Originally posted by SMB128B:CGA's infrastructure is to blame too.
Big problem is height restrictions, so they shouldn't have used the basement. Or at least construct the basement higher. They can also have constructed an open top ground terminal, or on a raised level. This would allow DDs to ply on CGA routes.
bro... u go see when changi airport is built....late 1970s...that time got so much DDs buses? got lah.. those BACO DD buses loh... why you dun blame govt for not building a MRT station at the time as well at T1? maybe you should become a planner....
and why you want tourist to squeeze onto the public buses with luggage when you are already complaining that the buses are full? singapore taxi fares is cheap and therefore govt are asking tourist to take taxis... they did implement those airbus direct to City before at S$5 per trip but business are so bad.....
Hmm...OR maybe SMRT can borrow this WEGs from SBST like many years back when dat time TRANS ISLAND first set up with shortage of buses on their svcs they also borrowed buses from SBS and @ the same time they even painted this SBS BUSES into TRANS ISLAND livery @ dat time.
Not sure anyone still remembered this .
Originally posted by Lsk138:Hmm...OR maybe SMRT can borrow this WEGs from SBST like many years back when dat time TRANS ISLAND first set up with shortage of buses on their svcs they also borrowed buses from SBS and @ the same time they even painted this SBS BUSES into TRANS ISLAND livery @ dat time.
Not sure anyone still remembered this .
i dun think they paint the livery.... i took the bus before, and it is still in SBS livery... right now,these WDL/CCK/YIS express sv can just be transferred to SBST and used wright instead.....i think CCK/WDL/YIS residents are more than happy to have wrights.... think must take videos and posted on youtube to show how crowded it is...
Originally posted by lemon1974:bro... u go see when changi airport is built....late 1970s...that time got so much DDs buses? got lah.. those BACO DD buses loh... why you dun blame govt for not building a MRT station at the time as well at T1? maybe you should become a planner....
and why you want tourist to squeeze onto the public buses with luggage when you are already complaining that the buses are full? singapore taxi fares is cheap and therefore govt are asking tourist to take taxis... they did implement those airbus direct to City before at S$5 per trip but business are so bad.....
Perhaps is due to SG's size and CGA's distance from the city too (NOT BLAMING ANYONE/ANYTHING AH DON'T FLAME ME HOR)
That's why the taxis are cheaper than many other countries. And it leaves the buses to the locals. However, there are still good alternatives for the buses to stop at. HK for example has a terminal for the buses at the ground floor without having to interfere with the main drop-off points. Walking/taking skytrains between terminals doesn't kill you, especially with all the comfortable connections in CGA.
Yes, I agree on how the infrastructure could not have been predicted in the past, but maybe there could be a bus terminal at one of the CGA's terminals to cater to the pax? In that case then services like 27 and perhaps 53 can use DDs, and thus will allow more reliable operations.
Originally posted by lemon1974:they keep on adding SD buses... and what is the point of standing all the way to orchard/CBD? might as well transfer all these to SBST and used the BSEP wright instead.. i really dunno what LTA is thinking. they can flexible, since right now it is the gov who is paying...
Yes, in fact these express services should not be considered as intruding SMRT boundaries if handed over to SBST, since SMRT also had premium services to Simei...
Originally posted by lemon1974:i dun think they paint the livery.... i took the bus before, and it is still in SBS livery... right now,these WDL/CCK/YIS express sv can just be transferred to SBST and used wright instead.....i think CCK/WDL/YIS residents are more than happy to have wrights.... think must take videos and posted on youtube to show how crowded it is...
Originally posted by SMB128B:Yes, in fact these express services should not be considered as intruding SMRT boundaries if handed over to SBST, since SMRT also had premium services to Simei...
The boundaries of SMRT has been abolished and if it allows, it will just be separated into two corners. SMRT and SBST had premium services from anywhere you like.
Originally posted by SMB128B:Perhaps is due to SG's size and CGA's distance from the city too (NOT BLAMING ANYONE/ANYTHING AH DON'T FLAME ME HOR)
That's why the taxis are cheaper than many other countries. And it leaves the buses to the locals. However, there are still good alternatives for the buses to stop at. HK for example has a terminal for the buses at the ground floor without having to interfere with the main drop-off points. Walking/taking skytrains between terminals doesn't kill you, especially with all the comfortable connections in CGA.
Yes, I agree on how the infrastructure could not have been predicted in the past, but maybe there could be a bus terminal at one of the CGA's terminals to cater to the pax? In that case then services like 27 and perhaps 53 can use DDs, and thus will allow more reliable operations.
that true.. but HK airport was built in 1996 i think... and their airport is very far away, so they have planned for airbus...and their so call MTR to the airport is very expensive, likewise for taxi.....
think will be quite difficult for CGA to replan the bus terminal, cos there bound be some one who want the buses to stop at each Terminal (1/2/3)..esp those workers...
Originally posted by SMB128B:Yes, in fact these express services should not be considered as intruding SMRT boundaries if handed over to SBST, since SMRT also had premium services to Simei...
But LTA does not think so mah..... must wait till ppl post videos then they will take action...
Originally posted by lemon1974:bro... u go see when changi airport is built....late 1970s...that time got so much DDs buses? got lah.. those BACO DD buses loh... why you dun blame govt for not building a MRT station at the time as well at T1? maybe you should become a planner....
Not just taxis but even buses/trains in Singapore are much cheaper than most developed countries.
Originally posted by Simply.90:
taking video of 850E, 951E and the like and juxtaposing them with Express 513 would really show how shortchanged those served by the A22 are.
The entire purpose of having MRT parallel services is a hoax if you put SDs on it that can seat only 30-35 pax. Who would want to stand all the way to CBD from Yishun, Woodlands, CCK?
Originally posted by TIB 585L:Took 951E (3052R) from home to Dhoby Ghaut. When it reached Ave 1 before Ave 6, the bus is so full that no one can move anymore as all space are filled, the SL just wave at them as a sign of apology.
Eventually people on these stops will give 951E and will return to 901+MRT. To encourage people to change their travel mode, you have to give them incentive.
If you put SD, and people see they have to stand all the way, they will go back to MRT. If people wait for the bus, and the bus does not even stop at their bus stop, they for sure will switch back to MRT.
Look at what was done with 513. It started with 35-40 pax on each bus and people said "why are we deploying DDs on day 1 of this service?" But because people were assured a seat, more people converted from 291--> MRT to 513 and today each bus takes between 65-80 pax. They have not even had to add buses as the DDs are taking care of the loading.
On the contrary, 850E go on adding buses as people don't want to board a bus with 50-60 people and stand all the way. And then we say "why are they losing money?" If you keep on adding buses, you use more funds for fuel, BC, operations, ERP - leave alone adding to the traffic.
LTA should stop this territorial thing for the sake of commuters and should give WEGs to 190 and Express services from SMRT area.
Originally posted by lemon1974:that true.. but HK airport was built in 1996 i think... and their airport is very far away, so they have planned for airbus...and their so call MTR to the airport is very expensive, likewise for taxi.....
think will be quite difficult for CGA to replan the bus terminal, cos there bound be some one who want the buses to stop at each Terminal (1/2/3)..esp those workers...
Well, we can ask them: 5 mins walk? Or 40 mins standing?
Originally posted by lemon1974:But LTA does not think so mah..... must wait till ppl post videos then they will take action...
LTA dead one loh, add in a little buses and think they have accomplished big stuff and saved the world liddat...
Originally posted by SMB128B:
LTA dead one loh, add in a little buses and think they have accomplished big stuff and saved the world liddat...
Okay, let's not get too extreme here. LTA is trying to do its job, just that it needs to be more assertive with one of the bus operators and need to relax its rule on territorial bus service embarkation.
Originally posted by lemon1974:i dun think they paint the livery.... i took the bus before, and it is still in SBS livery... right now,these WDL/CCK/YIS express sv can just be transferred to SBST and used wright instead.....i think CCK/WDL/YIS residents are more than happy to have wrights.... think must take videos and posted on youtube to show how crowded it is...
Anyway, 4th trip added since 20 Oct for 951E~~
Just some thoughts : If you would to ask me, I would say that I rather get to work on time, than getting a seat on bus. What's more is that office workers gets to sit in the office everyday...no point waiting for a bus with empty seats...
And there's not even some flexibility in the BSEP services...dk who stated that BSEP svc must use BSEP buses also..
I believe with more short trips added to 190 and new svc 972 at least there's slightly improvement
Originally posted by carbikebus:I believe with more short trips added to 190 and new svc 972 at least there's slightly improvement
Yes bro, of course there will be improvement. If you bring in one more service 990, there will be still more improvement - but it is at a huge cost of additional resources, which could have been mitigated by other alternatives.
Originally posted by SMB66X:Anyway, 4th trip added since 20 Oct for 951E~~
Just some thoughts : If you would to ask me, I would say that I rather get to work on time, than getting a seat on bus. What's more is that office workers gets to sit in the office everyday...no point waiting for a bus with empty seats...
And there's not even some flexibility in the BSEP services...dk who stated that BSEP svc must use BSEP buses also..
Lol. I predicted this 4th trip. They just go on adding buses. Again to my point, had they deployed high capacity buses, there was no need for a 4th trip.
2 BSEP buses = 68 pax seating
1 DD bus = 82 pax seating.
1 DD bus seating = 2.5 SD bus seating.
And this is relevant because people don't want to stand all the way from Woodlands / Yishun to CBD.
I kept wandering about 982E, Wouldnt it be better if they change it 301E or 303E than 982E to fit the service into place? Although 985 passed there but 982E rather give Sembawang a new express service as Sembawang got 980 n 981
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:
Lol. I predicted this 4th trip. They just go on adding buses. Again to my point, had they deployed high capacity buses, there was no need for a 4th trip.2 BSEP buses = 68 pax seating
1 DD bus = 82 pax seating.
1 DD bus seating = 2.5 SD bus seating.
And this is relevant because people don't want to stand all the way from Woodlands / Yishun to CBD.
I rather have 4 trips than reducing down to 2, at least there's a rage in time and thus ease time flexibility...If you deploy 4 DD, waste of resources as not all buses are going to be fully pack[for DD]. If you deploy a mixed in the fleet, who knows certain days there's more/less pax. on certain trips. You just can't escape problems what...
And is it really a need for DD? Why not bendy then?
How you know people don't want to stand? MRT priority seats, nobody keen to take them during off peak hours, people stands, what it shows then?
Originally posted by SMB66X:I rather have 4 trips than reducing down to 2, at least there's a rage in time and thus ease time flexibility...If you deploy 4 DD, waste of resources as not all buses are going to be fully pack[for DD]. If you deploy a mixed in the fleet, who knows certain days there's more/less pax. on certain trips. You just can't escape problems what...
And is it really a need for DD? Why not bendy then?
How you know people don't want to stand? MRT priority seats, nobody keen to take them during off peak hours, people stands, what it shows then?
Standing in MRT is same as standing in bus???
Regarding timing, when you want to go to office, most people want to reach office around the same time. Hence, AM peak issue more than PM peak. Even if you give a range, normally the buses that reach CBD around 8.30 am have the most pax. These trips you need high capacity buses. And to my point to reduce resources used, you don't deploy 4 of them in the first place.
And with you, I am not going to get into a discussion of bendy v/s DD. It is better if they get DDs, if they don't want to - better to get some kind of higher capacity bus than nothing at all.
Info from BIS most creative page on Singapore buses~ Hope SBS will buy new Volvo bendy~