Originally posted by SMB195G:Are you crazy? Look at 300 case (or any feeder services that have the same issue as 300), they need to have at least 15-20 (or more) single deck buses to solve the problem which also use alot of parking space. If bendy buses on 300 are pack like hell, you think single deck buses can solve the problem?
He's just too biased towards bendies. Obviously when there cannot have DDs then use more single decks, if cannot use more SDs then bendies lah.
The rule plays like that, simple as it is. For those who don't understand the importance of bendies, I am speechless...
I highly doubt SMRT will be purchasing bendies.
There are signs all over that the public is unhappy with bendies.
Yet there has been no corresponding sign that the govt is willing to accommodate these buses.
Unless SMRT wants to get more brickbats from govt, which I really do not think so, especially with the current 3 star, I would put my money on the bendy trial being a one-off affair....if it even happens.
Dont forget SMRT has been screwed by 2 ministries already in just space of a year.
You should see the 184 bendies along Clementi Rd.....if you get stuck behind these buses at peak hour you will really WEEP.
No kidding.
Originally posted by vicamour:Baseless assumptions.
Runtime won't be longer even if SMRTB uses double deckers. And SMRTB bus services needs a bit more runtime for many bus services as most BCs have to rush to complete the journey. This adds up to the stress they are facing driving the bus services everyday. No wonder the PRC BCs went on strike and may are unhappy with the working hours and conditions.
Boarding and unloading time is more of less the same for both double deckers and bendy buses. But bendy buses take up much more space in the bus stop and delaying other buses behind. Double deckers on the other hand gives the flexibility for other buses behind to stop and allow boarding and alighting and do not delay buses behind. I don't see double deckers along bus stops delaying other buses but the long queues caused by bendy buses always delays other buses.
Upper deck seating issues is improving, in fact many people are moving up because they want to find a seat and break away from the crowd in the lower deck. Bendy buses are also problematic when people do not want to move into the rear of the bus. Feeder services will be better to improved with more frequencies using single deckers, unless LTA wants to cut down the number of feeder services. Long frequencies using bendy buses is not efficient for places with many services.
If they want to reject, why not?Bendy buses are not relevant to their operational needs anymore. They created more problems to SMRTB instead.
If you have noticed, many of these SMRTB buses are already exceeding the speed limits for commercial vehicles. Wonder what are all the TPs doing.
Don't be a dumbat, DDs have their own disadvantages. Cannot stand on the second deck.. Whereas bendy buses you can stand on the trailer, stairs are narrow on DDs and falling is more prone. I agree that bendies take more space but those services which are jam packed by people should use bendies. Cause there is more standing space. Don't be a freak who always targets bendies.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:You should see the 184 bendies along Clementi Rd.....if you get stuck behind these buses at peak hour you will really WEEP.
No kidding.
At least better than so many single deckers bunching up
Aiya..just see both(SMRT and LTA) of their actions can? If govt. not welcoming bendy buses, they should follow like what London had done.
If not, no point using COI report, some scene you saw etc. to "Help" or "comment" them. And if LTA report already stated the cons of bendy buses, why bother to "hint" SMRT? Might as well just ask them remove or stop purchasing what? I don't even think any minister would do things slowly to improve? That would be a joke if they does that isn't it?
Originally posted by sbst275:I think most of your didn’t even looked at planning aspects…
many just happ on taking pic of Habits, MAN, Citaro doing emergency… do spot for taking pic since the buses are happilying blocking SBST buses at Buona Vista or Clementi bus stop…
if now, you’re the ones inconvenienced by all these, you can accept it?
Stop at Bus stop for a short time only bah. Doesn't make any difference when there's 2 single deckers of the same service.
Oh really?
I dont see that problem with 74's even better frequency.
The length of the bendy prevents buses behind from leap-frogging during bunching.
You realise that?
Originally posted by SMB66X:Aiya..just see both(SMRT and LTA) of their actions can? If govt. not welcoming bendy buses, they should follow like what London had done.
If not, no point using COI report, some scene you saw etc. to "Help" or "comment" them. And if LTA report already stated the cons of bendy buses, why bother to "hint" SMRT? Might as well just ask them remove or stop purchasing what? I don't even think any minister would do things slowly to improve? That would be a joke if they does that isn't it?
They cant.
If they do, it runs counter to the "free market" that so many people seem to crave.
That puts LTA in a even worse position.
Originally posted by sbst275:and some of your cannot understand the significance of the COI report..
or even the emergency exercise last week… The woe of parking 12m MAN at Clementi WB bus stop.. If it’s Habit and school term, how?
there’s a lot of scenario that can happen…
it’s how you justify… and figure things out..
Because of this small delay time so you think that bendies should not be used? But what happens if DDs cannot be used?
And use 2 single decks? Doens't make any difference IMO.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Oh really?
I dont see that problem with 74's even better frequency.
The length of the bendy prevents buses behind from leap-frogging during bunching.
You realise that?
We do, but sometimes bo bian if anti-dd
Originally posted by SBS2601D:They cant.
If they do, it runs counter to the "free market" that so many people seem to crave.
That puts LTA in a even worse position.
Hais..
Now only hope is the DTL and Thomson Line liao~ If they can really reduce the no. of people taking buses to CBD, that would be better~
Ready Reduce : Really helps a lot(value of ridership in buses during peak decrease a lot)
Originally posted by SBS8501U:Because of this small delay time so you think that bendies should not be used? But what happens if DDs cannot be used?
And use 2 single decks? Doens't make any difference IMO.
Small delay time only also complain... wtf sia
... They can't live with it???
Originally posted by TIB 501 D:Small delay time only also complain... wtf sia
... They can't live with it???
if every stop along clementi rd during jam, the bus behind cannot overtake, you will kpkb.
I stopped taking ffwd151e already because its not fast forward at all thanks to that cock rd.
And its not small time delay.
You go try before you understand the bendy nightmare and why even BCs get frustrated behind.
Originally posted by sbst275:and some of your cannot understand the significance of the COI report..
or even the emergency exercise last week… The woe of parking 12m MAN at Clementi WB bus stop.. If it’s Habit and school term, how?
there’s a lot of scenario that can happen…
it’s how you justify… and figure things out..
never see when 154 and 183 bunches up at clementi EB bus stop early in the morning during school days ar...
Originally posted by SMB66X:Hais..
Now only hope is the DTL and Thomson Line liao~ If they can really reduce the no. of people taking buses to CBD, that would be better~
Ready Reduce : Really helps a lot(value of ridership in buses during peak decrease a lot)
A way out of all these problems would be to try to spread the office hours out.
But really ah....everytime its govt say "we shld do this" but they themselves dont change.
Govt office hr still the standard one.
And although govt say grades should be less focused upon for private sector jobs, govt sector jobs, open mouth only: so you got what grades ah?
Originally posted by dan474:never see when 154 and 183 bunches up at clementi EB bus stop early in the morning during school days ar...
Dunno leh.
But a lot of people pouring scorn on the save 10 cent if wake up early initiative.
I think they might have increased to 20 cent.