Originally posted by Acx1688:Question 1:
1. How come private buses(PPSS) are have seat belts, public buses dun ve?!
2. If i fall down in PPSS service due to high steps, who can i claim compensation from?! LTA, private operator!?
3. How come PPSS deployed buses have so high steps while SBST/SMRT buses are stepless?!
Any more
seat belts is for the school children which these buses might be fetching...
if u fail down due to your own carelessness, you cant claim anything.... else, u can claim from the insurance.. obviously, these operators of PPSS have to apply for PTO license and therefore they need to have the necessary insurance as well.
this is a stop gap measure, until the second batch of BSEP came in...
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Such is the case of: damned if you do, damned if you don't.
very true.... put in more trips, ppl complain why never put DDs .
put in new routes, ppl complain as well about the routes...
put in PPSS, ppl also complain that non-wab are used, high steps lah...
dun introduce anything, ppl also complain...
buy KUB, ppl complain about the steps to the rear and less seat
buy citaros, complain about narrow aisle....
very difficult to satisfy everyone.....
should be happy that there are additional buses available to fetch the passengers.. if i can have a seat on these 45 seaters, i will be happy instead of having to stand on the packed 912 bus....
Originally posted by lemon1974:912 was non-wab in the first place. what to complain? if want the private operators to buy LF WAB then the tender price will definitely go up.....so who will paying for the additional cost? further, this coach bus have 45 seats.... better than squeezing inside that packed 912 bendy right? this is a just a stop gap measure... if u look at the press release, the 2nd phase of the BSEP will focus on improving the feeder routes...
Thank you for clarification
Feeder services can be improved with the better deployment of existing buses in the fleet... ie fewer buses resting at the Terminal/Interchange...
Bus comes in, SL/BC come out, next SL/BC takeover and drives off, SL/BC gets his rest till the next bus comes in
Should be like this during peak hours, so buses turn around faster...
Originally posted by carbikebus:Jump bus?Some svc can some really cannot bro..if not SBST will make all its svc jump bus to save cost
Example mah... but may i know why?!
Coz it sound very feasible on theory... i tink i take too much 36 liao
Originally posted by Acx1688:Thank you for clarification
Feeder services can be improved with the better deployment of existing buses in the fleet... ie fewer buses resting at the Terminal/Interchange...
Bus comes in, SL/BC come out, next SL/BC takeover and drives off, SL/BC gets his rest till the next bus comes in
Should be like this during peak hours, so buses turn around faster...
feeder routes does not really have much rest during peak hours.. most of the time is reach interchange and then pick up already..
what they need to do is introduce downroute/short trips...
downroute during Am peak to interchange, short trips during evening peak.. they actually need not have to specify that the max frequency during peak from interchange is 10 mins (if they are able to introduce downroute)... which is what SBST is doing to Sv269 right now.. have 2 buses doing downroute from Ave 4 to interchange from 6-9am....
i dun mind sv269 leaving interchange during AM peak at 12 mins, and buses can be deployed to do downroute instead...
Originally posted by lemon1974:feeder routes does not really have much rest during peak hours.. most of the time is reach interchange and then pick up already..
downroute during Am peak to interchange, short trips during evening peak.. they actually need not have to specify that the max frequency during peak from interchange is 10 mins (if they are able to introduce downroute)... which is what SBST is doing to Sv269 right now.. have 2 buses doing downroute from Ave 4 to interchange from 6-9am....
i dun mind sv269 leaving interchange during AM peak at 12 mins, and buses can be deployed to do downroute instead...
Why 269 should do downroute from ave 4? Is there not 76/268 to cater to this load?
Originally posted by lemon1974:feeder routes does not really have much rest during peak hours.. most of the time is reach interchange and then pick up already..
I do agree to your point on downroute and short trips for feeder services as loading most times is only in one direction.
What's jump bus?
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Why 269 should do downroute from ave 4? Is there not 76/268 to cater to this load?
why? cos of the demand, that why....268 have its own crowd in the am peak, and frequency from AMDEP is not that great, as lots of downroute start at Blk 700A in the AM peak... likewise for sv76....
Originally posted by SMB128B:What's jump bus?
BC driving different buses throughout the whole day.
BC1 maybe drive 7420 and arrive at YCK terminal, another BC (who does not take out any bus from depot) will take over7420 and drive off.. BC1 will rest and then wait for the sv72 bus (let say 7421) to arrive and take that bus... BC2 of 7421 will then wait for the next bus to arrive to take the next bus... so no fixed bus... doing this, they save one bus and save space at terminal, as bus wont be parking long there...
Bro, nwadays like LTA dun favour introduce new down trips...
Request for sv36A downtrip from M Parade Rd NOT replied by LTA but instead schedule change all depart CGA...
Originally posted by Acx1688:Bro, nwadays like LTA dun favour introduce new down trips...
Request for sv36A downtrip from M Parade Rd NOT replied by LTA but instead schedule change all depart CGA...
it all depend on SBST.. LTA does not really bother about down route frankly speaking... talk to SBST
Originally posted by lemon1974:it all depend on SBST.. LTA does not really bother about down route frankly speaking... talk to SBST
Seems everyone is pushing the buck to each other...
sv14 timetable change today...
Originally posted by Acx1688:sv14 timetable change today...
Mostly every weekday morning from 0750 - 0805, can sometimes see up to 3 sv14 together
SBS7333U, SBS7712J, SBS9441C...
Originally posted by lemon1974:BC driving different buses throughout the whole day.
BC1 maybe drive 7420 and arrive at YCK terminal, another BC (who does not take out any bus from depot) will take over7420 and drive off.. BC1 will rest and then wait for the sv72 bus (let say 7421) to arrive and take that bus... BC2 of 7421 will then wait for the next bus to arrive to take the next bus... so no fixed bus... doing this, they save one bus and save space at terminal, as bus wont be parking long there...
So it's like 跳飛機 practice by CTB and NWFB?
Only that in SG, the buses are perm? And the BCs change every trip?
And how is it different from "normal" svcs?
Originally posted by SMB128B:So it's like 跳飛機 practice by CTB and NWFB?
Only that in SG, the buses are perm? And the BCs change every trip?
And how is it different from "normal" svcs?
Yes.
No comment. No.
In a "normal" service, unless the BC is given ad-hoc instructions by his superior he is to drive that same assigned bus throughout the day.
Originally posted by Acx1688:Example mah... but may i know why?!
Coz it sound very feasible on theory... i tink i take too much 36 liao
Any delays can result in a knock on effect, by virtue of BCs at the destination being dependent on the timely arrival of the next assigned bus for a timely departure.
Originally posted by sgbuses:Imagine two buses, on the same jumpbus service, is 45 minutes late and are bunching. The BC before the two buses is waiting at the destination with no bus. And the two late BCs are supposed to take their lunch at the destination...
that why the timekeeper will usually pull any other bus (from another service) that arrive and let the BC drove off.. this happen everyday in YCK terminal..
Originally posted by lemon1974:that why the timekeeper will usually pull any other bus (from another service) that arrive and let the BC drove off.. this happen everyday in YCK terminal..
There are many constrains to deal with, but unfortunately for legal reasons I cannot elaborate further.
Anyway, saw 1 912P perm bus running from Tampines towards Skg/Woodlands Direction with some pax onboard around 10am...seems like the operator is damn busy/lack of buses...
Someone also spotted the bus at Punggol heading towards Woodlands around 4pm
Originally posted by sgbuses:There are many constrains to deal with, but unfortunately for legal reasons I cannot elaborate further.
no jump bus also got constraints... just that timekeeper have to take note and do the necessary....
36,55 BCs dun ve perm bus...
SMRT should seriously give 852, 855 and 985 (more than just one) BSEP fleet add(s)... The frequency for these services need improvement...