Originally posted by dupdup77:To add on, the 2 pandan gardens bus stop only have sbs 51 and sbs 143. To take buses to jurong town hall road and west coast road and expect residents to always walk in to the inner parts of pandan gardens is not practical la. For your info, no sbs 39 plies there. If you mean sbs 79, sbs 79 does not go to the bus stop near pandan gardens portion of west coast road. It goes to west coast road nearby teban garden side. Cheers
I didnt mean 79, I meant 30... now even i have started feeling you work for LTA... how can you justify a connection for two small estates and then not address any of my points on how bigger estates do not have connectivity between them... For the minority, you are putting all the huge number of Teban residents a longer journey time... Have you taken 143? Please take and let me know how many people board at Pandan Garden bus stops and alignt at Teban Gardens? Maybe 1 or 2... Or people take 143 for Jurong East because 51 is going to come after quite some time... Take the bus and you will know the loading pattern...
Another suggestion:
143 should go to Jurong East directly via Teban Gardens without doing Pandan
30 can do Pandan and Teban Gardens because it anyway does the Teban Gardens loop in one direction.
At least this way, you provide one way link between Pandan and Teban, and 143 can go directly to Teban & Jurong.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:
I didnt mean 79, I meant 30... now even i have started feeling you work for LTA... how can you justify a connection for two small estates and then not address any of my points on how bigger estates do not have connectivity between them... For the minority, you are putting all the huge number of Teban residents a longer journey time... Have you taken 143? Please take and let me know how many people board at Pandan Garden bus stops and alignt at Teban Gardens? Maybe 1 or 2... Or people take 143 for Jurong East because 51 is going to come after quite some time... Take the bus and you will know the loading pattern...
Hi mr bus Analyser, initially sbs 241 a feeder service links the 2 estates. Withdrawn due to lack of people to warrant a feeder service. But the linkage was deemed still necessary even if there is just a minority. Thus with closure of teban gardens terminal, sbs 143 was re-routed to serve the link between the 2. Main aim is to connect the 2. For those going JE from pandan, take sbs 51. For those going teban from pandan, take sbs 143. No more 241. This is different from other bigger towns. New bus services are all plying inner routes to relieve people from walking. Examples are sbs 371, 120, 121, 141.
Originally posted by lemon1974:
same mah... also linking...just the distance different only mah... can TRANSFER mah.. just like what u say? across the road can transfer but linking estate cant transfer?
Distance different totally different la dey
Further more, there's other alternatives besides 143 which are nearby...
Just across the road, you can walk. Less than 10mins. If you are so lazy to walk, then transfer lorh. You got to see the distance la dey -.-" not say can/can't transfer...
Back to topic,
You can't just because of certain minorities, and gave up a majority UNLESS there's really no bus access/walkable distance...
If need be, please pump 1/2 more frequent services to Teban Garden Area. Board 79 SD that time, a lot of passengers couldn't board the bus..
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Another suggestion:
30 can do Pandan and Teban Gardens because it anyway does the Teban Gardens loop in one direction.
At least this way, you provide one way link between Pandan and Teban, and 143 can go directly to Teban & Jurong.
Hi mr busAnalyser, this alternative serves as a half-attempt to cover up the linkage. But please always take note public transport is to connect people as far as possible and not to cut out routes which have been connected before.
Originally posted by TIB429E:Distance different totally different la dey
Just across the road, you can walk. Less than 10mins. If you are so lazy to walk, then transfer lorh. You got to see the distance la dey -.-" not say can/can't transfer...
Back to topic,
You can't just because of certain minorities, and gave up a majority UNLESS there's really no bus access/walkable distance...
Hi mr TIB429E, now the trend is into introducing bus services to connect all these inner routes. Sbs 143 is functioning well, albeit a slightly longer journey. Bus services are there to provide more convenience. Some people will have it at their doorsteps and some within walking distances. In overall view of the public transport situation at these 2 estates, it is deemed okay to give pandan garden residents 2 doorstep services, sbs 51 and sbs 143.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr TIB429E, now the trend is into introducing bus services to connect all these inner routes. Sbs 143 is functioning well, albeit a slightly longer journey. Bus services are there to provide more convenience. Some people will have it at their doorsteps and some within walking distances. In overall view of the public transport situation at these 2 estates, it is deemed okay to give pandan garden residents 2 doorstep services, sbs 51 and sbs 143.
We just have different ways of seeing things... To me trunk routes have to be fast... Can't act like feeders... Long winding routes in today's day and age do not work... so you agree with me that 30 in one way can be an option right? So at least do that.. And spare time for people in the other direction. How 30 gets Teban connection in one direction but while going towards Bedok refuses to enter Teban? Why is it providing a one way link only? Some routes are historically flawed and suited the demands then but not today.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr busAnalyser, this alternative serves as a half-attempt to cover up the linkage. But please always take note public transport is to connect people as far as possible and not to cut out routes which have been connected before.
There were two other valid suggestions to LTa which also got ignored. 135 to ply Haig road instead of Tanjong Katong... You already have 43/76 in parallel... 4 new stops on Haig road provide direct connectivity. It does not upset pax also.
another example. Swapping the route of 100 and 145 at Harbourfront. 100 cannot use DDs Booz of Upp Aljunied, 145 cannot coz of Henderson rd. Swapping the route would gave made it possible yo ply DDs on one of these routes. But adamant LTA will not do it even if it benefits the majority. Just go adding buses and make people stand on 100 and 145.
Originally posted by lemon1974:merge for what? later on long distance and become bunching and you will come complain again....think here only u have the stubborn attitude of want this and that to change....
82/107 merger is a popular demand by most people here... So look who is taking LTA side and being stubborn.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:82/107 merger is a popular demand by most people here... So look who is taking LTA side and being stubborn.
You also don't get it... If u merge properly, you also save resources and capacity at interchanges. With merger, you will have one service spot open at HCI and likewise at NEX.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:There were two other valid suggestions to LTa which also got ignored. 135 to ply Haig road instead of Tanjong Katong... You already have 43/76 in parallel... 4 new stops on Haig road provide direct connectivity. It does not upset pax also.
another example. Swapping the route of 100 and 145 at Harbourfront. 100 cannot use DDs Booz of Upp Aljunied, 145 cannot coz of Henderson rd. Swapping the route would gave made it possible yo ply DDs on one of these routes. But adamant LTA will not do it even if it benefits the majority. Just go adding buses and make people stand on 100 and 145.
Hi mr BusAnalyser, okay the suggestion for sbs 135 to ply haig road looks quite good. What is their reason for rejecting?
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:There were two other valid suggestions to LTa which also got ignored. 135 to ply Haig road instead of Tanjong Katong... You already have 43/76 in parallel... 4 new stops on Haig road provide direct connectivity. It does not upset pax also.
Hi mr BusAnalyser, they do not do major restructuring of bus routes like swapping of sbs 100 and sbs 145 at certain points which bring about major inconvenience to most. What they will do is to take note of the heavy sectors of both services and introduce new services to ply along certain segments and defray some crowds after they feel it warrants a new service. As you should know by now, more new services will be introduced all around the island for more direct routes, with 1st priority to connect new estates and 2nd priority to connect less well-connected roads (either with no buses or only few services) which is one of your favourites.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr BusAnalyser, they do not do major restructuring of bus routes like swapping of sbs 100 and sbs 145 at certain points which bring about major inconvenience to most. What they will do is to take note of the heavy sectors of both services and introduce new services to ply along certain segments and defray some crowds after they feel it warrants a new service. As you should know by now, more new services will be introduced all around the island for more direct routes, with 1st priority to connect new estates and 2nd priority to connect less well-connected roads (either with no buses or only few services) which is one of your favourites.
LTA needs to wake up.
Swapping routes etc can be found commonly in other countries when they do their turn of bus rationalisation. So why does LTA has to be so stagnant and afraid to make change?
That being said, I don't see any logical reasons for swapping 100 and 145. I'll leave it to the concerned to further justify.
As for bus routes being too much a feeder, what I hoped LTA will do is to get smart and reorganise all its bus routes. Svcs like 7, 14, 48, 67, 97, 175 and 195 are really shames of the entire bus system in Singapore. It really is funny that a bus svc, that is supposed to directly connect to the city where MRT transfers will be tedious, will go ROUND AND ROUND small streets and towns!! Svc like 38, 98, 112 should be the ones doing that instead, alongside its feeders and Townlinks/Intratowns.
In fact, don't you realise LTA has been going back on their words?? While they are saying hub and spoke, they actually get their trunks to go round and round, completely defeating its purpose to bring people from one place to another! And now they only regarded the MRT as the "hub". But didn't they say something about bus being supplements of MRT lines in the case of an emergency? Well, imagine now a train broke down at Sengkang station. The closest you have to the CBD is bus 80, which goes round and round towns! I'm neglecting bus shuttle just to prove the contradictions LTA have to you.
And so how are you gonna expect car owners to give up cars? Yes you may say having trunks go to towns are better as they have direct connection instead of transferring feeders to town centres, but you see, if the trunks are so slow will they even take it in the first place? Does it even make a difference?
Damn fail lah LTA. Everytime hear that disgusting rally of LHL really make me wanna puke. Want good for the people? Get your asses on the ground first lah. Car? So expensive. Train? So unreliable, and freq/train length so cui. Bus? Long-winded and crowded. Taxi? Choosy drivers, limited taxis, endless additional charges. Bike? Limiter bicycle lanes, cycle on pedestrian road will kena. So what expect us WALK 10+km to work ah? Wow what efficient workforce and economy there uh? LTA enough is enough hor, one day you really drive us to the corner alr ah, wait till we vote for opposition then you know!
Basic Services
Feeders - loop around town (one segment); fare capped at 3.2km
Intra-town/Townlink - loop around town; the combination of two feeders; fare capped at 3.2km
Parks - links to nearby parks, gardens; fare capped at 3.2km or flat fare
Trunks - no more looping in towns; limited stops outside town and city; stops at schools
Special services
Stadium Direct - loops in town; links to National Stadium
Other services
Express - may loop around towns; non-stop outside town and city; use expressways; no transfer
Fast Forward/Rapid - no more looping around towns; non-stop outside town and city; limited stops in towns; may use expressways
Premium - connects mainly private housing to city area; non-stop outside city and private housing estates; use expressway
NightRider/NiteOwl - bidirectional service between midnight and early morning; loops around towns
188E, 188R, 963E, 963R should be Rapid services instead of Express
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:82/107 merger is a popular demand by most people here... So look who is taking LTA side and being stubborn.
popular demand?? 1 person? or ten person? or everyone in this forum? u got see the demand of Sv107 now??
no one say sv100 cant use DD due to upper aljunied road... Sv135 did use DD way before and during one of the road accidents, all the DDs travelling along Macpherson Road are diverted to Upper Aljunied Road with no issue....
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi All, let's all not forget the objective of why a new service is introduced and keep thinking of amending and straying away from the initial objective and have it later withdrawn and adding into unwanted disputes. Sbs 116 was introduced with the main objective of serangoon north ave 4 and ave 5 residents faster and more direction connection to serangoon in mind after numerous complaints. Of course other secondary aims along the routes are which still pick up people.
yes.. this is what i mean...sv116 is to cater for Serangoon north Ave 4/5 residents, but our dear friend keep on thinking of YCK road residents.... so if sv116 really amended to call at Nex bus stop and lots of Ave 4/5 pax cant board because of the YCK road pax, then that someone will come in and justified for the needs of DD on sv116...
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Another suggestion:
now u got TWOway links, u dun wan and u go and make it one way link??
Originally posted by TIB429E:Distance different totally different la dey
Back to topic,
u try walk everyday under the hot sun from one end to the other end lah... u r young, of course u can walk... think of those old ppl...
and back to topic, you cant also give up certain routes even there are few ppl taking it.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:We just have different ways of seeing things... To me trunk routes have to be fast... Can't act like feeders... Long winding routes in today's day and age do not work... so you agree with me that 30 in one way can be an option right? So at least do that.. And spare time for people in the other direction. How 30 gets Teban connection in one direction but while going towards Bedok refuses to enter Teban? Why is it providing a one way link only? Some routes are historically flawed and suited the demands then but not today.
trunk routes have to be fast? long winding routes does not work? then why u r proposing to amend Sv30 to teban garden in the direction to Bedok? with all the traffic and all the bus stops, it is not possible to do so in singapore... even though those express services are not fast as well.
Originally posted by SMB128B:LTA needs to wake up.
Swapping routes etc can be found commonly in other countries when they do their turn of bus rationalisation. So why does LTA has to be so stagnant and afraid to make change?
That being said, I don't see any logical reasons for swapping 100 and 145. I'll leave it to the concerned to further justify.
As for bus routes being too much a feeder, what I hoped LTA will do is to get smart and reorganise all its bus routes. Svcs like 7, 14, 48, 67, 97, 175 and 195 are really shames of the entire bus system in Singapore. It really is funny that a bus svc, that is supposed to directly connect to the city where MRT transfers will be tedious, will go ROUND AND ROUND small streets and towns!! Svc like 38, 98, 112 should be the ones doing that instead, alongside its feeders and Townlinks/Intratowns.
In fact, don't you realise LTA has been going back on their words?? While they are saying hub and spoke, they actually get their trunks to go round and round, completely defeating its purpose to bring people from one place to another! And now they only regarded the MRT as the "hub". But didn't they say something about bus being supplements of MRT lines in the case of an emergency? Well, imagine now a train broke down at Sengkang station. The closest you have to the CBD is bus 80, which goes round and round towns! I'm neglecting bus shuttle just to prove the contradictions LTA have to you.
And so how are you gonna expect car owners to give up cars? Yes you may say having trunks go to towns are better as they have direct connection instead of transferring feeders to town centres, but you see, if the trunks are so slow will they even take it in the first place? Does it even make a difference?
Damn fail lah LTA. Everytime hear that disgusting rally of LHL really make me wanna puke. Want good for the people? Get your asses on the ground first lah. Car? So expensive. Train? So unreliable, and freq/train length so cui. Bus? Long-winded and crowded. Taxi? Choosy drivers, limited taxis, endless additional charges. Bike? Limiter bicycle lanes, cycle on pedestrian road will kena. So what expect us WALK 10+km to work ah? Wow what efficient workforce and economy there uh? LTA enough is enough hor, one day you really drive us to the corner alr ah, wait till we vote for opposition then you know!
time for you to migrate to BOLEH land.... car is cheap.. petrol is cheap. no ERP/COE.. no need license also can drive.
Originally posted by lemon1974:time for you to migrate to BOLEH land.... car is cheap.. petrol is cheap. no ERP/COE.. no need license also can drive.
this is a "solution"?
like the $million minister saying "retiring in JB"
hello