i thought jurong east interchange is belong to the new bus operator? maybe some services under sbst will move to boon lay and some old service from boon lay move to joo koon?
Originally posted by AJQZC:It's not official. There was just one plastic sample electronic display board hanging above one of the berths in there, with the "next arriving" timings shown, and the date was listed as "13 July". These were the eight routes on the board: 99, 182, 253-258. So my guess is that this was probably the preliminary plan LTA had in mind. None of the berths or route description boards are up.
Unfortunately I forgot to bring my phone in to take a snapshot, and I couldn't remember all the routes' destinations before I got chased out :(
Why you got chased out?
So Bus 99 is going to from Clementi to Joo Koon?
Gonna be a long ride, not considering the current loop haha
Better lor, at least got rest point at both ends
99 current length is 25.6km.
from Clementi Mall to Jurong West Street 93 is around 13km.
I guess the "maximum length" of "short trunk" routes is 15.5km (8.5km-15.5km).
If the intention is to make route 99 a "short trunk", there's only around 2km available to extend.
Jurong West Street 91 to Joo Koon Bus Interchange is around 3km, right?
So I think quite likely route 99 is extend to Boon Lay, not Joo Koon.
Originally posted by jurongresident:99 current length is 25.6km.
If the intention is to make route 99 a "short trunk", there's only around 2km available to extend.
Why not? If the only problem is length-wise, it shouldn't be an issue; 16km is only marginally longer than 15.5km, and that is certainly better than 25.6km straight.
If you look at 103, each of its current one-direction route is about 18km, while previously the loop spans across 24.9km.
Originally posted by jurongresident:99 current length is 25.6km.
it wont matter becos LTA does not have this type of stupid restrictions.
I am not suprised if there is a new JIS going to Jurong Island also
Went to Joo Koon Int today... Unfortunately all the gates are closed so I cannot enter the int and see the routes of 99, 253, 256, 258 etc. (I wonder how someone here managed to enter the Interchange previously)
To have an idea of how the loading would be like, look at the boarding queue of the bus services at Boon Lay Bus Interchange which may be transferred to Joo Koon Bus Interchange.
The ITH is too small for 8 service leh..Wonder who design ah?Maybe 7 service is the maximum..Peak hours sure jialat if those split shift buses enter.
There are eighteen bus parking lots, three sawtooth boarding berths and two alighting berths.
There are two sides to enter.
Joo Koon Bus Interchange will open in November 2015
Originally posted by Path Light:Joo Koon Bus Interchange will open in November 2015
No la bro,Its December 25th 2020.
Originally posted by carbikebus:No la bro,Its December 25th 2020.
No, wiki said November 2015
Originally posted by Path Light:No, wiki said November 2015
I'm sure our good friend above will want to amend that mistake on the wiki and change it to the correct date of 25 December 2020.
Originally posted by array88:Went to Joo Koon Int today... Unfortunately all the gates are closed so I cannot enter the int and see the routes of 99, 253, 256, 258 etc. (I wonder how someone here managed to enter the Interchange previously)
Anyway, there are 2 entrances: one along Joo Koon Circle (only for direction towards the west) and one along Benoi Rd (only for direction towards the north, after 192's stop). The only exit is along Joo Koon Circle, but a unidirectional slip road across Joo Koon Circle (near MRT) is being built so that buses can turn to the right.From what I see when peeping through the entrance at Benoi Rd, the layout of Joo Koon Int is quite similar to Eunos Int, except entrances and berths. There are 2 alighting berths and likely 3 boarding berths. Although most of the signboards in the int are completed, berth allocation is not done yet and I didn't find service numbers on any of the signboards. But overall it seems that the interchange is ready to open on 5th September.The FairPrice hub is already in operation with a food court, a Warehouse Club, some small shops and food outlets, so I feel that Joo Koon Int will still have some passenger flow during weekends, instead of being empty or even not in operation during non-peak hours (as previously suggested by some forumers). There was even a family walking to Benoi Rd to take 192 towards Boon Lay Int with shopping bags. Plus, even JIS are having a considerable amount of passengers during weekends nowadays.On the other hand, here are my speculations about JIS affected by Joo Koon Int:255 will be split into 255 and 256, one looping at Gul Circle and the other looping at Benoi Cres.254 will be split into 253 and 254, one looping at Tuas West and the other from Boon Lay to Joo Koon plying current 254 route (as there are quite a lot of unique sectors).As for 257, one of the routes will be from Joo Koon to Pioneer Sector 2; whether the sector from Boon Lay to Joo Koon will remain depends. It can be a new service from Boon Lay to Joo Koon, but I hope that's not the case; alternatively, 99 can be made to ply Jln Ahmad Ibrahim (where current 257 plies) and a new feeder can be introduced in Boon Lay plying 257's route, eliminating the need of current 257's Boon Lay - Benoi Rd sector. Then the last JIS can be a new service from Joo Koon to Tuas South (where 182 doesn't ply - I feel this is the only place that needs a new JIS).
How about 258?
Hi, I'm back, to revive this thread.
LOL. This is becoming like a Taiwan drama. That runs on and on, although the original story already finish liao.
Okay...
now that the Singapore General Elections cconcludes, I think the next big thing is this already.
This, plus Tuas West MRT (and Tuas Bus Terminal).
Any possibility that this Joo Koon bus interchange would open next month?
Originally posted by jurongresident:Hi, I'm back, to revive this thread.
LOL. This is becoming like a Taiwan drama. That runs on and on, although the original story already finish liao.
Okay...
now that the Singapore General Elections cconcludes, I think the next big thing is this already.
This, plus Tuas West MRT (and Tuas Bus Terminal).
Any possibility that this Joo Koon bus interchange would open next month?
Likely in November. It was actually planned to be open on the 5th, but then there was GE...
Should be 5 November or 21 September
Joo Koon Bus Interchange is at Level 1 of Fairprice NUTC building
Hi everyone,
I feel that we should close this thread.
We have already discussed every part of Joo Koon Bus Interchange that can be discussed before there is press release about it.
I have no idea when they would finally open Joo Koon Bus Interchange. In year 2013, they say March 2015. Early this year, they say Q3 of 2015. Now, apparently, the opening has been postponed again.
If we continue to write random replies, just to keep this thread alive, I feel that we are only wasting time, effort and the battery of our handphone/tablet (or laptop/computer).
The discussion that we are having now is going nowhere. We are only bringing up past topics, that has already been discussed thoroughly.
Let us stop here.
Let us close this thread.
If a Moderator is reading this, I hope he/she can lock this thread.
Thank you for taking time to read this reply.
Thank you everyone for making this thread the longest running thread on SGforums. We have made history, in the history of SGforums. :)
I am sorry for wasting the time and energy of everyone.
Have a good day, Happy learning. :)