Originally posted by Gus.chong:It is not really like removing all the trees in Singapore...it is only chopping down those that obstruct the public transport system, but I do agree that Singapore needs the trees to protect the ecosystem.
Haha I know (:
Anyway, I guess there would be some difference if they were to extend their Circle Line train to 4-6 cars instead of 3? And perhaps increase more of the frequency, this can "attract" more passengers to choose MRT over buses. In-fact, no matter how crowded the MRT is, you still can board the train(or at most wait about 2-3 trains max., base on my experience).
Originally posted by SMB66X:Haha I know (:
Anyway, I guess there would be some difference if they were to extend their Circle Line train to 4-6 cars instead of 3? And perhaps increase more of the frequency, this can "attract" more passengers to choose MRT over buses. In-fact, no matter how crowded the MRT is, you still can board the train(or at most wait about 2-3 trains max., base on my experience).
4-6 cars on Circle Line Trains means that train stations also need to expand...
Originally posted by SMB66X:Not advisable I think~~ Chop here and chop there, soon Singapore sure turns from green city to grey city
Anyway, the peak hours problem @ Woodlands Int isn't everyday~
Originally posted by SMB66X:Haha I know (:
Originally posted by sbst275:
Go and figure out which are the areas that have tree problems... And obviously kids forgot how on earth the double decks managed to appear back in the 1970s... As though Singapore was a Garden city back then... Kampong era... it isn't everyday but it occurs at least once... no one does planning that ignores an issue just because it's not daily problem...
Many roads have trees replace before, whether it is regarding to height restrictions or not. Some purpose is for changing themes, while some is for road widening and construction purposes. There are other reasons that trees have diseases and need to be removed.
It is not always necessary to chop off trees if they pose a height limit hazard. NEA can also relocate them further away from the road kerbs or to other parks. However planting higher trees is a more advisable thing in the long run. Not just for double deckers, other nigh vehicles can also use the roads freely without making big detours. It's still a better choice if motorist can use the roads freely and anywhere they can.
Excuse me... What logic... So MRT standard is by 2nd or 3rd train.. mmm... actual waiting time is 6 - 9 mins by currently freq level???
No wonder…
how come COI report some kids say ‘dun need to tell us, we know how to read’...
cannot even decipher the figures and what they typed out properly…
2nd or 3rd MRT train is ok… but what’s the waiting time by then??? 9 mins… Bus QoS max 10 mins?? any diff??
Increase the frequency dude, CCL frequency is somewhat 4-6mins per train(if you never ride before~) Shorten it to 2-4mins per train would be better, esp. during peak hours. It's a long way to catch up~
Plus, in-case you aren't aware of peak hours issue, waiting for a bus(can be board) ones requires a longer wait than the train~ So there's sure a difference for waiting a train and a bus :) Regardless the fleet have BSEP or whatsover, there's sure be a longer waiting time compared to MRTs~
Go and figure out which are the areas that have tree problems... And obviously kids forgot how on earth the double decks managed to appear back in the 1970s... As though Singapore was a Garden city back then... Kampong era... it isn't everyday but it occurs at least once... no one does planning that ignores an issue just because it's not daily problem...
Paiseh~ Not born in that period (:
And you sure no one? LTA/SMRT/SBSTransit does that bro
Excuse me... What logic... So MRT standard is by 2nd or 3rd train.. mmm... actual waiting time is 6 - 9 mins by currently freq level???
NSEWL is 1-4 min peak hours... CCL is 2-4 min peak hours... BPLRT is 3-6 min peak hours...
Non peak hours obviously can board the first train without problems... Unless cockup lor
Originally posted by SMB66X:Increase the frequency dude, CCL frequency is somewhat 4-6mins per train(if you never ride before~) Shorten it to 2-4mins per train would be better, esp. during peak hours. It's a long way to catch up~
Plus, in-case you aren't aware of peak hours issue, waiting for a bus(can be board) ones requires a longer wait than the train~ So there's sure a difference for waiting a train and a bus :) Regardless the fleet have BSEP or whatsover, there's sure be a longer waiting time compared to MRTs~
Originally posted by dan474:NSEWL is 1-4 min peak hours... CCL is 2-4 min peak hours... BPLRT is 3-6 min peak hours...
Non peak hours obviously can board the first train without problems... Unless cockup lor
Originally posted by SMB66X:Paiseh~ Not born in that period (:
And you sure no one? LTA/SMRT/SBSTransit does that bro
CCL is 3.5 mins.. fleet size cannot even support 2 mins freq... NSEWL is impossible to have actual 1 min freq... even the new signal system is 100 sec headways
NSEWL many times 1 min freq... because train bunchup
CCL rarely, because its fully auto and must adhere strictly to timetable...
Originally posted by dan474:NSEWL many times 1 min freq... because train bunchup
CCL rarely, because its fully auto and must adhere strictly to timetable...
Originally posted by vicamour:
Many roads have trees replace before, whether it is regarding to height restrictions or not. Some purpose is for changing themes, while some is for road widening and construction purposes. There are other reasons that trees have diseases and need to be removed.It is not always necessary to chop off trees if they pose a height limit hazard. NEA can also relocate them further away from the road kerbs or to other parks. However planting higher trees is a more advisable thing in the long run. Not just for double deckers, other nigh vehicles can also use the roads freely without making big detours. It's still a better choice if motorist can use the roads freely and anywhere they can.
moving trees is not easy... and at the rate the govt is using up empty land for housing, have space to put the trees? maybe small trees yes but not those old and huge trees...
You sure that screen is accurate??? Do you know how the display reading works??
The RATiS works by distance... Not very accurate because they do not consider trackside conditions... But 1 min is possible when trains bunch up. Even the 3 minutes at Jurong East ( > Pasir Ris/Airport) isnt 3 minutes... its lesser
Originally posted by dan474:The RATiS works by distance... Not very accurate because they do not consider trackside conditions... But 1 min is possible when trains bunch up. Even the 3 minutes at Jurong East ( > Pasir Ris/Airport) isnt 3 minutes... its lesser
Still impossible... Because they've to stop and start-off... In reality the in between door closing - next train's door opening time is > 1 min
yup...
i was thinking about the time when the trains exits the station and when the next train arrives
Last Bus departing Bukit Panjang Bus Interchange:
75 - SMB167M
176 - TIB534J
180 - TIB881G
184 - TIB447C
700(A) - SMB201Y
920 - SMB322G
922 - SMB293G
970 - SMB86M
975 - TIB704K
Singapore freq 2 mins also packed like sardines.Land so small yet so many peoples.
If SBS3107H ever reads this, just to let him know that as reflected at all bus stops served by the former Bukit Panjang services, the terminating point is known as Woodlands Road, Bukit Panjang Temporary Bus Park.
On SGWiki, his argument was that the bus only parks there and does not pick up. But then again, why do I see Services like 45, 48, 185 still saying Bedok North Depot, Ang Mo Kio Depot, and for Shenton Way, Buona Vista, Marina Centre Services which do not allow boarding/alighting?
What double-standard logic is that? Please enlighten me.
Originally posted by dan474:Last Bus departing Bukit Panjang Bus Interchange:
75 - SMB167M
176 - TIB534J
180 - TIB881G
184 - TIB447G
700(A) - SMB201Y
920 - SMB322G
922 - SMB293G
970 - SMB86M
975 - TIB704K
TIB447C, not G.