That's why the lambat is because everyone do not want to do things as plan.
You think by all doing 179 is good, they forgot abt the alighting and downroute issue.
The way it's done, is only to cater to N Spine people at e cost of Sth Spine people.
I've better state this, contary to HDB heartlands.
Uni bus stop crowd can form up very quickly esp for 179 in NTU & 95 or 96 in NUS.
That's why 179A is there for. To bring you out of campus fast be it you're transferring to MRT or to other buses i.e. 174 or 180 or 198.
Hope it explains why 179A needs to do downroute for Sth Spine.
A quick summary for those who are interested to know more about the issue,
There are 3 services (and 2 short trips) into and out of NTU.
179 - serves boonlay mrt, west st 63 pioneer mrt, pioneer north rd, ntu north & south spine.
179A (AM) - express from boonlay mrt only to ntu north & south spine direct. last bus at 9.30am
179A (PM) - express from ntu north & south spine to boonlay mrt only, additional downroute trips from bus stop after north spine to cater to those who cant board the bus as the people from north spine has filled the bus to the doors.
199 - serves boonlay mrt, jln bahar, nie, ntu north spine only.
Pioneer shuttle - serves pioneer mrt only and somewhere in between the two spines.
The issue as i understand from sbst275 is that sbst is reducing 179A PM trips from this system and putting those buses to 179 instead.
And why this might end up being a problem (correct me if im wrong) is because 179 takes longer time to travel from ntu to boon lay due to additional stops and large amount of pax getting off at pioneer, which thus reduces the trips each bus can make overall. Lesser trips = lesser people moved = more people waiting for buses.
And, since theres lesser people moved, the buses are full to the doors, and thus those who really need the services (living along pioneer nth rd - only served by 179) is being deprived of buses to go home.
However, i would like to add my point that although this is generally true, theres a missing factor in this analysis.
Going to school, most people would alight at boonlay mrt, since theres 3 services going to ntu (179, 179A, 199) and because 179A is fast.
However, the reverse does not apply for going home! Not many people care if the bus brings you to boonlay mrt 5min faster.
The important thing is if they live somewhere along the ewl (lets say tampines, pasir ris, etc), they will always want to alight at pioneer mrt as they are guaranteed a seat for a 40-50mins train ride home.
This is probably why if theres a 179 and 179A, many would still take the 179 and thus those at south spine cant board. And also probably why sbst decided to increase the amount of 179.
However, there are valid issues to consider such as crowding up the bus stop at pioneer mrt and turnaround time as mentioned by sbst275.
Ideas?
Originally posted by TIB439B:
Of course we know all his sneaky little moves. Like stalking supposedly SPT people on facebook and reposting every single thing on The SPT Daily, TrivializedWhat else.. corpscomm-ing every single thing?
Oh and Mark, don't think we're stupid. We've already found the clone Facebook account that you used to spy on us... how cunning. But well played.
I never thought you'd stoop so low as to employ the help of "Simon Lee Wen Hui" to spy on those people who blocked you. How lowlife.
You can laugh it off but you can't laugh it off for longOf course when the fact is revealed that I was once in your group of people, sitting in the chat where you badmouthed every single one of them, devising plans to get people fired, devising plans to write to corpcomms about many things you considered to be related to SPT... even considering a scheme as devious as shutting down SPT... I don't think you're laughing now right?
Consider it your failure that you antagonised me in the past.

Whats needed to comfort a crying girl is a Buses' version of Ferrari. But vroom vroom, will he wait for you? ![]()
Why I say not profitable.
Let me say why.
I believe the timetable (iris nextinterchange screen) indicates the 2 mins 179 freq only runs till 1030.
But sometimes by 1000 - 1015, you start seeing buses going missing, & to see 2 mins freq stretches into 1050. By then all the empty buses running around.
When ppl need the bus, all goes missing.
Why? Timekeepers hoarding to the 179A buses or chucking them to do 179 slot. Buses I observed lambat by 15 - 25 mins. Arr... Just nice right?
Sometimes 3x 179 has left and timekeeper makes you squeeze n overload a 10 min freq 179A.
Now we know how come got fare revision also...
Thankful that NUS is not operated by SLBP.
Of course we know all his sneaky little moves. Like stalking supposedly SPT people on facebook and reposting every single thing on The SPT Daily, TrivializedWhat else.. corpscomm-ing every single thing?
Oh and Mark, don't think we're stupid. We've already found the clone Facebook account that you used to spy on us... how cunning. But well played.
I never thought you'd stoop so low as to employ the help of "Simon Lee Wen Hui" to spy on those people who blocked you. How lowlife.
You can laugh it off but you can't laugh it off for longOf course when the fact is revealed that I was once in your group of people, sitting in the chat where you badmouthed every single one of them, devising plans to get people fired, devising plans to write to corpcomms about many things you considered to be related to SPT... even considering a scheme as devious as shutting down SPT... I don't think you're laughing now right?

Outrageous! How dare you hate Mark's childhood hero!
Notice that the Citaro SLs seem to be zamming the accelerators alot nowadays
Originally posted by buses[IN]gapore!:Notice that the Citaro SLs seem to be zamming the accelerators alot nowadays
except uncle Rizal![]()

It is creative of me to pass these off as gospel to the kids on FB!
B10M MK IV DM3500 as buses' version of BMW!
MAN as buses' version of Ferrari!
Citaro as beauty at night, iconic buses recongizable from far that taking one everyday keeps a doctor away!
Originally posted by CITARO LOV3R:except uncle Rizal
mm maybe lol. But i'm not sure if the Citaro SLs are behind schedule.
though yea,the high revs sound from the engine is very nice to listen to.
Originally posted by buses[IN]gapore!:
mm maybe lol. But i'm not sure if the Citaro SLs are behind schedule.
though yea,the high revs sound from the engine is very nice to listen to.
they always chiong like they are really behind schedule that they become early liao![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:Why I say not profitable.
Let me say why.
I believe the timetable (iris nextinterchange screen) indicates the 2 mins 179 freq only runs till 1030.
But sometimes by 1000 - 1015, you start seeing buses going missing, & to see 2 mins freq stretches into 1050. By then all the empty buses running around.
When ppl need the bus, all goes missing.
Why? Timekeepers hoarding to the 179A buses or chucking them to do 179 slot. Buses I observed lambat by 15 - 25 mins. Arr... Just nice right?
Sometimes 3x 179 has left and timekeeper makes you squeeze n overload a 10 min freq 179A.
Now we know how come got fare revision also...
Thankful that NUS is not operated by SLBP.
if can introduce 179B from Pioneer station to NTU(AM), NTU to Pioneer Station(PM), what do u think?
Originally posted by CITARO LOV3R:they always chiong like they are really behind schedule that they become early liao
i wonder if they'll uprate the engine one day.
just hope there will be a surprise in the new 100 SMRTaros
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:
if can introduce 179B from Pioneer station to NTU(AM), NTU to Pioneer Station(PM), what do u think?
interchange still best.
you can monitor when the crowd starts coming and you despatch a bus waiting just 30 metres from the berth in the int.
you cannot perform this along jw st 63.
coming back-wise, let's face it.... everyone wants to go Pioneer. ![]()
last Thursday i saw 4 179As then a 50% full 179 alighting passengers at Pioneer MRT. think people waited for 179 till gave up then board 179A. but behind, got empty 179. suspect this 179 despatched from South Spine.![]()
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:
179B during PM to Pioneer should work, but a work around is required such that it uses the opposite bus stop instead (i.e. the stop beside the kopitiam).
This will help to even out the load since the that bus stop is less congested during afternoon/PM hours.
But it will get quite tiring for the bc, since he's going to have at least 3 desto to change into. ![]()
omg fifi is so lame
One new bus stop built at Bt Panjang Ring road, opp Jelapang LRT station.
Most likely for the LRT paralla bus run service from CCK.
Originally posted by TehJarVu:omg fifi is so lame
noopi also come in liao
Originally posted by CITARO LOV3R:just hope there will be a surprise in the new 100 SMRTaros
heard the new Citaros got some third brake light installed lol.
confirmed, below the merz logo in place of the SMRT logo.
Originally posted by almr:confirmed, below the merz logo in place of the SMRT logo.
the surprise i was hoping was the probably bigger engine~ unless they stuck with 6.4L still
Originally posted by phillipC:One new bus stop built at Bt Panjang Ring road, opp Jelapang LRT station.
Most likely for the LRT paralla bus run service from CCK.
Is this LRT parallel svc going to be a permanent svc??And when isit gonna be introduced??