Originally posted by SMB145B:the current batch of bendies to retained for now.
until SMRT improves its maintainance
you are contradicting yourself... if SMRT is having poor maintainance, then the old bendies should be gone... what for keeping them?
and further, your argument that TIBS have maintain the bendies well is not right.. did u see how they maintain? and in the first place, when TIBS is around, the bendies are STILL NEW.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:So no more higher capacity buses for SMRT... So people in SMRT areas should continue to suffer? I don't get the logic.
Dun u worry there will be but the problem is how many and when?Bukit Batok,Choa Chu Kang,Bukit Panjang,Woodlands,Yishun & Sembawang really need them.
Originally posted by SMB145B:hold on
138Y returned?
138Y still layup?
It is still laid up, but it is currently in ST Kinetics...
As suggested from the title, they will be coming in either this year or next year onwards...
Wondering why SPF/Singtel don't maintain their own vehicles They seems to be so free also :/ Then like that what if their vehicles suddenly got problem? Will the drivers know what to do on the spot?(Let's say it's something emergency)
Originally posted by SMB145B:they kind of screwed up the bendies, and you want SMRT to have DDs (and let them to screw the new DDs)?
Possible measure to prevent SMRT from screwing up Double Decker buses:
when SMRT introduces Double Decker buses into its fleet, it should engage SBS Transit and hire some of SBS Transit's DD "specialists" to their side and help them make the transition from Bendy buses to Double Decker buses.
of course, this means the SBS Transit DD "specialists" would have a very huge responsibility.
Then again, even if want foreign assistance to faciliate transition to using Double Decker buses, SMRT should engage overseas companies, such as those in London, because SBS people may be loyal to SBS and not be in favour to SMRT.
In short, to prevent SMRT from screwing up Double Decker buses, it can engage foreign assistance (having experience with Double Decker buses) to help them transit to using Double Decker buses.
Originally posted by Pervertedboy:Possible measure to prevent SMRT from screwing up Double Decker buses:
when SMRT introduces Double Decker buses into its fleet, it should engage SBS Transit and hire some of SBS Transit's DD "specialists" to their side and help them make the transition from Bendy buses to Double Decker buses.
of course, this means the SBS Transit DD "specialists" would have a very huge responsibility.
Then again, even if want foreign assistance to faciliate transition to using Double Decker buses, SMRT should engage overseas companies, such as those in London, because SBS people may be loyal to SBS and not be in favour to SMRT.
In short, to prevent SMRT from screwing up Double Decker buses, it can engage foreign assistance (having experience with Double Decker buses) to help them transit to using Double Decker buses.
LTA should be the one doing it... You think SMRT would do such thing meh...
LTA engage liao, got use meh? Train still breakdown everyday. Even the DTL, test run so long, also end up breaking down on the first few days of operation :/
Originally posted by Pervertedboy:Possible measure to prevent SMRT from screwing up Double Decker buses:
Then each depot have to hire at least 8 Alexander Dennis technicans lei which is more costly
Originally posted by lemon1974:you are contradicting yourself... if SMRT is having poor maintainance, then the old bendies should be gone... what for keeping them?
and further, your argument that TIBS have maintain the bendies well is not right.. did u see how they maintain? and in the first place, when TIBS is around, the bendies are STILL NEW.
then explain the taros.
Finally coming true...
Alina Boey. (2014, February 7). Articulated buses more suitable for some passengers: SMRT. SMRT Corporation. Retrieved from http://www.straitstimes.com/
WE THANK Mr Felix Kim for his letter ("Double-deckers more efficient"; Wednesday).
While we agree that double-decker buses do occupy a smaller vehicular footprint on our roads, it has also been observed that young children, persons with disabilities and elderly passengers may find it difficult to make their way to the upper deck, especially when they are travelling on shorter-distance routes.
In these instances, articulated buses will be a more efficient way of commuting for them.
In addition, articulated buses are able to accommodate larger passenger loads and, as they come equipped with three doors, facilitate swifter boarding and alighting.
That being said, we have procured a new batch of double-decker buses, which will be plying the roads alongside the articulated buses in the later part of this year.
Both types of buses are needed to fulfil different passenger needs.
SMRT remains committed to delivering safe and reliable bus journeys for all our passengers, and we will continue to explore ways to enhance our commuters' experience.
sv 800 - 812: Yishun feeders / intra-town
sv 800
Proposing 7 SD buses. Fleet add by 1 and removing bendy buses on this service. Does anyone have thoughts on this? The long loop around Sembawang Road and Yishun Ring road, I have seen bendies going half used for most part of the route. It gets full towards Yishun Int where sv 804 plies opposite side to MRT.
sv 803
3 SDs
sv 804
7 DD/bendy - Full fleet high capacity buses
sv 806
10 DD/bendy - Full fleet high capacity buses
sv 811
4 DD/bendy + 8 SDs (Also introduce 811A to Yishun Ave 7). 2 buses added. AM/PM operation with downroutes back to interchange.
sv 812
6 DD/bendy --> Full fleet high capacity buses
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:sv 800 - 812: Yishun feeders / intra-town
sv 800
Proposing 7 SD buses. Fleet add by 1 and removing bendy buses on this service. Does anyone have thoughts on this? The long loop around Sembawang Road and Yishun Ring road, I have seen bendies going half used for most part of the route. It gets full towards Yishun Int where sv 804 plies opposite side to MRT.
sv 803
3 SDs
sv 804
sv 806
sv 811
4 DD/bendy + 8 SDs (Also introduce 811A to Yishun Ave 7). 2 buses added. AM/PM operation with downroutes back to interchange.
sv 812
Truly agreed for 800. But I strongly oppose to DDs on 812. Full BENDIES only please.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:sv 800 - 812: Yishun feeders / intra-town
sv 800
sv 803
3 SDs
sv 804
sv 806
sv 811
sv 812
800: reducing to 3 Bendies and 4 SD, full SD not at the moment.
803: for now ...
806: 1 special crossover from 856/851; DD supplement in PM & PM off peak, 3-4 DDs from WLDEP will do 1/2 trip.
811: 4-5 DDs will go under AM/PM Peaks 2 S shift Bendies + 1 or 2 SD in TQ Shift
812: 7 bendies + 3 SDs
Originally posted by Pervertedboy:Alina Boey. (2014, February 7). Articulated buses more suitable for some passengers: SMRT. SMRT Corporation. Retrieved from http://www.straitstimes.com/
Originally posted by SMB145B:800: reducing to 3 Bendies and 4 SD, full SD not at the moment.
806: 1 special crossover from 856/851; DD supplement in PM & PM off peak, 3-4 DDs from WLDEP will do 1/2 trip.
811: 4-5 DDs will go under AM/PM Peaks 2 S shift Bendies + 1 or 2 SD in TQ Shift
On 800, where do you see 70+ pax loading? I have seen buses coming from Ring road towards Yoshun int with 30-40 pax on board during peak hours. Most people opt for 812.
Originally posted by SMB145B:800: reducing to 3 Bendies and 4 SD, full SD not at the moment.
For 812, current fleet size is 6 Bendies and I propose to keep it same as they are managing the load well. 812 has to be full fleet bendy because each bus takes 80+ pax in both loops.
Originally posted by SMB128B:Truly agreed for 800. But I strongly oppose to DDs on 812. Full BENDIES only please.
Sure.
Originally posted by carbikebus:All SMRT Feeders/Intratowns will use bendies with the exception of 307,904,920,922.Whats the purpose they wanna operate two types of high capacity buses if Feeders use DDs?
Some feeders will have to use DDs. For eg: If you do not put DDs on 804 or 806, how will those services become WAB? They will have to use a mix of bendy + DD for certain services to make them WAB. If you go to see Yishun feeders, they need the WAB status more than 182/192.
Considering this for feeders where high capacity buses are a must and should not be replaced with rigids but need to be made WAB in few months or year, SMRT will have to consider replacing some bendies with DDs. IF it decides not to make these services WAB, then full fleet bendy is okay. This is the thought process with which I have put DD/bendy everywhere.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:
Some feeders will have to use DDs. For eg: If you do not put DDs on 804 or 806, how will those services become WAB? They will have to use a mix of bendy + DD for certain services to make them WAB. If you go to see Yishun feeders, they need the WAB status more than 182/192.Considering this for feeders where high capacity buses are a must and should not be replaced with rigids but need to be made WAB in few months or year, SMRT will have to consider replacing some bendies with DDs. IF it decides not to make these services WAB, then full fleet bendy is okay. This is the thought process with which I have put DD/bendy everywhere.
Hmm but the bendy would also be WAB isn't it? Oo
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:On 800, where do you see 70+ pax loading? I have seen buses coming from Ring road towards Yoshun int with 30-40 pax on board during peak hours. Most people opt for 812.
then why did it went into full bendies in 2003-2004?
maybe the loading pattern changed
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:For 812, current fleet size is 6 Bendies and I propose to keep it same as they are managing the load well. 812 has to be full fleet bendy because each bus takes 80+ pax in both loops.
if people opt for 812 over 800, shouldn't 812 be getting a fleet increase?
1 additional bendy?