Anymore sightings of 3355 on service 23 recently?
Originally posted by SMB189A:Residents in Ang Mo Kio, Bedok, Boon Lay, Marsiling and Woodlands can look forward to less crowded buses and shorter waiting times, when five new short bus services, overlaying on current feeder bus services 268, 222, 240, 913 and 912, are launched progressively from the second quarter of 2014. These new Peak Period Short Services (PPSS) are designed to alleviate crowding, reduce waiting times and improve reliability during peak hours.2. Connecting residents in major housing estates to bus interchanges or MRT stations, these short bus services will be tendered out to private bus operators to complement the existing feeder services operated by the Public Transport Operators (PTOs). For a start, all five short bus services will run at least five trips per hour in peak periods of weekday mornings and evenings to take residents between their homes and nearby MRT stations and/or bus interchanges.3. The Land Transport Authority has called a tender today to invite private bus operators to submit their cost proposals to operate the first five new short bus services as part of the Bus Service Enhancement Programme (BSEP). The tendering process will allow the most cost-efficient operators to win the rights to operate the services. This initiative is in line with the Ministry of Transport’s announcement at the Committee of Supply 2013 to tap on the resources of private bus operators to run shorter bus services to augment the resources of the PTOs. Successful operators will have to apply for bus service licences from the Public Transport Council (PTC), which regulates bus services
LTA is going over board with these short bus operations. I am concerned about more congestion near MRTs and interchanges. Also, don't know how this will affect SBST and SMRT with public operators trying to feed onto their revenue, rather with BSEP additional buses should have been added to existing services as required.
Vehicle registration (1 October 2013):
Volvo B9TL (Wright Eclipse Gemini 2)
Mercedes-Benz O530 Citaro
MAN NL323F
Originally posted by SMB189A:Residents in Ang Mo Kio, Bedok, Boon Lay, Marsiling and Woodlands can look forward to less crowded buses and shorter waiting times, when five new short bus services, overlaying on current feeder bus services 268, 222, 240, 913 and 912, are launched progressively from the second quarter of 2014. These new Peak Period Short Services (PPSS) are designed to alleviate crowding, reduce waiting times and improve reliability during peak hours.2. Connecting residents in major housing estates to bus interchanges or MRT stations, these short bus services will be tendered out to private bus operators to complement the existing feeder services operated by the Public Transport Operators (PTOs). For a start, all five short bus services will run at least five trips per hour in peak periods of weekday mornings and evenings to take residents between their homes and nearby MRT stations and/or bus interchanges.3. The Land Transport Authority has called a tender today to invite private bus operators to submit their cost proposals to operate the first five new short bus services as part of the Bus Service Enhancement Programme (BSEP). The tendering process will allow the most cost-efficient operators to win the rights to operate the services. This initiative is in line with the Ministry of Transport’s announcement at the Committee of Supply 2013 to tap on the resources of private bus operators to run shorter bus services to augment the resources of the PTOs. Successful operators will have to apply for bus service licences from the Public Transport Council (PTC), which regulates bus services
Idk if anyone agrees..but I find that this is somewhat an useless plan ever made from LTA :/
If you put Private Operators to run these service, there would be More "language" inside the interchange. Kinda waste of resources? Infact these 240A/222A/912A/913A/268A buses could run on other svc during off peak? Like that you're just messing up the system itself. And I wonder would the passengers know where it terminates?
Originally posted by SMB66X:Idk if anyone agrees..but I find that this is somewhat an useless plan ever made from LTA :/
If you put Private Operators to run these service, there would be More "language" inside the interchange. Kinda waste of resources? Infact these 240A/222A/912A/913A/268A buses could run on other svc during off peak? Like that you're just messing up the system itself. And I wonder would the passengers know where it terminates?
As I mentioned above, this seems the most bizzare thing introduced till now by LTA. They could just add BSEP buses to these services if they feel the frequency is not right and demand is more - anyway there are so many spare Citaros and WEGs. Why not deploy them on these services first rather than now bringing in private operators?
I think LTA is trying to over-please the public and "show" that they are doing a lot but I am not in favor of so many more buses on roads causing traffic jams around MRTs.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:
As I mentioned above, this seems the most bizzare thing introduced till now by LTA. They could just add BSEP buses to these services if they feel the frequency is not right and demand is more - anyway there are so many spare Citaros and WEGs. Why not deploy them on these services first rather than now bringing in private operators?I think LTA is trying to over-please the public and "show" that they are doing a lot but I am not in favor of so many more buses on roads causing traffic jams around MRTs.
ya lor
i also feel the same way as you. might as well add BSEP buses to ease the crowd
if not at least let SBST/SMRT do these short service instead of private operators...
Agreed in fact there will be more chaos,private bus drivers are known for their aggressiveness and with limited time for revenue im sure theyre crazy for passengers not mentioning the limited space inside interchange..Boycott them man.Their place only for express/cross border svc
Please LTA.
They have to stop this shit. Following HK methods will do no good to SG.
It's either scrap this shit or make all companies go private, including SBST. And I can see LTA don't wanna do both, which is equivalent to taking SG PT system to a disastrous plunge ride to hell.
Originally posted by Bus Fan:LTA Wanted sbst n Smrt to buy New Buses but the Service are Taken by POs. If LTA so Smart, they can go Create their Öwn PT in SG. The Damn PT fare so expensive And Other Country PT fare Cheaper in SG Money.
ßßWorst_Public _Transport_Everßß
They alr have own PT.
Wanna talk price? London raise their underground fares every year on average. Tokyo metro charges you S$4 just to travel two damn stops. HK cheats money out of not allowing you to tap out on buses. So current SG PT is considered quite reasonable and cheap alr.
However, gonna have to agree that after the PO start their svcs the prices will increase, due to the already-high fares of PO and thus maybe the rise of PTO-operated svcs due to drop in demand! Gov is taking advantage and using the least possible to earn more and yet by literal means deliver "more svcs, better connectivity, better rides." This is some �工�料 ways LTA is attempting now I guess.
Originally posted by Bus Fan:LTA Wanted sbst n Smrt to buy New Buses but the Service are Taken by POs. If LTA so Smart, they can go Create their Öwn PT in SG. The Damn PT fare so expensive And Other Country PT fare Cheaper in SG Money.
ßßWorst_Public _Transport_Everßß
You must be CRAZZZZY. Did you just call ours "the worst public transport ever". Tell me where it is better than us???
We are better than London, Paris, Sydney, Hong Kong and have one of the cheapest fares. You just are so ignorant w/ reality.
Actually this is curious news. And it can be read in a few ways.
For starters, LTA has signalled to the PTOs that what has traditionally been their domain, is no longer viewed thus. We have always thought: Who will replace/complement the 2 PTOs when the barriers to entry are so high? It seems that LTA views this as a good opportunity to prove you guys wrong and is beginning to experiment beyond just a few Premium routes.
2. Despite having purchased so many BSEP buses, these still seem less than adequete for aggressive service expansions. Either that, or the PTOs still lack drivers.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:LTA is going over board with these short bus operations. I am concerned about more congestion near MRTs and interchanges. Also, don't know how this will affect SBST and SMRT with public operators trying to feed onto their revenue, rather with BSEP additional buses should have been added to existing services as required.
these are actually short working trips instead.. not full route...sort of like "A" service i.e 268A, or 912A. LTA is trying out to see whether can save cost or not... cos if go under BSEP, they have to buy the buses and maintain the buses and paid the BC for full days of working.. while for these, they are just paying for the operation cost for the peak hours.. but then whether the total cost add up is more or less, they have to work out the sum...
looking at the cost of the City Direct Service from Jurong.. it cost 1.06 mil for 2 years.
doing some maths... 2 years = 104 weeks = 104x5 days = 520 days (we dun exclude public holidays for simple calculation).
so average operating cost pay by LTA to CDGE = S$2038/day = S$509/trip (total 4 trips)... i think this is a very high price to pay by LTA.. i think it will be better off for LTA to buy buses under BSEP instead...
Peak Period Short Service (PPSS)
268 PPSS - AMK Mrt Station (Ave 3) to Amk Ave 9
222 PPSS - Bedok Mrt Station to Chai Chee Street (note it does not start from interchange)
240 PPSS - Boon Lay Interchange to Lakeside MRT station
913 PPSS - Woodlands Interchange to Marsiling Road (near the shell station)
912 PPSS - Woodland Interchange to Woodlands St 41
Originally posted by lemon1974:these are actually short working trips instead.. not full route...sort of like "A" service i.e 268A, or 912A. LTA is trying out to see whether can save cost or not... cos if go under BSEP, they have to buy the buses and maintain the buses and paid the BC for full days of working.. while for these, they are just paying for the operation cost for the peak hours.. but then whether the total cost add up is more or less, they have to work out the sum...
looking at the cost of the City Direct Service from Jurong.. it cost 1.06 mil for 2 years.
doing some maths... 2 years = 104 weeks = 104x5 days = 520 days (we dun exclude public holidays for simple calculation).
so average operating cost pay by LTA to CDGE = S$2038/day = S$509/trip (total 4 trips)... i think this is a very high price to pay by LTA.. i think it will be better off for LTA to buy buses under BSEP instead...
$509...Cheaper to put every 2 or 3 passengers into a taxi.
Another private operator bidded $2,600 per trip.
These are some interesting figures.
So LTA recognised that the traditional fare structure is unattractive?
After all, there has to be profits involved for bidders to even appear.
Is this the cost-plus model discussed by the transport ministry sometime back?
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Actually this is curious news. And it can be read in a few ways.
For starters, LTA has signalled to the PTOs that what has traditionally been their domain, is no longer viewed thus. We have always thought: Who will replace/complement the 2 PTOs when the barriers to entry are so high? It seems that LTA views this as a good opportunity to prove you guys wrong and is beginning to experiment beyond just a few Premium routes.
2. Despite having purchased so many BSEP buses, these still seem less than adequete for aggressive service expansions. Either that, or the PTOs still lack drivers.
Originally posted by sbst275:
hold back a little... SBS ever let private operators run some busy bus route's slot back in 1980. But the private operators decided not to continue after the given period... cos not making money...
I remember scheme B buses running on routes 32, 61, 149 & 157. Those PH buses were still operating on route 149 even after it was merged with route 31 in 12/93.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:
As I mentioned above, this seems the most bizzare thing introduced till now by LTA. They could just add BSEP buses to these services if they feel the frequency is not right and demand is more - anyway there are so many spare Citaros and WEGs. Why not deploy them on these services first rather than now bringing in private operators?I think LTA is trying to over-please the public and "show" that they are doing a lot but I am not in favor of so many more buses on roads causing traffic jams around MRTs.
I was just wondering this:
Why don't LTA get private operators to run the express/premium routes that SBST/SMRT are running at peak hours? Services like 513, 850E, 951E, 971E, etc. all can be run by the private operators, using the "City Direct" concept. And then all those BSEP (or non-BSEP) buses can be used to run these feeder short services instead. Then there will be no confusion since the private operators run the express/premium routes, and the public operators run the feeder/trunk routes.
What was LTA thinking when they came up with this (crazy) idea?
Originally posted by orange28:
I was just wondering this:
Why don't LTA get private operators to run the express/premium routes that SBST/SMRT are running at peak hours? Services like 513, 850E, 951E, 971E, etc. all can be run by the private operators, using the "City Direct" concept. And then all those BSEP (or non-BSEP) buses can be used to run these feeder short services instead. Then there will be no confusion since the private operators run the express/premium routes, and the public operators run the feeder/trunk routes.
What was LTA thinking when they came up with this (crazy) idea?
From ME: It's a good idea but dunno if SMRT n SBST will accept, and wonder what will happen if PO runs the feeder svcs. I dünne what Happen.ßßß
i seldom post information here but once i post, my information will be 100% accurate
trust me
SMB3079P (WLDEP SP) on 962 today
Originally posted by No_10_Tomas:i seldom post information here but once i post, my information will be 100% accurate
trust me
I trust you, but remind me, what is the latest information you have posted?
Originally posted by No_10_Tomas:i seldom post information here but once i post, my information will be 100% accurate
trust me
I also trust u. No DD for SMRT right?
trust me
Originally posted by No_10_Tomas:972
trust me
Huh? What do u mean? "972"