147 IMHO HGDEP 4 SDs and the rest DDs while BBDEP all DDs is more than enough.
154 doesnt need all DDs,As ive mentioned before services that ply school areas they wun bother to put all DDs/Bendies.Just look at 74 even after numerous feedbacks.
@BusAnalyzer:If you ask me i would do CCK to SBST while Bishan to SMRT,hahaha
Originally posted by SBS7491X:
Please lah, 43 NEEDS DDs. Lets say, for example 1DD = 2SDs. And svc 43 has 8 DDs. So if you calculate, 43 will need 16 MORE SDs? The frequency is set for equal competition with 70/70M. If the frequency of Svc 43 was adjusted to, lets say every 6 minutes. That way everyone will be taking 43 and not 70. 70 will be operating at a loss and SBS can't withdraw that bus due to its links to Shenton Way. If more SDs are deployed, svc 43 will be an SBS version of 190 during peak hour. Even after peak its still full. The reason for deploying DDs from Punggol to UEC Ter is because the load from Paya Lebar MRT to Parkway Parade is almost the same as the load from nex to Buangkok Green. You try waiting at Paya Lebar MRT bus stop on a Sunday. When 43 comes, everyone takes it. Even if there was a 76 behind, no one boards it
Your argument is totally invalid.
1. 43 does NOT need DDs. Here's why.
2. 43's frequency is horrible. And I mean VERY horrible. Imagine of you are standing at a bus stop for 18 mins only to wait for a DD which is packed by the time everyone boards it. Would rather shorter waiting time for comfortable SD.
3. Who says 43's schedule is adjusted to compete with 70? 70 will still have pax boarding anyway of 43 is not there first. Even if 43 snatched all the pax, SBST will definitely do something to 70.
4. Your comparison of 43 with 190 is TOTAL absurd. 190 is SMRT and have bendies plying on it. What's more it plies CBD and it's an express svc. 190 will definitely have more pax no matter what. What's more, 43 has severely low pax capacity after Buangkok/Parkway stop. 190 is full throughout.
5. It is NOT full after peak hours. It is in fact NEAR EMPTY. Believe me, I have observed 43 every day all time before. At peak hours of weekday some sectors don't even have any standees. So comfortable. only parkway and NEX weekend crowds go like crazy, but other times it's a wandering bus.
point by me:
6. 43's load is not full route. Only a few stops at some Places. Most will not want to move up. I have seen ppl flooding the lower deck during weekends from parkway to paya lebar. Ironically, no ppl moved up.
43 is more of a short weekend service if u ask me. In that case, additional SDs for more downroute/short trips are more than enough. You must know that there are more svcs in HGDEP that need DDs more, like 74 and 89. 43 is one of them that can do with fleet additions.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Well 147 has 27 DDs, and only 5 SDs. 154 does not need to be full fleet DD. Existing # of DDs is good enough.
The services I would handover:
SBST --> SMRT = 66, 160, 170
SMRT --> SBST = 106, 188, 190
JB cannot be handed over. You do realise that JB services need to do many things in order to gain partnership for JB services. Handing them to SMRT will only make it worse. SMRT doesn't have much spare rigids [ those MANs need to make some WAB services ] plus they are already busy handling service 950 with the OCs. 160 and 170 should just stay with SBST. Handing them over makes no difference to their loading.
Originally posted by TIB 501 D:When DTL opens.
Eh c'mon lah.
MRT keep breaking down, even more than buses does, who want take?
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:
Actually depends which part of the route you see 43. If you see 43 between NEX and Buangkok Green, there will be a very low probability that you will find the bus empty, even if there is a 70 right in front. The NEX >> BG direct travelers are around 40 pax at normal frequency (10min) without bus bunching. Then you consider the # of people who board the bus at YCK Road towards NEX. You can find a DD filled with around 90 pax.Between NEX and Paya Laber there are some 10 routes plying and hence, here I agree the loading can be less than 40 pax. Again at Paya Laber, you can see at least 50 pax loading in a 43. If a SD comes, many times people cannot completely board or have to be packed like sardines. The loading is good for two buses either 43, 76 or 43 and 135.
There is one extra route from Paya Laber to Marine Parade. If 43, 76, 135 all come together, it is for sure, 1 bus will go empty - that's where 135 needs to be rationalized according to me.
Given these conditions fleet add/downroutes/short working trips will do 43 more than good.
Rmb students are still suffering from riding on SDs on 74 during peak.
Originally posted by SMB128B:Given these conditions fleet add/downroutes/short working trips will do 43 more than good.
Rmb students are still suffering from riding on SDs on 74 during peak.
If you ask me, I would definitely give DDs to 74 before 43. I would also make 87 full fleet DD and also 147. I would convert that 1 SD from 161 to DD as well and make 161 full fleet DD.
Also considering the # of spare DDs each depot has now, I don't know why they wouldn't give the worthy routes full fleet DDs now. I feel even 74E needs DDs at some time slots. There are enough DDs spare to let the ones on 43 be, and give DDs to 72, 74, 88, 89, 147, 161.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:If you ask me, I would definitely give DDs to 74 before 43. I would also make 87 full fleet DD and also 147. I would convert that 1 SD from 161 to DD as well and make 161 full fleet DD.
Also considering the # of spare DDs each depot has now, I don't know why they wouldn't give the worthy routes full fleet DDs now. I feel even 74E needs DDs at some time slots. There are enough DDs spare to let the ones on 43 be, and give DDs to 72, 74, 88, 89, 147, 161.
147 and 161 no need full fleet. But 74, 87, 89 etc all need their fleets to be upgraded to full DD. It's a pain to see 87 spammed with non-WAB SDs in the weekends, as well as striders on 89 during evening peak. 72 doesn't have that much problem with its SDs, but will do good if its SDs are replaced.
Seriously 43 can cope with 2-3 DDs and that's for peak hours only.13 need more DDs.45 just nice if both side got 2 DDs each while for 109 it's nice if BN got 1 additional DD duty.74 probably other svc got run parallel on certain stretch of roads?151 obviously no need DDs if u ask me.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Seriously 43 can cope with 2-3 DDs and that's for peak hours only.13 need more DDs.45 just nice if both side got 2 DDs each while for 109 it's nice if BN got 1 additional DD duty.74 probably other svc got run parallel on certain stretch of roads?151 obviously no need DDs if u ask me.
Would LOVE it if BNDEP can deploy VSO on 109 ;)
Originally posted by SMB128B:Would LOVE it if BNDEP can deploy VSO on 109 ;)
Haha especially those with faulty speed limiter....B9 CDGE also enough
Originally posted by carbikebus:Haha especially those with faulty speed limiter....B9 CDGE also enough
Yah, but no wrights please...
Originally posted by SMB128B:147 and 161 no need full fleet. But 74, 87, 89 etc all need their fleets to be upgraded to full DD. It's a pain to see 87 spammed with non-WAB SDs in the weekends, as well as striders on 89 during evening peak. 72 doesn't have that much problem with its SDs, but will do good if its SDs are replaced.
147 and 161 need full-fleet DD.
And 161 was STOMPED before when people missed the last bus simply because it was SD and it couldn't pick everybody up.
I'm sorry.
But it really is 163 that doesn't need DDs. if you are gonna talk about peak hour YCK Rd side, I would point out that 147 and 161 are also full-house at this period.![]()
163 seriously dun need DDs at all.The Tridents might as well put on 109 better.161 should be full DD.It can survive with 2 SDs provided they're on split shift on weekdays.
And 72's problem has always been the same since day 1.
Namely slow-driving and crappy frequency at night when high loading carries on into the night at YCK, HG and Tamp.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:147 and 161 need full-fleet DD.
And 161 was STOMPED before when people missed the last bus simply because it was SD and it couldn't pick everybody up.
I'm sorry.
But it really is 163 that doesn't need DDs. if you are gonna talk about peak hour YCK Rd side, I would point out that 147 and 161 are also full-house at this period.
163 uhhh... 1 split shift DD is more than enuff... TBH, I oso dunno what the heck LTA add FIVE DDs for.
161 needs rescheduling. 43 should trade SBS9331L with SBS2709C from 161. 147 if REALLY need then... Split shift enuff Liao
Originally posted by carbikebus:163 seriously dun need DDs at all.The Tridents might as well put on 109 better.161 should be full DD.It can survive with 2 SDs provided they're on split shift on weekdays.
Originally posted by SMB128B:163 uhhh... 1 split shift DD is more than enuff... TBH, I oso dunno what the heck LTA add FIVE DDs for.
161 needs rescheduling. 43 should trade SBS9331L with SBS2709C from 161. 147 if REALLY need then... Split shift enuff Liao
163 needs DDs. Please go take a trip during peak hours and u realise that the DDs deployed on 163 are justified. Every morning and evening.. almost every bus on 163 will be packed to the door.
However, i do agree that 163 does not need full day DDs, full SD fleet can cope with non-peak hour loads.
During peak hours, 5 DDs are justified.
Originally posted by SBST163:
163 needs DDs. Please go take a trip during peak hours and u realise that the DDs deployed on 163 are justified. Every morning and evening.. almost every bus on 163 will be packed to the door.
However, i do agree that 163 does not need full day DDs, full SD fleet can cope with non-peak hour loads.
During peak hours, 5 DDs are justified.
Have to agree too... 1 full day and 4 split is best...
Copenhagen ditches double decker buses
removed
Originally posted by carbikebus:163 seriously dun need DDs at all.The Tridents might as well put on 109 better.161 should be full DD.It can survive with 2 SDs provided they're on split shift on weekdays.
Hope that 161 can go back partial AMDEP.
Yes, i agree it should be full fleet DD
I'm sorry.
But it really is 163 that doesn't need DDs. if you are gonna talk about peak hour YCK Rd side, I would point out that 147 and 161 are also full-house at this period.
161 should be like 168. ![]()
163 to be honest only a few sectors are full.Split shift 4 DDs are good enough,There's no need for full shift DD.
I'm sorry.
147 cannot have full DDs because of its load at weekday off-peak. EXTRMELY less amount of ppl board 147 during weekday afternoon off-peak (given no dismissal times of school which is quite a short period on the whole afternoon). The interchange itself less than 10 ppl board oredi. In the CBD at this time less than 5 standees. This loading I can say is worse than 43 off peak. No wonder why all the SDs come in at this time...
147 peak hour should have full DDs. But if it meant that not the whole fleet will be working at this time, then that's where SDs utilise.
Originally posted by carbikebus:163 to be honest only a few sectors are full.Split shift 4 DDs are good enough,There's no need for full shift DD.
I think 163M should be converted to a feeder like 371. ![]()
Originally posted by carbikebus:163 to be honest only a few sectors are full.Split shift 4 DDs are good enough,There's no need for full shift DD.
163 loading pattern:
Morning:
Sengkang East Way to YCK Road (70-80 pax) after which on Upper Thomson Road, pax drop to 50 pax, and on Bradell road around 30 pax.
Opposite direction, loading is only from Fernvale to Sengkang MRT (loading could go upto 80-90 pax depending on whether 163M is ahead).
In the evening, just reverse it. You will see 60+ pax loading 163 at Sengkang MRT itself and in the opposite direction, the load picks up on YCK Road to Fernvale / Sengkang West - East