Originally posted by 23ispolo:Agree. If 659 goes that way, it will take a longer distance and waste time... It would be much better to start from Bedok North Road, then go to ECP to CBD...
Hi mr 23ispolo, yes true that it goes a longer distance. However, the main objective is to bring those bedok residents at bedok south and north all at 1 time to CBD. Even by this longer route, the journey time will still be 15 to 20 min lesser than bus + MRT. Cheers
Originally posted by carbikebus:seriously im hoping that a third company will join the public bus scenes..This third company is a combined of LTA/Tong Tar/WT/CDB etc…No more monopoly by SBST especially.
West/Central West/Central East/East/Northeast:SBST
Northwest/North/Portion of west:SMRT
Portion of East/Portion of North/Portion of Central West/Portion of Northeast:New playerDepots
SBST:Soon Lee/Commonwealth/Bt Batok/Bedok North/Loyang/Hougang/Ang Mo Kio/BraddellSMRT:Bulim/Yio Chu Kang/Woodlands/Bt Panjang
New Playerandan/Sengkang/Kranji
Central Planning Unit should look at allocation a piece of land for bus parks around SG rather big bus park...
In HK, opposite Sheung Wan Fire Station, there is a bus park for CTB/NWFB buses
KMB bus park at Sham Mong Rd
Originally posted by TIB1096A:Service 50 needs more buses...
cannot handle frequency and laod
Seriously can take from svc 49. I think SBST is losing money frm this service which empty DD throughout the day. I kinda of think that it should be a peak hr service instead.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Seriously can take from svc 49. I think SBST is losing money frm this service which empty DD throughout the day. I kinda of think that it should be a peak hr service instead.
Yet to take 49, how is the ridership throughout the day?!
Better than 120?
Originally posted by Acx1688:Yet to take 49, how is the ridership throughout the day?!
Better than 120?
49's peak loading usually between Lakeside MRT and the Corporation Dr which duplicates 98/98M, if 49 arr. earlier than 98/98M that is.
i heard ppl say that 49 is just a fuced up service? i dun really know as i nv take 49. But one ting i notice for sure is that it skipped he first 2 stops after it left the hu ching ter whr the new houses are being build beside it. i wonder how is passangers living thr in future to rely only on 154 to lakeside mrt?
Originally posted by carbikebus:seriously im hoping that a third company will join the public bus scenes..This third company is a combined of LTA/Tong Tar/WT/CDB etc…No more monopoly by SBST especially.
West/Central West/Central East/East/Northeast:SBST
Northwest/North/Portion of west:SMRT
Portion of East/Portion of North/Portion of Central West/Portion of Northeast:New playerDepots
SBST:Soon Lee/Commonwealth/Bt Batok/Bedok North/Loyang/Hougang/Ang Mo Kio/BraddellSMRT:Bulim/Yio Chu Kang/Woodlands/Bt Panjang
New Playerandan/Sengkang/Kranji
You think third company will provide better services? Have you even seen the buses operated on these P services? They are shitttt. SBST quality of service is very good.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr 23ispolo, yes true that it goes a longer distance. However, the main objective is to bring those bedok residents at bedok south and north all at 1 time to CBD. Even by this longer route, the journey time will still be 15 to 20 min lesser than bus + MRT. Cheers
Ok. Point noted but with that logic you know you need DDs if you want people to have a comfortable journey. Why not have DDs on this service?
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Seriously can take from svc 49. I think SBST is losing money frm this service which empty DD throughout the day. I kinda of think that it should be a peak hr service instead.
I really beg to differ with your point. Can you post your loading observation? I have seen AM peak Citaros with standees towards Lakeside. PM peak also I see around 20-25 pax boarding at Lakeside towards TJ Terminal. Maybe does not need DDs yet, but the service is doing much better than 116 launched 18 months back and 120 also.
Originally posted by TIB1105H:i heard ppl say that 49 is just a fuced up service? i dun really know as i nv take 49. But one ting i notice for sure is that it skipped he first 2 stops after it left the hu ching ter whr the new houses are being build beside it. i wonder how is passangers living thr in future to rely only on 154 to lakeside mrt?
I think 49 will call on those stops in future.
Originally posted by Acx1688:Yet to take 49, how is the ridership throughout the day?!
Better than 120?
I will observe the service again but when I had taken it after one month of launch.
AM peak - very poor loading upto st 42. Loading started picking up at st 42 and when it came to st 41 already had standees. This was a Citaro. Lakeside MRT - only 12-15 pax on bus with 5-6 pax boarding at that stop.
After that also I have seen in peak sv 49 does have good loading in AM towards Lakeside and PM from Lakeside to Taman Jurong.
334 loading still remains very high. The last KUB should also be converted to DD slot.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:You think third company will provide better services? Have you even seen the buses operated on these P services? They are shitttt. SBST quality of service is very good.
Thats coz LTA don't really give a fuck about these svcs. And thus the companies won't give a fuck too!
Anyways the company are more oriented to pte operations and frankly wouldn't be bothered about this extra svc (in terms of profibility) too.
Try taking 621. It's great, and it's by Bedok Transport. Proper step-free city bus with accurate arrival times and great reliability.
To make a long story short, pte companies can turn great, if they are given a chance. Call "P", citydirect svcs chances? Fuck lah. More of pity given under uncertainty and insecurity ba. Like asking a dog to "act human" by asking it to merely pick up newspaper from your doorstep.
Originally posted by SMB128B:Thats coz LTA don't really give a fuck about these svcs. And thus the companies won't give a fuck too!
Anyways the company are more oriented to pte operations and frankly wouldn't be bothered about this extra svc (in terms of profibility) too.
Try taking 621. It's great, and it's by Bedok Transport. Proper step-free city bus with accurate arrival times and great reliability.
To make a long story short, pte companies can turn great, if they are given a chance. Call "P", citydirect svcs chances? Fuck lah. More of pity given under uncertainty and insecurity ba. Like asking a dog to "act human" by asking it to merely pick up newspaper from your doorstep.
Which is why the central planning unit before parceling/awarding the PPSS/CDS and other acronyms should look at the private operators fleet before awarding the contract, i tink so far only Woodlands Transport, Bedok Transport has low floor buses
Anyone knows of other private operators with low floor buses?
Originally posted by Acx1688:Which is why the central planning unit before parceling/awarding the PPSS/CDS and other acronyms should look at the private operators fleet before awarding the contract, i tink so far only Woodlands Transport, Bedok Transport has low floor buses
Anyone knows of other private operators with low floor buses?
Chitson
Ex-SBS OC demo
Originally posted by SMB128B:Chitson
Ex-SBS OC demo
Yup how many buses in their fleet is low floor besides OC demo?
LTA introduces sbs 21A and 109A. 109A must be due to heavy demand at peak hours from serangoon to hougang ave 9/4. Hougang ave 9/4 very strong demand. Cheers
Wouldn the amendment of 109A be better if it would to ferry paseengers at HG AVE 4,9 to Buangkok station instead?
Originally posted by Acx1688:Wouldn the amendment of 109A be better if it would to ferry paseengers at HG AVE 4,9 to Buangkok station instead?
Purpose is to fetch people from serangoon MRT to hougang ave 9/4 at peak hours only in the evening time. So the other way round is not effective. If want introduce buangkok to hougang ave 9/4, it will be a new feeder service because at present 109 does not go to buangkok mrt. 109A is to ride on existing 109 route. By introducing a totally new route, the service has to be renamed.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Purpose is to fetch people from serangoon MRT to hougang ave 9/4 at peak hours only in the evening time. So the other way round is not effective. If want introduce buangkok to hougang ave 9/4, it will be a new feeder service because at present 109 does not go to buangkok mrt. 109A is to ride on existing 109 route. By introducing a totally new route, the service has to be renamed.
Sir, if you are staying at HG Ave9/4, would you rather go to a MRT near your place or one that is far?! Serangoon and Buangkok to Hougang Ave9/4 is between a matter of 30mins for the former and 10mins MAX for the latter
Hypothetical speaking It is like asking someone who is staying at Bedok North to take train to Eunos when Bedok is nearer...
Anyway wat is done cannot be rescinded
One does not need to totally introduce a new route, with enough publicity and since newer buses are using EDS, route details can be programmed.
Frequent visitors to HK, UK will understand that there are variations to bus routes
Eg for KMB:
rt.1 :Star Ferry to Chuk Yuen
rt1A: Star Ferry to Sau Mau Ping Central
Most of the route is similar, except 1A heads further to Sau Mau Ping Central in East Kowloon.
Similarly, can renumber 109A to 109M so that residents in Hougang Ave 9/4 knows that this service will bring them to Buangkok MRT.
The EDS on the front of the bus will just flash:
BUANGKOK MRT 109M
(no need running EDS)
Commuters must be educated and know how to differentiate, if not there will be chaos...
In HK, 112,170,171 runs evening peak trips to Mong kok(not final termination point) so as to allow the bus to turn around faster, apparently it has still not caught on by the Central Planning Unit and PTOs, even though empty buses are dispatched from Terminals to the Trip Start Point(ie halfway through the route)
EDS reads: 112 MONGKOK
people heading the routes will wait for their respective buses
in London:
Metroline 390 sometimes stops at EUSTON and off service from there rather than to the end point at Archway.
Overseas operators push their buses to get as much revenue as possible unlike SG where buses park idly at bus terminals/interchanges...
SG public transport has much more to learn from overseas operators...
IF Central Planning Unit wants to have clearer route recognition displays, it can be split to:
Short trips for routes: bus routes ending with A, B, C, D
Short trips that connect to MRT station: bus routes ending with M
Short trips that are deployed during Peak hours: bus routes ending with P
Special departures for bus routes: bus routes ending with S
routes that are express: E,X
If Central Planning Unit still refuses to adopt these measures, it will be a matter of times bus numbers would all be used up and four digit bus routes will appear...
Originally posted by Acx1688:IF Central Planning Unit wants to have clearer route recognition displays, it can be split to:
Short trips for routes: bus routes ending with A, B, C, D
Short trips that connect to MRT station: bus routes ending with M
Short trips that are deployed during Peak hours: bus routes ending with P
Special departures for bus routes: bus routes ending with S
routes that are express: E,X
If Central Planning Unit still refuses to adopt these measures, it will be a matter of times bus numbers would all be used up and four digit bus routes will appear...
Sorry bro, this not HK...
SG like simplicity more than innovation...
Loke south Koreans liddat, stone brain people ah, all make their buses run on numbers until Seoul buses alr have bus 1xxx alr...
Originally posted by SMB128B:Sorry bro, this not HK...
SG like simplicity more than innovation...
Loke south Koreans liddat, stone brain people ah, all make their buses run on numbers until Seoul buses alr have bus 1xxx alr...
Yah sad... in barcelona wic i went trunk routes have 2 digits, express is 3...
Example 65 from EL PRAT to Pl Espanya
Express version is 165...
Originally posted by Acx1688:Sir, if you are staying at HG Ave9/4, would you rather go to a MRT near your place or one that is far?! Serangoon and Buangkok to Hougang Ave9/4 is between a matter of 30mins for the former and 10mins MAX for the latter
Hypothetical speaking It is like asking someone who is staying at Bedok North to take train to Eunos when Bedok is nearer...
One does not need to totally introduce a new route, with enough publicity and since newer buses are using EDS, route details can be programmed.
Frequent visitors to HK, UK will understand that there are variations to bus routes
Eg for KMB:
Most of the route is similar, except 1A heads further to Sau Mau Ping Central in East Kowloon.
Similarly, can renumber 109A to 109M so that residents in Hougang Ave 9/4 knows that this service will bring them to Buangkok MRT.
BUANGKOK MRT 109M
(no need running EDS)
Commuters must be educated and know how to differentiate, if not there will be chaos...
In HK, 112,170,171 runs evening peak trips to Mong kok(not final termination point) so as to allow the bus to turn around faster, apparently it has still not caught on by the Central Planning Unit and PTOs, even though empty buses are dispatched from Terminals to the Trip Start Point(ie halfway through the route)
in London:
Metroline 390 sometimes stops at EUSTON and off service from there rather than to the end point at Archway.
Overseas operators push their buses to get as much revenue as possible unlike SG where buses park idly at bus terminals/interchanges...
Hi mr Acx1688, you miss the gist of the issue. Purpose is transport from mrt to hougang ave 9/4 during the evening peak timing. I have to stress the direction is from mrt towards hougang. Not the other way round. So your first statement is already invalidated. Why from serangoon and not buangkok? Of course the answer should be obvious. Serangoon crowd to hougang is much more than buangkok. Serangoon is circle line and north-east line. So people from circle line are also considered. Cheers
Originally posted by Acx1688:Sir, if you are staying at HG Ave9/4, would you rather go to a MRT near your place or one that is far?! Serangoon and Buangkok to Hougang Ave9/4 is between a matter of 30mins for the former and 10mins MAX for the latter
Eg for KMB:
BUANGKOK MRT 109M
(no need running EDS)
in London:
You might be right that Buangkok is closer to Hougang Ave 4, but also the truth is a lot of people take 109 from Serangoon after alighting from CCL and NEL to Hougang Ave 4/9. I have taken a WEG 6+pm from Serangoon Interchange and while it left interchange with 50-55 pax, along Boundary Rd and YCK Link, it picked up pax that made more than 90 pax. And I was surprised to see 60-70 pax alighted on stops along HG Ave 9 and HG Ave 4. When the bus came to Buangkok Green, it was left with barely 30-35 pax, some of whom who boarded along HG Ave 9/4.
So for me this SWT makes sense, else SBST would have to introduce more DDs during that time from Serangoon to Changi (which could be waste of resources since beyond Buangkok loading is very low in PM).
This is also a similar case with people living along HG Ave 8, who prefer to take 147 to Serangoon than 112 to Kovan or 165 to Hougang.