Originally posted by SMB145B:230hp buses really cmi lah
You know what Singapore needs isn't horsepower. Most routes need torque. You better appreciate that K UBs have 6-speed ZF Ecomat, and you usually have Howls to listen to. Btw SBS 8941 H possess better performance than Citaros, mainly of its perm 506. You all bus "enthus" say K UB cannot kickdown, 8941 H is like a TIB 1191 H in the whole fleet.
There only a handful of yutong buses. But considering the conditions, one could fear how it performs with SMRT Buses.
Originally posted by SBS3004X:LTA chose the SBS-spec Citaro which sucks. I would also rather have all A22s and KUBs. But don't create a fuss here just about it, it doesn't help. If you want, you can send feedback to LTA about this.
Actually, the K230UBs are very powerful buses. But SBST ruined them with the gear restrictions.
P.S. For some reason the KUB has lower licensed capacity than the Shitaros, but practically the Shitaros cannot take so many pax because of the narrow standing areas at the back.
If it is OC vs KUB, OCs wins. However, OC has been replaced with taros.
If LTA brings in K270UB and modified to low floor, that would be great.
Originally posted by smb91y:You know what Singapore needs isn't horsepower. Most routes need torque. You better appreciate that K UBs have 6-speed ZF Ecomat, and you usually have Howls to listen to. Btw SBS 8941 H possess better performance than Citaros, mainly of its perm 506. You all bus "enthus" say K UB cannot kickdown, 8941 H is like a TIB 1191 H in the whole fleet.
Voith gearboxes do not work well. I wonder why are there so many cuitaros with that gearbox.
270 hp variant produces more torque.
Originally posted by smb91y:You know what Singapore needs isn't horsepower. Most routes need torque. You better appreciate that K UBs have 6-speed ZF Ecomat, and you usually have Howls to listen to. Btw SBS 8941 H possess better performance than Citaros, mainly of its perm 506. You all bus "enthus" say K UB cannot kickdown, 8941 H is like a TIB 1191 H in the whole fleet.
I believe SBST technician tuned it up..Even a tuned up Voith can perform well.
Originally posted by SMB145B:If it is OC vs KUB, OCs wins. However, OC has been replaced with taros.
K270UB can NEVER be low floor due to engine location. That will be N270UB.
Originally posted by SMB145B:Voith gearboxes do not work well. I wonder why are there so many cuitaros with that gearbox.
270 hp variant produces more torque.
Voith gearboxes are cheaper to buy and maintain than ZF or Allisons due to the much simpler design. It isn't about performance all the time.
Originally posted by carbikebus:I believe SBST technician tuned it up..Even a tuned up Voith can perform well.
More like the majority is detuned, but 8941 H is standard spec (not detuned) because of its perm.
Originally posted by smb91y:K270UB can NEVER be low floor due to engine location. That will be N270UB.
confused ...
Originally posted by smb91y:Voith gearboxes are cheaper to buy and maintain than ZF or Allisons due to the much simpler design. It isn't about performance all the time.
cost cutting again.
Originally posted by smb91y:Eh dun ah!!! SBS Service level in Bukit Merah is superb! I lived there since B10M MK2s were perming 273. Never once 273 had a delay.
That was in the past,Now operator got no power liao..
Originally posted by sgbuses:The kind of fear SMB128B is trying to spread is why we ended up with so many Citaros in the first place.
Between 2009 and 2010, operators brought in Sunlong and Yutong demos. The lobbyists created the largest din they could ever make to the operators.
SMB136C (and later SMB138Y) was the direct comparison they made against, and the newer Citaro C2 came out shortly after in 2011. Imagine how much pester power the lobbyists were using against the two operators. They didn't back off until operators placed firm orders to the tune of what we have today.
Not far off from the Tea Party protestors ending up with Trump now, no?
Later LTA trial WuZhuLong,Daxing-Benz and TATA Hispano buses
Originally posted by SMB145B:confused ...
Dude go read up. It only means you don't know much about low-entry and full low-floor.
Originally posted by SMB145B:If it is OC vs KUB, OCs wins. However, OC has been replaced with taros.
If Low entry can modified into fully low floor I'm sure LTA wouldn't mind to mod those OCs and KUBs and no need buy so many Citaros
Originally posted by carbikebus:If Low entry can modified into fully low floor I'm sure LTA wouldn't mind to mod those OCs and KUBs and no need buy so many Citaros
i don't think we would need that many fully low floor buses, and LTA could just order low entry buses instead.
Originally posted by SMB145B:...
i don't think we would need that many fully low floor buses, and LTA could just order low entry buses instead.
Low entry buses got so many complain elderly fell because of the "Stair".If not you will see LTA order MAN A69,Citaro LE instead
Originally posted by carbikebus:If Low entry can modified into fully low floor I'm sure LTA wouldn't mind to mod those OCs and KUBs and no need buy so many Citaros
Well said ���