For me I'm neither a hardcore fan for both side.I like both SBST/SMRT.To think I'm grateful for their service all these years even though I'm more into riding and driving.Unlike my time where buses are either semi auto or manual with rude behavior from drivers.Time has changed yeah but some old habit die hard whether you like it or not.From my pov think SMRT can keep at most 300 bendies if they're keen on getting WAB bendies.I would love if SMRT exchange Bukit Batok for Yio Chu Kang svc..
Its not a question of suitability of DD and bendy for whither this or that road conditions.
Its about feasibility of mainteinance and reduction in variable costs as well.
2601D you think servicing a bendy is more costly than 3 axles DD?I know bendy articulator cost much..but tire wise think almost the same as 3 x DD.Problem is space only
No....
I was thinking cai png with 6 sides is more expensive then cai png with 3 sides.
And if you need to choose, then obviously you throw out bendies.
Chai png china 6 pcs equal to chai png Hong Kong 3 pcs how ah?
But this is SG leh.
And even SBST, with its much larger bus fleet, chose, rather than accept both types.
SMRT shld just go for DDs in view of this.
I don't see why we should blame the bendies for SMRT's inefficiency.
Its ok.
As long as Desmond Kuek sees, its good enough.
I thought 3-axle DDs and 18m bendies have the same amount of tyres (2-4-4)?
Originally posted by carbikebus:For me I'm neither a hardcore fan for both side.I like both SBST/SMRT.To think I'm grateful for their service all these years even though I'm more into riding and driving.Unlike my time where buses are either semi auto or manual with rude behavior from drivers.Time has changed yeah but some old habit die hard whether you like it or not.From my pov think SMRT can keep at most 300 bendies if they're keen on getting WAB bendies.I would love if SMRT exchange Bukit Batok for Yio Chu Kang svc..
This thread is becoming like for fanboys liao. Like how aviation enthus fight over Airbus and Boeing
Just 2 words:
Scale economics.
Just google these and you would understand why the PTOs would not choose what you guys call "the ideal fleet".
SBST like A330/380 while SMRTB is like B747-800i & B777-200
Originally posted by carbikebus:SBST like A330/380 while SMRTB is like B747-800i & B777-200
No, the other way round. SBST is like Boeing ("hail the Queen of the Skies"/B747) and SMRT is like Airbus ("stupid fat ugly whale"/A380) ![]()
A380 is double decker mah.Anyway there's a logic if SMRT at last consider 2x 11m E400 with 335hp rating like HK.Cummins euro V engine is way better than Pre euro,euro 1 or euro 2 engines
Originally posted by carbikebus:SBST like A330/380 while SMRTB is like B747-800i & B777-200
I like this.
wth you pick so many sides for what?
seriously
a bendy DD is a overkill ...
likewise a TD (triple deckers)
nothing can change lah
Originally posted by SBS 1000U:Well, I don't need to say more.
LTA already has given their hint. And given SMRT has caused many problems recently, I hope they will wise up and do the improvements as LTA had planned for Singapore in the long term instead.
Or else like what vicamour said, SMRT to give up its bus operations. I don't fully agree if SMRT decides to wise up instead of keeping its old mismanaged ways.
Because you just accuse the way you want without even having concrete proof. Now talk bad and assuming other's personality. Look who has the low EQ.
Not that I don't have concrete proof, I don't even need 1 of that to claim that fact. Cause some people already agreed that you're having a low EQ and agreeing that you're scolding people younger than you in a childish manner and think you're high-leveled when you're low-eqed without a valid reason, so it claims that you're looking down on the younger generation.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Just 2 words:
Scale economics.
Just google these and you would understand why the PTOs would not choose what you guys call "the ideal fleet".
Otherwise, it makes me understand that an ideal fleet should consist of both bendies and double deckers.
You don't need complicated logic to understand the importance of bendies
Obviously you neglected to google it.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Obviously you neglected to google it.
Because there is no need to, and there is no point ![]()
Then you will never understand a major reason why SBST ditched bendies and commited itself to DDs, and managed to keep its costs minimal.
And why SMRT never had the TIBS tradition of making small purchases.
Using the same logic, they would never purchase both bendy and DD simultaneously.
More so, under LG Kuek, that much I put faith in.
So yes. The odds are highly stacked against bendies I would say.
A lot of people here are just doing the Gold 90FM, which is a shame, because a narrow perspective typically doesn't get one far.
Originally posted by sbst275:lol…
300 ever used VO2x back in SBS era… 302 used Leyland Atlantean…
Don't forget that these DDs are shorter than our Superbus currently on service.