Originally posted by sgbuses:As long as you are genuinely interested in bringing improvement to bus transportation, the community welcomes you with open arms and encourages your continued contribution.
Trust unfortunately is running thin here for years due to certain enthusiasts trying to fuel their personal interests at multiple online venues at the expense of everyone else (fare raises, anyone?).
Hi mr sgbuses, thanks for the comments. I have this deep interest ever since young, I always roam around in Singapore public buses (sbs and smrt). Cheers.
Originally posted by Acx1688:Paris MAN Bendy
rt.43 standing at the bus stand at RUE DU HAVRE, waiting to return to Neuilly - Bagatelle
*Note the difference at the top and sides...
All buses in Paris have en-route road names on a rectangle panel on the passenger boarding side of the bus.
In the bus, there are full route displays mounted on the side with bus stops/near bus stop "attractions" indicated, some displays have icons of the attractions.
Also some statistics on prices since I have studied in France. Every journey cost SGD 3.10, if you make one transfer you spend 6.20 SGd one way. For daily commute it is 12,40 SGD. Public transport in London and Paris is very expensive, so Also is entrance fee, parking fee.
Originally posted by carbikebus:
55?Then become like 966 crawling all the time..and you complain again.36 DDs and 5 SDs more than enough le,its a uni direction svc.Am from CCK to Town,Pm Town to CCK..unlike 147 both directions tio people.
A fleet of 40 buses is good enough for 190 with 34 DDs Nd 6 SDs. For 972, should have a fleet of 10 DDs, 6 SDs. Together, there is huge capacity add already.
Originally posted by Acx1688:Most of the services linking towns to towns with close to 40% of routes(SBST/SMRT) bypass the city...
Most trunk routes are bi directional, goes the same for 190.851.966 during certain hours...
190 is unique coz after certain timings, both directions are heavily utilised
190 is utilized well only between CCK and BPJ in the non-peak direction. And peak direction high loading is famous :)
Originally posted by dupdup77:Oh I may have overlooked the express service from orchard to CGA but I do not think there is a necessity. Sbs 36 is designed adequately to bring marine parade residents to CGA and it is sufficiently loaded at the moment. I forget to say if you switched the routes of sbs 36 and sbs 48, then sbs 16 and sbs 36 new route will look quite similar.
What? Do you even know the route of sv16?
Originally posted by dupdup77:Oh I may have overlooked the express service from orchard to CGA but I do not think there is a necessity. Sbs 36 is designed adequately to bring marine parade residents to CGA and it is sufficiently loaded at the moment. I forget to say if you switched the routes of sbs 36 and sbs 48, then sbs 16 and sbs 36 new route will look quite similar.
I don't buy your logic here at all, but let's agree to disagree.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr Acx1688, I am an ordinary Singaporean taking public transport like all of you. I am not from LTA/MOT or any govt services. Nice to meet you here. Let's share any ideas you may have here. I am very positive to BusAnalyser and your idea of combining sbs 82/sbs 107 routes into 1 bus service. Please continue to write to LTA and make it a reality. I live in Punggol and the connectivity is not as good as other places. But I am very happy that the bus stop along TPE along Punggol is upcoming very soon. Many bus services are expected to ply along the bus stops.
For the current housing development in Punggol, it already has good connectivity, which has significantly improved over the last year. You gave new service 50 and 119 to Punggol and so much increased capacity on 43, 34.
The existing services do not get heavily packed in Punggol area. 3, 34, 43, 50, 82, 83, 136 all are able to manage the load well within Punggol area. Further commenting 50, 85, 119 are quite empty within Punggol region. Need for more services now? No. In future? Yes. Once Punggol west and north develop.
Originally posted by SMB145B:i noticed that most SBST trunks go HDB > CBD > HDB
147 Hougang - Clementi via Chinatown
196 Clementi - Bedok via Nicoll Highway
for SMRT
190 CCK to NBR
851 Yishun to Bukit Merah via Chinatown
966 Woodlands to Marine Parade via PIE
is it these that 147, 174 and 196 have higher bidirectional loading than that of 190, 851 and 966?
147, 196 definitely have bi- directional loading because it reaches Cbd from both directions. 174 bi-directional is more between Bukit Batok and Boon Lay.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Also some statistics on prices since I have studied in France. Every journey cost SGD 3.10, if you make one transfer you spend 6.20 SGd one way. For daily commute it is 12,40 SGD. Public transport in London and Paris is very expensive, so Also is entrance fee, parking fee.
London oyster ve cap...
Parisiens use the ratp cards(similar to oyster) for locals, cheaper... oth folks buy carnet of 10 tickets for metro/bus, used to be cheap but price steadily climbing...
Originally posted by carbikebus:if u all compared the average salary of Britons and French vs our average how much ah?That side no working still get subsidised…here?
No bro... French taxation at 45%, British at 46%. In Singapore, taxation is ??? U know... Max 15%... Take home income in Singapore >>> London/Paris.
Originally posted by Acx1688:London oyster ve cap...
Parisiens use the ratp cards(similar to oyster) for locals, cheaper... oth folks buy carnet of 10 tickets for metro/bus, used to be cheap but price steadily climbing...
The converted rate that I mentioned was based on a carnet of 10... Oysters cap is at 7 pounds a day... Convert in SGD... U will realize how expensive... I have worked in uk before... And studied in Paris... So I know how expensive I used to find public transport there compared to SG... I would prefer walking 1km to save on bus ride or transfer.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:What? Do you even know the route of sv16?
Yes I know. Sorry it should be a significant portion of route will be similar. Not fully the same.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:For the current housing development in Punggol, it already has good connectivity, which has significantly improved over the last year. You gave new service 50 and 119 to Punggol and so much increased capacity on 43, 34.
The existing services do not get heavily packed in Punggol area. 3, 34, 43, 50, 82, 83, 136 all are able to manage the load well within Punggol area. Further commenting 50, 85, 119 are quite empty within Punggol region. Need for more services now? No. In future? Yes. Once Punggol west and north develop.
Hi mr BusAnalyser, Punggol poor connectivity la. Where got good connectivity? Significantly improved over last year does not automatically mean good connectivity. It was damn lousy last time. Just that it is improved a bit only. Sbs 119 is sort of redundant. It is such a short service and it just provides another alternative to sbs 82 and sbs 136. This route sbs 119 should have been extended to eunos or bedok for better catchment. What is needed is services to go to other places currently not served. No wonder no people la. Sbs 50 is sort of much better, but it is still quite long winding route to north area. Of course, must increase capacity on sbs 34 which has very high demand as it is one of the direct routes to tampines central. Sbs 34 timing and schedule is so ridiculous previously. 13 to 18 min! Crazy! Same goes for sbs 43. Ridiculous timing in the past. Buses should be every 10 min 1 bus. This is just getting back to normal. It does not mean it is improved a lot. Have you ever realized why some services in Punggol are not heavily packed? Because most are quite indirect long winding routes (3, 50, 62, 85, 136) to destinations which residents are put off. What we have always advocated are semi-express routes which are warmly appreciated. There is really no need to always wait for other parts of Punggol to get developed before we deserve a semi-express routes.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:For the current housing development in Punggol, it already has good connectivity, which has significantly improved over the last year. You gave new service 50 and 119 to Punggol and so much increased capacity on 43, 34.
Hi mr BusAnalyser, the situation will improve very soon in a few months time. What the residents lobby for semi-express services is coming soon. It will be fulfilled by the existing services to stop at the new TPE bus stop. The demand should go up drastically. Cheers
Originally posted by carbikebus:There’s a need for either Sengkang-Boon Lay or Punggol-Jurong East.
I think Punggol - JE/Clementi better. Via Orchard/CBD area. I guess this may help the future Punggol development.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr BusAnalyser, Punggol poor connectivity la. Where got good connectivity? Significantly improved over last year does not automatically mean good connectivity. It was damn lousy last time. Just that it is improved a bit only. Sbs 119 is sort of redundant. It is such a short service and it just provides another alternative to sbs 82 and sbs 136. This route sbs 119 should have been extended to eunos or bedok for better catchment. What is needed is services to go to other places currently not served. No wonder no people la. Sbs 50 is sort of much better, but it is still quite long winding route to north area. Of course, must increase capacity on sbs 34 which has very high demand as it is one of the direct routes to tampines central. Sbs 34 timing and schedule is so ridiculous previously. 13 to 18 min! Crazy! Same goes for sbs 43. Ridiculous timing in the past. Buses should be every 10 min 1 bus. This is just getting back to normal. It does not mean it is improved a lot. Have you ever realized why some services in Punggol are not heavily packed? Because most are quite indirect long winding routes (3, 50, 62, 85, 136) to destinations which residents are put off. What we have always advocated are semi-express routes which are warmly appreciated. There is really no need to always wait for other parts of Punggol to get developed before we deserve a semi-express routes.
Ok dupdup... Let's analyze Punggol area.
3: Pasir Ris, Tampines (east)
34: Tampines, CGA (east)
43: Punggol west to Buangkok Green, YCK road... If someone really wants to travel that far by bus also connects whole of Paya Lebar, Tanjong Katong, Marine Parade, all the way up to Upper east coast
50: connects Sengkang east, west, YCK road, AMK ave 5, ITE, AMK MRT, Bishan MRT
62: connects HG, Lor Ah Soo, faster connectivity to Upper Paya Lebar, Aljunied and Geylang areas
82: Serangoon (gives full connectivity to Punggol road amenities, HG ave 2, Kovan, NEX)
83: Direct connection to Sengkang
84: Like an internal feeder to Punggol road end
85: Connects various parts of Sengkang to Punggol before connecting Yishun (direct connection to Yishun that even highly populous towns like HG don't have)
119: Provides direct link to Sengkang west and east, Upper Serangoon road
136: connection to various points within Sengkang, Serangoon, all the way to AMK if need be.
Of all these services, none of them go packed outside of Punggol. I have not observed or heard of problems of boarding/alighting for passengers on any of these services. 43, 50 have high loading but outside of Punngol town. 62 is one that I have seen can be very crowded while leaving Punggol town.
Add on to what BA said,
if one was to go M Parade, PYL area, they would take sv62 tfr to sv55 at HG ave 3/2...
or Upp P Y L for 76,80...
Seldom would pple take sv43 from M Parade to Punggol... I did a few times to recce the bus route...
The crowd is from BK to SGN(reverse direction evening) morning/evening peak(heavy loading)
Oth heavy loading on 43 is from M Parade to PYL area as sv76 ALWAYS hides behind sv43...
sv62 sucks big time OFF PEAK hours, its around 15 - 20 mins...(i am a regular user)
After evening peak, its 20 mins flat before reverting to 15 - 17mins after 2130hrs till end of operating hours...
62 heavy boarding is due to the loop trunk service meaning some BCs can dilly dally on their return trip, sv62 DDs are FULL on return trip to Punggol in the evenings...
Originally posted by Acx1688:Add on to what BA said,
if one was to go M Parade, PYL area, they would take sv62 tfr to sv55 at HG ave 3/2...
or Upp P Y L for 76,80...
Seldom would pple take sv43 from M Parade to Punggol... I did a few times to recce the bus route...
The crowd is from BK to SGN(reverse direction evening) morning/evening peak(heavy loading)
Oth heavy loading on 43 is from M Parade to PYL area as sv76 ALWAYS hides behind sv43...
sv62 sucks big time OFF PEAK hours, its around 15 - 20 mins...(i am a regular user)
After evening peak, its 20 mins flat before reverting to 15 - 17mins after 2130hrs till end of operating hours...
62 heavy boarding is due to the loop trunk service meaning some BCs can dilly dally on their return trip, sv62 DDs are FULL on return trip to Punggol in the evenings...
I have exactly the same observation on 43, 62. I feel 43 and 76 are enough to cater to Marine Parade/ Paya Lebar loading. 135 following the same route is unnecessary and as you suggested should travel via Haig road with 4 new stops.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I have exactly the same observation on 43, 62. I feel 43 and 76 are enough to cater to Marine Parade/ Paya Lebar loading. 135 following the same route is unnecessary and as you suggested should travel via Haig road with 4 new stops.
IMO 76 can reduce 2 SDs... bus always bunch up... best put svc to do layover at MT (blk 50)
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Ok dupdup... Let's analyze Punggol area.
3: Pasir Ris, Tampines (east)
34: Tampines, CGA (east)
43: Punggol west to Buangkok Green, YCK road... If someone really wants to travel that far by bus also connects whole of Paya Lebar, Tanjong Katong, Marine Parade, all the way up to Upper east coast
50: connects Sengkang east, west, YCK road, AMK ave 5, ITE, AMK MRT, Bishan MRT
62: connects HG, Lor Ah Soo, faster connectivity to Upper Paya Lebar, Aljunied and Geylang areas
82: Serangoon (gives full connectivity to Punggol road amenities, HG ave 2, Kovan, NEX)
83: Direct connection to Sengkang
84: Like an internal feeder to Punggol road end
85: Connects various parts of Sengkang to Punggol before connecting Yishun (direct connection to Yishun that even highly populous towns like HG don't have)
119: Provides direct link to Sengkang west and east, Upper Serangoon road
136: connection to various points within Sengkang, Serangoon, all the way to AMK if need be.
Of all these services, none of them go packed outside of Punggol. I have not observed or heard of problems of boarding/alighting for passengers on any of these services. 43, 50 have high loading but outside of Punngol town. 62 is one that I have seen can be very crowded while leaving Punggol town.
Salah.
3 has painful crush loading from Pasir Ris Stn, all the way to East Punggol, during PM peak.
Especially Fridays. All the army beng take this service to get to Punggol. Try boarding it!!
During the B10M days, this problem is even worse.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:The converted rate that I mentioned was based on a carnet of 10... Oysters cap is at 7 pounds a day... Convert in SGD... U will realize how expensive... I have worked in uk before... And studied in Paris... So I know how expensive I used to find public transport there compared to SG... I would prefer walking 1km to save on bus ride or transfer.
smetimes sme places die die muz take bus... prev have bendy(12,25,73,436,453) board behind dun pay also no one catch now cannot liao... coz all DDs...
Originally posted by SMB128B:Salah.
3 has painful crush loading from Pasir Ris Stn, all the way to East Punggol, during PM peak.
Especially Fridays. All the army beng take this service to get to Punggol. Try boarding it!!
During the B10M days, this problem is even worse.
Agreed 3 has painful loading at Pasir Ris MRT but if you observe, it will be left with 45-50 pax on TPE. Most alight in Pasir Ris itself. There is a new bunch that board on last stop of ave 1.