Originally posted by sgbuses:New routes could get the axe if there is insufficient patronage. Transperth has practiced this before. Bus lobbyists who got their routes should start worrying now.
First and foremost, stop all those P routes. This was going to happen!
LTA like stupid kept on introducing routes left right and center like those P routes and very costly city direct routes. Even when there are options to edit existing non-functional routes, LTA has chickened away.
Sooner or later, this was going to become unsustainable, and here we are - we have to now bear higher fares. It is well said "this is no free lunch" unlike some here say "LTA is doing it, what's the issue". It is after all our money that's going in.
Originally posted by SBS5010P:43 on special sundays. Freq can be up to 30mins each bus.
Once on sunday, the next bus arrives at 23 min during peak hour.
Originally posted by SBS9C:43 needs BSRF. The frequency is very unstable, and sometime buses do bunch up despite the long frequency.
Bunching
I remember once on board SBS5157A, SBS9532Z was just a traffic light away.
Frequency
A bus arrived 10 minutes early, and the next bus arrives 5 minutes late. This caused the 10 min frequency to be lengthened to 23 min.
Originally posted by sgbuses:New routes could get the axe if there is insufficient patronage. Transperth has practiced this before. Bus lobbyists who got their routes should start worrying now.
Hi mr sgbuses, most new services have sustainable loads. What I interpret further from his words is that future services to be introduced will be modeled and planned with enough load in place. I doubt that they are really going to remove the routes even if it is found to have lesser loads. They may take the routes into consideration and modify it if necessary.
This has nothing to do with lobbyists or not. Since population increases, public transport must measure up. No matter what, new routes must be introduced with increasing number of HDB flats. Cheers.
Originally posted by SBS3004X:Bunching
I remember once on board SBS5157A, SBS9532Z was just a traffic light away.Frequency
A bus arrived 10 minutes early, and the next bus arrives 5 minutes late. This caused the 10 min frequency to be lengthened to 23 min.
Hi mr SBS3004X, yes I agree with you. Bunching or whatsoever reason is very normal. Buses leave early or leave late is perfectly normal. This cannot be controlled 100%. As long as there is human factor in any issue, this will always occur and cannot be eradicated. There is no need to blame the bus operator or planner or anybody. Let's be pragmatic. Cheers.
This bloody minister who get paid million dollar better step down! All the inefficiencies are created by him. Especially Sv972 in the first place why must let SMRT run, isn't it better for SBST to run this route in the first place? After one year pf squezzing,then they started to realised the MAN buses cannot cope, so SMRT need to buy DD and now wayang with 3 DD on 13 july2014.
after one week of service, peak hour already got ppl standing at the door. LTA need one bloody year to know this crappy? KNN
Originally posted by SBS3004X:Once on sunday, the next bus arrives at 23 min during peak hour.
Hi mr SBS3004X, since when there is peak hour on Sunday? Can elaborate for sbs 43??? Cheers.
Originally posted by SBS5010P:43 on special sundays. Freq can be up to 30mins each bus.
Hi mr SBS5010P, can elaborate what is meant by special Sundays? Cheers.
I support chopping routes.
Svcs like 120 will go first.
Svcs like 112 should be rationalised too.
Well, I do not think new routes will ever get axed. At most, they will be re-routed to serve more people. Especially now when LTA is the one planning the routes. It will make sure the route is financially viable before even launching a bus service on it.
Unless there is a "sudden" fall in population in an area - due to re-location of housing, education or employment developments - where LTA only intends to have the route in the short run until the catchment becomes too small to sustain, then only will I think LTA will axe new routes.
Originally posted by SMB128B:I support chopping routes.
Cfm 120 get e chop... sv11 is next...
Finali MOT dcide to take action n nt over pander to grassroots lobby...
Eh sv43 is ok, complainers of sv43 pls indicate wic location is the jam, if its Upp/Paya Lebar, authorities know about it and there will BSEP for this svc again...
Originally posted by phillipC:This bloody minister who get paid million dollar better step down! All the inefficiencies are created by him. Especially Sv972 in the first place why must let SMRT run, isn't it better for SBST to run this route in the first place? After one year pf squezzing,then they started to realised the MAN buses cannot cope, so SMRT need to buy DD and now wayang with 3 DD on 13 july2014.
after one week of service, peak hour already got ppl standing at the door. LTA need one bloody year to know this crappy? KNN
DD on 972 is for political reasons, all should noe...
972 off peak is still manageable, peak period all buses are packed except those on excellent freq...
112 cannot be rationalised lah Mr BusAnalayzer has already foreseen that 112 will be getting 2 DDs
Fellow bus fans harping on sv43 on sundays, 30mins is exaggeration, i stay along the route, max waiting time witnessed is 18mins...
I can tell you sunday, 48 will fail but tts bsides the point.
Highlighted previously, 43 is more or less parallel to sv76, so improving freq on wkends is not economical due to load patterns
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr SBS3004X, since when there is peak hour on Sunday? Can elaborate for sbs 43??? Cheers.
Take taxi on Sundays also got peak hour surcharge
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:The service could be something like 43M from Punggol looping @ NEX. I am not sure what other unique routes there can be at this stage from Punggol as trunk. It will mostly duplicate existing services heavily.
Nope, buangkok mrt to buangkok link, peak svc
HK public transport is much cheaper. Not to mention the good maintainence and frequencies too. The overnight bus services that runs are more reliable and there are much more choices than our nightowls and nightriders.Took 796X from LOHAS Park to Tsim Tsa Tsui East cost me about $1.25. If compared to 502,506,513 and 518 i think i'll be paying $2.30 for the distance. MTR i took from Tung Chung to Hong Kong Island only cost me about $1.70 SGD too. If in SG alr $2+. However taxis in HK are much more expensive than in SG. In SG luckily we dont have to pay $5 HKD for each luggage. In HK cross harbour also must pay driver return toll fare and also the meter jumps every few seconds. Driver can also tweak the meter fare to con tourists.
Originally posted by Acx1688:Cfm 120 get e chop... sv11 is next...
Finali MOT dcide to take action n nt over pander to grassroots lobby...
120 should be chopped.
sv 11 will stay for now. I think with time, loading will improve. Already 12-15 pax board at Stafium MRT towards Tanjong Rhu. This is better than the whole loading Sv 11 used to get before extension.
Did u mean 112 or 113? How can 112 be rationalized when it is a unique service with quite heavy loads?
Originally posted by Acx1688:Nope, buangkok mrt to buangkok link, peak svc
But then that should be an altogether new route that I propose starts from Sengkang.
Sengkang Interchange
Compassalve Walk
Compassalve Link
Sengkang East Ave
Sengkang Central
Buangkok Drive
Buangkok Green
Hg St 51
HG st 91
HG st 93
Buangkok Link (loop)
Originally posted by Acx1688:Fellow bus fans harping on sv43 on sundays, 30mins is exaggeration, i stay along the route, max waiting time witnessed is 18mins...
Highlighted previously, 43 is more or less parallel to sv76, so improving freq on wkends is not economical due to load patterns
Yes I agree. I see Sv 43 also come at 12-15 min frequency most times, when I monitor. But I think would be good to convert 2 SD slots to DD given that Punggol West is now getting developed and is one of the only trunk services there.
Also more HDBs coming along Sengkamg Central, huge condo complexes around Buangkok Drive.
Originally posted by Acx1688:Fellow bus fans harping on sv43 on sundays, 30mins is exaggeration, i stay along the route, max waiting time witnessed is 18mins...
Sv 48 should soon get DDs once the trees along Bukit Timah stretch are chopped. They will do it for Sv 960 and in turn will benefit Sv 48. Still ok if Sv 66 continues with SDs.