Originally posted by Acx1688:What is it about MRT over BRT?! said by Minister izit?!
190 has more rigids now from observations, really pity the people staying at CCk, Teck Whye, BPJ... have to "TONG" until MRT comes in 201X,,,
minister debates.
190 bus problem is getting like the PMN problem. it never dies off
DTL only comes in 2016 ... (2 years later)
Originally posted by Acx1688:They should have a Townlink connecting Telok Blangah Heights to Redhill Est, Rumah Tinggi(not existing SBST145) to REDHILL station rather than getting people in Rumah Tinggi to take 63 to Tiong Bahru for train unless people dun mind walking...
Furthermore, people at Redhill Close used to have SBS41(withdrawn and merged with 197), now they have to trudge to Redhill distance with NO COVERED walkway, damn cham...
I wonder if LTA bus planning folks actually go down to see the situation?! From their replies, it is straight forward to me that they reply on passenger loading data from computer rather than go down to observe/recce... tt is real sad from CHIEF TRANSPORT planner in SG
SBS997A is a relic, solely built for SBS/SBST, bus too long dunnoe for wat? enter guinness book of records as Asia's longest bus(rear ad)
Volvo,MAN,Citaro already have 3 axle rigids running in EUR, taken them before... Salzburg rt. 25 runs at 20mins freq and ths 3 axle bus is able to pack everyone in comfortably.
The bus has bus stop information display in TV screen format that displays information about the route, next bus stop and attractions at the next stop and it is a public bus, not tour bus...
Where is LTA's bus stop information display on its buses?! It is quite sad that Singapore as a modern city does not even offer this basic information...
the bus with the "Asia's Longest Bus" ad is most likely to be SBS998Y.
since they jack up the PT prices, why can't we have some BASIC info?
Originally posted by SMB145B:minister debates.
190 bus problem is getting like the PMN problem. it never dies off
DTL only comes in 2016 ... (2 years later)
As everyone in the forum said, minister debates are all for show, actual implementation is ZILCH...
190 should follow HK X harbour routes, 2 operators to run, then ev1 will behappy...
Yah "carrier man" bus
You cant, emailed already and said they are looking at it, cmon its 2014, even the most "cui" bus in KMB, ie 9.9m baby dragon has bus stop arrival announcement system...
Originally posted by Acx1688:As everyone in the forum said, minister debates are all for show, actual implementation is ZILCH...
190 should follow HK X harbour routes, 2 operators to run, then ev1 will behappy...
Yah "carrier man" bus
You cant, emailed already and said they are looking at it, cmon its 2014, even the most "cui" bus in KMB, ie 9.9m baby dragon has bus stop arrival announcement system...
wayang lor ...
in SG, how to?
Originally posted by Acx1688:As everyone in the forum said, minister debates are all for show, actual implementation is ZILCH...
Yah "carrier man" bus
SMRT had the announcement for
"Doors are closing"
"For your safety, please hold on to the grab poles and hand grips when standing in the bus"
"Thank you for travelling with SMRT Buses."
other than that nothing.
was waiting for
"Next station, Opp Blk 757"
and
"Help keep our buses clean. Please do not eat or drink on board Buses. Thank You."
also
"Please do not leave your belonging unattended. If you any suspicious looking person or article, please inform our staff. Thank you."
Originally posted by SMB145B:SMRT had the announcement for
"Doors are closing"
"For your safety, please hold on to the grab poles and hand grips when standing in the bus"
"Thank you for travelling with SMRT Buses."
other than that nothing.
was waiting for
"Next station, Opp Blk 757"
and
"Help keep our buses clean. Please do not eat or drink on board Buses. Thank You."
also
"Please do not leave your belonging unattended. If you any suspicious looking person or article, please inform our staff. Thank you."
"Thank you for travelling with SMRT Buses"
"Please move to the rear for the convenience of boarding passengers"
"Please hold on to the grab poles or hand grips when standing in the bus"
"Route diversion..."
"Do not leave belongings behind.."
BPS1 need BSEP?
I think 188 really needs the BSEP beefup. Boarded SMB201Y on 188AP05 yesterday at about 8.05p.m. (at Opp The Longhouse) and it was packed to the brim! I had to stay at the front door as I couldn't move in (I got off 2 stops later). I think 188 did have some improvement in its frequency after the BSRF thing, but I don't understand why SMRT added it to the BSRF list and suddenly adding SMB3112B as the 2nd BSEP add...
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:1. Three new City Direct bus services, linking the heartlands to the Central Business District (CBD), will begin operations in February 2014. The three services are:
a. 17 February 2014 : West Coast City Direct Service 655;
b. 17 February 2014 : Sembawang City Direct Service 656; and
c. 24 February 2014 : Jurong East City Direct Service 657.
2. These bus services will start with two one-way trips to the CBD on weekday mornings and two one-way return trips in the evenings, excluding public holidays. More trips may be added depending on the demand for the services. With fewer stops and the use of expressways, journey times will be comparable to that of taking a bus and transferring to the MRT into the city.
3. From 17 February, commuters travelling from West Coast to the CBD on weekday mornings will be served by City Direct Service 655. Operated by Woodlands Transport Service Pte Ltd, the bus service will ply Teban Gardens Road, Pandan Gardens and West Coast Road before taking the West Coast Highway to get to the CBD. On weekday evenings, the service will connect commuters from Central Boulevard and Shenton Way back to the West Coast neighbourhood.
4. Similarly, on 17 February 2014, City Direct Service 656 operated by Loh Gim Chong Transport will begin operations from Sembawang; it will ply Canberra Road, Admiralty Link, Sembawang Drive and Sembawang Avenue before heading towards Orchard Road, Bras Basah Road and Shenton Way via the Seletar Expressway (SLE) and Central Expressway (CTE). In the evening, it will bring commuters back to Sembawang.
5. Transtar Travel Pte Ltd will operate City Direct Service 657 from Jurong East beginning 24 February 2014. The service will ply Jurong West Ave 1, Jurong East Ave 1 and Toh Guan Road, before heading towards Robinson Road and Marina Boulevard via the Ayer Rajah Expressway (AYE). Similarly, it will bring commuters back to the Jurong East and Jurong West housing estates in the evening.
6. The three City Direct bus services to be launched are part of six awarded by the Land Transport Authority (LTA) in November 2013 under the Bus Service Enhancement Programme (BSEP)*, to tap on the resources of PBOs to augment those of the public transport operators (PTOs). Commuters can expect another three City Direct bus services from Hougang, Bedok, and Eunos to the CBD in third quarter of 2014.
So do these three operators allow EZ-Link payment? All the same, WTS should be allowed a 3rd PTO license.
Originally posted by 23ispolo:I think 188 really needs the BSEP beefup. Boarded SMB201Y on 188AP05 yesterday at about 8.05p.m. (at Opp The Longhouse) and it was packed to the brim! I had to stay at the front door as I couldn't move in (I got off 2 stops later). I think 188 did have some improvement in its frequency after the BSRF thing, but I don't understand why SMRT added it to the BSRF list and suddenly adding SMB3112B as the 2nd BSEP add...
SMRT add one meh? Isn't the list randomly selected by LTA? oO
Originally posted by SMB145B:that BSRF is a joke. should have remove it.
some of the buses needs a high frequency to counter its heavy load. some clowns slammed the BSRF and makes these services that most of us use suffer.
At least 4 176 buses bunch up at Jurong East Central towards Bt Panjang this evening, and 176 is under this BSRF.
Originally posted by Acx1688:BSRF pick SMRT buses except for 858(reliability issues) for the start just for show, they have yet to pick SBST routes...
sv858 is a cruncher for daily commuters using yet LTA/SMRT still sitting on it and not doing the appropriate, instead LTA is trumpeting its introduction of new bus routes, some of them are really duplicating existing bus routes, eg 120...
sv190 already has a high freq but still packed. Why?! gahmen buy rigid 2 axle... Who in the right frame of mind will do that when population target is 6.9m? Shows and expose that gahmen departments are not collaborating and each is doing their own thing...
CGA buses should use 3 axle rigid if bendy(length)/DD(height) is not able to handle, how come gahmen din consider buying?!
BSEP is supposed to be WAB vehicles based on the purchases by SBST(Citaros/WEG IIs), SMRT(MAN A22), then why are the City Direct buses 65x series used by private operators NOT WAB compliant?!
BSRF is not appropriate for Singapore with its big car population... gahmen is again contradicting its own policies
In order to get more people to public transport, there should be adequate buses(capacity wise in the likes of bendy/DDs) on the roads, if not, who with a car or intend to buy a car will migrate to public transport to work as an option?!
If the gahmen is sincere in getting Singaporeans to use public transport(particularly buses), they should implement FULL BUS lanes throughout SG, not half baked ideas as partial bus lanes(red/yellow broken lines) which serves no purpose...
This I sincerely agree.
Fuck LTA la, ever since GE 2011 the ENTIRE transportation alr cui alr, Car bus MRT taxi ALL THE SAME FUCKING PROBLEM.
Ask them extend bus lanes to 7am they only sit one corner and masturbate, and then reply me with that asshole machine generated message, eh show some fucking face can anot
Cheebye, think SGreans very happy about your PT! Please lah, you and SMRT go and reflect lah, screw PT up with your dumb masterplan without knowing what's even on ground
I wonder who's idea is it to order merc citaro... especially for SBST
maybe he/she never take public transport before. at the back the aisle very narrow. one person stand around there & how can another person walk thru??? my mum complain abt that actually.
KUB still ok, but not citaro
Originally posted by azharjj:I wonder who's idea is it to order merc citaro... especially for SBST
maybe he/she never take public transport before. at the back the aisle very narrow. one person stand around there & how can another person walk thru??? my mum complain abt that actually.
KUB equally cui...
Even the B10Ms leave very much to be desired in terms of alleyway...
For gods sake just get those with the doors all the way at the back lah, liddat no need for so much bi-direction traffic along the narrow aisles...
Originally posted by SMB128B:KUB equally cui...
Even the B10Ms leave very much to be desired in terms of alleyway...
For gods sake just get those with the doors all the way at the back lah, liddat no need for so much bi-direction traffic along the narrow aisles...
what i meant is in terms of standing space
how to promote people to move to the rear if the aisle is very narrow?
Originally posted by azharjj:what i meant is in terms of standing space
how to promote people to move to the rear if the aisle is very narrow?
Locate the door all the way to the rear, and establish mandatory back-door alighting (except for terminus).
The way you posted makes me feel you are referring solely to the aisle. My apologies.
Originally posted by azharjj:I wonder who's idea is it to order merc citaro... especially for SBST
DELETED
Originally posted by TIB429E:SMRT add one meh? Isn't the list randomly selected by LTA? oO
Just know that it's weird to have a sudden fleet add...
Speaking on citaros,I don`t understand why the heck SBS Transit or who make the decision to buy the citaros. Honest speaking Scania are much more better than the citaros One thing I really hate about the citaros is the aisle at the back,totally narrow and also the air-con,fuh damn good,air-con that are not powerful in a hot weather like Singapore. SBS Transit have made wrong decision of buying citaros .I prefer SBS Transit buy buses that have more standing space and aisle that are not too narrow and aisle that is not too narrow.
BSRF scheme is damn too stupid.
Originally posted by SMB128B:This I sincerely agree.
Fuck LTA la, ever since GE 2011 the ENTIRE transportation alr cui alr, Car bus MRT taxi ALL THE SAME FUCKING PROBLEM.
Ask them extend bus lanes to 7am they only sit one corner and masturbate, and then reply me with that asshole machine generated message, eh show some fucking face can anot
Cheebye, think SGreans very happy about your PT! Please lah, you and SMRT go and reflect lah, screw PT up with your dumb masterplan without knowing what's even on ground
The masterplan is a joke to begin with... It is created by people who are seconded from other ministries with probably none of them having any transport planning experience or none take public transport to work...
With the TV screen at MRT stations to show whether train lines are running smoothly does not actually improve commuter experience at all, when trains break down, train staff do not follow SOP protocol and garang gabo, worse then recruits during BMT...
Pathetic civil servants
Bro, if someone with a big bag block the second half of the bus, you cant move in at all
Mercedes Citaro has 3 axle rigid buses, it is whether LTA has the knowledge to buy the correct bus to improve productivity rather than flood the roads with rigid buses when the population is targeted to hit 6.9m?!
Does LTA have foresight?!
Obviously not, it is just another joke government agency like PUB(who cant handle Singapore floods) & NEA(who is not doing keeping Singapore clean/dengue fever at orchard rd).
Originally posted by Acx1688:Bro, if someone with a big bag block the second half of the bus, you cant move in at all
Mercedes Citaro has 3 axle rigid buses, it is whether LTA has the knowledge to buy the correct bus to improve productivity rather than flood the roads with rigid buses when the population is targeted to hit 6.9m?!
Does LTA have foresight?!
Obviously not, it is just another joke government agency like PUB(who cant handle Singapore floods) & NEA(who is not doing keeping Singapore clean/dengue fever at orchard rd).
if i have a harversack bag with me, i will bring it down & hold on to it instead of wearing it because i know wearing the bag is like a turtle shell ( pax cant squeeze in thru) =) i usually do that & it works
the problem is students dont think that way mah. what to do.
lol so much angst.
All the bros commenting on citaros, do take note...
In EUROPE,
some versions of citaros have 3 doors, 1 for entry, 2 for exit(1 in the
middle of the bus, 1 at the end), same goes for the same as MAN bus... I
have taken MAN 3 axle in EUR(Salzburg, Austria to be exact) before, it
has 3 doors...
For some cases with 3 doors, the bus is still full
low floor to the rear just that there is no rear window due to rear
mounted engine and only lesser seats behind, Italian buses in Rome,
Florence have this configuration...
For Salzburg's 3 door 3 axle
MAN(rt.25), the doors are on the opposite due to driving on the left.
the bus still has rear picture window, just that the seats opposite the
rear door are raised high to accomodate the engine
It is a matter
whether the buyer wan to reconfigure the bus, i believe the
manufacturer would accede to this when the order is substantial
enough...
So the next question is did LTA do due diligence when allowing SBST/SMRT to buy new buses?
The
commuting public has constantly wrote to the press to have exit doors
at the rear for easy alighting and allowing people to move in, it shows
time again and again that the authorities are too stuck in their ivory
towers to listen to fellow Singaporeans that are using public transport.