(812E will end at Yishun Int)
860: 3 Bendies or 5 DDs + 2 SD/Rigids in addition to 4 SD/Rigids
860A : 2 Bendies + 1 DD
(860A will end at Blk 773, Avenue 3)
most of the SDs are to supplement the DDs
Originally posted by TIB429E:Hmm but the bendy would also be WAB isn't it? Oo
Stupid question bro, you don't say?!
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:
Some feeders will have to use DDs. For eg: If you do not put DDs on 804 or 806, how will those services become WAB? They will have to use a mix of bendy + DD for certain services to make them WAB. If you go to see Yishun feeders, they need the WAB status more than 182/192.Considering this for feeders where high capacity buses are a must and should not be replaced with rigids but need to be made WAB in few months or year, SMRT will have to consider replacing some bendies with DDs. IF it decides not to make these services WAB, then full fleet bendy is okay. This is the thought process with which I have put DD/bendy everywhere.
Bendies will be WAB lah... *facepalm* where got developed cities buy non-WAB bendies now ah I ask u
currently we only have 1 WAB bendy.
Originally posted by SMB128B:Bendies will be WAB lah... *facepalm* where got developed cities buy non-WAB bendies now ah I ask u
I have a feeling that he is saying as if SMRT is not going to buy bendies for the time being...because some will receive lifespan extensions and others will be send for scrap.
Any news around the bus assembly factory for new DDs or BBs? the news paper said mid year to year end smrt going to have DDs bus.
Originally posted by wsy1234:Any news around the bus assembly factory for new DDs or BBs? the news paper said mid year to year end smrt going to have DDs bus.
Demonstrator in Germany for testings currently...
Originally posted by Gus.chong:I have a feeling that he is saying as if SMRT is not going to buy bendies for the time being...because some will receive lifespan extensions and others will be send for scrap.
With reference to SMRT's statement I feel that WAB bendies would come shortly after the new DDs. This is to ensure efficient dealing of pax, as said in the press. I believe that there would be some SD rigids replaced by DDs as a move to boosting its fleet as a whole.
Originally posted by SMB128B:Stupid question bro, you don't say?!
Does it really sounds like a question I'm just somewhat correcting his lines...
Originally posted by TIB429E:Does it really sounds like a question I'm just somewhat correcting his lines...
lol
they are trying to pull in DDs for high capacity buses. one of the reason is 190.
then the bendies arrive to replace and add on to the current aging bendies
Originally posted by SMB145B:lol
Correct boh ah
and of cus I know the bendy may be WAB...but it still depends
Originally posted by SMB145B:they are trying to pull in DDs for high capacity buses. one of the reason is 190.
then the bendies arrive to replace and add on to the current aging bendies
I think their fleet would likely be 60% DD, 25% Bendy, 15% SD..
Originally posted by TIB429E:Correct boh ah
and of cus I know the bendy may be WAB...but it still depends
which company is still ordering non-WAB bendies?
none.
WAB; LE or LF?
Originally posted by SMB145B:which company is still ordering non-WAB bendies?
none.
WAB; LE or LF?
Because he sounds as though the bendy wouldn't be WAB, unless he's literally referring to the current ones.
Plus there's no official statement that SMRT will purchase WAB bendy, whether or not SMRT could handle these 3 types of buses will depend on the upcoming mid-2014 till the dereg date of the last 50 bendy.
"Some feeders will have to use DDs. For eg: If you do not put DDs on 804 or 806, how will those services become WAB? They will have to use a mix of bendy + DD for certain services to make them WAB. If you go to see Yishun feeders, they need the WAB status more than 182/192.
Considering this for feeders where high capacity buses are a must and should not be replaced with rigids but need to be made WAB in few months or year, SMRT will have to consider replacing some bendies with DDs. IF it decides not to make these services WAB, then full fleet bendy is okay. This is the thought process with which I have put DD/bendy everywhere."
Originally posted by TIB429E:Because he sounds as though the bendy wouldn't be WAB, unless he's literally referring to the current ones.
Plus there's no official statement that SMRT will purchase WAB bendy, whether or not SMRT could handle these 3 types of buses will depend on the upcoming mid-2014 till the dereg date of the last 50 bendy.
"Some feeders will have to use DDs. For eg: If you do not put DDs on 804 or 806, how will those services become WAB? They will have to use a mix of bendy + DD for certain services to make them WAB. If you go to see Yishun feeders, they need the WAB status more than 182/192.
Considering this for feeders where high capacity buses are a must and should not be replaced with rigids but need to be made WAB in few months or year, SMRT will have to consider replacing some bendies with DDs. IF it decides not to make these services WAB, then full fleet bendy is okay. This is the thought process with which I have put DD/bendy everywhere."
BA thinks that SMRT will follow SBST in ditching the bendies. current bendies except for one are all non-WAB.
LTA had said bendies to play a smaller role in SG, mostly feeder svcs
173A,189A and 859A would be only given bendies when the load is high.
Originally posted by SMB145B:BA thinks that SMRT will follow SBST in ditching the bendies. current bendies except for one are all non-WAB.
Hmm what I see is that as long as they can maintain properly, operating 3 different types at a go would be somewhat profitable. Can't wait to ride DD on 960/966...
Originally posted by SMB145B:if people opt for 812 over 800, shouldn't 812 be getting a fleet increase?
1 additional bendy?
812 can get additional bendy but the current loading on 812 is managed... You don't see a bendy, that is so full like 804/806 that people are not able to board... It is also due to the dual MRT option - Khatib and Yishun. But yes, if 800 capacity is reduced, 812 can get one. All for it.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Im sure the bendies will be WAB and by the time almost all feeders/intratowns will be WAB liao..
Ok which trunk svc cant use DDs due to height restriction?Can anyone listed here?
Yes, it depends on when SMRT places an order for WAB bendies. Right now, they have placed an order only for DDs. My guess is they will use the bendies they have and only then replacements will come in for them. In this case, most of your feeder/intra-towns will either be non-WAB or will have a high number of rigids if you want it to be WAB.
Originally posted by TIB429E:Because he sounds as though the bendy wouldn't be WAB, unless he's literally referring to the current ones.
You got my point right. There is no statement about procuring new WAB bendies. Now SMRT also has to reinforce that it needs both bendy and DDs for efficient passenger needs since it has a huge number of bendies still.
When they make a statement about procuring WAB bendies then we can comfortably say feeders/intra-towns can become WAB with bendies. Till then it is speculation, right!?
Originally posted by SMB145B:BA thinks that SMRT will follow SBST in ditching the bendies. current bendies except for one are all non-WAB.
From my same friend, who first told me about SMRT placing order for DDs, he tole me a week back that LTA is not much in favor of bendy buses not just in CBD but has more areas ear-marked where there is traffic and many bus routes plying and do not want bendies there. LTA is okay with bendies on feeder routes.
Having said that, I also told my friend it is good to have bendies also on trunk services like 67 and 176 that really need high capacity buses and cannot have them due to height restriction. Bendies are very useful here. He said 176 okay, 67 LTA is not very happy with bendies coz it plies Little India area causing congestion there.
I think if 67 does not have bendies, as of today, it will be total chaos. So good LTA is not being a dictator here. Maybe after DTL opens, 67 might not need that many bendies and can be split into two services
67 - CCK to Lor 1 Geylang
68 - Tampines to Rochor Canal Road (Loop)
Originally posted by TIB429E:Hmm what I see is that as long as they can maintain properly, operating 3 different types at a go would be somewhat profitable. Can't wait to ride DD on 960/966...
profitable?? how can SMRT buses be profitable?