro 502B in the reverse direction during peak hrs (marina - soon lee) .. like 243G 243W style
6) some commuters agree that AYE is faster .( this really depends from which side ) if you're at penang road (old route) it'll be otherwise ..
overall comments. the frequency was horrible and not a dd during peak 6 - 7 pm.. BC claim jam at holland/ulu pandan
on the way back AYE jam cos of one bus breakdown , other than that smooth traffic , so cant count/take into consideration as accidents/breakdown dont occur everyday on the same route
bad job for 502 today during peak hours..
and finally there is a bus route that runs only within the CBD
Originally posted by jayh272416:and finally there is a bus route that runs only within the CBD
Not for now but yes when gah ment decides to erect some money eating machine near the Marina Bay MRT area.. which would be about Aug if i still remember..
deleted
Originally posted by fmradio:anyone took the amended 502. how is the crowd and the journey duration from orchard or many people dunno the route change yet. haha anyway the fare from somerset will increase from 195 to 225 from 20 to 30 plus fare stage something i am not very excited about something related to the other post about non basic service i would prefer a comfortable seat and speedy journey for paying premium fares and more ex fare over the old route of 502 of squeezing the kubs and standing throughout the journey. hope they deploy more dds with better frequencies haha.
I took the new route for 502 today. I would say that the route is definately much better than the old route. After getting through suntec & the MBS, it went totally express at the ECP & AYE on a K230UB (SBS8901Z) although the BC lambat more than 20 mins due to jam at dunno where (i couldn't care less). It was a breeze despite there was a slight jam at AYE due to a coach breakdown. Nevertheless, I would see that the AYE is really indeed a much faster way to get out of the city area, which Express 502 is now indeed have a standard on being called Express. Many people on the bus was quite disappointed that there is no more Express 502A during the evening peak as i somehow overheard some of the passengers on board, which me myself also felt quite disappointed about it too. But nevertheless, the amendment is better in terms of the new express route. Another thing that i also figured out is that the runtime for Express 502 seems to have been extended by around 15 mins, which was roughly around 2hr 45mins for the whole journey from SLBP to MBS & back to SLBP.
Originally posted by SBS7485P:looks like slbp did well on 97 and 502 amendment compared to 133 and 518. so much bickering.
yeah. someone keeps putting his sv 502 into the limelight, when the buses from other amended services are just quietly fulfilling their runs.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
Good buses deployed but ask pax regarding the route they will tell you it is not.
stop putting words into passengers' mouth. just because you are affected does not give you the right to claim that the amendment is bad for everyone and drum up ill feelings on their behalf to suit your own agenda.
running through orchard area twice is already bad enough for the headway for everyone along the route, your selfishness don't even give you the heart to go through the same route as everyone else. ain't workers at suntec human? if they've had to transverse orchard road twice, why can't you go through it once? if they'd rather give sv502 a miss and take the train to get home faster previously, why can't you find alternatives from far east plaza? in your world, only SLBP is good, and only you deserve the fastest of the fastest way home. nothing else matters.
if you wish to challenge the concensus agreed by LTA, PTC, SBST and SMRT and let us have a piece of your mind, write in officially.
Originally posted by SBS BUSES LOVER:502 :
1) Route is acceptable . Then again , People dont really know of the ammendment/extension ...
2) waited 1 hour for a 502 @ Plaza Sing bus stop from 1815 to 1920 ( 4 svc 518s passed by ! )
3) People dont know , they dont board on the side heading to suntec
4) people waiting at old stops
5) think they should intro 502B in the reverse direction during peak hrs (marina - soon lee) .. like 243G 243W style
6) some commuters agree that AYE is faster .( this really depends from which side ) if you're at penang road it'll be otherwise ..
overall comments. the frequency was horrible and not a dd during peak 6 - 7 pm.. BC claim jam at holland/ulu pandan
on the way back AYE jam cos of one bus breakdown , other than that smooth traffic , so cant count/take into consideration as accidents/breakdown dont occur everyday on the same route
bad job for 502 today during peak hours..
Wah 518 can do it but 502 still cannot... tsk tsk.
Anyone who has caught cameos before at Pioneer Rd North would know that they suka suka pull one bus out as and when they like one... hahaha.
Originally posted by TIB1232Z:Wah 518 can do it but 502 still cannot... tsk tsk.
Anyone who has caught cameos before at Pioneer Rd North would know that they suka suka pull one bus out as and when they like one... hahaha.
The prob also got to do with the new poles. The notices aren't obvious enough meaning that the announcement notices at the bus stop poles wasn't noticed by them.
Originally posted by tintinspartan:
The prob also got to do with the new poles. The notices aren't obvious enough meaning that the announcement notices at the bus stop poles wasn't noticed by them.
I'm talking about point 2... of people having to wait 1 hour in town for 502.
Originally posted by SBS 8030 L:I took the new route for 502 today. I would say that the route is definately much better than the old route. After getting through suntec & the MBS, it went totally express at the ECP & AYE on a K230UB (SBS8901Z) although the BC lambat more than 20 mins due to jam at dunno where (i couldn't care less). It was a breeze despite there was a slight jam at AYE due to a coach breakdown. Nevertheless, I would see that the AYE is really indeed a much faster way to get out of the city area, which Express 502 is now indeed have a standard on being called Express. Many people on the bus was quite disappointed that there is no more Express 502A during the evening peak as i somehow overheard some of the passengers on board, which me myself also felt quite disappointed about it too. But nevertheless, the amendment is better in terms of the new express route. Another thing that i also figured out is that the runtime for Express 502 seems to have been extended by around 15 mins, which was roughly around 2hr 45mins for the whole journey from SLBP to MBS & back to SLBP.
if got 502A evening peak,
it would be a very very fast journey... zooming at AYE till coporation rd exit lol
service 97 new route looks confusing. but at least now more buses ply Suntec in both directions. should make 106 return trip from SWY do the same too.