Originally posted by carbikebus:14 starters and 6 splits that ends too early..Not to mention breakdowns,no standby BCs to drive certain empty blocks thats why you see SMRT buses cock up.The senior BCs who last time enjoy 2 days off a week seems to decrease in all depots.SMRT pls hired someone professional preferably from SBST to do your bus planning.As an ex SBST BC their management staffs also try to get feedbacks from me how SBST IDFC and rostering runs.Imho they should employ those retired SBST management staff on this for better schedulings.
858 BC told me they enjoy 1 day off per week and at times work 7 days straight due to lack of manpower esp on PH like CNY. He exclaimed this line 'no freedom'
Originally posted by TIB429E:Hmm why wouldn't it be profiting?
SD gets replaced with DD > can ferry more passengers > save manpower also...
Bendy gets replaced with DD > more svc, especially thsoe DD unfriendly routes can get higher capacity buses...
so the cost of DD is cheaper than SDs? operation cost is also cheaper? a DD weight 50% more heavier than SDs... further, even if u change SD to DD, does not mean that the no of passengers will increase...
right now, a lot of SMRT SD are packed to the door and yet they are still losing money? why?
Originally posted by lemon1974:so the cost of DD is cheaper than SDs? operation cost is also cheaper? a DD weight 50% more heavier than SDs... further, even if u change SD to DD, does not mean that the no of passengers will increase...
right now, a lot of SMRT SD are packed to the door and yet they are still losing money? why?
Just another excuse for fare hike only.
Cheers.
Originally posted by lemon1974:so the cost of DD is cheaper than SDs? operation cost is also cheaper? a DD weight 50% more heavier than SDs... further, even if u change SD to DD, does not mean that the no of passengers will increase...
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:
my opinion why SMRT Buses lose money maybe due to lack of economy of scale in operation. bus fares are kept affordably low + concessions as compared to other developed countries like HK. even jb public bus fares seem high as compared to their average citizen pay. one possible way is to let one one operator take charge of entire island bus svcs. anyway LTA as regulatory body to ensure good svc standard and affordable fares is good to prevent abuse of monopoly.
Bus fares here are considered moderate to high already ...
In HK, from Kennedy Town to Causeway Bay taking CTB5, 5X is only HKD3.40
mind you 5X is a semi express bus, it is only HKD3.40.
Here, Premium/Express/Fast Forward(all three not that fast due to heavy traffic), it is already at least SGD2 - 4(depends on route number)
But if your capacity increases, wouldn't that means that more people are willing to take public transport?
Don't just look at the area leh. If you fleet upgrade your SD to DD, not only each bus will be rather more on time, they are able to pick up all passengers. Now with the BSRF, wouldn't the operators enjoy on-time schedule then? Long term effect may also lead to slight increase in ridership.
Not always is there a need to deploy DD on AP, but it still depends. It's still got to do with your method of deployment. If your company is here to serve people, then pls do some short survey lah. Why would somebody deploy a SD on 161 as last bus/weekends? When you know the svc is rather demanding? Why would somebody deploy a SD during peak timing(school hours etc)?
~ My Viewpoint, feel free to comment~~
Originally posted by SGCar:Just another excuse for fare hike only.
Cheers.
TBH, I rather they have fare hike, BUT with acceptable maintenance.
At least during hot days, your bus must have med. speed aircon. At least during PH/Weekends, even if there's lack of drivers, you must deploy HIGH capacity buses.
But sadly speaking, right now at least half of the rides were under acceptable level~
Anyway, hope the govt. wouldn't forget the main key factor-manpower. It's time to increase each depot manpower~~ give more flexibility, not just increase pay.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Are you questioning the need for 18 DDs on 854???
i am not questioning the 18 DDs.
but what is SBST coming up on their 25
SMRT 854 and SBST 25 shares much of the route.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:858 cannot get Bendies due or sharp turns within airport terminal. 859 route should stay but with only SDs. For 851, I suggested 10 DDs that will leave consecutively one after another to cover peak loading towards Bukit Merah. Opposite direction loading can be managed by SD. I have done the route loading segmentation and thus suggesting 10:16 - this is already a big increase in high capacity buses for 851 which lost many Bendies when 851 became WAB.
858 should not even stop at Jln Kayu.
it can't have DDs due to Height Restrictions. if not other Airport services would have gotten ADDs.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:For your comment on 882, I will just say first let them add at least one more bus. Only 2 buses in operation with horrible frequency.
whoever said 2 buses on 882 is enough, didn't even bother to check.
Originally posted by SMB145B:858 should not even stop at Jln Kayu.
it can't have DDs due to Height Restrictions. if not other Airport services would have gotten ADDs.
Yes that's why... In my deployment 858 has no DDs.
I disagree. 858 stop at Jalan Kayu / Seletar is important transfer node.
Originally posted by SMB145B:whoever said 2 buses on 882 is enough, didn't even bother to check.
In LTAs BSEP thread, I had suggested long back 882 should get BSEP fleet add and then there were people like SMB128B who said no need - people walk from MRT to the HDB hubs where 882 plies.
Originally posted by SMB145B:i am not questioning the 18 DDs.
but what is SBST coming up on their 25
SMRT 854 and SBST 25 shares much of the route.
Yes from Bedok to HG ave 2... But there is a whole uniqueness in the route of 854 that it is the only service connecting Eunos, HG Ave 3-2 to YCK road and a Yishun, resulting into heavy loading during peak hours. Rigids just cannot manage the loading on 854. In fact 55 and 25 also have a big part of route on common yet 55 got 10 DDs from an earlier fleet of 5 DDs.
Why not?
I mean, you SERIOUSLY think just coz 858 terminates at WRI the pax from the airport heading to Woodlands and beyond will really take this svc till WRI?
You are wrong.
Reason why Jln Kayu stop is so important is becoz at least half of the pax, whether it's peak or not, will alight and transfer to 168. I mean, would you seriously want to go big rounds in Yishun and Sembawang? I don't think so.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Are u proposing WRI loops at Jln Kayu using DDs?
If DDs need to be used on 858, they can be used on 858A and it can become a full day service looping at Yishun Central.
Originally posted by SMB128B:Why not?
I mean, you SERIOUSLY think just coz 858 terminates at WRI the pax from the airport heading to Woodlands and beyond will really take this svc till WRI?
You are wrong.
Reason why Jln Kayu stop is so important is becoz at least half of the pax, whether it's peak or not, will alight and transfer to 168. I mean, would you seriously want to go big rounds in Yishun and Sembawang? I don't think so.
One of the pax would be me as i tend to take 168 to Jalan Kayu and then 858 rather than 858 from Woodlands. Can reach airport in less than 1h compared to the full 858 trip of 1h 20 mins
It have to stop at Jalan Kayu.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I disagree. 858 stop at Jalan Kayu / Seletar is important transfer node.
there is other transfer points
TPE slip road to/from punggol road
161 and 168 will stop here.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:In LTAs BSEP thread, I had suggested long back 882 should get BSEP fleet add and then there were people like SMB128B who said no need - people walk from MRT to the HDB hubs where 882 plies.
if the frequency is that bad, 882 should get one or two rigids
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Yes from Bedok to HG ave 2... But there is a whole uniqueness in the route of 854 that it is the only service connecting Eunos, HG Ave 3-2 to YCK road and a Yishun, resulting into heavy loading during peak hours. Rigids just cannot manage the loading on 854. In fact 55 and 25 also have a big part of route on common yet 55 got 10 DDs from an earlier fleet of 5 DDs.
i hope that there wouldn't be empty DDs on either services. i don't like a whole load of DDs spammed on a service.
just in
queue forming for svc 804, 806 and even 860.
806 in particular, had 10 bendies in its fleet. yet some pax can't board.
860 has very little pax before.
806 badly need one DD at least.
860 needs a couple of Rigids or a bendy ...