Originally posted by Gus.chong e:The KUB engine is only 230hp, the Citaro is 286hp!! The KUB so underpowered, can smell Citaro smoke liao!!!
KUB speed up to highest speed it can go!!!
Originally posted by Gus.chong e:The KUB engine is only 230hp, the Citaro is 286hp!! The KUB so underpowered, can smell Citaro smoke liao!!!
Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:Personally, I take this bus over Scania any day. I have been avoiding the Kubs for 2 months, gladly so. Anyway can we just stick to the topic instead of arguing which is better?
Citaro obviously is the better bus for me and Scania is better for some of you guys. Period.
Pointless really.
Wow 2 months? Don't you miss the KUBs?
Yes, Scania is better for me, especially Scania N113CRB
IMO, 60km/h is very slow. Hope they can increase to 70 or 80
Btw, i saw 6280 at C&C. Seems like the delivery of Citaros is almost complete
What's the use of horsepower when the speed limit is 60km/hr?
Originally posted by TIB1218R:Wow 2 months? Don't you miss the KUBs?
Yes, Scania is better for me, especially Scania N113CRB
IMO, 60km/h is very slow. Hope they can increase to 70 or 80
Btw, i saw 6280 at C&C. Seems like the delivery of Citaros is almost complete
60 is pretty ok le...
Because judging from bus ride experience on SMRTB esp 190, the SLs have poor keeping a lookout and slowing down once they start speeding into 70 or 80km/hr on the poor excuse of lambat.. They've a tendency to the need of braking when in most cases all it takes is slow down.
I realise why lambat.. SMRT dispatch rigids even during off peak on 190. Ends up the turnaround time at last few BPJ bus stops before BKE is very long, close to 1 - 2 mins.
Same goes to the 985 rides... Freaking scary rides as the SLs dun bother to slow down at Chantek and continue to travel at 70 or 80.
of course SMRT is fixed by Tibs's insistence onto bendies..
if off peak everywhere uses bendies, the 270 and Pending bus stop would be fixed by longer turnaround time...
Thanks to Tibs, we're facing today's poor bus sv issue thanks to their insistence of bendy buses.
Even they dun bother to slow down at the Whitley/ Stevens Rd exit. Even though the 40km/hr speed limit is there for a reason - the curvinature.. I felt the corolis effect... ![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:What's the use of horsepower when the speed limit is 60km/hr?
It'll allow the bus to accelerate faster, which is very important in citybus operations (of course, you need a good displacement, not a small one like our Citaros.....)
Originally posted by sbst275:
60 is pretty ok le...Because judging from bus ride experience on SMRTB esp 190, the SLs have poor keeping a lookout and slowing down once they start speeding into 70 or 80km/hr on the poor excuse of lambat.. They've a tendency to the need of braking when in most cases all it takes is slow down.
I realise why lambat.. SMRT dispatch rigids even during off peak on 190. Ends up the turnaround time at last few BPJ bus stops before BKE is very long, close to 1 - 2 mins.
Same goes to the 985 rides... Freaking scary rides as the SLs dun bother to slow down at Chantek and continue to travel at 70 or 80.
I agree 60 also okay.
Since SG the traffic lights are maximum 500m apart from each other, there isn't a need for bus to speed that fast since sooner or later they will still get caught up in the traffic.
Enough of the arguing over KUBs vs Citaros, it's getting nonsensical.
Anyway, can someone check the status of 6204R 6209C & 6185L? Either 6204R or 6209C is stuck on Sv 28 IIRC, 28 is still missing 1 BNDEP bus, just need someone to update.
Originally posted by SBS 9631X:Enough of the arguing over KUBs vs Citaros, it's getting nonsensical.
Anyway, can someone check the status of 6204R 6209C & 6185L? Either 6204R or 6209C is stuck on Sv 28 IIRC, 28 is still missing 1 BNDEP bus, just need someone to update.
SBS6209C been sticking on 33 lately.
I run really care bout Hp especially in SG.Torque is more impt.Bus can be 210hp but if the torque is 1200nm for a 7 litre bus and weight less than 9 litre bus then voila.In Malaysia Hp is quite impt cause of the highways.MAN is overpowered Liao although twin turbo 1600nm is sweet enough.Only if KUB230 torque is increase to 1200nm then it's king Liao.Citaro more or less the same.The Hp and torque cover it's tiny 6.4 litre engine.One thing why Volkswagen small cc turbo engine works well in Sg.Now Proton Exora MPV 1.6 also got light turbo version zooming fast from standstill.Even my bike also upgrade with cam etc to increase torque
Originally posted by SBS7557R:SBS6209C been sticking on 33 lately.
You know replacing which bus?
Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:Personally, I take this bus over Scania any day. I have been avoiding the Kubs for 2 months, gladly so. Anyway can we just stick to the topic instead of arguing which is better?
Citaro obviously is the better bus for me and Scania is better for some of you guys. Period.
Pointless really.
Originally posted by TIB868X:It'll allow the bus to accelerate faster, which is very important in citybus operations (of course, you need a good displacement, not a small one like our Citaros.....)
how fast can you pick up during peak hrs?
For urban driving speed control is more important
Registered on 15 June 2012:
Originally posted by SBS2656X:I agree 60 also okay.
Since SG the traffic lights are maximum 500m apart from each other, there isn't a need for bus to speed that fast since sooner or later they will still get caught up in the traffic.
60km/h is very very slow to me. Try taking KUB on 39 vs O405 on 969 at TPE. Svc 72 more worst, crawling at Tampines Road
Even Bendies on 812 went over 60 at Yishun Central and Ring Road
Originally posted by TIB1218R:60km/h is very very slow to me. Try taking KUB on 39 vs O405 on 969 at TPE. Svc 72 more worst, crawling at Tampines Road
The O405 dun even have speed limiters fitted.
60km/hr is pretty fast alrdy... Somemore more or less ideal tat you can slow down instead of braking...
At smaller roads, usually is dun get into situation you cannot stop in time, esp those pedestrain crossing... Speed but dun get caught into troublesome situation
Originally posted by TIB1218R:60km/h is very very slow to me. Try taking KUB on 39 vs O405 on 969 at TPE. Svc 72 more worst, crawling at Tampines Road
Not that I want to say, but I think many of us who didn't take Physics at all or something tend to forget about the concept of inertia. The heavier your mass, the higher your inertia. Not to mention that most buses have soggy brakes, not the standard or performance brakes you find in your dad's run-of-the-mill Toyota or Jaguar.
60kmh is the safest speed determined by LTA for a reason. For buses to brake in time and turn at junctions without flipping (just look at the number of DDs in HK flipping), plus reduces the chance of anyone flying through the windscreen if the bus emergency brakes. Not that we don't have buses crashing into the rears of each other in normal conditions in the first place.
Plus like what 'sbst275' said, 60kmh is slow to you cause the SMRT O405s are going faster, and that's because they broke the system somehow by not sticking to the limit. If you want something faster, go take a cab or train. Buses aren't exactly the fastest solution to get from point-to-point nowadays anyway.
Always the younger ones yet to learn how to drive, wouldn't realise how important is keeping safe vs getting there fast
Problem is the speedo of each bus model is different.MAN 60kmh is not same as Citaro 60kmh leh.And some buses the 60kmh feel like 50-55 only seriously..If u drive Sbst and Smrt buses before then you will know why.Talking is easier than doing.I ever drive 1 MkIV DM on 36 and the 60 seriously is like 50 and worsened if the bus is full load.At least governed all the buses below 70 then it be ok.
Maybe that's why nowadays you see ppl weaving in n out of expressway lanes... Even at Anak Bt area..
so daring
And O405s from Smrt mostly fitted with 60kmh limiter and that explain why there are so many breakdown like exhaust clogging fuel pump choked etc
Sbst275 I feel 65 on highways is better but not on urban areas such as orchard.Cause when the bus is full load your 60 is totally different Liao.Btw do you notice several 161,168 buses on TPE running between 65-70?Thing getting chaos if VO batch 1 & LOs are used.