Originally posted by jurongresident:it really depends on the frequency of the bus services. there are eighteen parking lots. three sawtooth boarding berths. if the frequency is high throughout - feeder frequency - maybe between six to nine. if the frequency is low throughout - say around 15 mins - maybe nine to twelve, or twelve to eighteen.
Boon Lay Bus Interchange has thirty eight bus parking lots (30 standard, 8 elongated) in the sawtooth section. In the sawtooth section, there are twenty one bus services. On average, it's 1.8 bus parking lots per bus service. On the assumption that Joo Koon is also 1.8 parking lots per service, actually, Joo Koon Bus Interchange can have ten bus services.
185 & 502 together I think only need three. The other fifteen can be for around five to seven services with feeder frequency. Really depends on how many parking lots per feeder-like services. Currently, the 25X services use two parking lots at Boon Lay Bus Interchange, right? So, quite likely there is space for up to seven 25X services.
7 or 9 or 10. 10 less likely. On the other hand, it also depends on how many 25X services. 10 may be likely. Greater than 10 is also likely.
Meanwhile, for the new Tuas Bus Terminal, I guess the number of parking lots is either greater or equal than the number in the existing Tuas Bus Terminal: 12 / 13.
Joo Koon and Tuas combine is around 30 bus parking lots. Boon Lay has around 60 bus parking lots. Actually, if want, we can remove around half of the load off Boon Lay Bus Interchange.
in fact, we can even create another new bus interchange/terminal somewhere else in Jurong, with around 30 bus parking lots, to replace Boon Lay Bus Interchange completely. nah. Boon Lay has the five feeder services. nonetheless, the new bus interchange/terminal can take over some load from Jurong East Bus Interchange, since Jurong East Bus Interchange also operating near/at its peak already.
The de facto of Joo Koon is to relieve Boon Lay bursting bus svc..Most probably 4 svc will be diverted to Joo Koon and probably only 1-2 new bus svc will be introduce
Originally posted by jurongresident:Two Free Shuttle Bus Services by (NTUC) FairPrice Hub. From next Wednesday, 15 July 2015.
Pioneer Route:
- Fairprice Hub
- ???
- Upper Jurong Road
- Boon Lay Way
- Jurong West Street 61
- Jurong West Avenue 4 (Bus Stop One - Opposite Pioneer Mall)
- Jurong West Street 75 (Bus Stop Two - Opposite Gek Poh Ville CC)
- Jurong West Avenue 5 (Bus Stop Three - In front of Blk 715)
- Pioneer Road North
- Upper Jurong Road
- ???
- Fairprice Hub
Joo Koon Industrial Route:
- Fairprice Hub
- Benoi Road
- Gul Circle (Bus Stop One - B02; Bus Stop Two - B04; Bus Stop Three - B06)
- Gul Way
- Gul Drive
- Gul Circle (Bus Stop Four - B20;)
- Gul Circle
- Benoi Road
- Fairprice Hub
While writing the Reply at the "Miscellaneous Topics on Buses" (page 46) thread, I looked at the picture in the brochure showing the 'Joo Koon Industrial Route' route, and.... I have a feeling that the free shuttle bus services by FairPrice Hub may call at Joo Koon Bus Interchange.
i realise 192 almost dun park at Boon Lay one leh...at most park for 4-5 mins before going towards Tuas again...
193 also sometimes like that...
Originally posted by SMB42P:i realise 192 almost dun park at Boon Lay one leh...at most park for 4-5 mins before going towards Tuas again...
Makes sense right... it has Tuas Terminal where it can rest for 15-20 mins... and the terminal has lot of space to accommodate buses.
Originally posted by SMB42P:i realise 192 almost dun park at Boon Lay one leh...at most park for 4-5 mins before going towards Tuas again...
Its because 192 & 193 Direction 1 is Tuas,They change shift at Tuas not Boon Lay
Originally posted by carbikebus:Its because 192 & 193 Direction 1 is Tuas,They change shift at Tuas not Boon Lay
i see! to be honest i didnt know that haha..i always thought they change shift at Boon Lay..thanks for the info bro! :)
Testing of traffic junction at Joo Koon Bus Interchange/Joo Koon Circle
As part of the preparation works for the upcoming Joo Koon Bus Interchange, the traffic junction of Joo Koon Bus Interchange/Joo Koon Circle will be partially and temporarily switched on Tuesday, 21 July 2015 from 06.30am to 08.00pm.
Please refer to the attached map for more details.
Motorists and pedestrians are advised to observe the traffic signals when approaching the junction during the slated time.
I may be wrong and incorrect. But I overheard a conversation from a BC that this interchange may open on 5 September.
Well, don't know if it's reliable or not
Originally posted by SBS 3010C:I may be wrong and incorrect. But I overheard a conversation from a BC that this interchange may open on 5 September.
Hi mr SBS3010C, this means some route enhancements and BSEP on the way. Cheers. Thanks.
I hope by next month it will be officially opened
well, here's a question to keep the discussions going:
next time, if Joo Koon Bus Interchange needs to expand, where to build bus interchange expansion?
assumption: Tuas Bus Terminal also full capacity already.
just wondering, the car park at discovery centre can upgrade to bus interchange or not uh? hmm... :/
Originally posted by jurongresident:well, here's a question to keep the discussions going:
next time, if Joo Koon Bus Interchange needs to expand, where to build bus interchange expansion?
assumption: Tuas Bus Terminal also full capacity already.
just wondering, the car park at discovery centre can upgrade to bus interchange or not uh? hmm... :/
I like your sincerity for this thread. You always find ways to keep it alive. Joo Koon will have space... and Tuas has lot of capacity as well... so right now no need in that area for another terminal/bus interchange.
Oo, i stay in near Joo Koon area too. I am also new in the forum. Anyone interested in a coffee chat if bored pls call me up!
Just to intro: I am a Insurance, housing and Credit broker, Feel free to PM me if need anything!
I also just started running my business buying in new or used OR antique items at good value! PM ME!!
Cheers.
Originally posted by Enchanter:Oo, i stay in near Joo Koon area too. I am also new in the forum. Anyone interested in a coffee chat if bored pls call me up!
Just to intro: I am a Insurance, housing and Credit broker, Feel free to PM me if need anything!
I also just started running my business buying in new or used OR antique items at good value! PM ME!!
Cheers.
You one of the foreign workers staying in the nearby hostels ah? Joo Koon that area no HDB. Even I nearest to Joo Koon BI also not stay nearby. lol. ;)
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I like your sincerity for this thread. You always find ways to keep it alive. Joo Koon will have space... and Tuas has lot of capacity as well... so right now no need in that area for another terminal/bus interchange.
tbh, if someday the people planning the bus networks decides to make bus services more accessible in Tuas and Jurong Industrial Estate (those nearer to Joo Koon), I do not think the capacity is sufficient.
one interesting thing to note is that in Tuas, the factories are known as "houses". The street signs there have this "houses no. ..." sign below the road name. like landed housing estates like that. :)
who knows, next time Tuas area re-zone to residential town. become like Punggol like that. lol. ;)
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I like your sincerity for this thread. You always find ways to keep it alive. Joo Koon will have space... and Tuas has lot of capacity as well... so right now no need in that area for another terminal/bus interchange.
Agreed, I don't think Joo Koon will run out of space, the industrial estates around Pioneer, Benoi, Gul are mostly mature and won't need new bus svcs in future. Tuas South is still developing though, and new bus svcs there should start from Tuas terminal instead. Just hope the new bus terminal at the MRT depot won't be too small.
Will be interesting to see the bus svc amendments when Joo Koon Int opens... 182, 254, 255, 257 should be shortened there, 246, 249, 252 likely unchanged, not so sure abt the rest, but should have some other new/amended bus svcs to cover the lost links of the shortened svcs, and maybe to improve the bus connections to the upcoming MRT stns at Tuas West.
Originally posted by jurongresident:tbh, if someday the people planning the bus networks decides to make bus services more accessible in Tuas and Jurong Industrial Estate (those nearer to Joo Koon), I do not think the capacity is sufficient.
For the current density of bus svcs in the area (1-2 bus svcs for most main roads and some smaller roads), I think the capacity is enough. Of course there are many roads that aren't directly served by bus svcs, but I think it's still ok since many ppl working in Tuas actually have private transport by their company. More impt would be to improve bus coverage to the MRT stns along the Tuas West extension, especially along Pioneer Rd.
Originally posted by 201911:Agreed, I don't think Joo Koon will run out of space, the industrial estates around Pioneer, Benoi, Gul are mostly mature and won't need new bus svcs in future. Tuas South is still developing though, and new bus svcs there should start from Tuas terminal instead. Just hope the new bus terminal at the MRT depot won't be too small.
Will be interesting to see the bus svc amendments when Joo Koon Int opens... 182, 254, 255, 257 should be shortened there, 246, 249, 252 likely unchanged, not so sure abt the rest, but should have some other new/amended bus svcs to cover the lost links of the shortened svcs, and maybe to improve the bus connections to the upcoming MRT stns at Tuas West.
The new Tuas Bus Terminal very likely is one-for-one replacement for the existing Tuas Bus Terminal, except the new one may not have facilities for boarding and alighting. Same number of parking lots. Probably only for the existing Tuas Bus Terminal to make way for future developments. Either the High Speed Rail or AYE realignment, or something else.
Originally posted by 201911:Agreed, I don't think Joo Koon will run out of space, the industrial estates around Pioneer, Benoi, Gul are mostly mature and won't need new bus svcs in future. Tuas South is still developing though, and new bus svcs there should start from Tuas terminal instead. Just hope the new bus terminal at the MRT depot won't be too small.
I do think it would be logical to have 193 start from Joo Koon, given 192 will still cover ave 4 to Boon Lay and keep that link.
As you rightly said 246, 249. 251, 252 will not change since all go to industrial areas closer to Boon Lay / Pioneer than Joo Koon...
I do expect 255 and 257 to originate from Joo Koon... + there should be 2 new services that will cover industrial areas not covered by service today
182 / 254 might still originate from Boon Lay.
One new feeder service 244 can be launched in Boon Lay that will cover lost sector of 257 + cover untapped sector of JW St 93, looping around st 91.
So in total:
Joo Koon: 193, 255, 257, 258, 259 (new services)
Boon Lay: 192, 246, 249, 251, 252, 254, 244 (new feeder to cover st 61 and extend to st 93)
Originally posted by SBS 3010C:I may be wrong and incorrect. But I overheard a conversation from a BC that this interchange may open on 5 September.
5 September is likely. Serangoon Bus Interchange also opened on first day of September school holidays.
The route changes should be about the same as Serangoon BI route changes. Some 25X routes are obviously re-routing (shortening) to Joo Koon because currently there is duplication of resources. New routes are likely only covering deleted sectors, with only one or two serving new sectors.
I do not think Tuas is under Joo Koon Bus Interchange. The bus network at Tuas quite likely is under Tuas Bus Terminal. I expect changes in Tuas bus networks only when Tuas MRT stations open. Hence, 192 & 193 not likely affected by Joo Koon BI. 182 & 254 may shorten to Joo Koon BI and 192 may split at Joo Koon BI when it opens. Next year, there may be major route changes to the bus routes in Tuas.
Serangoon Bus Interchange press releases published on 25 August, opened on 3 September.
If the notice period remains the same, if Joo Koon Bus Interchange opens on 5 September, press release is expected on 27 August.
Joo Koon and Tuas is to cater the growing industrial workers to and fro from MRT stations..So dont think about Housing yet,Its purely a reclaimed land and so humid all the time.
Looks like its going to open very soon.
Coincidentally, the General Elections is coming. I think they will open it and have the route changes before the General Elections polling day.
Hi. I notice at the bus bay of Boon Lay Bus Interchange sawtooth boarding berths section, there are sets of two bus parking lots with bus route numbers painted beside them. So far, I saw '242' and '181'. It seems that the bus parking lots at Boon Lay Bus Interchange will change to two parking lots per bus route arrangement when some bus routes are re-routed away to Joo Koon Bus Interchange.
Boon Lay Bus Interchange has sixty bus parking lots; 38 Sawtooth 22 End-on. If every bus route allocate two parking lots, Boon Lay Bus Interchange still can have thirty bus routes.
Currently, Boon Lay Bus Interchange has thirty three bus routes. Hopefully, after Joo Koon Bus Interchange opens, the number is less than thirty, so can have new bus routes at Boon Lay Bus Interchange.
Originally posted by jurongresident:Hi. I notice at the bus bay of Boon Lay Bus Interchange sawtooth boarding berths section, there are sets of two bus parking lots with bus route numbers painted beside them. So far, I saw '242' and '181'. It seems that the bus parking lots at Boon Lay Bus Interchange will change to two parking lots per bus route arrangement when some bus routes are re-routed away to Joo Koon Bus Interchange.
Boon Lay Bus Interchange has sixty bus parking lots; 38 Sawtooth 22 End-on. If every bus route allocate two parking lots, Boon Lay Bus Interchange still can have thirty bus routes.
Currently, Boon Lay Bus Interchange has thirty three bus routes. Hopefully, after Joo Koon Bus Interchange opens, the number is less than thirty, so can have new bus routes at Boon Lay Bus Interchange.
My hope is 182, 193, 254, 255, 257 will originate from Joo Koon while other JIS services 192, 246, 249, 251, 252 will continue to operate from Boon Lay. This way 5 services will go to Joo Koon + Joo Koon should introduce 2 or 3 new JIS services. So totally 8 services at Joo Koon.
With 5 services going, there is opportunity to introduce at least 3 new services at Boon Lay.
1 service has to be feeder to cover missing link of 257. This is the service I propose should do st 93 as well. 255 duplicates 179/241 route, so no need for replacement here.
1 service can be Jurong Lake District service. I hope 178 can be reduced to Jurong East while have new service mimmicking 178 route to Jurong East with better frequency.
In addition, there can be 1 JIS service originating from Boon Lay that covers the industrial areas close to Boon Lay / Pioneer that do not have direct service today.
These are 3 services I can think right now that will be useful.