Originally posted by Gus.chong:SMRT is now following SBS Transit's style of extending the lifespan for buses...in this case the O405s. Some of them from the April, May and June batches has been extended for 6 more months.
Looks like SMRT still needs them, because it would create a huge loss if they get deregistered so fast...
Did you know... that some SMRT Batch 1 O405s are technically Batch 2 buses? These buses have the Batch 2 aircon ducts with the black vents on the topside and share the same colder aircon units. These buses are/include TIB542K, TIB549S, TIB555Z, TIB556X, TIB557T and TIB558R.
Originally posted by 23ispolo:Looks like SMRT still needs them, because it would create a huge loss if they get deregistered so fast...
I think that's the reason why TIB959S was pulled over from AMDEP?
Originally posted by TIB429E:I think that's the reason why TIB959S was pulled over from AMDEP?
Possible...
Eh just noticed this... There is a new food Hub next to the Bedok North Depot which means land taken back from BNDEP!?? BN shrink?!??
http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10296p.nsf/PressReleases/3A49EAF75355741148257ACB0011240C?OpenDocument
MAP: http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10297p.nsf/ImageView/CORPORATE_PR_05122012_Annex%20C/$file/Annex+C.pdf
Bedok Food City does not sit on BNDEP land.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Bedok Food City does not sit on BNDEP land.
Thank you for clarification, the PDF doc is very misleading...
Did you know?
TIB623K is one of the most unique O405s under SMRT. Why?
1. It is the only bus to have an extra verticle pole to be installed at the standee area, between the doors and priority seats
2. It is the only bus to have only one perm service throughout its lifespan (AMDEP 171)
Did you know?
An SMRT OC (SMB36H) was featured on Service 171 on today's episode (30 April) MediaCorp drama C.L.I.F 3. The bus stop featured is actually located at Mandai Road, not at Old Tampines Road... It is bus stop 'LP 159', where 138 and 171 ply. Joker, 171 got go to Old Tampines Road meh? ![]()
The all-new Enviro400 – designed by the industry for the industry
– Lighter, more fuel efficient and more seats
– Radical new heating and ventilation
– Patented quick release system that
reduces glass replacement from three hours to three minutes
Read more at:

As Colin Robertson, CEO, took the wraps of the new Enviro400 – a bus he believes will “raise the bar for the industry” – it became apparent that ADL is not only determined to remain No 1 in Britain but has its sights on further growth in global markets.
RECENT ORDERS
Robert Davey, ADL’s International Business Development Director said that the recent Enviro500 orders include 40 that will go into operation in Malaysia; 70 for Citybus and 86 for New World First Bus, both Hong Kong; 171 for KMB, also Hong Kong; 201 confirmed for SMRT in Singapore; and 22 for operators in Seattle, USA. In addition, ADL will also build 80 Enviro200s for operation in Malaysia.
Commenting on ADL’s recent surge of export wins, Davey said: “This new business strengthens our position in Asia and the Pacific Rim and along with our strong presence in Australia, New Zealand and North America it is clear that we are now seriously spreading our wings, which is a critical factor in terms of not only growing our business but underpinning, or de-risking it, as economic circumstances fluctuate throughout the world.”
In addition to the orders for Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia, ADL also confirmed a new build partnership with ABC, of Florida, who will assemble ADL open-top and transit double decks at their Nappanee facility, in Indiana, from the third quarter of this year.
This augments a joint venture ADL currently has with New Flyer Industries, the largest bus and coach manufacturer in North America, which is about to introduce a new midi bus to the USA and Canada based on ADL’s hugely successful Enviro200 model.
Read more at:
--- routeONE Magazine ---
Issue 537 – 7 May 2014 – is now online. This week we watch as the covers are pulled off ADL’s new Euro 6 Enviro400, a paragon of research and development. We’ve also got the first full test of Mercedes-Benz’s flagship Toursimo M, and at the other end of the spectrum, we’ve driven a 1993 Leyland Olympian that’s perfect for schools work for our Vehicle Spotlight. Our new 15-minute interview series sees Reading’s John Bickerton in the hot seat, and we’ve also got all the coach and bus highlights of the CV Show – enjoy!
http://www.route-one.net/issues/537/index.html

Also reported in OMB
Last weeks edition of
'Coach and Bus Week' included an article about Dave Roger's latest
acquisition, the last ever Leyland Olympian to be built, SBS
Transit's SBS 9168S.
Dave is now
faced with a bill of almost £3,000 in import duty as according to
HM Revenue and Customs the bus does not meet its criteria for
being a collectors piece of historic interest. An urgent
appeal has been made on the Leyland
Society website, just follow the link for further
details.
Very innovative for the new E400...
http://www.alexander-dennis.com/wp-content/files_mf/1398944137NewEnviro400brochure.pdf
et almost none of us realised the LED ABB buses... ![]()
Five public buses fitted with LED lights...
Currently, five buses are on the go for 18 hours daily. This will be operational for six months, taking in passengers along high-traffic locations such as the central business and financial districts, Orchard Road, residential communities like Ang Mo Kio, Hougang, Tampines, Toa Payoh, and Woodlands, and industrial areas in the East and West of Singapore.
http://www.eco-business.com/news/led-lit-buses-shines-spotlight-sustainable-mobility-singapore/

http://www.abb.com.sg/cawp/seitp202/1266424e59cc94f448257c3d0030089b.aspx

Tourism M'sia 2011 advert campaign somewhere in Singapore...
http://www.superadrianme.com/advertising-and-marketing/tourism-malaysia-buses-launched-in-singapore/

Service 138 got massive addition of buses from 5 buses in 2012 to 9 buses in 2014, with more crossover trips as well.
according to me these buses is to supplement the high loading on AMK Ave 5 as there Is no alternative on the part bet ave 4 and ave 6 of ave 5.
Did you know?
...that 93's route is the longest bus route to utilise the Outer Ring Road System?
It uses the Outer Ring Road System all the way from Queensway to Bartley Road, covering most of road system (Portsdown > Jalan Eunos), except for a short split between Bartley Road and Eunos Link. This helps to give a smooth and fast ride from HarbourFront to Eunos, thus helping to reduce resources (number of buses).
I took SBS6189B on 93 from Thomson Road (Opp MacRitchie Reservoir) to HarbourFront Int today, and the journey took an incredible short 30 minutes! Apart from Braddell Road (from CTE to Bishan Road), Jalan Eunos/Eunos Link and occasionally Adam Road, the roads 93 ply have low traffic flow, thus bringing convenience for commuters travelling from the East (Eunos, Bartley) to West (Alexandra, HarbourFront). The only problem with 93 is the low frequency, which could be improved in my opinion. ![]()
Originally posted by 23ispolo:Did you know?
...that 93's route is the longest bus route to utilise the Outer Ring Road System?
It uses the Outer Ring Road System all the way from Queensway to Bartley Road, covering most of road system (Portsdown > Jalan Eunos), except for a short split between Bartley Road and Eunos Link. This helps to give a smooth and fast ride from HarbourFront to Eunos, thus helping to reduce resources (number of buses).
I took SBS6189B on 93 from Thomson Road (Opp MacRitchie Reservoir) to HarbourFront Int today, and the journey took an incredible short 30 minutes! Apart from Braddell Road (from CTE to Bishan Road), Jalan Eunos/Eunos Link and occasionally Adam Road, the roads 93 ply have low traffic flow, thus bringing convenience for commuters travelling from the East (Eunos, Bartley) to West (Alexandra, HarbourFront). The only problem with 93 is the low frequency, which could be improved in my opinion.
93 has lost lot of pax in last 2 years. PM peak you can see empty SDs leave HF interchange. I think it is effect of CCL. If you see Farrer sector has seen the minimum number of improvements/upgrades.
61/93/153/855/165/100/174/961 - no or marginal improvement
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Service 138 got massive addition of buses from 5 buses in 2012 to 9 buses in 2014, with more crossover trips as well.
according to me these buses is to supplement the high loading on AMK Ave 5 as there Is no alternative on the part bet ave 4 and ave 6 of ave 5.
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:
out of the 9 buses, how many are on SWT?
I think 3 are SWT, and 6 do the full route.
Post reposted. Come back again sometimes.
Placeholder post to revive thread before expiry.
TIB497H had been sent to the scrapyard today...