Originally posted by dan474:burnt? only 4 burnt down due to the fuel line being improperly assembled. its the manufacturer fault. MB should have addressed the problem.
Are you sure only 4 are burnt down? And almost all of them have overheating problems when they are running. Already a potential fire hazard.
Originally posted by dan474:arguing with fanboys are pointless. they will never admit others might be better in other aspects.
Talking about yourself, SMRT fanboy?
All types of fact twisting previously to conceal SMRTB inefficiency. Now the truth is already out. Still want to live in your self denial world?
Originally posted by dan474:proof please?
Looks like you have not taken SMRT buses before or you are still living in your self denial.
Originally posted by vicamour:
Are you sure only 4 are burnt down? And almost all of them have overheating problems when they are running. Already a potential fire hazard.
Talking about yourself, SMRT fanboy?All types of fact twisting previously to conceal SMRTB inefficiency. Now the truth is already out. Still want to live in your self denial world?
Looks like you have not taken SMRT buses before or you are still living in your self denial.
potential fire hazard? everything is a potential fire hazard. fire can start from anything, even worse when there is a huge amount of fuel.
i ride both SBST and SMRT, just that i ride SMRT mroe often. i never slammed SBST on every single point i can, im sure there are many points i can post of SBST sucks, and many points i can glorify if im a SMRT fanboy. you always said SMRT SLs sucks, prove it. although i agree their management is somehow cocked up. doesnt mean everything must follow SBST and HK style right? if SBST is as good as you said, why did they buy 1101 KUBs which are of poor quality? why did they buy 800 citaros that are constantly overworked?
Originally posted by dan474:potential fire hazard? everything is a potential fire hazard. fire can start from anything, even worse when there is a huge amount of fuel.
i ride both SBST and SMRT, just that i ride SMRT mroe often. i never slammed SBST on every single point i can, im sure there are many points i can post of SBST sucks, and many points i can glorify if im a SMRT fanboy. you always said SMRT SLs sucks, prove it. although i agree their management is somehow cocked up. doesnt mean everything must follow SBST and HK style right? if SBST is as good as you said, why did they buy 1101 KUBs which are of poor quality? why did they buy 800 citaros that are constantly overworked?
1101 KUBs poor quality, 800 Citaros overworked? If they are so bad, they would have all broken down by now. SBST may not have the best buses but at least the recent fleet acquisitions, they brought many new buses, with more improved features. Moreover they maintained most of their buses well, even though it has more than 3000 buses. They are serious about their service, they do more than they say and are more practical. Using the type of buses bought as an indicator, that is really myopic in judging. The commuters are more concerned about service quality, not kind of buses used.
SMRT wise, look at the buses, poorly maintained, even new buses have a lot of problems and getting very dirty. With about 800 buses, their proportion of poorly maintained buses is higher compared to SBST. feedback to them, they don't care but only give standardised answers with no or little action taken. Yeah, don't tell me it is the fault of the BCs. Even if the BCs do not report any fault, the mechanics or fleet manager should have taken the initaitive to check or at least enforce something to run things systemactically.
And SMRT buses are always overworked because they constantly speed a lot and the bendy buses are always overheating because they are not suitable for our demanding operations at all. That's why they burn.
And please go read up the papers on the news after SMRTB strikes. Even the LTA and Mr Desmond Quek has admitted the company has management issues and the company should have learnt on how SBST managed its operations. LTA even looks at HK public transport system as role model. Go read the newspapers before spouting rubbish here. If SMRT has major management issues, then it has to learn from others to improve itself, even the new CEO recognize this problem, which is why he revamped the management and hire new people.
As for you, I don't know what is your point of view, but seems like you are deliberately want SMRT to collaspe by continuing to run in their old ways. Sorry but their old way of management is the main excuse of all SMRT woes and problems. The old ways of managing should not be continued and if SMRT still wants to continue running and serious about improving, they should learn a bit from established experiences.
You said you take SMRT buses more often, then you should know that they are notorious for their speeding, abrupt brakings and turnings. I take SMRT buses often too so I know these problems. Stop living in your self denial.
SMRT maintenance is indeed bo chup... even the new MANs are having all sorts of strange sounds and noises... and I can hear a MAN with unbalanced axles roaring past my house now
Dun worry wait LG will hire SAF technician to replace them
No seriously.
Why waste time typing so much here.
Tis not the way to spend the festive season.![]()
Originally posted by vicamour:1101 KUBs poor quality, 800 Citaros overworked? If they are so bad, they would have all broken down by now. SBST may not have the best buses but at least the recent fleet acquisitions, they brought many new buses, with more improved features. Moreover they maintained most of their buses well, even though it has more than 3000 buses. They are serious about their service, they do more than they say and are more practical. Using the type of buses bought as an indicator, that is really myopic in judging. The commuters are more concerned about service quality, not kind of buses used.
SMRT wise, look at the buses, poorly maintained, even new buses have a lot of problems and getting very dirty. With about 800 buses, their proportion of poorly maintained buses is higher compared to SBST. feedback to them, they don't care but only give standardised answers with no or little action taken. Yeah, don't tell me it is the fault of the BCs. Even if the BCs do not report any fault, the mechanics or fleet manager should have taken the initaitive to check or at least enforce something to run things systemactically.
And SMRT buses are always overworked because they constantly speed a lot and the bendy buses are always overheating because they are not suitable for our demanding operations at all. That's why they burn.
And please go read up the papers on the news after SMRTB strikes. Even the LTA and Mr Desmond Quek has admitted the company has management issues and the company should have learnt on how SBST managed its operations. LTA even looks at HK public transport system as role model. Go read the newspapers before spouting rubbish here. If SMRT has major management issues, then it has to learn from others to improve itself, even the new CEO recognize this problem, which is why he revamped the management and hire new people.
As for you, I don't know what is your point of view, but seems like you are deliberately want SMRT to collaspe by continuing to run in their old ways. Sorry but their old way of management is the main excuse of all SMRT woes and problems. The old ways of managing should not be continued and if SMRT still wants to continue running and serious about improving, they should learn a bit from established experiences.
You said you take SMRT buses more often, then you should know that they are notorious for their speeding, abrupt brakings and turnings. I take SMRT buses often too so I know these problems. Stop living in your self denial.
You said that SMRT Buses are more dirty than SBS Transit buses. It's just the depot supervisor being lenient on washing the bus, already they have to end their shift late because of parking issues, now want to queue up just to wash a bus everyday?
800 buses? Check again. Check before you post.
You think its easy checking nearly 500 buses within a short timespan of 2.5 hours (assuming they should have finished parking at 2 am, SLs pick up their buses at 4.30am)?
Bendy buses burn because of the improper fuel line assembly which causes diesel to leak onto hot engine parts. Again, check your facts. I can say that the Citaros are overworked (both companies) because of the BC/SL constantly flooring the bus.
SMRT are imfamous for their speeding, abrupt turnings and braking? Quote me which service, bus and SL. The services i frequent does not have perm SLs which are like that, only sometimes a standby driver.
I thought you know that the KUB are imfamous for jerking, even when the BC brakes smoothly? The Citaro's braking isn't smooth and causes the bus to jerk badly before stopping when the BC/SL floors the bus too. Personally I prefer older SDs over these new WAB SDs but the B9TLs are quite good and comfortable to ride on.
Originally posted by TIB868X:SMRT maintenance is indeed bo chup... even the new MANs are having all sorts of strange sounds and noises... and I can hear a MAN with unbalanced axles roaring past my house now
Yes the new MANs are having strange sounds, but it's rather because of how the SLs handle it. It's still under warranty so i believe SMRT technicians have not done any maintenance yet..
Originally posted by dan474:Yes the new MANs are having strange sounds, but it's rather because of how the SLs handle it. It's still under warranty so i believe SMRT technicians have not done any maintenance yet..
not entirely true, i've seen countless MANs in WLDEP's maintenance bay.... and it would be a waste of fuel (and money from downtime) just to send buses to STK for maintenance.
Tell u there're some drivers who is good at braking even when e brake.Ive went the extra mile with my trainer just to learn how to brake even during e brake.The KUBs are all round disc brake and when the driver brake ala car style I can guarantee standing pax will thrown off or fall down.
Originally posted by TIB868X:not entirely true, i've seen countless MANs in WLDEP's maintenance bay.... and it would be awaste of fuel (and money from downtime) just to send buses to STK for maintenance.
i mean STK comes down personally onsite...
Originally posted by dan474:
i mean STK comes down personally onsite...
then there's something wrong with them as well. perhaps we really do need technicians from the SAF ![]()
SMRT is really lol
"W"right bendies are hot ...
what about DDs?
Originally posted by SBS2656X:Yes the roaring of those CDGEs, especially those on 88 are roaring very loudly when leaving the bus stop... But BRBP's CDGEs and HGDEP's CDGEs have their air-con well maintained though, as cold as a Wright's. I have not yet taken a SLBP's CDGE though, so I don't know.
You should take SBS7452J~ Took this bus today, was super pleased with the performance(interior, unsure of the exterior engine, the roaring part). Aircon was good, less(or no) vibration, quiet..simply bring me back the day where the CDGEs are new on 161(my first few rides)~~ The only thing is the bell chime is loud, so as the door closing one :/
Another Volvo bus you should take is SBS9889U~ Aircon for today(on 143) quite powerful, the rear headrest on upper deck very comfortable also (:
Originally posted by sbst275:wa… ppl say bs… Jason Lim not 145???
talking style over planning/ routing matters sama sama…
anyway… to ans one qn.. abt why last bus stop also must stop..
It was Tibs that introduced this.. starting from Woodlands Svs… Most buses ended up have to make 1 round to Woodlands Centre Rd/ Opp Blk 1A as the first bus stop…
Legacy of Trans Island Bus Svs… To be special…
lol did you know that the right turn woodlands centre road into the direction of Ave 1 has a very short green phase?
how are you getting buses enough green light timing for the turn when it only allows 2-3 cars to go before turning red?
Originally posted by dan474:You said that SMRT Buses are more dirty than SBS Transit buses. It's just the depot supervisor being lenient on washing the bus, already they have to end their shift late because of parking issues, now want to queue up just to wash a bus everyday?
800 buses? Check again. Check before you post.
You think its easy checking nearly 500 buses within a short timespan of 2.5 hours (assuming they should have finished parking at 2 am, SLs pick up their buses at 4.30am)?
Bendy buses burn because of the improper fuel line assembly which causes diesel to leak onto hot engine parts. Again, check your facts. I can say that the Citaros are overworked (both companies) because of the BC/SL constantly flooring the bus.
SMRT are imfamous for their speeding, abrupt turnings and braking? Quote me which service, bus and SL. The services i frequent does not have perm SLs which are like that, only sometimes a standby driver.
I thought you know that the KUB are imfamous for jerking, even when the BC brakes smoothly? The Citaro's braking isn't smooth and causes the bus to jerk badly before stopping when the BC/SL floors the bus too. Personally I prefer older SDs over these new WAB SDs but the B9TLs are quite good and comfortable to ride on.
Lenient or lazy? End shift late because of parking issue? You see, the long bus queues problem caused by bendy buses late midnight when all BCs ended their shifts. Not only BCs have to go home late and have lesser time to rest because of this, even the depot personnels have to suffer too.
Not easy to check, not bother to check or no time to check? SBST have more than 3000 buses, why do they check and wash most of their buses properly?
You already highlighted the problems of the engine design of bendy buses. Still want more of such to burn due to our hot tropical weather and high demanding operations?
You still living in your self denial that SMRTB BCs are notorious for speeding hard brakings and abrupt turnings. You want examples, but I can tell you most encounters on SMRTB buses I will experience either or all of such, unless the BC drives about 50km/h throughout the trip. Seen a few times people fell or amost fell down because of these BCs hard brakings especially.
And MAN buses jerk as well and more than the Citaros.
Originally posted by SMB145B:lol did you know that the right turn woodlands centre road into the direction of Ave 1 has a very short green phase?
how are you getting buses enough green light timing for the turn when it only allows 2-3 cars to go before turning red?
Originally posted by vicamour:Lenient or lazy? End shift late because of parking issue? You see, the long bus queues problem caused by bendy buses late midnight when all BCs ended their shifts. Not only BCs have to go home late and have lesser time to rest because of this, even the depot personnels have to suffer too.
Not easy to check, not bother to check or no time to check? SBST have more than 3000 buses, why do they check and wash most of their buses properly?
You already highlighted the problems of the engine design of bendy buses. Still want more of such to burn due to our hot tropical weather and high demanding operations?
You still living in your self denial that SMRTB BCs are notorious for speeding hard brakings and abrupt turnings. You want examples, but I can tell you most encounters on SMRTB buses I will experience either or all of such, unless the BC drives about 50km/h throughout the trip. Seen a few times people fell or amost fell down because of these BCs hard brakings especially.
i really hope that SMRT can improve their care for buses
even as i do not hate nor like DDs
ask yourself, do you want to see a KUD or any other DDs to catch fire?
desgin of bendies is one part of it
but what about the SMRT problem?
Last time bus fans always snap bus, discuss about buses etc.
Now, bus fans always talk about company stuff, how the company works etc.
Kinda lame but it's normal, but you also not MP/Government, why KPO about how others operate etc.? ![]()
Get some realistic hobbies lah~ See bus, hear bus, talk bus, not sianz meh? Even worst than those KPOP/JPOP people leh...~~
Originally posted by sbst275:
obviously you've no idea what was the original traffic scheme over there when old customs was there.. by making that 1 round, whenever the CIQ massive jam.. you die 2x
i know!
you think i am some ... ah?
the old woodlands customs with all the boxes ...
and to add on 856 goes into admiralty road and woodlands centre road is mostly one direction except fot that small section south of the old woodlands interchange.
and three svcs 911, 912 and 913 goes into the former interchange. 170 does plies woodlands centre road.
a lot of MAN buses on the roads (those from SJE)
totally chaos ...
Originally posted by sbst275:and to give more info..
back then Woodlands only had Marsiling, N1, N3, N8 flats… There was only 372, 900, 901, 903 plying..
Peak hr freq was 12 mins for these feeder buses…
372 is now the 903
and the then 903 is now part of 913
Originally posted by SMB145B:i really hope that SMRT can improve their care for buses
even as i do not hate nor like DDs
ask yourself, do you want to see a KUD or any other DDs to catch fire?
desgin of bendies is one part of it
but what about the SMRT problem?
Which is why I always highlighted, SMRT must improve their way of operations. And many have highlighted the problems of bendy buses which also part of the main cause of SMRTB's messy and disorganised operations. so if SMRTB wants to improve in these aspects, they have to change their types of buses used too.
However the new CEO just took over, it still needs time to see whether he is serious about doing the improvements.