Hi.
I am sorry, but I must inform you this.
Joo Koon Bus Interchange has nine bus services. Although it does not have the smallest number of bus services, it actually has the shortest total distance and the shortest total travel time.
Joo Koon (9) total distance is 171.1km and total travel time is 595mins.
Serangoon (8) total distance is 241.9km and total travel time is 1054mins.
Eunos (7) total distance is 268.7km and total travel time is 1105mins.
Actually, it is Sembawang bus interchange that is similar to Joo Koon bus interchange, not Serangoon bus interchange or Eunos bus interchange.
Joo Koon (9) total distance is 171.1km and total travel time is 595mins.
Sembawang (7) total distance is 162.8km and total travel time is 535mins.
but, when bus service 117 is launched tomorrow, this will increase by 39.8km and around 100mins.
Sembawang Bus Interchange opened on 20 November 2005. Until 20 November 2015, it was the newest bus interchange in Singapore. Joo Koon Bus Interchange opens exactly ten years later, on 21 November 2015. It just happens that Joo Koon Bus Interchange is the first new bus interchange in ten years.
and it also just happens that Joo Koon Bus Interchange will take over the title from Sembawang Bus Interchange, for being the most slack bus interchange in Singapore.
Joo Koon Bus Interchange is the most slack bus interchange in Singapore.
Change in First Bus Timing
更改首趟巴士
Pertukaran Waktu bagi Bas Pertama
From Monday, 4 January 2016, the first bus of these services will start from Joo Koon Bus Interchange at 5.45am instead of 6.00am.
从2016年1月4日(星期一)起,以上路线的首趟巴士将 从原本的早晨6时�早至5时45分,从裕群转�站�程。
Mulai Isnin, 4 Januari 2016, bas pertama dari Pusat Pertukaran Bas Joo Koon akan dimulakan pada jam 5.45 pagi, bukannya pada jam 6.00 pagi.
Originally posted by jurongresident:Change in First Bus Timing
更改首趟巴士
Pertukaran Waktu bagi Bas PertamaFrom Monday, 4 January 2016, the first bus of these services will start from Joo Koon Bus Interchange at 5.45am instead of 6.00am.
Mulai Isnin, 4 Januari 2016, bas pertama dari Pusat Pertukaran Bas Joo Koon akan dimulakan pada jam 5.45 pagi, bukannya pada jam 6.00 pagi.
Hi mr jurongresident, think to cater to workers who come super early. Cheers. Thanks.
Meanwhile,
The bus routes at OneMap.sg have been updated to include Joo Koon Bus Interchange new routes and route amendments.
Originally posted by jurongresident:Change in First Bus Timing
更改首趟巴士
Pertukaran Waktu bagi Bas PertamaFrom Monday, 4 January 2016, the first bus of these services will start from Joo Koon Bus Interchange at 5.45am instead of 6.00am.
wat time first shift start. i always thought start at 8am. but if 545 then start 630 already? too early la for first shift. u know?
Originally posted by proudtobeme:wat time first shift start. i always thought start at 8am. but if 545 then start 630 already? too early la for first shift. u know?
I also think so.
At first I thought is because got bus driver out of job because of Joo Koon Bus Interchange opening, but I thought more drivers are used instead, because the estimated travel time is longer?
I guess this is to serve the people staying in Tuas, but got Singaporean stay there meh? :|
Or maybe is because frequency got some adjustments, that's why first trip start earlier, so that the operations can end at the same time.
Originally posted by jurongresident:I also think so.
At first I thought is because got bus driver out of job because of Joo Koon Bus Interchange opening, but I thought more drivers are used instead, because the estimated travel time is longer?
I guess this is to serve the people staying in Tuas, but got Singaporean stay there meh? :|
Or maybe is because frequency got some adjustments, that's why first trip start earlier, so that the operations can end at the same time.
Hi mr jurongresident, I think it is typical to operate the bus services much earlier. 6am start off is too late. Last time sbs 119 started off around 5.45am-6am. 1-2 years back, it was brought forward to 5-5.15am. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by jurongresident:I also think so.
Apparently the only JIS that has bidirectional loading is 182. PM peak you will see many foreigners taking 182 towards Tuas. But for the rest I don't really understand.
P.S. Public transport is essentially for everyone in Singapore and not just for Singaporeans. After all, foreign workers are also paying for buses and MRT.
RE: PTC's List of bus service applications for Nov 08 to May 09 (my very first post on SGforums!)
Seven years ago, in 2009, there was an application made by SBS Transit to the PTC to amend the route of bus service 243. There were rumors that bus service 243 would be amended into a loop service.
I do not know what was the proposed amendment on bus service 243, but I believe it is this:
Logically, SBS Transit would have let bus service 241 use the shorter route to run between Boon Lay Bus Interchange and Jurong West Street 91, via Jurong West Street 62, Jurong West Street 61, Jurong West Street 71 and Jurong West Avenue 5. This is because a shorter route has lower costs of operation, thus enable more revenue. (Note: back then, before 2010, SBS Transit had the power to create and amend its bus routes.)
For bus service 243, I believe the plan was to let the bus run straight along Pioneer Road North after Jurong West Avenue 4, and turn right onto Jurong West Street 63 (Pioneer MRT Station) and then right again onto Jurong West Street 61 to return back using the W route of the current 243G/W.
Whereas for bus service 242, that route amendment was probably the plan proposed.
I guess there are people here who know what was the plan for 243 route amendment, which was rejected by the community. If you know, please tell me. Thanks. :)
Anyway, it is still possible to amend 243 to loop around Pioneer MRT Station. We can let 243 ply Jurong West Street 71 and loop around Pioneer MRT Station. This would reduce duplication with 241. Meanwhile, 241 can ply Jurong West Street 62.
A new pair of bus stop can be created at Jurong West Street 81, to compensate for the skipped bus stop at Jurong West Avenue 5.
Whereas for the new bus service 258 launched by the government, we can re-route it to serve Jurong West Neighborhood 9 en-route to Joo Koon Bus Interchange. This can enable bus service 99 to revert to its previous route, where it loops at Jurong West Street 91 and returns to Clementi Bus Interchange.
We can re-route bus 258 between Jurong West Street 81 and Upper Jurong Road. 258 can skip Jurong West Street 71, Jurong West Street 61, Jurong West Street 63 and Pioneer Road North. Instead, 258 can ply Jurong West Avenue 5, Pioneer Road North, Jurong West Street 91 and Jurong West Street 93.
Hopefully, we can conclude this discussion on the rumored 243 route amendment, once and for all. :)
Originally posted by SBS8676Z:According to someone posted in Facebook,
Services 30e 196e 246 249 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 to turn WAB wef 25 Jan.
Wonder what is this special occasion about for the Jurong Industrial services to 1 short all go WAB (next WAB wave for SBST could have taken place in March instead).
It seems that Joo Koon Bus Interchange is the first bus interchange to have 100% Wheelchair-Accessible bus services. :)
The WAB posters are at the bus interchanges, but not yet on SBS Transit website...
Meanwhile, here are some pictures of the two colour options for GCM bus livery, at Joo Koon Bus Interchange:
Originally posted by jurongresident:It seems that Joo Koon Bus Interchange is the first bus interchange to have 100% Wheelchair-Accessible bus services. :)
The WAB posters are at the bus interchanges, but not yet on SBS Transit website...
Meanwhile, here are some pictures of the two colour options for GCM bus livery, at Joo Koon Bus Interchange:
Bishan Int is the first interchange to have a full WAB Certified Services actually.
Visited Joo Koon Bus Interchange recently. The bus fleet on Joo Koon's nine bus services (99, 182, 182M, 253, 254, 255, 256, 257 and 258) is almost 100% Volvo Wright Double Decker buses and around 50%-50% Scania KUB Single Decker buses and Mercedes-Benz Citaro Single Decker buses.
Speaking of which, 182 and 182M queue lines take turns to open. When one service is not in operation, there would be a retractable belt barrier placed at the opening of that service's queue line, to ensure that people wait for the service that is in operation.
Originally posted by jurongresident:Speaking of which, 182 and 182M queue lines take turns to open. When one service is not in operation, there would be a retractable belt barrier placed at the opening of that service's queue line, to ensure that people wait for the service that is in operation.
Somewhat pointless IMO ... better to merge the two waiting berths together, install a small electronic display (or reuse current ones) to note to commuters whether the next bus is 182 or 182M, then reserve the last berth for MRT disruption shuttles.
This includes Joo Koon Bus Interchange's bus services 253, 254, 255, 256 and 257.
Previously, bus services 99, 182, 182M and 258 were already wheelchair-accessible.
Now, all of Joo Koon Bus Interchange's bus services are wheelchair-accessible! :)
seriously, why is this shit still on?
MODERATORS, I DEMAND THIS THREAD BE LOCKED IMMEDIATELY!
Originally posted by BusAnalayzor:seriously, why is this shit still on?
MODERATORS, I DEMAND THIS THREAD BE LOCKED IMMEDIATELY!
seriously, why is this shirt still on?
MODERATORS, I DEMAND THIS CLONE BE BANNED IMMEDIATELY!
MOTHER FUCKERS, I COMMAND YOU TO DELETE THIS THREAD AND STOP THIS SHIT ONCE AND FOR ALL!
Originally posted by Path Lights:MOTHER FUCKERS, I COMMAND YOU TO DELETE THIS THREAD AND STOP THIS SHIT ONCE AND FOR ALL!
Don't be so rude! If you notice, I changed 'sh*t' to 'shirt' in my post above.
Barney is a dinosaur with no imagination. One day he eats char kway teow and dies from constipation.
Originally posted by jurongresident:abang dan kakak sekalian, mengapa kamu bertengkar? Kenapa kunci atau memadam thread ini, apabila kita boleh membiarkan thread ini tamat tempoh? berehat la. Apa yang salah dengan membincangkan tentang seorang pertukaran bas?
From your typing i knew you are not Malay..
Originally posted by array88:In fact, I think services to the same area should be allocated to the same berth - for the exact same reason.
If the 2 services are at different berths, which berth would you want those passengers to go to? If they are in the queue of one of them (let's say service A), then when the other service (let's say service B) comes, do you expect them to run all the way to board service B? Especially if the berths are far apart - then good luck running across the interchange. Putting A and B at the same berth effectively saves you from all the trouble as you can just board B at this berth even when you are in A's queue. (This is also why all the Tampines-bound services at TPE bus stop are grouped together at the same 'berth', and likewise for all Pasir Ris-bound services,)
Yes, I know there are bus arrival timings displayed in bus interchanges. But they're not always accurate; in fact, for some services, it's never accurate.
In the same way, the bus services should/shouldn't be at the same berth:
Hougang: 74, 147
Punggol: 3, 83 / 43/43M, 117
Originally posted by carbikebus:From your typing i knew you are not Malay..
like obviously... haha. google translate
sentence structure wrong... like example it should be "apa salahnya", not "apa yang salah" haha
Even i dont speak or write malay like that in a composition back in secondary school
Hari ini saya pergi ke Joo Koon Pertukaran Bas. Apabila saya sedang menunggu perkhidmatan bas 99 untuk, saya menyaksikan dua buah kereta memandu dari Benoi Road ke dalam pertukaran bas, dan kemudian dihalau ke Joo Koon Circle.
Sangat Jelas sekali, kedua-dua kereta menggunakan Joo Koon Pertukaran Bas untuk memintas persimpangan lampu isyarat dan pergi terus ke Joo Koon Circle.
Ini adalah kelemahan.
Jika boleh, saya berharap pihak berkuasa boleh memasang halangan kemasukan bagi memastikan hanya bas dan kereta yang diberi kuasa boleh memasuki pertukaran bas.