Originally posted by azharjj:if i have a harversack bag with me, i will bring it down & hold on to it instead of wearing it because i know wearing the bag is like a turtle shell ( pax cant squeeze in thru) =) i usually do that & it works
the problem is students dont think that way mah. what to do.
Bro, not everyone is as considerate as you...
Last sat at M Parade Rd bus stop(blk 72), VJ students cramp in2 sv36 scania refuse to climb up the steps and move in says a lot of our students...
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr busAnalyser, your idea of filling up the bus is good but then this defeats the idea of the initial decision of connecting orchard road and CGA by sbs 36. At the time of introduction, this was meant as a fast connection. Then the idea was slightly tweaked to include marine parade residents to CGA to beef up the passenger load of sbs 36 to make it sort of semi-express. With your new idea, you abandon both objectives which i believe should not be so. For svs 36 and 48, let it be status quo. If the peak at tanah merah towards bedok south and marine parade is very high, this shows the possibility of introducing new service. We cannot always harbour the idea of changing other services drastically to alleviate a new peak situation.
I suggested an express service from Orchard as well... May be you chose to ignore that... I don't think every time introducing new services is the solution... Why do you propose new service for Tanah Merah-Bedok south and not for orchard-cga express? If you take 36 you will notice, no one takes it from Orchard to cga... It is such a waste of time.. Need a service from orchard to cga via ECP... This way even people with bags / living in hotels can take bus to airport.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Just because gahmen invite more ft and new citizens they kena pressure to introduce more bus routes when they know the super rich new citizens will buy cars..Seriously bro i dun have that pride anymore becoming a Singaporeans with all their dictate policies..I really hope they go down.someday and let a citizen minded party took over.Just because of those aliens hdb flat price goes skyhigh,car and bike price increase and they even got the cheek to lure overseas Singaporeans back..what a joke!
Let's not be so negative bro... We cannot forget that what Singapore is today is because of this govt only... Else it could have easily been like Thailand and Indonesia... So much chaos, rubbish and revolt... Flame me if u want... But truth is truth... This is the same party that made a country that is a dot on global map, one of the topmost countries in the world..
Originally posted by SMB145B:minister debates.
190 bus problem is getting like the PMN problem. it never dies off
DTL only comes in 2016 ... (2 years later)
190 is a perennial issue... Like I had said, introducing 972 will not ease the load on 190... And it is exactly the same... If loading is distributed, now it is on 700.
Originally posted by SBS 6238T:Speaking on citaros,I don`t understand why the heck SBS Transit or who make the decision to buy the citaros. Honest speaking Scania are much more better than the citaros One thing I really hate about the citaros is the aisle at the back,totally narrow and also the air-con,fuh damn good,air-con that are not powerful in a hot weather like Singapore. SBS Transit have made wrong decision of buying citaros .I prefer SBS Transit buy buses that have more standing space and aisle that are not too narrow and aisle that is not too narrow.
Citaros are very bad for high loading... Earlier SBST used them properly on services like 123 etc that don't normally have very high loading... Now even services like 174 are getting Citaros, so I seriously don't know how they are deploying.
BusAnalayzer,
If you still do not catch it, forumnite dupdup77 mite be from the establishment...
Click on his ID and read all his posts in this forum, he is only in threads that have links to policy changes at LTA/MOT...
Originally posted by Acx1688:BusAnalayzer,
If you still do not catch it, forumnite dupdup77 mite be from the establishment...
Click on his ID and read all his posts in this forum, he is only in threads that have links to policy changes at LTA/MOT...
Yes he does have a particular trend of writing because of which last time I thought he was a duplicate account of another forumer.
MAN 3 door, 3 axle in Salzburg rt.25
Rear seating:
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Yes he does have a particular trend of writing because of which last time I thought he was a duplicate account of another forumer.
That particular trend of writing will be familiar to those who deal with gahmen sector frequently...
Who in blazers still address each other as Mr XXX in tis forum?!? nev kena flame tou cheow liao...
Originally posted by SBS 6238T:Speaking on citaros,I don`t understand why the heck SBS Transit or who make the decision to buy the citaros. Honest speaking Scania are much more better than the citaros One thing I really hate about the citaros is the aisle at the back,totally narrow and also the air-con,fuh damn good,air-con that are not powerful in a hot weather like Singapore. SBS Transit have made wrong decision of buying citaros .I prefer SBS Transit buy buses that have more standing space and aisle that are not too narrow and aisle that is not too narrow.
right.
but they should have modified the aircon system to work for Asia Pacific Countries. maybe refitting them with O405 A/C vents
don't think the A22s ...
any changes are lesser sitting pax and nothing else
taros SBST+SMRT = about 851 ...
Originally posted by SBS7557R:At least 4 176 buses bunch up at Jurong East Central towards Bt Panjang this evening, and 176 is under this BSRF.
win liao lor ...
Originally posted by Acx1688:Bro, if someone with a big bag block the second half of the bus, you cant move in at all
Mercedes Citaro has 3 axle rigid buses, it is whether LTA has the knowledge to buy the correct bus to improve productivity rather than flood the roads with rigid buses when the population is targeted to hit 6.9m?!
Does LTA have foresight?!
Obviously not, it is just another joke government agency like PUB(who cant handle Singapore floods) & NEA(who is not doing keeping Singapore clean/dengue fever at orchard rd).
you look lah our PM Ah Loong said "we do not have 20/20 ..."
VB: "flooding once every fifty years" then "ponding".
why are we paying them $millions?
Originally posted by azharjj:I wonder who's idea is it to order merc citaro... especially for SBST
maybe he/she never take public transport before. at the back the aisle very narrow. one person stand around there & how can another person walk thru??? my mum complain abt that actually.
KUB still ok, but not citaro
Originally posted by Acx1688:All the bros commenting on citaros, do take note...
In EUROPE, some versions of citaros have 3 doors, 1 for entry, 2 for exit(1 in the middle of the bus, 1 at the end), same goes for the same as MAN bus... I have taken MAN 3 axle in EUR(Salzburg, Austria to be exact) before, it has 3 doors...
For some cases with 3 doors, the bus is still full low floor to the rear just that there is no rear window due to rear mounted engine and only lesser seats behind, Italian buses in Rome, Florence have this configuration...
For Salzburg's 3 door 3 axle MAN(rt.25), the doors are on the opposite due to driving on the left. the bus still has rear picture window, just that the seats opposite the rear door are raised high to accomodate the engine
It is a matter whether the buyer wan to reconfigure the bus, i believe the manufacturer would accede to this when the order is substantial enough...
So the next question is did LTA do due diligence when allowing SBST/SMRT to buy new buses?
The commuting public has constantly wrote to the press to have exit doors at the rear for easy alighting and allowing people to move in, it shows time again and again that the authorities are too stuck in their ivory towers to listen to fellow Singaporeans that are using public transport.
perhaps it is time to get them out of their ivory towers, sleeping on the jobs
when is LTA ordering some high capacity buses for SMRT?
does SBST and SMRT know what type of buses to be deployed on what service routes?
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:
when the KUBs were first introduced in 2007; many pax were not used to the step along the middle aisle. and many complained of tripping over etc. When the 1st fully low floor Citaro was introduced, SMRT did online survey and they claimed pax were very happy as there was totally no step along the aisle but fail to say if pax were happy with the extra step to the seats. And they didnt take another survey now to check if pax still prefer fully low floor or low-entry bus, as pax are now already used to KUB buses already. Of all low-entry buses, i think KUB aisle height are still the best. Sentosa B7RLE higher aisle is extremely high and not user friendly. MB OC500LE higher aisle is steeper and higher than KUBs and so not as good.
PTO buying buses are not tinking hard enough at the options available...
SETRA has low floor bus, as with MB, MAN, Volvo
Originally posted by Acx1688:MAN 3 door, 3 axle in Salzburg rt.25
Rear seating:
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:
bro; i dont think these buses are suitable for sg roads. sg roads are relatively narrow; too busy and the bus captains will find it hard to change lanes; esp looking at the typical sg motorists behaviour. i rather its replaced with bendy buses which are more flexible to manuvoure. remember what problems SBS997A faced along the roads. A ST article reported that 997A was overtaken by 3 regular SDs along the route while on sv 76.
Ah you are mistaken, it is more maneuverable because of the last axle wic is the same as the front axle, reduce turning radius, the albus rt 25 wic i took in salzburg travels on a 2 lane road, one up and one down...
As it leaves Salzburg train station before it head to the mountains, the roads got more narrower but bus sure can do a tight turn...
SBS997A was an experiment wic was way too long for 3 axle bus...
4 door bendy os Luzern Banhoft, Switzerland, pix taken in 2005
Originally posted by Acx1688:They should have a Townlink connecting Telok Blangah Heights to Redhill Est, Rumah Tinggi(not existing SBST145) to REDHILL station rather than getting people in Rumah Tinggi to take 63 to Tiong Bahru for train unless people dun mind walking...
Furthermore, people at Redhill Close used to have SBS41(withdrawn and merged with 197), now they have to trudge to Redhill distance with NO COVERED walkway, damn cham...
I wonder if LTA bus planning folks actually go down to see the situation?! From their replies, it is straight forward to me that they reply on passenger loading data from computer rather than go down to observe/recce... tt is real sad from CHIEF TRANSPORT planner in SG
SBS997A is a relic, solely built for SBS/SBST, bus too long dunnoe for wat? enter guinness book of records as Asia's longest bus(rear ad)
Volvo,MAN,Citaro already have 3 axle rigids running in EUR, taken them before... Salzburg rt. 25 runs at 20mins freq and ths 3 axle bus is able to pack everyone in comfortably.
The bus has bus stop information display in TV screen format that displays information about the route, next bus stop and attractions at the next stop and it is a public bus, not tour bus...
Where is LTA's bus stop information display on its buses?! It is quite sad that Singapore as a modern city does not even offer this basic information...
I had proposed that sv 120 be modified to start at Kent Ridge terminal and via Tehlok Blangah go to Bukit Merah Central (one way), do Redhill Close (both ways), Redhill MRT, Margaret Drive, Commonwealth MRT, Tanglin Halt Rd, Commonwealth Dr, Queensway and back... This way you would really provide new connections such as new bus stops along Redhill Close... connect Tehlok Blangah to Redhill MRT... provide alternate option for Margaret Drive residents, provide MRT link to Commonwealth dr residents, where sv 61 plies and these people have to walk a long distance from Commonwealth MRT... These are the kind of routes needed under BSEP connecting and building new bus stops on roads that do not have any service rather than just creating routes for the sake of it.
Originally posted by Acx1688:Bro , i already suggested for 10S(3 Special trips from Kent Ridge to Bedok South in the morning to cater to heavy boarding twds city), was shot down straight
I feedbacked for BSEP 6351Z(from Tampines Int) to move away from 0815hrs(mountbatten Rd arrival) to either earlier or later and deploy a DD to cover that slot, was shot down immediately when 6351Z was introduced, you know how heavily packed the sv10 was daily. SBS6351Z was finally moved to a much later departure from Tampines only recently. The most rubbish thing is there will be another sv10 DD following 6351Z daily...
sv196 evening peak from Clementi to BDK, 1745hrs to 1905hrs. buses come at 10 - 12mins interval still packed. After 1915grs, 2 to 3 sv196comes together and this is a daily occurrence, been like this for the past 3 years...
SG PTOs are unlike HK, KMB, CTB, NWFB runs empty down trips daily, eg cross harbour 9XX routes, empty bus starts service at Southorn Playground(Hennessy Rd) daily...
So far in SG, i onli see sv190 downtrip at YMCA daily evening peak for 4 - 5buses... 858 is suffering, 966 is overloaded with empty buses, there is a mis allocation of resources...
I always invite LTA officials to come view the ground situation WITH ME when i have problems boarding the bus, they will ignore this and give me standard answer. bus is only 70% utilised... if you do not take into a passenger's bags, weight and refusal to move in, the reasons given are all baloney!
You talk about jams, paterson rd, every evening jam, sv5,14,16,65 everyday lambat, LTA still keep quiet.
sv75,167,196 and premium svcs that use cantonment rd in the morning, evening with heavy traffic, LTA is STILL NOT doing anything, so what is LTA doing?~!
Close to 50 svcs utilise Fullerton Bay hotel bus stop at Clifford Pier and buses sometimes queue up to 10mins just to get to the bus stop because LTA shifted the bus stop further down so that old Clifford Pier is not blocked, worse, cars, taxis, trucks use this lane to get to the hotel , been talking to them to LTA about this for more than 2 years and still no solution...
You can see the level of productivity in government agencies and the dragging of feet when they do things...
I am waiting for user dupdup77 to comment on all this if he turns up again at this forum...
Now you know why productivity in SG never goes up...
I didn't get it why you would give sv 10 a Citaro as BSEP add in the first place... There are so many SP WEGs.. give them... if a WEG breaks down or goes for maintenance, then on those days give Citaro ok... but making Citaro perm on sv 10 is a disaster..
Earlier they did the same for sv 2, 45, 168... just didnt make sense having Citaros on such high loading, long distance routes.
Originally posted by SMB145B:120 is ... and they modified 124 to serve telok blangah residents to HarbourFront.
then why introduce 120 in the first place?
858 could get some bendies but plenty of problems. it is stuck. by comparison, 27 fared well with the full fleet KUBs and later full fleet taros. 27 needs a SWT with DDs.
there is the sole unit SBS997A which is a 14.5m 3 axle B10M MkIII, though it was scrapped.
going WAB without thinking ... 811 has a very long queue.
That is what I am scared of in future also.. if u see most Woodlands, CCK and Yishun feeders need WAB buses more than 182/183/192... The number of PIW in these areas is a lot more than those in student related bus services or industrial services...
But SMRT does not have high capacity WAB buses... so if it has to make any service WAB it is at the cost of high capacity buses... So for now, I hope SMRT does not make more services WAB like it did to 811... then introduce 811A to cope with loading... but still cannot do properly...
Once WAB DD come, I think SMRT will have to make some feeder / intra town services DD/WAB combination to make these services WAB... else need to order WAB bendies.. but according to my friend... that is not in the plan yet... right now they are still trying to confirm the DD details.... and so much time to do that...
Originally posted by Acx1688:4 door bendy os Luzern Banhoft, Switzerland, pix taken in 2005
The buses in Luzern are like trams... I have seen them... they are long and they are connected to wires on the top... Very bad system because in case of road work etc, the bus cannot go a different path.... just like tram network.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:
The buses in Luzern are like trams... I have seen them... they are long and they are connected to wires on the top... Very bad system because in case of road work etc, the bus cannot go a different path.... just like tram network.
to add on, LTA hates hanging cables.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:
That is what I am scared of in future also.. if u see most Woodlands, CCK and Yishun feeders need WAB buses more than 182/183/192... The number of PIW in these areas is a lot more than those in student related bus services or industrial services...But SMRT does not have high capacity WAB buses... so if it has to make any service WAB it is at the cost of high capacity buses... So for now, I hope SMRT does not make more services WAB like it did to 811... then introduce 811A to cope with loading... but still cannot do properly...
Once WAB DD come, I think SMRT will have to make some feeder / intra town services DD/WAB combination to make these services WAB... else need to order WAB bendies.. but according to my friend... that is not in the plan yet... right now they are still trying to confirm the DD details.... and so much time to do that...
right now, only Rigids have up to 2 spaces for the PIWs. the OCs have that currently.
the feeders are mainly high loading but it is different from that of the trunks.
putting bendies, all are not WAB; the sole WAB Bendy 388S has space for one PIW. to go WAB, 60-70% must be WAB. putting the OCs, Taros or A22s will lead to the infamous 811 problem. is DD a solution?
a inital DDs would be number around 50, much would have gone on to 190. not until more high capacity WAB buses come around.
hmm wondering what is LTA thinking this round ...
Originally posted by Acx1688:Ah you are mistaken, it is more maneuverable because of the last axle wic is the same as the front axle, reduce turning radius, the albus rt 25 wic i took in salzburg travels on a 2 lane road, one up and one down...
As it leaves Salzburg train station before it head to the mountains, the roads got more narrower but bus sure can do a tight turn...
SBS997A was an experiment wic was way too long for 3 axle bus...
the maximum for a rigid buses is 12m as per SMRT tender for its buses, 18m for bendies.
SBS had a 14.5m super-long vehicle SBS997A and 2 18.75m Bendies SBS998Y and SBS999U.
ball passed back to SBST.
seems like now SBST, SMRT, Comfort DelGro and Bus-Plus are playing this with LTA. pass here, pass there, done nothing.