Originally posted by carbikebus:Hmm I remember and if I'm not mistaken SMRT charge less than SBST to the organiser.
They charge less bacause they are keen to clitch the business to make the profits but at the expense of dwindling service standards for basic public bus services.
And at that point of time, SBST had stopped their chartering services.
Originally posted by SMB66X:How about MRT shuttle? Only seen KUBs/Citaros~ Don't say about the day when NSL stops running for maintance, but their own NEL train breakdown~ Why don't they deploy DDs instead?
Please get the difference between essential charter services and non essential charter services for private events.
Originally posted by SMB66X:Not 100% but at least a mixture of SD/DDs in the fleet~ You can say there's elderly going up, but how sure is that? We both seen different cases, I can say majority of the elderly prefer lower deck. The more seats there is, the better it is~ I often heard elderly complaining about less seats in the bus(those KUB)~
I'm ain't sure about HK~ But all I see aren't elderly onboard any DDs on the 2nd deck~~ Plus you can never compare HK's KMB and Singapore's SBSTransit for DDs.
Their DDs have a safer steps, unlike our Singapore, which have a "spiral-staircase" like. There's also more space, and it shows a mini version of those found in a 2-story flat~ Infact, I admire more of HK bus company than our locals one~
Don't just say SMRT, some SBST drivers aren't probably trained~ Infact, I guess LTA should look into it seriously~ Don't say these 2 company, some private company buses do speeds, used road shoulder to kill waiting time for jam~ I've seen SBST drivers using the middle lane at least 80-90% tru-out the entire journey too. So does the issue lies on poor training from "upstairs"(aka trainer) or drive too long turn reckless?
KMB staircase :
Source : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alexander_Dennis_Enviro500
Then you should feedback to SBST about the staircase issue. It is all about how SBST acquires its fleet. Go show this example to them.
Majority of SBST BCs drive safely because they have proper procedures in changing lanes, moving out of bus bay, checking blind spots. Only a minority do not follow the rules.
However many SMRT BCs love to speed, drive in a manner that the bus is speeding, jerking, and stop abruptly without concerning the safety of others, changing lanes/turning out without signaling first, and some even beat the red lights. Of course, sometimes we can't blame the BCs because of SMRTB terrible scheduling which cause BCs to have tight runtimes. It shows how much the company culture is.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:That's because SBST no longer does charter service anymore.
It used to be common in 90s to see SBST buses everywhere, from funerals to schools, with the plastic charter desto.
But those days were long gone.
How about MRT shuttle? Only seen KUBs/Citaros~ Don't say about the day when NSL stops running for maintance, but their own NEL train breakdown~ Why don't they deploy DDs instead?
Originally posted by vicamour:That is why speeding should never been allowed for public buses and should be enforced for the safety for the commuters. Especially for SMRT buses and bendy buses, which overworking them leads to those buses burnt or having high accident rates as shown months back.
the traffic police ...
lorries speeding
buses @ 80/90 km/h
WTH
burnt O405G?
Wahkaoz I'm not surprise 1 day manufacturers will fit a lift to go upper deck especially for PIW and elderly but bus have to be 12.5m
Anyway, if SBS Transit would to follow KMB version, I believe more elderly would head up, if they can~
Also, certain drivers seems to be impatience sometimes~ when passengers are still coming down from stairs, they can still close the door w/o checking~ Maybe it's time that a camera should be fitted at the stairs area~
So cheem ah give high bus ppl kaopeh give long bus also kaopeh then what bus we do want actually?
Originally posted by carbikebus:Wahkaoz I'm not surprise 1 day manufacturers will fit a lift to go upper deck especially for PIW and elderly but bus have to be 12.5m
PIW on the upper deck?
erm 4 axle buses?
Originally posted by SMB66X:How about MRT shuttle? Only seen KUBs/Citaros~ Don't say about the day when NSL stops running for maintance, but their own NEL train breakdown~ Why don't they deploy DDs instead?
Please refer to vicamour's reply, thanks.
Besides....your point in asking being?
I am not SBST personnel and all I pointed out was that SBST no longer provides buses for chartering anymore to the general public.
Originally posted by carbikebus:So cheem ah give high bus ppl kaopeh give long bus also kaopeh then what bus we do want actually?
A bus that fits our operating environment and our country constriants. IHMO, high bus is better and fits it all, and works with the normal bus.
Originally posted by SMB66X:Anyway, if SBS Transit would to follow KMB version, I believe more elderly would head up, if they can~
Also, certain drivers seems to be impatience sometimes~ when passengers are still coming down from stairs, they can still close the door w/o checking~ Maybe it's time that a camera should be fitted at the stairs area~
Now this is called a valid suggestion.
Originally posted by SMB145B:the traffic police ...
lorries speeding
buses @ 80/90 km/h
WTH
burnt O405G?
You will never realised how dangerous a speeding heavy vehicle will be until you drive. I drove on expressways, normally at speeds around 90km/h and I can see these large dumper trucks travelling almost the same speed as I am but once they are beside you, you will feel how dangerous it is beside them.
Because accidents can happen in a moment and crashing with these large vehicles, even side by side, means nasty business.
Originally posted by vicamour:
Please get the difference between essential charter services and non essential charter services for private events.
Then you should feedback to SBST about the staircase issue. It is all about how SBST acquires its fleet. Go show this example to them.
Majority of SBST BCs drive safely because they have proper procedures in changing lanes, moving out of bus bay, checking blind spots. Only a minority do not follow the rules.
However many SMRT BCs love to speed, drive in a manner that the bus is speeding, jerking, and stop abruptly without concerning the safety of others, changing lanes/turning out without signaling first, and some even beat the red lights. Of course, sometimes we can't blame the BCs because of SMRTB terrible scheduling which cause BCs to have tight runtimes. It shows how much the company culture is.
If they have double deckers, why don't they use it? Why keep using Single decker for MRT shuttles then? 1 DD can replace 2 SD mah~~
I disagree with your "Majority" part~ It's more of every driver loves to speed when they got used to driving~ Svc161/168 got a few example of poor driving~ 2709C using road shoulder to kill waiting time and ended up bunching with a DD~ 94XX from 168 cutting 6316B on TPE and 62XX from 39 cutting 6316B at TPExSLE part~ Both uses the improper way(road shoudler)~ And these are just a few...
Now this is called a valid suggestion.
You will never realised how dangerous a speeding heavy vehicle will be until you drive. I drove on expressways, normally at speeds around 90km/h and I can see these large dumper trucks travelling almost the same speed as I am but once they are beside you, you will feel how dangerous it is beside them.
Because accidents can happen in a moment and crashing with these large vehicles, even side by side, means nasty business.
I Don't even wish to suggest it out, later more elderly fall and die when they see a improvement steps and think it's easy to climb up~~ Thanks to tight schedule + impatience driver from both company~
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Please refer to vicamour's reply, thanks.
Besides....your point in asking being?
I am not SBST personnel and all I pointed out was that SBST no longer provides buses for chartering anymore to the general public.
You can't answer nvm..some people would~~ The "SBSTransit expert~" Or "SBSTransit bus freak" ![]()
if you lorries and buses speeding at 80 or 90 km/h
the traffic police needs to beef up their enforcements
cannot let all these Heavy Vehicles speeding like no people's business ...
Originally posted by SMB145B:if you lorries and buses speeding at 80 or 90 km/h
Don't worry, Singapore would soon be filled with BSEP buses and Cars~ No place for them to speed already ![]()
Originally posted by SMB66X:If they have double deckers, why don't they use it? Why keep using Single decker for MRT shuttles then? 1 DD can replace 2 SD mah~~
I disagree with your "Majority" part~ It's more of every driver loves to speed when they got used to driving~ Svc161/168 got a few example of poor driving~ 2709C using road shoulder to kill waiting time and ended up bunching with a DD~ 94XX from 168 cutting 6316B on TPE and 62XX from 39 cutting 6316B at TPExSLE part~ Both uses the improper way(road shoudler)~ And these are just a few...
Firstly, they do not know the demand of the shuttle services since it is just for connecting one MRT station to another, skipping the affected ones. As such occurance is too sudden, planning the last min is not easy as well.
Secondly, SBST is controlling most of the bus routes here. Even if there is a MRT disruption, commuters can still use their basic bus services. Shuttle bus service is just an additional capacity to relieve the loads caused by the disruptions.
Thirdly, most Singaporeans are impatient once such disruptions occurs. They will find all kinds of ways to get to their destinations, private transports, cabs, public buses rather than to wait for the shuttle service to commerce or even bother whether there will be one. Thus these shuttle services can cater for those who are more patient or else lucky.
For your second point, you are only quoting an example along services familiar to you rather than the whole of Singapore. I have seen SMRTB buses driving along road shoulders too, at fast speeds, cutting into people lanes along traffic jams which is very inconsiderate for those waiting in the queues. That is bad driving.
Your example is more of runtime scheduling which results the BC to drive slowly to stick the schedule, nothing wrong with the driving habits. And it is not totally wrong to drive slowly along expressways road shoulders as they are for vehicles with problems but still can drive (breaking down, broken windscreen, etc) to drive safely and slowly to their nearest road and out of the expressway without blocking others along the expressway.
Originally posted by SMB145B:if you lorries and buses speeding at 80 or 90 km/h
Not so easy.
Heavy commercial vehicles registered here normally fit with speed limitors but some owners choose to have itchy hands and remove them.
Firstly, they do not know the demand of the shuttle services since it is just for connecting one MRT station to another, skipping the affected ones. As such occurance is too sudden, planning the last min is not easy as well.Secondly, SBST is controlling most of the bus routes here. Even if there is a MRT disruption, commuters can still use their basic bus services. Shuttle bus service is just an additional capacity to relieve the loads caused by the disruptions.
Thirdly, most Singaporeans are impatient once such disruptions occurs. They will find all kinds of ways to get to their destinations, private transports, cabs, public buses rather than to wait for the shuttle service to commerce or even bother whether there will be one. Thus these shuttle services can cater for those who are more patient or else lucky.
For your second point, you are only quoting an example along services familiar to you rather than the whole of Singapore. I have seen SMRTB buses driving along road shoulders too, at fast speeds, cutting into people lanes along traffic jams which is very inconsiderate for those waiting in the queues. That is bad driving.
Your example is more of runtime scheduling which results the BC to drive slowly to stick the schedule, nothing wrong with the driving habits. And it is not totally wrong to drive slowly along expressways road shoulders as they are for vehicles with problems but still can drive (breaking down, broken windscreen, etc) to drive safely and slowly to their nearest road and out of the expressway without blocking others along the expressway.
Hmm..they are cutting into car lane after driving for metres on road shoulder leh, totally like what you said for SMRTB type~ Isn't it more inconsiderate? Same goes to some car drivers~
But I believe they wouldn't use DD even if it falls on festive seasons due to SD having fast loading bah~ It would delay the queue also isn't it?
Some Habits on 854, the rear sibei chaotahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh... Yes, as chaotahhhhhhhhhhhhhh as SMB1H ![]()
If this is how SMRT treats their buses, just imagine one big double decked bus with the rear chaotahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Even the CDGEs for SBST were also maintained properly [ Not sure if the loud roaring can be fixed ]. Though some can get extremely dusty [ SBS2695H ] but they will be cleaned within a margin of 3 days to a couple of weeks. If SMRT cannot even handle the Habits well, don't even talk about the Enviros.
Originally posted by SBS2656X:Some Habits on 854, the rear sibei chaotahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh... Yes, as chaotahhhhhhhhhhhhhh as SMB1H
If this is how SMRT treats their buses, just imagine one big double decked bus with the rear chaotahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Even the CDGEs for SBST were also maintained properly [ Not sure if the loud roaring can be fixed ]. Though some can get extremely dusty [ SBS2695H ] but they will be cleaned within a margin of 3 days to a couple of weeks. If SMRT cannot even handle the Habits well, don't even talk about the Enviros.
HELL NO~ SLBP's CDGE can become the KUB already, loud + "fierce" vibration on the bus itself. The aircon also cui -.-" Simply spoilt the CDGE "reputation"
There's also some AMDEP CDGE with lousy aircons :/ Remember taking 1 CDGE on 72 without aircon functioning, simply sauna bus.
I guess these new generation Volvo can be desc. worst than the old ones :/
Originally posted by SBS2656X:Some Habits on 854, the rear sibei chaotahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh... Yes, as chaotahhhhhhhhhhhhhh as SMB1H
The bus roars alot when its overworked, needs to be tuned properly. When the engines at a very high speed the engine will be hotter so the radiator will roar
Originally posted by TIB868X:The bus roars alot when its overworked, needs to be tuned properly. When the engines at a very high speed the engine will be hotter so the radiator will roar
Yes the roaring of those CDGEs, especially those on 88 are roaring very loudly when leaving the bus stop... But BRBP's CDGEs and HGDEP's CDGEs have their air-con well maintained though, as cold as a Wright's. I have not yet taken a SLBP's CDGE though, so I don't know.