Originally posted by 23ispolo:SMRT, please use your own MANs or O405s for this service 912P... Coaches which operate on an SMRT route is really too odd, like having Woodlands Transport coaches on Sentosa bus services, which confuses passengers, as they don't think it is even on service...
If SMRT Buses and SBS Transit have sufficient resources, there won't be a need for PPSS in the first place.
Of course LTA could have specified for citybuses to be operated in the PPSS contracts, but I suppose most of the operators do not have citybuses in their fleet, or/and costs was a more important consideration for LTA.
SMRT Buses did bid for a few PPSS routes (under Bus Plus), but have not won any contracts so far.
Originally posted by SMB128B:Agreed.
When LTA first introduced this ridiculous gimmick, I only then prayed for one thing: at least they will be using city buses eh?
NO! THEY DIDN'T!!
C'mon, COACH BUSES for TOWNLINKS/INTRATOWNS?! That's got to be a joke. Doesn't solve much problem to me if this is the case. To have so little people seated ins 5 minutes journey? And no standees? Well how intelligent. Especially on short-haul heavy loading routes.
highlighted to LTA, waiting for reply...
3 weeks liao
Originally posted by 23ispolo:Can't SMRT just use their own SP rigids for 912P?
Hmm can, but if SMRT would to use their own rigids, they might not have enough drivers currently...
Moreover, even their 911E buses(mainly 911S1) still parks at the bus park.
Originally posted by Acx1688:highlighted to LTA, waiting for reply...
3 weeks liao
Send them these...
Readers (on picture right) already cross the first yellow line...I believe any elderly could just fall forward if the bus turn/swift recklessly
Originally posted by SMB128B:Agreed.
When LTA first introduced this ridiculous gimmick, I only then prayed for one thing: at least they will be using city buses eh?
NO! THEY DIDN'T!!
C'mon, COACH BUSES for TOWNLINKS/INTRATOWNS?! That's got to be a joke. Doesn't solve much problem to me if this is the case. To have so little people seated ins 5 minutes journey? And no standees? Well how intelligent. Especially on short-haul heavy loading routes.
At least if they allow standing for City buses...plus the length doesn't matter(be it "dart" ver or less than 12m buses)..
Originally posted by TIB429E:Send them these...
Readers (on picture right) already cross the first yellow line...
Fucking smart logic lah, two readers catering to a one-person capacity exit...
Just use the city types of buses lah please. Like the one I've posted on the previous page or acquire SMRT "leftovers" like the Yutong and the Zhongtong.
I even rather they buy in the deregged SBST and SMRT buses like the Lances, Scania Striders or the O405 (SBST)... As long as it works as a public bus can ale...
Anyways the coaches aren't frankly very much younger than some of the models mentioned...
One good example of PO buying in deregged buses is the PSV Soon Chows...
Will reply when they reply...
Need more ammo, i oreadi complain abt NON WAB status liao
Question 1:
1. How come private buses(PPSS) are have seat belts, public buses dun ve?!
2. If i fall down in PPSS service due to high steps, who can i claim compensation from?! LTA, private operator!?
3. How come PPSS deployed buses have so high steps while SBST/SMRT buses are stepless?!
Any more
Such is the case of: damned if you do, damned if you don't.
Originally posted by SMB128B:Fucking smart logic lah, two readers catering to a one-person capacity exit...
Just use the city types of buses lah please. Like the one I've posted on the previous page or acquire SMRT "leftovers" like the Yutong and the Zhongtong.
Do you have to be rude?
And do you use any brains at all?
It's easy to guess that the 2nd card-reader is for redundancy purposes.
Isn't this obvious?
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Such is the case of: damned if you do, damned if you don't.
LTA should noe full well not to try out stuns when doing PPSS/City Direct services using coaches...
There are buses in SMRT/SBST inventory, juz train the Private operators to drive them during peak, after which return the buses back to the respective depots, easier said than done rite but commuters shouldn be made to climb high steps and exit narrow doorways...
What about elderly/PIW who wants to use these services?! excluded? than it goes against MIW policy of all inclusive society
Next week it's 240P's turn to be introduced. I am fairly sure that Tong Tar will deploy out their Zhong Tong Sunny LCK6103G city bus (with step entrance but with lesser steps compared to coaches). It also allows standing passengers, and bells and door closing lights are already avaliable on the bus, as well as an EDS.
Originally posted by Acx1688:LTA should noe full well not to try out stuns when doing PPSS/City Direct services using coaches...
There are buses in SMRT/SBST inventory, juz train the Private operators to drive them during peak, after which return the buses back to the respective depots, easier said than done rite but commuters shouldn be made to climb high steps and exit narrow doorways...
What about elderly/PIW who wants to use these services?! excluded? than it goes against MIW policy of all inclusive society
I dont think Private operators would want to drive SMRT/SBST buses...there could arise to money issue..
Originally posted by TIB429E:I dont think Private operators would want to drive SMRT/SBST buses...there could arise to money issue..
Neither does SBS Transit nor SMRT Buses want private operators to drive their buses.
If you recall the China drivers strike, it took a while even for drivers from SBS Transit to be "converted" to drive SMRT Buses' fleet.
To be frank its sorta a service enhancement. Lets cut LTA some slack.
It gives the local bus companies some extra business as well. If the bus model used is not to your liking, just wait for the normal SMRT bus to arrive then. Its not as if they cut buses from 912 fleet after this enhancement
Originally posted by Acx1688:LTA should noe full well not to try out stuns when doing PPSS/City Direct services using coaches...
Even if you want to train private drivers for "conversion", there is insufficient buses in SBS Transit or SMRT Buses' inventory.
It is probably more cost effective to "hire" a private bus to operate during peak period temporarily until a more permanent solution is found, than to get an additional brand-new BSEP bus which is left lying around in the depot during off-peak hours. And then there's the issue of finding an additional space for the new bus.
Private operators definitely don't offer the same quality service as SBST. Even SMRT is better. I don't know what LTA is thinking by giving so many routes to private operators- rather just introduce PPSS with SBST /SMRT during peak hours. I like introduction of 912P specifically. With BSEP, it could have been done with the buses crossover from 951E also.
Dont see big use of 268P. 76/268 were managing the load very well.. LTA at times just wants to "show" that they are doing so much without really being effective.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Do you have to be rude?
And do you use any brains at all?
It's easy to guess that the 2nd card-reader is for redundancy purposes.
Isn't this obvious?
That's ironic.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Private operators definitely don't offer the same quality service as SBST. Even SMRT is better. I don't know what LTA is thinking by giving so many routes to private operators- rather just introduce PPSS with SBST /SMRT during peak hours. I like introduction of 912P specifically. With BSEP, it could have been done with the buses crossover from 951E also.
Dont see big use of 268P. 76/268 were managing the load very well.. LTA at times just wants to "show" that they are doing so much without really being effective.
621 is quite well operated IMO...
And it uses ex-SMRT Yutong, and adhere to schdule quite well too.
if lta want pte operator to have standard of sbst smrt, it will have to take time as pte operators need to buy in buses that not like coach bus. something like ex-smrt yutong. need money and time and also if the contract is short period then no use, waste money.
i think the advantage of pte operator is human touch that mean if old people board the bus the driver can ask them nicely to sit in front and allight in front instead at the back.
next best things is lta let pte operators is to t-loan new buses it brought for the main operators. just put on lta logo on the bus will do after the contract over return back to lta.
from what i see of this pte feeder bus services is one of a trial from lta to see how they can operate a public transport service without problem. because coming years the public transport sector will open up to new operators so we shall see how it work out.
Originally posted by wsy1234:may as well take over the full route. i think it a matter of time when lta let pte operator take a feeder service route. maybe let the pte operator take over smrt buses and run the service full time.
Pte operator wont be taking over the full route, if they are not earning money..
912P contract is worth 1.15mil for 2 year.
which is 0.575 mil per year, and 11000 per week, 2200 per day...
Total 22 trips each day, which mean LTA is paying the pte operator S$100 PER TRIP. of course the pte operator are willing to do it during peak hour as it is sure win situation for them... If the pte operator are not being paid by LTA and instead, based on the fare collection, will they want to operate these PPSS instead?? 45 pax x 76 cents = 34.20/trip (taking max fare , instead of the Distance Related Fare). if half of the pax are those transfer paxes who are paying 5 cents or 10 cents, how much can the operators earn??
so u really want the private operators to take over the full route, then LTA (and in turn we the tax payers) have to pay more taxes to subsidy the private operators. so ppl make noise when LTA buy new buses for SBST/SMRT, and no one make noise about the profit that the private operators make when LTA awarded these contracts?
Originally posted by TIB1234T:Well, the main point of 912P is for many people living around the neighbourhood along the route since 912 that is heading towards checkpoint might get stuck in unknowing custom jams daily, hence this 912P i guess is not a bad idea...
woodlands centre road nowadays seldom jam with the traffic restriction...
they should start 912P from marsiling MRT then along WDL ave 3, turn right to WDL St32, then turn right to Ave 1 and then ST41 and then back to Marsiling MRT... non stop loop during the operations.... this will bring the passengers to MRT faster.. those want to transfer buses can take the normal 912 instead..
Originally posted by Acx1688:Will reply when they reply...
Need more ammo, i oreadi complain abt NON WAB status liao
912 was non-wab in the first place. what to complain? if want the private operators to buy LF WAB then the tender price will definitely go up.....so who will paying for the additional cost? further, this coach bus have 45 seats.... better than squeezing inside that packed 912 bendy right? this is a just a stop gap measure... if u look at the press release, the 2nd phase of the BSEP will focus on improving the feeder routes...