So apparently Cummins engines are a nightmare as I thought. They have a tendency to show relatively poor mainteinance which points to difficulties.
The MKII and MKIII have the indestructible THD101 engine.
I'll miss the unique idle sound.
Anybody notices how the B10Ms tend to sway side to side when idling? I thought that was quite cute.
Personally, I hate all the Euro IV KUBs because they always jerk in 1st gear, no matter how good the BC is because of an inherent design flaw with the engine. The howling radiators are just horrible. It's worse on it than on the CDGE since the CDGE seems much better insulated. The only redeeming feature is how great the engine sounds when over-revved, even though it doesn't actually make the bus accelerate any much faster.
The new WEG2 are very comfortable and fast, but the aircons are extremely noisy and the chassis seems a little weird as you can hear the axles moving when going over bumps and it's kind of annoying.
Citaros are great but they seem extremely slow when not revved, especially SBST's Voithed versions. Seems a little reluctant to get off from a stop. The aircons on the newer batches are too noisy as well. However, the supreme comfort is all that matters.
If only there was a new bus model with Citaro chassis, Volvo D9A (340HP) engine, quiet airconditioning like the LO3X and a high top speed like the Strider MKIVs which can hit 80km/h on Express 518! Maybe the MAN Lion's City DD fulfills all those above.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:So apparently Cummins engines are a nightmare as I thought. They have a tendency to show relatively poor mainteinance which points to difficulties.
Anybody notices how the B10Ms tend to sway side to side when idling? I thought that was quite cute.
Still have SBS876R idling. Pretty much generic with the MkII idling given it's ZF.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:So apparently Cummins engines are a nightmare as I thought. They have a tendency to show relatively poor mainteinance which points to difficulties.
Cummins engines bad? How come heavy trucks and construction equipment still use them?
King long, Yutong and Sunlong use Cummins so why you want to crap buses with lousy engines!!!
Originally posted by SMB228X:King long, Yutong and Sunlong use Cummins so why you want to crap buses with lousy engines!!!
If it is lousy, then why bother even using it? Many vehicles are still using it. So there is still a use.
Originally posted by SBS2656X:If it is lousy, then why bother even using it? Many vehicles are still using it. So there is still a use.
True point wut. Like the Lo3s. Seem to have forgotten they use Cummins. And I find MkIII slow reason is oso cause of Voith. On 876R i found d acceleration faster by quite a bit
those leyland old junk DDs cummins is very old design made in england drink diesel like nobody business. newer vision is made in china redesign with the help of cummins company cannot compare them with those leyland old junks
Originally posted by The Kiwi Bus Fan:True point wut. Like the Lo3s. Seem to have forgotten they use Cummins. And I find MkIII slow reason is oso cause of Voith. On 876R i found d acceleration faster by quite a bit
No need MkIII. Just look at the WEG. The ZF's fly on expressway. But the Voiths just drive slowly, especially is you are sitting on the top deck.
Originally posted by sbst275:You find the PRC buses engine noises.
Some can be very loud even at newly used stage.
Just look at those school bus.
But the ZFs on CDGE are rather noisy. Even when I am on the 15's floor, the CDGE is just noisy. Imagine just standing right next to it. I was sitting behind me father's lorry when SBS7498C passed by on 88. The sound just pierced through my ear. It was terrible then. The Voiths are rather quiet but not a very good accleration it had.
The slow acceleration is not because they're Voithed mainly but rather the operator did some tuning to slower down cause quick acceleration can cause rear collision in other cars.SMRT did several of its buses too.Only 2nd gear can feel the bus got power.Have you kids ever taken a quick DM3500s,DAFs?Now Voith got 5 speed gearbox too.
Cummins need special training mech leh,Scania,Volvos,MBs are a common sights,More or less the mech knows
Originally posted by carbikebus:The slow acceleration is not because they're Voithed mainly but rather the operator did some tuning to slower down cause quick acceleration can cause rear collision in other cars.SMRT did several of its buses too.Only 2nd gear can feel the bus got power.Have you kids ever taken a quick DM3500s,DAFs?Now Voith got 5 speed gearbox too.
Voith slow acceleration, but fast 2nd to 3rd pick-up. I was talking about the MkIIIs lah. MkIIIs naturally slow. And yes I definetely been on DM3500 and DAF, but sole reason their fast is cause DM3500 is powerful (286bhp) and DAF cause SMRT BCs dun give a shit about ramming into cars. Though I find it unlikely for SMRT or SBST to order 5-speed from Voith.
I think Voith 5-speed goes well with Scania DC9s.
A side note, who supplied the gearbox for 2888?
Originally posted by iveco:I think Voith 5-speed goes well with Scania DC9s.
2888 is also ZF. There's hasen't been any examples of a DC9 mated with a Voith yet. Scania have only offered them with ZF automatic transmissions for now.
Originally posted by The Kiwi Bus Fan:Voith slow acceleration, but fast 2nd to 3rd pick-up. I was talking about the MkIIIs lah. MkIIIs naturally slow. And yes I definetely been on DM3500 and DAF, but sole reason their fast is cause DM3500 is powerful (286bhp) and DAF cause SMRT BCs dun give a shit about ramming into cars. Though I find it unlikely for SMRT or SBST to order 5-speed from Voith.
You are wrong again.
The DM3500 has the same engine like its other MKIV brethren.
So many things above the post that I am lazy to debate on.
Order new Citaros with ZF better!! Faster pickup!!
Originally posted by The Kiwi Bus Fan:Voith slow acceleration, but fast 2nd to 3rd pick-up. I was talking about the MkIIIs lah. MkIIIs naturally slow. And yes I definetely been on DM3500 and DAF, but sole reason their fast is cause DM3500 is powerful (286bhp) and DAF cause SMRT BCs dun give a shit about ramming into cars. Though I find it unlikely for SMRT or SBST to order 5-speed from Voith.
Dunno whether need to knock ur damn head or not.The MkIv Dm3500 use THD102KF which is rated at 245hp@1800rpm only.How are u bloody sure that SMRT SL dun give a shit into ramming a car?The N113CRB is the most notorious one since its hold the record ramming into the rear of cars hence SBST tighten most of its acceleration power.Ive ever outrun a taxi on a svc 17 CRB from standstill to almost 400m
No.
You can't knock anything into the thick skulls of many people.
Save your breath and fingers.
And oh.
+1.
Originally posted by iveco:I think Voith 5-speed goes well with Scania DC9s.
ZF 5-speed. The only guy who can clear the Ophir Road slope from Republic Avenue onto ECP (Eastbound) IMO.
Originally posted by SMB228X:Order new Citaros with ZF better!! Faster pickup!!
Originally posted by carbikebus:Dunno whether need to knock ur damn head or not.The MkIv Dm3500 use THD102KF which is rated at 245hp@1800rpm only.How are u bloody sure that SMRT SL dun give a shit into ramming a car?The N113CRB is the most notorious one since its hold the record ramming into the rear of cars hence SBST tighten most of its acceleration power.Ive ever outrun a taxi on a svc 17 CRB from standstill to almost 400m
Aha, yes. The venerable N113s of the East. I remember 3641 on route 352 flying down PSR St 21 back in December 1996.
Yeah man I miss driving the SAAB Scania N113CRB with Voith.Acceleration is like woooossh.Those ZF-ed buses got no chance to outrun.
Originally posted by sbst275:MAN some also getting horrible.. The boards are falling off as screws are missing...
The overtaking is sure or not? 60km/hr max...
Anyway, I dun buy the speeding. Cos it's all to do w/ scheduling, 50km/hr is still ok. If there's a traffic jam, kpkb bus why lambat so jialat?
Man sux dude.It is no difference from KUBS.Still deploy on 858.I still prefer KUBS though.