Originally posted by Gus.chong:Another SBST Premium service changed after Premium 550!
Fare Revision for SMRT NightRider (NR) Bus Services from 11 November 2011 / No NR services available from 6 November 2011 (Sunday) Evening to 7 November 2011 (Monday) Morning
http://www.smrt.com.sg/buses/documents/services_updates/NightRider_281011.pdf
Fare Revision for SMRT Premium Bus Services from 8 November 2011
http://www.smrt.com.sg/buses/documents/services_updates/premium%20fare%20increase%208Nov11edited.pdf
SMRT reports net profit of $34.1M for second quarter FY2012
Originally posted by QX179R:Fare Revision for SMRT NightRider (NR) Bus Services from 11 November 2011 / No NR services available from 6 November 2011 (Sunday) Evening to 7 November 2011 (Monday) Morning
http://www.smrt.com.sg/buses/documents/services_updates/NightRider_281011.pdf
Again?!
$4.50 for NR very expensive
4 ppl already $18.. can take taxi also cheaper better faster
from BT
By YEO AIQI
SMRT Corporation Ltd on Friday announced that its net profit for second quarter ended Sep 30, 2011 fell by 25.6 per cent to S$34.1 million compared to a year ago.
This is despite a 6.1 per cent increase in its revenue to S$261.12 million from a year ago.
For 1H FY2012, its net profit fell by 18 per cent to S$68.92 million from a year ago. Its revenue increased by 6.8 per cent to S$481.36 million from a year ago.
Group revenue increased due mainly to higher MRT and Bus ridership, contribution from Circle Line, higher taxi rental revenue, increase in external fleet maintenance revenue and higher rental and advertising revenue, partially offset by lower average fare for MRT and Bus.
Cash dividend remains the same as previous corresponding period at 1.75 cents per ordinary share. The interim dividend will be paid on Nov 30, 2011 to members on the Register as at Nov 16, 2011.
Going forward, group revenue is expected to be higher in 3Q FY2012 and the next 12 months due to expected increase in ridership.
However, increasing cost pressures particularly energy costs and staff and related costs are expected to impact SMRT's performance in 3Q FY2012 and the next 12 months. Hence SMRT warns that profitability in FY2012 may not be maintained at previous year's level.
SMRT faces rising revenue, but at the cost of rising manpower and energy costs
not expecting any lawsuits from its frequent breakdowns, but the 6-digit fines are quite heavy
no suprises there...
can buy for a defensive play
!!!!!!! increase again!
are there really people who will spend $5 every weekday morning to go to work.......in a bus?
SBST max $3.60 only. what are the fare regulators doing...... sleep?
Originally posted by sinicker:!!!!!!! increase again!
are there really people who will spend $5 every weekday morning to go to work.......in a bus?
SBST max $3.60 only. what are the fare regulators doing...... sleep?
they kenna fine heavily recently... so one pax increased by S$1 x 500 pax daily =S$500 x 90 days = S$45000. still not enough to cover the fine.. premium services no regulation on fares leh...
if the pax can find a few persons taking the same premium bus and share a cab to work, i think it will be faster.. not much expensive also.
SMRT is really good for nothing.
Seriously.
Considering how crappy their NR service is. Anybody who takes it will know what I mean.
Goes on wrong road. Check
Stops at wrong bus-stop. Check.
Absolutely bonkers schedule. Check
Plain lousy and dangerous driving. Check.
Why let SMRT carry on? Tell me.
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:SMRT is really good for nothing.
Seriously.
Considering how crappy their NR service is. Anybody who takes it will know what I mean.
Its day svc oso terrible...
Lousy bus fleets (esp for 965 tat kind if svc, only ONE variety of buses)? Check.
Incompetent timing/schedules? Check.
Dangerous Driving? Check.
BC attitude jialat? Check.
Better let TIBS take back its used-to-be legacy lah.
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:SMRT is really good for nothing.
Seriously.
To think SMRT still have the cheek to have TV ad that's obviously fake... even the better SBS Transit still not as hao lian as SMRT, humbly take down and nvr give false things to public.
I felt so fortunate to have SBS wif me. On the other hand, hope SBS will not mistreat Sengkang so much...
Last night NR6 was using 0405 Volgren. Quite a rare sight.
The last few times I took NR6 (easily the worst in reliability with NR1), the buses bunched up.
Considering the frequency should be 30 min, you can imagine how good the BCs are at screwing everything up. My BC was hogging 2 lanes the whole way, kena honked at near Hougang after he ate into the lane the car was using, driving at all kinds of speed (slow and fast) and in the end, when I reached home, there was another NR6 behind.
Pure nonsense.
I gave up on NR...these days is share cab or wait for first bus/train. (early morning rides on 80 is pretty good)
Originally posted by service_238:wah pay $3.50 to take an old Dennis Lance from Geylang Bahru to Shenton Way? I would rather take 107 instead!
donno whats SMRT doing..
raising fares make commuters unhappy
and their profits is dropping, making shareholders unhappy as well.
if its a normal corporation, think it wont be sustainable down the road..
As of dec 31 2010, Temasek owns 54%, and is the sole substantial shareholder
well well...
actually I would prefer better and newer (or rather well maintained) buses to justify the Premium fare hike. That includes NR.Originally posted by SBS8676Z:
their bus operations loss S$6 millon leh... they are putting the blame on diesel?
I saw EWL w/ 1 - 3 mins freq...
Freq is supposed to be 2 mins..
1 fast, 1 slow...
Of course the 1 min train is empty... So SPH can say my train not all are packed ma..
But ya, the 2nd train will die terribly. Lambat? Press buzzer immediately aft door open lor
Originally posted by lemon1974:their bus operations loss S$6 millon leh... they are putting the blame on diesel?
Everything not in proper order...
I ever saw 3 950 heading to Woodlands in 30 mins... While not a single bus to JB
Time to Potong the citizen after GE! SBST will follow for sure!
Premium services I guest they are to deter more passengers from taking as they cannot just add more Bendies to cope with the no standing law since they are not buying any high capacity buses.
Originally posted by lemon1974:their bus operations loss S$6 millon leh... they are putting the blame on diesel?
maybe they never hedge diesel prices at all.. all is spot prices
Originally posted by 105090:maybe they never hedge diesel prices at all.. all is spot prices
Eh..
The risk of hedging is there as well...