After almost two years of discussion, the big day is finally here. In just three more days, the brand new Joo Koon Bus Interchange will open.
Today, I saw something at boarding berth B4 of the new Boon Lay Air-Conditioned Bus Interchange. Next to the green colour signboard for bus service 199, there is a new addition. It is a blank grey colour signboard, with what seems to be a sticker of the same colour pasted over it. I guess it is for the new bus service 258 that will begin in three days' time.
It is probably temporary; When bus services 182, 182M and 257 are amended out to the brand new Joo Koon Bus Interchange the following week, that signboard could be replaced with a new one at another place.
With effect from 21 November 2015, bus service 99 will have nine trips added.
While six additional buses continue to add into bus service 99 from Corporation Road, there will no longer be that one additional bus added into bus service 99 from Jurong West Street 71.
Contrary to popular belief, there is no change in Timetable for bus service 243. Glad to know that, because this means that one objective of bus service 258 is to relieve the high loading on 181 and 243 at Jurong West Street 64 and 75.
Originally posted by jurongresident:With effect from 21 November 2015, bus service 99 will have nine trips added.
While six additional buses continue to add into bus service 99 from Corporation Road, there will no longer be that one additional bus added into bus service 99 from Jurong West Street 71.
Contrary to popular belief, there is no change in Timetable for bus service 243. Glad to know that, because this means that one objective of bus service 258 is to relieve the high loading on 181 and 243 at Jurong West Street 64 and 75.
sv 99 never plied st 71 and does not even in future. don't know what you mean.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:sv 99 never plied st 71 and does not even in future. don't know what you mean.
That one additional bus is introduced from Jurong West Street 71 and turns into Jurong West Avenue 5 towards Pioneer Road North and Jurong West Street 91.
As I studied the timetables of the bus stops along the route of bus service 99, I noticed there is one additional trip starting from the bus stop at Jurong West Avenue 5, after Jurong West Street 71 and before Pioneer Road North.
Nonetheless, this remains valid for only two more days; With effect from 21 November 2015, there will no longer be that one additional bus introduced from Jurong West Street 71.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:sv 99 never plied st 71 and does not even in future. don't know what you mean.
I do not recall if anyone mentioned before service 99 having a downroute trip from that place...
Originally posted by Gus.chong:I do not recall if anyone mentioned before service 99 having a downroute trip from that place...
have. have seen it before many times on weekdays.
Apart from that, Sometimes in the event of delays also bus will be introduced from there twd clementi
Originally posted by SBS BUSES LOVER:have. have seen it before many times on weekdays.
Apart from that, Sometimes in the event of delays also bus will be introduced from there twd clementi
Thanks for the information...most likely what the original post meant is the downroute trip for service 99 from Jurong West will be cancelled since it will be a two-directional service...
Originally posted by Gus.chong:I do not recall if anyone mentioned before service 99 having a downroute trip from that place...
Currently, until this friday, there are 137 weekday trips on bus service 99 at Jurong West Avenue 5 before Street 71, and 138 weekday trips after Street 71, in the direction towards Street 91. The additional trip seems to start at 17:48hrs.
With effect from this saturday, 21 November 2015, there will be 146 weekday trips on bus service 99 at both sides of Jurong West Avenue 5.
From the looks of it, the six trips that will be added w.e.f 21/11/15 arrives at Jurong West Avenue 5 between 5pm and 7pm, and departs Clementi Bus Interchange at around 3pm-3:30pm.
Will route 99 still be CLE route group (BBDEP)?
Originally posted by iveco:Will route 99 still be CLE route group (BBDEP)?
I guess it will still be...
Originally posted by iveco:Will route 99 still be CLE route group (BBDEP)?
Q: Will there be a new route group created, called the Joo Koon (JKN) route group?
The number of double decker buses at the side. :O The fire hydrant drawing shows only two parking lots, but there are up to five buses. I think during normal day with bus services running, there can be around four buses parked there, considering the gap is wider (otherwise how to drive in and out of the gap?). This means Joo Koon Bus Interchange has the capacity for around twenty buses, or around ten bus services.
Somehow, the berths here look like the ones at the new Serangoon Air-Conditioned Bus Interchange - without the priority queues.
199 stop at the new interchange might not be as popular as 179 at boon lay. since there is a shopping centre compare to this interchange.
i think some bus service should be at this interchange is 30 or some other service where is not many people terminated at boon lay interchange and 199 remain at the old interchange will be better
Originally posted by wsy1234:i think some bus service should be at this interchange is 30 or some other service where is not many people terminated at boon lay interchange and 199 remain at the old interchange will be better
30 is too long to be extended to Joo Koon...
If there is capacity for one more bus service, on top of the nine announced, ...
Well, any recommendations?
Anyway, do not expect strong loadings on bus service 258 and 99 extension when they begin tomorrow. There are people who still do not know about them. My lao peh is one of them. It's only when I told him yesterday then he know there is going to be 258 to Pioneer MRT. It's going to take a while for the loading to build up.
And hor, I think there will be workers who do not know about the bus services that are going over to Joo Koon. Confirm will have some people continue to go to Boon Lay, then realise that their bus service no more liao, have to go over to Joo Koon to take.
Likewise for the people taking 99 from Jurong West Street 92.
It's going to take a while la. Even with more than one month notice, surely will have some short-term inconvenience caused.
Originally posted by jurongresident:Anyway, do not expect strong loadings on bus service 258 and 99 extension when they begin tomorrow. There are people who still do not know about them. My lao peh is one of them. It's only when I told him yesterday then he know there is going to be 258 to Pioneer MRT. It's going to take a while for the loading to build up.
And hor, I think there will be workers who do not know about the bus services that are going over to Joo Koon. Confirm will have some people continue to go to Boon Lay, then realise that their bus service no more liao, have to go over to Joo Koon to take.
It's going to take a while la. Even with more than one month notice, surely will have some short-term inconvenience caused.
ya lor
of course... 99 has been looping at st 92 for how long already?
at least 30 years? when i was small somemore haha
tomorrow, history will be gone
Originally posted by wsy1234:199 stop at the new interchange might not be as popular as 179 at boon lay. since there is a shopping centre compare to this interchange.
What are you talking about? 199 is not getting extended to Joo Koon, it is sv 99. And comparison of 199 and 179 is wrong in first place as both serve different parts of NTU apart from the center where they ply in opposite directions.
Originally posted by Gus.chong:30 is too long to be extended to Joo Koon...
That wouldn't be my reason. sv 30 has super high loading between Boon Lay and Lakeside estate. PM load on every bus varies between 60-90 pax. Severe inconvenience if sv 30 is diverted to Joo Koon.
Originally posted by jurongresident:Anyway, do not expect strong loadings on bus service 258 and 99 extension when they begin tomorrow. There are people who still do not know about them. My lao peh is one of them. It's only when I told him yesterday then he know there is going to be 258 to Pioneer MRT. It's going to take a while for the loading to build up.
That is for any service. After service is introduced you need to give at least 2 months to assess loading. It is not just awareness of new service, but also changing your travel routine that you have been used to.
Hence, I have still not surveyed 102 but now plan to do it today or Dec first week as these two times I will be in Hougang/Sengkang estate with work.
Originally posted by azharjj:ya lor
of course... 99 has been looping at st 92 for how long already?
at least 30 years? when i was small somemore haha
tomorrow, history will be gone
There will be people who will go to st 92 bus stop and suddenly realize no 99 coming. But I have to say LTA has done a good job with the announcements this time around. It has been in all newspapers, online media, interchanges, websites about the phased launch and rehaul of services. People should know.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:There will be people who will go to st 92 bus stop and suddenly realize no 99 coming. But I have to say LTA has done a good job with the announcements this time around. It has been in all newspapers, online media, interchanges, websites about the phased launch and rehaul of services. People should know.
They never put poster on the buses. You know, at the board beside the wheelchair area (DD) and behind the driver seat (SD).
Last time when 242 amended and 241 introduced, the posters are everywhere. Even 243 buses also have.
Likewise, the RC (Residents' Committee) people never put the poster or flyer at the noticeboards at all HDB flats in the area. Last time when 242 was amended, even the areas inside street 81 also have the poster although the ppl there never take 242. I don't know why this time don't have.
there is also no banner telling us about the new bus service 258 and the extension of 99. You know, the one with the picture of the MP greeting us. That one also don't have.
Only have posters, at the bus stops and Boon Lay Bus Interchange.
Originally posted by jurongresident:
They never put poster on the buses. You know, at the board beside the wheelchair area (DD) and behind the driver seat (SD).
Last time when 242 amended and 241 introduced, the posters are everywhere. Even 243 buses also have.
Likewise, the RC (Residents' Committee) people never put the poster or flyer at the noticeboards at all HDB flats in the area. Last time when 242 was amended, even the areas inside street 81 also have the poster although the ppl there never take 242. I don't know why this time don't have.
there is also no banner telling us about the new bus service 258 and the extension of 99. You know, the one with the picture of the MP greeting us. That one also don't have.
Only have posters, at the bus stops and Boon Lay Bus Interchange.
I think that would be waste of paper to have posters on each bus and HDB flats. Singapore is a literate society, and most can read. The Joo Koon announcement and routes have come in newspapers, online websites etc multiple times. All those for whom it matters, will or should take the pain to read it.
Compared to 120, 49 where the routes are announced a week to 10 days in advance, LTA has done a nice job with preparing from before. I also like the phased approach, rather than do all at once. I think this is one the best managed communication, compared to the CCK one or other route launches.