Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I think that would be waste of paper to have posters on each bus and HDB flats. Singapore is a literate society, and most can read. The Joo Koon announcement and routes have come in newspapers, online websites etc multiple times. All those for whom it matters, will or should take the pain to read it.
Compared to 120, 49 where the routes are announced a week to 10 days in advance, LTA has done a nice job with preparing from before. I also like the phased approach, rather than do all at once. I think this is one the best managed communication, compared to the CCK one or other route launches.
Being literate does not equate to knowing how to use the internet.
Well, there is some announcements. At least there are posters at bus stops and at Boon Lay Bus Interchange. There are flyers at Boon Lay Bus Interchange, and at the rack in some buses.
My only concern is about the amendment of bus service 99, in particularly the people who take 99 from Jurong West Street 91/92.
Posters are at the affected bus stops along Jurong West Street 91, and at that skipped bus stop along Jurong West Street 92. But I'm not sure if everyone actually notices it.
New berth allocation at Boon Lay Bus Interchange.
( after 12 December 2015 )
B17: | 174e |
B16: | 174 |
B15: | 246 |
B14: | 79 |
B13: | 30 |
B12: | 249 |
B11: | 154 |
B10: | 252 |
B9: | 198 |
B8: | 194 |
B7: | 157 |
B6: | 172 | 180 | 240 |
B5: | 178 | 187 | 251 | 405 |
B4: | 199 | 243W | 258 |
B3: | 179 | 243G | 256 |
B2: | 192 | 241 | 242 |
B1: | 179A | 181 | 193 |
Bus services NOT affected:
243G, 178, 187, 180, 157, 198, 252, 154, 249, 30, 79, 246, 174 and 174e.
Originally posted by jurongresident:New berth allocation at Boon Lay Bus Interchange.
( after 12 December 2015 )
B17: | 174e |
B16: | 174 |
B15: | 246 |
B14: | 79 |
B13: | 30 |
B12: | 249 |
B11: | 154 |
B10: | 252 |
B9: | 198 |
B8: | 194 |
B7: | 157 |
B6: | 172 | 180 | 240 |
B5: | 178 | 187 | 251 | 405 |
B4: | 199 | 243W | 258 |
B3: | 179 | 243G | 256 |
B2: | 192 | 241 | 242 |
B1: | 179A | 181 | 193 |
Bus services NOT affected:
243G, 178, 187, 180, 157, 198, 252, 154, 249, 30, 79, 246, 174 and 174e.
Wah liao... If I want to take either 243G or 258 to St 81, I must stand at the centre sia...
Originally posted by SBS 9256 X:Wah liao... If I want to take either 243G or 258 to St 81, I must stand at the centre sia...
You street 81 one meh? I thought you is street 91? Anyway, 243G is already in the center. If you do not like to stand in the center, you can take 258.
Actually, I feel that putting 242 and 241 together may not be good idea. Cuz, you know la, street 91 people used to take 242. What if because they feel nostalgic then they take 242 thinking that it goes to street 91? Anyway, it has been six years. People have already get used to it. So I think it's okay.
After the opening of Joo Koon Bus Interchange, Boon Lay Bus Interchange will no longer have the highest number of bus services in Singapore. There will be thirty bus services, down from thirty three bus services.
The new record holder will be Bedok Bus Interchange, with thirty one bus services.
Anyway, with thirty bus services, this means every bus service at Boon Lay Bus Interchange will have two parking lots each, since the facility has sixty parking lots. I guess this includes bus service 258.
Originally posted by jurongresident:After the opening of Joo Koon Bus Interchange, Boon Lay Bus Interchange will no longer have the highest number of bus services in Singapore. There will be thirty bus services, down from thirty three bus services.
The new record holder will be Bedok Bus Interchange, with thirty one bus services.
Anyway, with thirty bus services, this means every bus service at Boon Lay Bus Interchange will have two parking lots each. I guess this includes bus service 258.2
258 wont park there since it loops there
The new bus service 258 and extension of bus service 99 is starting to appear on the official websites. It is now on http://www.mytransport.sg and will soon appear on other official websites!
The original length of bus route 99 is 25.6km and the Estimated Travel Time is 128min.
It is now known that the new length of bus route 99 is as follows:
To Joo Koon Int: 16.9km
To Clementi Int: 16.5km
Total = 33.4km
Soon, we will know what is the new Estimated Travel Time, via the TransitLink website.
Meanwhile, Joo Koon Bus Interchange is now on the SBS Transit website for Interchanges and Terminals!
Oh My Gawd. I am so excited!
The first bus to Joo Koon Bus Interchange is on bus service 99 and arrives at my house bus stop at around 5:10am!
Joo Koon Bus Interchange opens today!
Overheard some discussion at Boon Lay on why svc 258 need to go Joo Koon today?
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Overheard some discussion at Boon Lay on why svc 258 need to go Joo Koon today?
I guess this is to let the residents of Jurong West use the brand new Joo Koon Bus Interchange first, before everyone else. Of the eight bus services, 99 and 258 are the ones that really go into the residential areas of Jurong West.
The other reason could be that bus services 99 and 258 may have low passenger volume at Joo Koon Bus Interchange. As this is a brand new bus interchange, they probably wanted to start small and gradually have bus services with higher passenger volume.
I understand that the introduction of bus service 258 at Boon Lay Bus Interchange now may add on to the traffic congestion problem there, as the five bus services scheduled to start from Joo Koon Bus Interchange instead of Boon Lay Bus Interchange would only do so from next week.
Nevertheless, the holidays have started for both Primary and Secondary school students. There should be smaller loading on bus services during peak hours. With a smaller loading, buses may spend a shorter time at the alighting bays and boarding berths. Hence, even with the addition of bus service 258, I guess the traffic flow at Boon Lay Bus Interchange would remain the same.
Actually, if you are smart, you would know that now is not the best time to visit Joo Koon Bus Interchange.
The best way to visit Joo Koon Bus Interchange is via bus service 256, which lets you see the entire Joo Koon Bus Interchange bus bay without having to alight and wait for another bus.
Bus Service 256 starts next week.
Eh... how do you think of Joo Koon Bus Interchange ah?
I know today got a lot of bus enthusiasts go there from all parts of Singapore. Was on bus service 258 twice and on both occassions, I see people with camera.
I may have seen some of you today, but you all don't know it's me. Seriously, you all nothing better to do ah? Keep riding bus 258 over and over again and lepak at Joo Koon Bus Interchange.
Anyway, how do you think of Joo Koon Bus Interchange?
Very quiet hor?
Anyway, rest assured, when 182, 182M, 254, 255 and 257 come over, these are the "heavyweights" and when they come here, Joo Koon Bus Interchange will have high volumes of traffic.
In fact, I would like to relate Joo Koon Bus Interchange to Punggol Bus Interchange. Punggol also have bus services with very few people boarding, like 386.
Hi mr jurongresident, today is the day that you have been waiting for. Congrats.
Originally posted by jurongresident:Eh... how do you think of Joo Koon Bus Interchange ah?
I know today got a lot of bus enthusiasts go there from all parts of Singapore. Was on bus service 258 twice and on both occassions, I see people with camera.
I may have seen some of you today, but you all don't know it's me. Seriously, you all nothing better to do ah? Keep riding bus 258 over and over again and lepak at Joo Koon Bus Interchange.
Anyway, how do you think of Joo Koon Bus Interchange?
Very quiet hor?
Anyway, rest assured, when 182, 182M, 254, 255 and 257 come over, these are the "heavyweights" and when they come here, Joo Koon Bus Interchange will have high volumes of traffic.
In fact, I would like to relate Joo Koon Bus Interchange to Punggol Bus Interchange. Punggol also have bus services with very few people boarding, like 386.
I did go but i only rode on 99 and 258 once.
The rest of the time i was snapping
Originally posted by SBS2652G:I did go but i only rode on 99 and 258 once.
The rest of the time i was snapping
I was at Joo Koon also, saw a few enthusiast snapping outside the int and one in the interchange...
SBS 3495 L & SBS 3498 D on 99 + SBS 3482 Z on 258.. Perm ah?
Apparently, it seems that the new buses at Joo Koon Bus Interchange are registered back-to-back. The bus fleet of bus service 258 is like in a sequence. I think 256 and 253 will also be like that.
Saw one post on Facebook saying that the bus fleet on bus service 258 is 100% Double Decker buses:
SBS3487K, SBS3488H, SBS3489E, SBS3490A, SBS3491Y, SBS3492U
Sometimes, I wonder how they come up with the alphabet. Is it got pattern or is it they anyhow come up one?
Originally posted by SBS 9256 X:I was at Joo Koon also, saw a few enthusiast snapping outside the int and one in the interchange...
SBS 3495 L & SBS 3498 D on 99 + SBS 3482 Z on 258.. Perm ah?
I guess it's only today that there are people from all over Singapore come here. Tomorrow, they would probably be at Taman Jurong there taking bus service 49.
Sorry for writing about bus enthusiasts. Perhaps it's because I never really have BSEP new bus route (excluding 651) before, that's why I am not used to having so many "outsiders" suddenly appear at my neighbourhood and taking pictures. Nothing against them. But I'm just feeling a bit not used to it, that's all.
Originally posted by wsy1234:199 stop at the new interchange might not be as popular as 179 at boon lay. since there is a shopping centre compare to this interchange.
No worries. Besides 99 which was extended today, there would probably not be any non-JIS (Jurong Industrial bus Service) being amended to terminate at Joo Koon Bus Interchange.
I mean, let's admit it la. The very reason why Fairprice Hub is built is just for this Joo Koon Bus Interchange. The very reason why got this Joo Koon Bus Interchange... you know, I know can already. If you don't know, never mind.
I do not want to discriminate or what, because I recognise the fact we need them for the shortage of manpower, and most of them respect us a lot (they feel inferior to us). I don't know who the heck started this whatever "not-in-my-backyard" nonsense ... anyway, nvm.
I have been going there, and will continue to go there for KFC, Mc Donalds, Burger King, Subway, Popeyes, etcetera. , because there easier to find empty tables. Besides, now there's 99 and 258 which I take to go home.
Originally posted by jurongresident:Apparently, it seems that the new buses at Joo Koon Bus Interchange are registered back-to-back. The bus fleet of bus service 258 is like in a sequence. I think 256 and 253 will also be like that.
Saw one post on Facebook saying that the bus fleet on bus service 258 is 100% Double Decker buses:
SBS3487K, SBS3488H, SBS3489E, SBS3490A, SBS3491Y, SBS3492U
Sometimes, I wonder how they come up with the alphabet. Is it got pattern or is it they anyhow come up one?
The alphabet at the end is known as the checksum. It is calculated by a certain formula using the numbers of the license plate. The formula can be easily searched for online so you can actually calculate it yourself, or even use tools that some have made to do such calculations.
Reporting live from Joo Koon Bus Interchange.
There's free wifi here. :)
Wireless@SG
interesting discovery:
At the passenger service office, the SBS Transit banner writes "Joo Koon Bus Interchange", instead of "Joo Koon".
Originally posted by SBS 9256 X:Wah liao... If I want to take either 243G or 258 to St 81, I must stand at the centre sia...
Stupid allocation. 243W and 256 should have been together, and 243G and 258. This way you can expect both 256 and 258 leaving Boon Lay interchange with less than 30 pax while 243G / 243W will still have long queues.
BTW if you have noticed the route map at Joo Koon Int, 258 s considered s a trunk service instead of industrial service which is quite logical as it mainly serves Jurong West new town.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Stupid allocation. 243W and 256 should have been together, and 243G and 258. This way you can expect both 256 and 258 leaving Boon Lay interchange with less than 30 pax while 243G / 243W will still have long queues.
Haish... I was at Joo Koon yst instead of alighting at Boon Lay as usual. But quite true also... 243G and 258 should be together...
the new buses for Joo Koon are all DDs?