Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:195 is a popular route - doing that could inconvenience a lot of people. 120 could follow the route above that I am suggesting as it connects areas in Redhill, Tanglin Halt, Margaret Dr and Tehlok Blangah where there is no or just 1 alternative service.
If they want to keep 120 with its current routing, I suggest they just scrap the route totally. Waste of resources.
If Telok Blangah were DD-friendly, maybe can swap with 64? 120 loop @ Mei Chin with 64 taking over its route from Anchorpoint.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:
Which they correctly did and then added 120 when it was not needed.
erm yeah
so much for the telok blangah to CBD
Originally posted by SBS 6238T:I agree with you about service 120. LTA and PTO should revise the route again. The bus is totally empty during off peak and less than 10 pax on the bus during peak hours. That is not a good sign. We want 120 to be utilized but the problem is LTA and the PTO did not plan the route properly,that's why they need to amend the route. Totally waste of resources as what've you mentioned on your post. It's already 5 months since 120 has been launched but yet,the loading is unacceptable and not even up to standard. Do you realised that the housing estate that 120 route ply is a low quality housing estate area. Telok Blangah and Bukit Merah,is one examples of low quality housing estate area that have less people living around the estate area. And I also pity the drivers, driving an empty bus.
Slums??![]()
Alamak....no need to put them down like that la aiyo.
Why do you have to pity the drivers??
I am not a driver, but I am sure I would prefer a less stressful route!
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I don't think LTA and PTO are very good at planning routes. Some of us here can give better suggestions. For instance, 116 could have been planned better. 141 for sure. This route connects so many MRT yet the loading is not that great. They decided to terminate at Lor 1 which is really stupid decision. The loading for 141 is more between Pei Koi Estate and Toa Payoh as it is exclusive to this area. Had they extended the route there would have been more loading.
So far 4's the most successful route, high loading during most trips. ![]()
But the only put 5 buses for that route. ![]()
Honestly, this is not needed. 273 can just loop at Labrador MRT - does not need to go all the way to Mei Ling. It will have the same kind of loading like 120.
there is no space for it to loop lol
Originally posted by SBS8710H:there is no space for it to loop lol
There is. Turn left at Labrador MRT and can turn back right from there.
Originally posted by SBS7557R:So far 4's the most successful route, high loading during most trips.
But the only put 5 buses for that route.
I would say even 20 and 50 are successful routes.
116 is mediocre
141 still needs to be seen
120 is disaster
SMRT services 860 is a super hit.
904 will also pick up, but first month loading not bad already.
119 is also a failure. Extend to punggol dk for what. 2 DD buses deployed. There was one time i saw 3 DDs on 119. Peak hour not more than 40-50 pax. Even a citaro can handle the loading already.
Svc 50 is also quite a success, with the high loadings during peak and school hours.
Originally posted by SBS5011L:119 is also a failure. Extend to punggol dk for what. 2 DD buses deployed. There was one time i saw 3 DDs on 119. Peak hour not more than 40-50 pax. Even a citaro can handle the loading already.
Svc 50 is also quite a success, with the high loadings during peak and school hours.
Haven't we discussed 119 so many times before? And whatever happened to your predictions of DDs on 113 last week. You were so confident ![]()
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I don't think LTA and PTO are very good at planning routes. Some of us here can give better suggestions.
I absolutely agree with you!!!
LTA should disregard any public outreach and engagement with various stakeholders, pay no heed to MP requests, ignore cooperation with other stat boards and just listen to us! We are the most accurate source of bus loading and commuter demand out there!
Oh wait...
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Slums??
Alamak....no need to put them down like that la aiyo.
Why do you have to pity the drivers??
I am not a driver, but I am sure I would prefer a less stressful route!
There are many senior citizens in these old estates served by 120. The nearest major access to amenities is at Bukit Merah. To make this route attractive it may have to be extended to Geylang Lorong 1, or at least go through Chinatown. (It could even merge with 141, but that would cause reliability issues.)
For 120 to end short of the CBD area is a real pity. There is little incentive for passengers making any MRT transfers with this route.
LTA has the numbers to figure out which routes will become popular or unpopular, and they have even gone to the extent of making a video telling the public that they have loading factors to consider and cannot please everyone.
Which leaves us one last remaining factor: Politics may have come into play.
Wait?
Wait what??
I fully agree with you!!!
Just sack those MPs and twist LTA staff's ears and silence the selfish members of public!!
Originally posted by sgbuses:There are many senior citizens in these old estates served by 120. The nearest major access to amenities is at Bukit Merah. To make this route attractive it may have to be extended to Geylang Lorong 1, or at least go through Chinatown. (It could even merge with 141, but that would cause reliability issues.)
For 120 to end short of the CBD area is a real pity. There is little incentive for passengers making any MRT transfers with this route.
LTA has the numbers to figure out which routes will become popular or unpopular, and they have even gone to the extent of making a video telling the public that they have loading factors to consider and cannot please everyone.
Which leaves us one last remaining factor: Politics may have come into play.
I won't even want to speculate why 120 has become the "hot topic" here.
Already clearly there is more than meets the eyes, but the forum members here have been rather naive to say the least.
There's too many unknowns as to why 120 is like this. Best not to speculate too much.
On that note, on one hand LTA wishes to reach out to public. On the other hand, the public has yet to feel empowered where route-creations are concerned. Perhaps its time for less opaqueness?
Originally posted by SBS2601D:On that note, on one hand LTA wishes to reach out to public. On the other hand, the public has yet to feel empowered where route-creations are concerned. Perhaps its time for less opaqueness?
I think certain individuals are over-empowered. They are rewarded for being very vocal and their strong lobbying tactics.
As a result, the system becomes horribly distorted and the remaining members of the public suffer in silence.
Originally posted by sgbuses:I think certain individuals are over-empowered. They are rewarded for being very vocal and their strong lobbying tactics.
As a result, the system becomes horribly distorted and the remaining members of the public suffer in silence.
I think I would trust and leave it to the bus service development department under LTA VTL to see this through!
They would know better about the situation and I am sure they are not ignorant of it...
But vested interests somewhere, somehow?
We will see.
Haven't we discussed 119 so many times before? And whatever happened to your predictions of DDs on 113 last week. You were so confident
When did i predict DDs on 113?
Originally posted by SBS5011L:When did i predict DDs on 113?
I am sorry. I mistook you for 5010P.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:I think I would trust and leave it to the bus service development department under LTA VTL to see this through!
They would know better about the situation and I am sure they are not ignorant of it...
But vested interests somewhere, somehow?
We will see.
They definitely see through it. They (and PTOs) are just sick and tired of dealing with it.
You will not believe what lengths people go to get new buses.
I still believe they should just merge the 2 PTOs and corporatise the entity.
On one hand, we subsidise them now.
On the other hand, we are constantly talking about competitive tendering.
I wish to be enlightened about the transport policy now consists of much talking and short-term management, but little long-term framework development.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:I still believe they should just merge the 2 PTOs and corporatise the entity.
On one hand, we subsidise them now.
On the other hand, we are constantly talking about competitive tendering.
I wish to be enlightened about the transport policy now consists of much talking and short-term management, but little long-term framework development.
My opinon is that it is not if, but when such a merger would occur.
A small surprise was that the CEO of SMRT prefers the competitive tendering model. ComfortDelGro is traditionally much stronger on this field, given CDG's previous experience from Metroline and CDG CabCharge.
One well-known risk in competitive tendering is that you could undercut to gain an advantage in securing the contract, but undercut too much and you could well go under. Two construction projects tendered by LTA were halted halfway because the contractor went bust - Alpine Bau (DTL) and L&M Prestressing (West Coast Highway).
SMB3003H spotted at 8pm at WRI on 187.
187 going to have BSEP add for October?
alot of svcs got ETT changed.
Change for fun?
Originally posted by SMB189A:Residents in Ang Mo Kio, Bedok, Boon Lay, Marsiling and Woodlands can look forward to less crowded buses and shorter waiting times, when five new short bus services, overlaying on current feeder bus services 268, 222, 240, 913 and 912, are launched progressively from the second quarter of 2014. These new Peak Period Short Services (PPSS) are designed to alleviate crowding, reduce waiting times and improve reliability during peak hours.2. Connecting residents in major housing estates to bus interchanges or MRT stations, these short bus services will be tendered out to private bus operators to complement the existing feeder services operated by the Public Transport Operators (PTOs). For a start, all five short bus services will run at least five trips per hour in peak periods of weekday mornings and evenings to take residents between their homes and nearby MRT stations and/or bus interchanges.3. The Land Transport Authority has called a tender today to invite private bus operators to submit their cost proposals to operate the first five new short bus services as part of the Bus Service Enhancement Programme (BSEP). The tendering process will allow the most cost-efficient operators to win the rights to operate the services. This initiative is in line with the Ministry of Transport’s announcement at the Committee of Supply 2013 to tap on the resources of private bus operators to run shorter bus services to augment the resources of the PTOs. Successful operators will have to apply for bus service licences from the Public Transport Council (PTC), which regulates bus services
i think high chance CDGE will get the contract.... does it really help? later on bunching again...