Originally posted by SBS 8030 L:I took the new route for 502 today. I would say that the route is definately much better than the old route. After getting through suntec & the MBS, it went totally express at the ECP & AYE on a K230UB (SBS8901Z) although the BC lambat more than 20 mins due to jam at dunno where (i couldn't care less). It was a breeze despite there was a slight jam at AYE due to a coach breakdown. Nevertheless, I would see that the AYE is really indeed a much faster way to get out of the city area, which Express 502 is now indeed have a standard on being called Express. Many people on the bus was quite disappointed that there is no more Express 502A during the evening peak as i somehow overheard some of the passengers on board, which me myself also felt quite disappointed about it too. But nevertheless, the amendment is better in terms of the new express route. Another thing that i also figured out is that the runtime for Express 502 seems to have been extended by around 15 mins, which was roughly around 2hr 45mins for the whole journey from SLBP to MBS & back to SLBP.
by schedule all days of 502 have total run time decreased by 6-7min; while 518 is add 6-7min.
Originally posted by iveco:service 97 new route looks confusing. but at least now more buses ply Suntec in both directions. should make 106 return trip from SWY do the same too.
864 initially looks confusing also. Dont worry you will get the hang of it.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
stop putting words into passengers' mouth. just because you are affected does not give you the right to claim that the amendment is bad for everyone and drum up ill feelings on their behalf to suit your own agenda.
running through orchard area twice is already bad enough for the headway for everyone along the route, your selfishness don't even give you the heart to go through the same route as everyone else. ain't workers at suntec human? if they've had to transverse orchard road twice, why can't you go through it once? if they'd rather give sv502 a miss and take the train to get home faster previously, why can't you find alternatives from far east plaza? in your world, only SLBP is good, and only you deserve the fastest of the fastest way home. nothing else matters.
if you wish to challenge the concensus agreed by LTA, PTC, SBST and SMRT and let us have a piece of your mind, write in officially.
Seriously I am not affected by the changes. I am not as u think by drum up ill feelings on their behalf to suit my own agenda. It is defintely wrong to say that without proper checks done and expereince taking this service. I always comment things that I am rather sure rather than making up stories.
I mentioned million of times. I dun see a need of going Orchard twice. Bus come from Soon Lee - MBS - Orchard (Somerset Rd) - Soon Lee. It is only troublesome for pax at Suntec to crossover to marnia square. But since it is not going to approve then I had nothing to say since they insist of passing thru orchard rd. Btw, taking train from suntec city is defintely faster now with circle line. Anyway cancelling the 502A in the evening is rather a grave mistake. I had heard many ppl rather disappointed by the changes which also comes very suddenly.SLBP react to situation fast is the way to stand out.
It does not affect me much so I do not see the need to do so.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Seriously I am not affected by the changes. I am not as u think by drum up ill feelings on their behalf to suit my own agenda. It is defintely wrong to say that without proper checks done and expereince taking this service. I always comment things that I am rather sure rather than making up stories.
I mentioned million of times. I dun see a need of going Orchard twice. Bus come from Soon Lee - MBS - Orchard (Somerset Rd) - Soon Lee. It is only troublesome for pax at Suntec to crossover to marnia square. But since it is not going to approve then I had nothing to say since they insist of passing thru orchard rd. Btw, taking train from suntec city is defintely faster now with circle line. Anyway cancelling the 502A in the evening is rather a grave mistake. I had heard many ppl rather disappointed by the changes which also comes very suddenly.SLBP react to situation fast is the way to stand out.
It does not affect me much so I do not see the need to do so.
we all know how concerned you are with service 241.....
circle line? you mean transferring twice at dhoby ghaut & outram park?
the only people who feel it is a grave mistake will be people reliant on service 502A. and from my observation, the loading of sv502A is just enough for everyone to sit. is that many ppl compared with a double decker bus load of passengers for the first trip after the void left by 502A and 502B?
and you mean the other depots did not "react to (the) situation fast" enough to the "changes which also comes very suddenly"? every other amended routes were running the old routes on 26th, is it?
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
we all know how concerned you are with service 241.....
circle line? you mean transferring twice at dhoby ghaut & outram park?
the only people who feel it is a grave mistake will be people reliant on service 502A. and from my observation, the loading of sv502A is just enough for everyone to sit. is that many ppl compared with a double decker bus load of passengers for the first trip after the void left by 502A and 502B?
and you mean the other depots did not "react to (the) situation fast" enough to the "changes which also comes very suddenly"? every other amended routes were running the old routes on 26th, is it?
So why suddenly Service 241 is brought up? I do not understand ur thinking? I know the what is happening and I had heard of it. U guys are just naive.
502A is there for a purpose in the beginning. The first trip of Service 502A is not as low as what u mentioned and that's why DD was deployed on that slot.
Reaction doesn't only be this issue but any other things they are doing.
For any bus to get removed from the parent service to do SWT or supp other service is an opportunity cost to the parent service. That's because the frequency for the parent service will drop. This is especially if the scheduling dept in both PTOs fail to realise if removing the bus from parent service will result in near full capacity for the buses after the bus has been taken out. None of them would want to be on the chopping block for this.
Recent changes in SBST for SWTs include:
156A - where some split shifts run full route during AM Peak and now 156A doesnt operate every other trip out of Sengkang. That's because they feel 156 need more buses during AM Peak than 156A. 156 without 156A runs at about 15-18min frequency. Now with more buses running 156 during AM Peak the freq dropped to about 10-13min.
80A - where they rationalise the buses to serve 80A only in AM Peak and its reverse downroute during PM Peak. They feel not many people travel beyond Aljunied to town during AM Peak so they removed 9 buses to serve 80A only. Last time there's about 8 trips of 80A in the morning and its randomly assigned. Now with 9 dedicated buses, every alternate trip from Sengkang is now 80A at 4-6min freq combined. The freq for the sector after Aljunied MRT have its headway increased from 4-8min to 8-12min.
These 2 SWTs contrastingly show the demand and supply of buses of the parent route vis-a-vis its SWT.
As for 502, with the amendment now has a PM peak freq of 13-15min. Imagine 2 buses pulled out of 502 to run 502A during the period, 502 will get 20min freq instead.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
So why suddenly Service 241 is brought up? I do not understand ur thinking? I know the what is happening and I had heard of it. U guys are just naive.502A is there for a purpose in the beginning. The first trip of Service 502A is not as low as what u mentioned and that's why DD was deployed on that slot.
Reaction doesn't only be this issue but any other things they are doing.
the area you are predominantly concerned with is the Pioneer. do you even do site checks day and night? LTA & PTC audits all ezlink transactions and know better than you on the balance between the needs & resource availability of PTO's and the needs of the commuters. so stop talking like you know everything, and put words into their mouth. find your MP if you're not happy.
502A came from a different era which i've pointed out... and i assure you that all evening trips of 502A are run by single deck. the first 502 full route after the last departure of the variants is a double deck.
what kind of reactions? fast as in, anything the customer demand, for the sake of novelty, they will do it for them immediately with disregard to cost? sounds like SLBP is being a private transport operator....
Originally posted by service_238:For any bus to get removed from the parent service to do SWT or supp other service is an opportunity cost to the parent service. That's because the frequency for the parent service will drop. This is especially if the scheduling dept in both PTOs fail to realise if removing the bus from parent service will result in near full capacity for the buses after the bus has been taken out. None of them would want to be on the chopping block for this.
Recent changes in SBST for SWTs include:
156A - where some split shifts run full route during AM Peak and now 156A doesnt operate every other trip out of Sengkang. That's because they feel 156 need more buses during AM Peak than 156A. 156 without 156A runs at about 15-18min frequency. Now with more buses running 156 during AM Peak the freq dropped to about 10-13min.80A - where they rationalise the buses to serve 80A only in AM Peak and its reverse downroute during PM Peak. They feel not many people travel beyond Aljunied to town during AM Peak so they removed 9 buses to serve 80A only. Last time there's about 8 trips of 80A in the morning and its randomly assigned. Now with 9 dedicated buses, every alternate trip from Sengkang is now 80A at 4-6min freq combined. The freq for the sector after Aljunied MRT have its headway increased from 4-8min to 8-12min.
These 2 SWTs contrastingly show the demand and supply of buses of the parent route vis-a-vis its SWT.
As for 502, with the amendment now has a PM peak freq of 13-15min. Imagine 2 buses pulled out of 502 to run 502A during the period, 502 will get 20min freq instead.
got do homework one. ![]()
the headway between the last 502A/B variant and first full trip is about 40 minutes due to mealbreaks and the variants reaching town area earlier than a full trip, necessitating the block to be run by a DD.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:the area you are predominantly concerned with is the Pioneer. do you even do site checks day and night? LTA & PTC audits all ezlink transactions and know better than you on the balance between the needs & resource availability of PTO's and the needs of the commuters. so stop talking like you know everything, and put words into their mouth. find your MP if you're not happy.
502A came from a different era which i've pointed out... and i assure you that all evening trips of 502A are run by single deck. the first 502 full route after the last departure of the variants is a double deck.
what kind of reactions? fast as in, anything the customer demand, for the sake of novelty, they will do it for them immediately with disregard to cost? sounds like SLBP is being a private transport operator....
100% true. I have NEVER in my whole term of bus spotting seen a Olympian on 502A, all single-deck.. Wow, I can almost imagine wad in the world's gonna happen if they put in double-decks on 502A. ![]()
DOUBLEPOST
Originally posted by Apalis56:
100% true. I have NEVER in my whole term of bus spotting seen a Volvo Olympian on 502A, all single-deck.. Wow, I can almost imagine wad in the world's gonna happen if they put in double-decks on 502A.
indeed, it makes no sense to put a double deck on a route half the catchment of 502, and put a single deck on a trip of the full route.
Originally posted by Apalis56:
100% true. I have NEVER in my whole term of bus spotting seen a Volvo Olympian on 502A, all single-deck.. Wow, I can almost imagine wad in the world's gonna happen if they put in double-decks on 502A.
there used to be 2 ADD running 502A in the evening peak. i took 9375 on 502A through PIE and orange grove road to town before
Originally posted by ^tamago^:the area you are predominantly concerned with is the Pioneer. do you even do site checks day and night? LTA & PTC audits all ezlink transactions and know better than you on the balance between the needs & resource availability of PTO's and the needs of the commuters. so stop talking like you know everything, and put words into their mouth. find your MP if you're not happy.
Each depot in SBST has its strenghts and weakness, no point flaming over it for so many pages.
after exams i take 502A, who want join?
maybe see service 241 situation also. ![]()
Olympians on 502A shld be cameos?? o.O
Originally posted by sinicker:after exams i take 502A, who want join?
maybe see service 241 situation also.
R u gonna hunt for VOs and LOs on the day??? :D
Originally posted by Apalis56:100% true. I have NEVER in my whole term of bus spotting seen a Olympian on 502A, all single-deck.. Wow, I can almost imagine wad in the world's gonna happen if they put in double-decks on 502A.
Then the sky is falling! You think NPNT?
Never mind, seeing is beliving! ![]()
hey guys, sry to be lazy to read all the prev post... from what i see frm sbs web, 133 going to terminate at shenton term? and 133M from shenton term loop to suntec back to shenton term?
Originally posted by Ngweitong:hey guys, sry to be lazy to read all the prev post... from what i see frm sbs web, 133 going to terminate at shenton term? and 133M from shenton term loop to suntec back to shenton term?
yes. seeing is believing if you see the posters.
Originally posted by sinicker:yes. seeing is believing if you see the posters.
means new interchange? like that means no more bus from suntec to amk liao lor?
Originally posted by Ngweitong:
Board from Marina Centre (Floating Platform).
Originally posted by Ngweitong:
refer to page 4.
open pdf link and read page 2 of 5.
I am frequent traveller for this service. I had someone feeding the information required. Everytime pushes things to MP, is that what SBS Transit does these days? Going to an extra mile? PM had been actively pushing these to all service sector these few years.
Before the removal, I had taken more than 4 times a week on the first trip of express 502A. The bus I took was SBS 9016Y. Indeed it is not pack but the loading is still ok but not low.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:I am frequent traveller for this service. I had someone feeding the information required. Everytime pushes things to MP, is that what SBS Transit does these days? Going to an extra mile? PM had been actively pushing these to all service sector these few years.
Before the removal, I had taken more than 4 times a week on the first trip of express 502A. The bus I took was SBS 9016Y. Indeed it is not pack but the loading is still ok but not low.
i don't know what you mean. i only know you just want your far east plaza to pioneer link back, and am not contended with providing "just a feedback".
you mean SBST can amend or withdraw routes as and when it wish to? or do you believe you can represent your Pioneer constituency better than your MP can? or don't you think he needs to talk to Hong Kah's MP to see if he's okay with his residents waiting so long for sv 502 bus to come?
i will only entertain you as far as this point. the discussion is obviously not getting anywhere if you take insights of bus operations as mockery. service_238 has already given his piece of valuable info, but looks like everyone else has a greater use for it.
Originally posted by SBS7485P:there used to be 2 ADD running 502A in the evening peak. i took 9375 on 502A through PIE and orange grove road to town before
I took a leyland pass by the Orange Grove Road in PM peak also. It was 9050Y a cameo. The BC was turning the steering left & right multiple times like as if he was pulling a carrot from the ground while throwing his whole bodyweight on it due to a slight traffic jam at there. ![]()