btw, spotted a small advertisement sticker (More Buses Better Rides) on the side panel (black col panel) of the BSEP wright (3351) this morning...
Originally posted by lemon1974:apparently LTA/PTC does not think so.. that why they did not even allow 852 to be shortened to AMDEP.....
Which major decision has LTA/PTC taken on any existing services? 115 cannot be changed due to MP... no route modification suggestions are accepted by them... the only thing they do is introduce new services.
LTA/PTC just believes in statistics... X number of buses added, Y number of routes introduced... do not really care on how effective it is... just adding buses and routes is adding to traffic issue... rather rationalize some of the low patronage routes or sectors of routes to be more effective for people.
Originally posted by lemon1974:btw, spotted a small advertisement sticker (More Buses Better Rides) on the side panel (black col panel) of the BSEP wright (3351) this morning...
3326 of service 50 & a wright from service 45... shld be the 3351 that u saw lah haha
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:
Which major decision has LTA/PTC taken on any existing services? 115 cannot be changed due to MP... no route modification suggestions are accepted by them... the only thing they do is introduce new services.LTA/PTC just believes in statistics... X number of buses added, Y number of routes introduced... do not really care on how effective it is... just adding buses and routes is adding to traffic issue... rather rationalize some of the low patronage routes or sectors of routes to be more effective for people.
Low patronage does not mean we can remove the route. Or else u won't see sv116 or sv141. Why do ppl still on such mindset that all routes must be popular n full of paxes????
Originally posted by lemon1974:Low patronage does not mean we can remove the route. Or else u won't see sv116 or sv141. Why do ppl still on such mindset that all routes must be popular n full of paxes????
Those are not the best examples. 120 route can definitely be modified to cater to better customer needs. 113 hougang/Kovan loop is useless with so many alternatives. Would have been better to have 113 from Serangoon loop @ Kovan. 82/107 should be merged. That is a no-brainer. 325 should be diverted to HG st 21 terminal instead of making a long loop back to hg interchange. 116 should call at NEX to relieve loading on 43/70. 143 making the long Pandanus -Teban loop is definitely not best routing. Why 30 goes one way to Teban and does not on its way to Bedok? Just a few examples to the many tiny modifications thAt can address commuters needs better by not affecting majorly.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Bus Anal bus operation in Sg is totally diff..else you will see 11,115,141 all kena chop already…11 will be popular once Stadium is ready and im sure will get extended somewhere where it will pass by East West MRT stations..141 cant comment much but last week i observed theres an average of half full towards TPY..What i cannot understand for such a short route why must it be dual control?
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Those are not the best examples. 120 route can definitely be modified to cater to better customer needs. 113 hougang/Kovan loop is useless with so many alternatives. Would have been better to have 113 from Serangoon loop @ Kovan. 82/107 should be merged. That is a no-brainer. 325 should be diverted to HG st 21 terminal instead of making a long loop back to hg interchange. 116 should call at NEX to relieve loading on 43/70. 143 making the long Pandanus -Teban loop is definitely not best routing. Why 30 goes one way to Teban and does not on its way to Bedok? Just a few examples to the many tiny modifications thAt can address commuters needs better by not affecting majorly.
120 modified? like what u say? extended to kent ridge or west coast ah? then isnt it duplication of 176/143/30/10 etc???
113 - there are still paxes who take 113 between HG/Kovan... your mindset is still to fill the buses with paxes... just like what u think previously when sv116 was introduced.... on one hand, u want to remove the 113 hougang/kovan sector, and on the other hand, u want to divert 325 to HG St21??
116 - why should they go and put more buses at the nex bus stop? it is already jammed up like mad when few buses arrive and with the long queue of taxis... there are already 3 buses (147/43/70 along the YCK road corridor)...more than enough to meet the demand.. and with all the downroute, no need for sv116 to call at nex bus stop...
143 - making the long route, is to cover as a feeder route from JE interchange...u should know the facts... it wont affect much ppl as those ppl who wan a direct journey from JE to Pasir Panjang can take Sv51....or Sv97 to telok blangah... there are other routes to cover, and that why sv143 go such a long route.. as for Sv30, so u want LTA to make a flyover specially at Penjuru road exit for Sv30 to make a right turn into penjuru road??
maybe you should work at LTA instead of coming here and talk about all these same route rationization in so many threads... keep on saying the same thing again and again...
Originally posted by iveco:
82 & 107 merger sounds good. 30 can ply Teban in both directions, but it would need green/white plates. 854 should ply Chai Chee opposite of where 222 stops.
they wont go and merge 82/107... they have split it out last time, why would they go and kick their own legs again by merging it? why dun bring back all those services that are removed before instead?
Originally posted by azharjj:3326 of service 50 & a wright from service 45... shld be the 3351 that u saw lah haha
3364 have it as well. there are the stickers on both sides though...
Originally posted by lemon1974:120 modified? like what u say? extended to kent ridge or west coast ah? then isnt it duplication of 176/143/30/10 etc???
113 - there are still paxes who take 113 between HG/Kovan... your mindset is still to fill the buses with paxes... just like what u think previously when sv116 was introduced.... on one hand, u want to remove the 113 hougang/kovan sector, and on the other hand, u want to divert 325 to HG St21??
116 - why should they go and put more buses at the nex bus stop? it is already jammed up like mad when few buses arrive and with the long queue of taxis... there are already 3 buses (147/43/70 along the YCK road corridor)...more than enough to meet the demand.. and with all the downroute, no need for sv116 to call at nex bus stop...
143 - making the long route, is to cover as a feeder route from JE interchange...u should know the facts... it wont affect much ppl as those ppl who wan a direct journey from JE to Pasir Panjang can take Sv51....or Sv97 to telok blangah... there are other routes to cover, and that why sv143 go such a long route.. as for Sv30, so u want LTA to make a flyover specially at Penjuru road exit for Sv30 to make a right turn into penjuru road??
maybe you should work at LTA instead of coming here and talk about all these same route rationization in so many threads... keep on saying the same thing again and again...
120 is a waste.
116 calling at the bus stop outside nex? 43, 147 should go full DD instead.
maybe should have a feeder svc to Teban Gardens from Jurong East or Clementi bus interchange.
Originally posted by SMB145B:120 is a waste.
116 calling at the bus stop outside nex? 43, 147 should go full DD instead.
maybe should have a feeder svc to Teban Gardens from Jurong East or Clementi bus interchange.
120 is because of the mp keep on lobby so they put one service there loh..
the feeder to teban gardens was withdraw mah....that why they amend 143 to follow the route
actually, if u look at the demand pattern, most buses are only FULL for one trip in AM peak and one trip in pm peak.... take sv70 for example... 7am departure from YCK, will be full for the trip towards to Shenton way, the return trip from Shenton way at 830am will be quite empty and likewise forthe evening peak, you can see so many empty Sv70 buses along YCK road to Shenton way... same go forSv45 as well...and lots of other services... the no of buses are actually enough, but then the demand are not evenly spread out....
Originally posted by lemon1974:they wont go and merge 82/107... they have split it out last time, why would they go and kick their own legs again by merging it? why dun bring back all those services that are removed before instead?
well... isnt that typical LTA kind of stubborn attitude... Yes, they decided to split last time, but if it will benefit pax now... why not consider merging again... Those who live along Punggol road can get direct service to Woodleigh, Potong Pasir without change... No pax will be hurt in the bargain because 82/107 follow same route between Serangoon and Hougang... Both buses do not have full pax within this sector... 82 main loading comes in between Hougang and Punggol road, while 107 high loading comes in between Lavendar and Serangoon... so I don't see why we have to have this stubborn attitude of "oh we made a mistake then by splitting these services, now we continue our mistake" and waste resources.
Originally posted by lemon1974:120 modified? like what u say? extended to kent ridge or west coast ah? then isnt it duplication of 176/143/30/10 etc???
Is that the only way 120 can be modified? Think more... There can be multiple other options... You can start at Rummi Tunggi Terminal with new stops along Redhill Close and loop @ Tehlok Blangah MRT via st 31/32... not possible? This way you provide Tehlok Blangah and Redhill residents with direct MRT connectivity to both EWL and CCL. Any duplication?
113 - yes any bus you deploy will have some pax. But if you take away a service, will anyone be really hurt apart from withdrawing an extra service? Let's see 113. From HCI to HG ave 8, you have 74, 147 in parallel. From HG Ave 8 to Hougang MRT, you have 62, opp side also 325 to HG MRT. Then you have 62/82/325/107 all going till HG Ave 2 bus sop. You have 82/107 continue to Kovan. You have 112 join in on HG Ave 2 all the way parallel till HG St 21. Where is the uniqueness of the route. Buses are deployed every 15/20 mins in peak hours on this part because of 113A. If the route was useful, 113A would have got crossover buses from some other service. The high loading point of 113 between Kovan and UPL has been ignored with no fleet add or capacity upgrade because of Kovan-HG sector.
325 - If you do the right thing by taking away 113 from HG to Kovan, 325 should be extended to HG St 21 as it looping back to interchange is a waste. Those from that one stop along HG Ave 2 have 132 to HG Int, but most people who take MRT prefer to take MRT at Kovan. Is there any pax from HG MRT stop to HG Int? No. There are some transfer pax that alight at HG Ave 2 to transfer to 25/55/854 etc. And then some few board towards HCI.
irony
Like I don't know 43/70/147 go YCK corridor. First, people along YCK corridor choose to board at NEX and not at 147 stop. This stop is mostly used by pax who live along HG Ave 8. On way to Serangoon in AM, you have 43/70/116/147 all buses because anyone who is at Toho Green stop can choose between 4 services. In PM, it is different. People can't dance between the stops of 116, 43/70, 147 - 3 different stops, with all rush coming to NEX. It is painful to see 116 on opposite side leaving with only 16/20 pax, when 43/70 on NEX side bursting. If you are concerned about more buses on NEX, there is a solution. When you merge 82/107, you anyway have one service less to call. Alternately, route 81/82 via Boundary road and Opp Nex bus stop and then heading to Upper Serangoon Rd. But yes LTA is stubborn to do any such changes.
Regarding sv 30. Building a bridge is a solution? I am amazed with how you think after trying to be smart most times... Why does it have to go Penjuru. It turns right onto Jurong Town Hall. It only needs to take another right to Teban Gardens. This way both directions you cater to the populous Teban Garden area. 143 can still do Teban Gardens but does not need to do Pandan. Same logic as yours. You have 51 to West Coast and JE. You have AM downroutes on 51. The loop is waste, and waste of fuel and resources. 143 can do Teban Gardens and still acts as the feeder you propose, just that after Teban it should go directly by West Coast and not do the Pandan loop again. Too difficult to modify? What you are doing is saving people's time living along Teban area. Those along Pandan, also have option through quick walk to get buses from AYE unlike Teban.
I would have loved to work at LTA... just that they will not be able to afford me... so I will use this forum to say what I feel. Cheers!
Originally posted by lemon1974:actually, if u look at the demand pattern, most buses are only FULL for one trip in AM peak and one trip in pm peak.... take sv70 for example... 7am departure from YCK, will be full for the trip towards to Shenton way, the return trip from Shenton way at 830am will be quite empty and likewise forthe evening peak, you can see so many empty Sv70 buses along YCK road to Shenton way... same go forSv45 as well...and lots of other services... the no of buses are actually enough, but then the demand are not evenly spread out....
so what if it is full only on one trip. That trip we have to ensure people are able to take a bus and even enter the bus. Why now you have a mindset that every bus should have demand? If LTA makes small changes like making 116 call at NEX, it will relieve off some pressure from 43/70. You want one bus 116 to go with only 15/20 pax in PM peak and then you want 43/70 to have 100 pax. Good thinking!
Originally posted by carbikebus:One svc you reroute sure have impact on others…like what he said the demands is not evenly spread…like 190 case Am peak towards NBR and Pm peak towards CCK with most of the off peak times not packed…But when they implement peak hour svc ppl also complain fares too high etc…Relax la.Running a public transport co isnt easy as what ppl think.
Nothing is easy.. so don't crib about why 141 is dual depot controlled... just let it be and enjoy...