How come so many of you are saying the pending withdrawal of service 81? I don't see the need to withdrawl service 81. The most the stretch of Hougang S'th - Little India area will be amended.Originally posted by tranquilice:The following is my predictions (repeated) to service changes after NEL opens.
97 (Jurong East to Little India stretch) will be integrated with 23 (Tampines to Little India) to become 68 (Tampines to Jurong East)
65 (Tampines to Orchard stretch) will be integrated with 111 (Ghim Moh to Orchard stretch) to become 65 (Tampines to Ghim Moh). As for 65 Orchard to HarbourFront stretch, can take alternative 14 (to Lower Delta Rd) or 85.
103 (Jln Kayu to Upp Serangoon stretch) will be integrated with 107 (Serangoon Int to Shenton Way/Marina Centre) to become 107 (Jln Kayu to Marina Centre only, skipping Shenton Way)
81 will be withdrawn, 53 will be amended to via Upp Serangoon Rd to serve Kovan station, skipping Lor Ah Soo and Hougang Ave 1. Affected passengers can transfer to 62 outside Kovan station.
321 will be withdrawn, 62 will be extended to Hougang Ctrl, via Upp Serangoon Rd, Hougang St 21, Hougang Ave 1 and continue with its present route.
501, 511 & 512 will be withdrawn, 502 (Boon Lay to Orchard stretch) will be integrated with 518 to become 510 from Pasir Ris to Boon Lay, via ECP, Marina Centre and Orchard in both directions, skipping PIE, CTE, Moulmein Rd, Newton Rd & Scotts Rd.
131 to serve Farrer Park station in both direction, skipping Dorset Rd.
All services in Hougang South Int will be shifted to Hougang Ctrl Int.
All services currently in Hougang South Int. will be shifted to Hougang Ctrl Int. once the NEL starts, that's include svc 132. I think that svc 132 will be shortened to Ang Mo Kio to avoid duplication with svc 74 & 165. But then, svc 132 terminating at Ang Mo Kio Int. would mean duplication with svc 166 from Thomson Rd to Ang Mo Kio. So we may see either svc 132 or 166 route between Thomson Rd & Ang Mo Kio be amended.Originally posted by TIB1186Z:This prediction is interesting.. Any idea what the amended route of 132 would be like? My guess is that it may skip the entire Hougang Ctrl-Hougang Sth stretch completely.
If 65 is to be amended, then it may be quite troublesome to get from Orchard to Harbourfront by bus, provided if one is prepared to switch lines on the MRT, especially since 14 does not serve it, and 85 has a very high chance of being withdrawn.
I like the amended service 68, especially since the distance is about the same considering 23 is driven as a loop service.
You mentioned about svc 81 connecting Tampines and Pasir Ris residents to Little India and Chinatown. They actually have alternatives.Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:There is no need for bus 81 to be withdraw , Period . Bus 18 is for passengers to get from Tampines to Bedok via Ave 7 , Ave 4 and Bedok Reservoir faster and the load factor is not bad and high load factor during peak hours . There is no need to change bus 18 route and plus the long buses are suitable for bus 18 route too .
Bus 81 : I will be so damn pissed off if SBS does anything to this route and if SBS listens to your suggestion . The bus route is to connect the tampines and pasir ris folks to Little India and China town . There is no need for a change in this route , maybe certain sector along NE line .
No disrespect to you , you are not living in Tampines area , i dont think you know how high the load factor of bus 81 especially during school hours . Deleting this bus service will only cause uproar among the commutors . I can you tell you , I will be one of them .
Peace Out !!
lucky i never send in amy suggestions. i feel i only know bt panjang well as i plan many of the svcs that go there. (920, 970 and lately 963). basically i just work on my cousin's complaints.Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:There is no need for bus 81 to be withdraw , Period . Bus 18 is for passengers to get from Tampines to Bedok via Ave 7 , Ave 4 and Bedok Reservoir faster and the load factor is not bad and high load factor during peak hours . There is no need to change bus 18 route and plus the long buses are suitable for bus 18 route too .
Bus 81 : I will be so damn pissed off if SBS does anything to this route and if SBS listens to your suggestion . The bus route is to connect the tampines and pasir ris folks to Little India and China town . There is no need for a change in this route , maybe certain sector along NE line .
No disrespect to you , you are not living in Tampines area , i dont think you know how high the load factor of bus 81 especially during school hours . Deleting this bus service will only cause uproar among the commutors . I can you tell you , I will be one of them .
Peace Out !!
Sv. 132 or Sv. 166 MAY be cut short to end at Bishan as there is TOO MUCH duplication from Upp Thomson Rd to AMK Interchange. Sv. 36 may be extended to HarbourFront or St. Michaels, the two nearest interchanges to Tomlinson Rd.Originally posted by tranquilice:All services currently in Hougang South Int. will be shifted to Hougang Ctrl Int. once the NEL starts, that's include svc 132. I think that svc 132 will be shortened to Ang Mo Kio to avoid duplication with svc 74 & 165. But then, svc 132 terminating at Ang Mo Kio Int. would mean duplication with svc 166 from Thomson Rd to Ang Mo Kio. So we may see either svc 132 or 166 route between Thomson Rd & Ang Mo Kio be amended.
I have this idea, if svc 85 is going to be withdrawn, then svc 36 may be extended to terminate at HarbourFront. (to maintain the link of svc 85 between Orchard & HarbourFront) The route of svc 36 between Changi Airport and Orchard MRT remains the same, after that svc 36 will follow exactly the same route of svc 85 to HarbourFront, skipping Tomlinson Rd area.
I hope svc 68 will become a reality, but I haven't feedback to SBST yet.
I think you must be referring to my suggested Express 510. The route from Pasir Ris to Boon Lay and vice versa covers mostly expressways and express sector. If it was a trunk service instead, then it will be the route that serve the most stops in S'pore, but I think that will not happens.Originally posted by orange_oceanz:Pasir Ris to Boon Lay? Siao!
Yes, Bishan should get more services. But the amendment of services 132 and 166 must not duplicate with services 54 or 162. What's your suggestions to the new routes?Originally posted by SBS9818A:Sv. 132 or Sv. 166 MAY be cut short to end at Bishan as there is TOO MUCH duplication from Upp Thomson Rd to AMK Interchange. Sv. 36 may be extended to HarbourFront or St. Michaels, the two nearest interchanges to Tomlinson Rd.
WTC has been "demolished" long ago. It's now called HarbourFront Centre.Originally posted by xin1jun2:oh no
not service 166
that bus is good for residents in west going to WTC leh.
ZYX
i got a suggestion for a service express 517.Originally posted by tranquilice:I think you must be referring to my suggested Express 510. The route from Pasir Ris to Boon Lay and vice versa covers mostly expressways and express sector. If it was a trunk service instead, then it will be the route that serve the most stops in S'pore, but I think that will not happens.
SBST has reason for withdrawing Express 506 from Changi Airport.Originally posted by xin1jun2:i got a suggestion for a service express 517.
SBS 517 Changi airport - Jurong east
via: ECP - east coast park carpakr - ECP - marine parade rd - ECP - WTC (harborfront if u like) - telok blangah rd - alexandra rd - queensway - c'wealth ave - commonwealth ave west CLEMENTI MRT - boon lay way (express) - jurong east int
reason for service: i feel that there shd be a bus service to changi airport for the west ppl instead of the MRT. for example bishna folks have 53, toa payoh folks have 989, marine parade folks have 36, bedok folks got their 24...etc
how come clementi and commonwealth and even juorng east folks dunn get any busies?
(there used to ba service 57 that goes bouna vista - changi airport)
ZYX
A number of schools depends on service 132 and 166. For service 132, the service was extended from old Ang Mo Kio Interchange to Hougang South. Also, many residents in Ang Mo Kio depends on service 166 to KK, Little India and Bugis area. Bringing either one or both services to Bishan will just bring inconvenience to Ang Mo Kio residents. For sure, there will be duplication with service 54 and 162 if these services were extended to Bishan , either via Ang Mo Kio or Thomson.Originally posted by SBS9818A:Sv. 132 or Sv. 166 MAY be cut short to end at Bishan as there is TOO MUCH duplication from Upp Thomson Rd to AMK Interchange. Sv. 36 may be extended to HarbourFront or St. Michaels, the two nearest interchanges to Tomlinson Rd.
Sv. 132 or Sv. 166, if amended to Bishan, would turn right from Upper Thomson Rd to Marymount Lane and then go along Bishan St 21 and turn left from St 11 to St 13 or follow Sv. 56 route, it may happen.Originally posted by tranquilice:Yes, Bishan should get more services. But the amendment of services 132 and 166 must not duplicate with services 54 or 162. What's your suggestions to the new routes?
In my opinion, I would like service 36 to terminate at HarbourFront and no-where else, terminating at St. Michael's could possibly duplicate service 124.
AMK residents can easily take Sv. 851 down to Bugis. There would not be duplication if Sv. 166 and/or Sv. 132 be amended to Bishan, as they would most likely travel along Bishan St. 21 instead of Sin Ming area.Originally posted by off_service:A number of schools depends on service 132 and 166. For service 132, the service was extended from old Ang Mo Kio Interchange to Hougang South. Also, many residents in Ang Mo Kio depends on service 166 to KK, Little India and Bugis area. Bringing either one or both services to Bishan will just bring inconvenience to Ang Mo Kio residents. For sure, there will be duplication with service 54 and 162 if these services were extended to Bishan , either via Ang Mo Kio or Thomson.
hey good idea that oneOriginally posted by tranquilice:SBST has reason for withdrawing Express 506 from Changi Airport.
Actually, no need for a Express 517, all SBST has to do is to convert Express 507 (Boon Lay to Shenton Way) to a whole-day service and extend it to the airport via Fullerton Rd, Esplanade Dr, Marina Centre and ECP.
But that will duplicate service 410.Originally posted by SBS9818A:Sv. 132 or Sv. 166, if amended to Bishan, would turn right from Upper Thomson Rd to Marymount Lane and then go along Bishan St 21 and turn left from St 11 to St 13 or follow Sv. 56 route, it may happen.
Why the need to renumber it? 507 is ok.Originally posted by xin1jun2:hey good idea that one
but renumber to 517 pls.
as 57 used to be the bus that did this route last time
ZYX
I wish service 18 not be extended to Serangoon as ZYX mentioned, better to stay in the current route. (I also mentioned its integration with service 26 but there's objection)Originally posted by orange_oceanz:Rearranging the route of bus 18 is the most inhumane thing to do! Alot of residents and schools lie within Tampines Ave 2, they need it to get to tampines and bedok central respectively. We cant rely on bus 28 or 8 to do that!