as for Yishun st 31 and Yishun st 41, both are single lane road
Originally posted by d143b2:there's a photo of Yishun Ave 3/Yishun St 71 where SMRT/Tibs 800 is seen turning into. it is one lane road.
credits: TIB1218R (ps borrow your image)
Uh ok?
Then please explain how 70 DD goes through the AMDEP area with the same sort of restrictions.
S139 roads are more narrow than Yishun IMHO.The 2nd axle for dd is steerable FYI Thats why its possible.
you mean jalan rajah sector?
not a problem
it turns straight into jalan rajah and then whampoa road
Lengkok Bahru leh that side
SMRT's tender does not state DDs shorter than 12m...
It is either 12m DD, 18m bendy, or both(if possible)...
Originally posted by vicamour:
Mr carbikebus, sadly some of these kids here don't even know your intentions of your postings here.
Just ignore some of the kids here. They love to twist the fact and present untrue stories to make themselves look better without even looking at the big picture. Even after so many years, they still don't understand the root of the problems that caused SMRTB chaos that has been revealed.
Or are you the one who is assuming? Your numbers clearly states that you are too exggerated in your own assumptions. Runtime won't be doubled just because your assummed figures.If your figures that bendy buses are more efficient are faster in alighting, why is there longer queues along bus stops and bus interchanges? And why do our poor BCs have to queue up in the middle of the nights outside the bus depots for hours just to wait for a lot to park their buses, instead of spending the time resting?
Sorry, I have no issues of bendy buses in the past. But until recently more and more problems are surfacing when there are more buses on the roads, more problems caused by bendy buses are being highlighted in this forum, and through observations of my daily commuting in buses and the lastest terrible observation of midnight bus queues outside Woodlands depot, I would think that bendy buses are already not suitable for Singapore public bus operations.
They can have their advantages, but the problems they created for SMRTB, especially for the past years is more than its advantages it can give. I think one of the forum mates here have mentioned before, both models have their pros and cons, but given to the change to the operating environment, increasing population and more buses in future, LTA and bus companies have to choose the better of the worse.
Another name labeling. For a person like you who is a racist in one of the earlier threads, look at yourself before labeling others.
Did I say faster? Don't twist my words if you can't read properly. I said "more or less the same", not "faster".
Are you sure? I come across instances where BCs have to yell at the commuters to move to the rear of the bendy bus.
Then tell me why Chua Chu Kang feeders do not have problems coping with the crowd and at the same time not creating long queues during SBS era when they were using the Volvo Olympian NACs?
Same goes to you bitching about double deckers here which is not even a fact.
Don't be a typical bendy bus bitcher. Both have disadvantages and advantages. So lets shuddup about this matter and let LTA/SMRT decide.
Anyway, whatever bus SMRT is getting, I hope LTA can install a taller roof for buses to enter bus bay, and letting passengers to board/alight the bus w/o going under the rain? :/
Originally posted by SMB66X:Anyway, whatever bus SMRT is getting, I hope LTA can install a taller roof for buses to enter bus bay, and letting passengers to board/alight the bus w/o going under the rain? :/
You mean roofs that are 4.5m high? Well, that's a good idea
!
Originally posted by SMB66X:Anyway, whatever bus SMRT is getting, I hope LTA can install a taller roof for buses to enter bus bay, and letting passengers to board/alight the bus w/o going under the rain? :/
Agree on that.
Originally posted by TIB 501 D:You mean roofs that are 4.5m high? Well, that's a good idea
!
Originally posted by TIB 501 D:You mean roofs that are 4.5m high? Well, that's a good idea
!
Yup. Seen some bus stops at Tampines are worst than most of the normal bus stop.
Originally posted by SMB66X:Yup. Seen some bus stops at Tampines are worst than most of the normal bus stop.
I think you probably mean that the roof was located too far away from the road, right?
Whatever it is I hope lta consider longer bus bays in Bt Batok/CCK/Yishun and Woodlands to accommodate the bendy buses.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Uh ok?
Then please explain how 70 DD goes through the AMDEP area with the same sort of restrictions.
So many DDs go through small roads. Even in HK there are now 12m DDs that do the hills and small interior roads.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Whatever it is I hope lta consider longer bus bays in Bt Batok/CCK/Yishun and Woodlands to accommodate the bendy buses.
Originally posted by OMSI123:Don't be a typical bendy bus bitcher. Both have disadvantages and advantages. So lets shuddup about this matter and let LTA/SMRT decide.
Have many bendy hater is no good!!! SBS should also embrace bendy n buy Euro VI Citaro G for feeder!!!!
Originally posted by sbst275:
tak boleh la.. like this, all the SBS area bus stop that has bendy plying also need to upgrade liao... good for SBST, dumb for SMRTB area... cos of how many bus can park into the shelter area at 1 time...
He only say SMRT area mah~~
Originally posted by SMB66X:He only say SMRT area mah~~
ya for SMRT area only, so bendy ops can confine to feeder svcs and svcs which need high capacity buses but cannot put DD...
Originally posted by vicamour:
Then tell me why Chua Chu Kang feeders do not have problems coping with the crowd and at the same time not creating long queues during SBS era when they were using the Volvo Olympian NACs?
Its simply because that point of time, there were not many people in Singapore. Now, Singapore has 5 million people and thats why there are long queues.
Where have you been, man? You don't know about this? SBS era is long time ago, yo!
Actually 10.9m 2 axles DD also not bad either.Can squeeze almost 102 pax up n down.I saw the Kmb B9TL 2 axles fully packed before cause the front bus breakdown..Their engine also using the D9B 310 as option