Originally posted by carbikebus:Or 36 to resorts world sentosa?At least can shut off the engine as CGA doesnt have a proper layover lots
At times i wonder hw svc like RWS8 n 36 have their meal break.
Originally posted by TIB 585L:At times i wonder hw svc like RWS8 n 36 have their meal break.
Got staff makan shop there la.
Would converting Tomlinson Road stop into a roadside bus terminal be viable? Can possibly add 2 more parking lots along Tomlinson bus terminal for the buses to layover.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Or 36 to resorts world sentosa?At least can shut off the engine as CGA doesnt have a proper layover lots
What they can do is swap sv 16 and sv 36 routes.
sv 16 from Bedok loop @ Tomlinson road
sv 36 Bukit Merah loop @ CGA
Since sv 16 and 36 have route parallel from Stamford road... will not inconvenience pax.
Originally posted by Marvel68:Would converting Tomlinson Road stop into a roadside bus terminal be viable? Can possibly add 2 more parking lots along Tomlinson bus terminal for the buses to layover.
Cannot... there is Regent 4 seasons hotel there... no space + to my earlier point. people take sv 36 to Tanglin road. This would inconvenience ppl. I had similar suggestion before I took sv 36 few times and observed that bus has everytime 10-15 pax going to Tanglin.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Cannot... there is Regent 4 seasons hotel there... no space + to my earlier point. people take sv 36 to Tanglin road. This would inconvenience ppl. I had similar suggestion before I took sv 36 few times and observed that bus has everytime 10-15 pax going to Tanglin.
But a few times i drove 36 less ppl board or alight at Tomlinson also.36M can do e job la.Not say 36 from RWS to Tanglin take hours right?With the right scheduling all is possible.
Feeder: Soon Lee Bus Depot - Jurong West Street 81 (loop)
Length = 5.93km
Apart from proding new bus connection between Pioneer MRT Station and Jurong West Street 71 and Jurong West Street 81, this route provides a faster connection to/fro Boon Lay MRT Station (ie. shorter overall journey) for five combinations - 2 to MRT, 3 from MRT.
Fast connection to MRT
Faster connection from MRT
In terms of connection to Boon Lay MRT Station, people staying at Jurong West Neighbourhood 7 would benefit most from this route, followed by people staying at Jurong West Neighbourhood 8.
In terms of connection to Joo Koon MRT Station, this route should benefit everyone staying along the route.
Meanwhile, this route also provides new bus connection between Jurong West Street 81, Jurong West Street 71, Jurong West Street 61, and Soon Lee Street - where engineering tools and cheap miscellaneous items are sold.
In addition, originating from Soon Lee Bus Depot would enable the operator to minimise non-profit mileages by buses on this route.
During peak hours, this route may have a short-working trip running between Jurong West Avenue 5 and Pioneer MRT Station
For example,
Feeder: Soon Lee Bus Depot - Jurong West Street 81 (loop): Short-working trip:
Originally posted by JurongWestresident:Feeder: Soon Lee Bus Depot - Jurong West Street 81 (loop)
- Soon Lee Bus Depot
- Soon Lee Road
- Soon Lee Drive
- Pioneer Road North
- Jurong West Street 63 (Pioneer MRT Station)
- Jurong West Street 61
- Jurong West Street 71
- Jurong West Avenue 5
- Jurong West Street 82
- Jurong West Street 81
- Jurong West Street 71
- Jurong West Street 61
- Jurong West Street 63 (Pioneer MRT Station)
- Pioneer Road North
- Soon Lee Drive
- Soon Lee Road
- Soon Lee Bus Depot
Length = 5.93km
Apart from proding new bus connection between Pioneer MRT Station and Jurong West Street 71 and Jurong West Street 81, this route provides a faster connection to/fro Boon Lay MRT Station (ie. shorter overall journey) for five combinations - 2 to MRT, 3 from MRT.
Fast connection to MRT
- Blk 827
- Current (243W at blk 844A to interchange): 2.4km
- New (nbs + MRT): 2.33km
- Blk 711
- Current (242): 2.5km
- New (nbs + MRT): 1.85km
Faster connection from MRT
- Blk 711
- Current (242): 3.2km
- New (MRT + nbs): 1.87km
- Blk 817
- Current (242 to blk 715 bus stop): 3.0km
- Current (243W to blk 834 bus stop): 2.2km
- New (MRT + nbs to blk 817 bus stop): 2.12km
- Blk 701
- Current (243W to blk 641 bus stop): 1.6km
- Current (243W to blk 834 bus stop): 2.2km
- New (MRT + nbs): 1.87km
In terms of connection to Boon Lay MRT Station, people staying at Jurong West Neighbourhood 7 would benefit most from this route, followed by people staying at Jurong West Neighbourhood 8.
In terms of connection to Joo Koon MRT Station, this route should benefit everyone staying along the route.
Meanwhile, this route also provides new bus connection between Jurong West Street 81, Jurong West Street 71, Jurong West Street 61, and Soon Lee Street - where engineering tools and cheap miscellaneous items are sold.
In addition, originating from Soon Lee Bus Depot would enable the operator to minimise non-profit mileages by buses on this route.
During peak hours, this route may have a short-working trip running between Jurong West Avenue 5 and Pioneer MRT Station
For example,
Feeder: Soon Lee Bus Depot - Jurong West Street 81 (loop): Short-working trip:
- Jurong West Avenue 5
- Jurong West Street 82
- Jurong West Street 81
- Jurong West Street 71
- Jurong West Street 61
- Jurong West Street 63
- (Pioneer Road North)
- return to depot, or return to Jurong West Avenue 5
my feel that bus authority will not introduce such a route as peop prefer conection to boon lay more to pioneer. wen u calculate distance note that boon lay is one station before as well. for pioneer north resident u can use 179 and for ave 4 u can use 192 &193. for ave 5 you can use 185. so real no need. for st 71 u have 242. bad route as per me. i hope can give honest feedback here. thank u.
Originally posted by proudtobeme:my feel that bus authority will not introduce such a route as people prefer connection to boon lay more to pioneer. wen u calculate distance note that boon lay is one station before as well. for pioneer north resident u can use 179 and for ave 4 u can use 192 &193. for ave 5 you can use 185. so real no need. for st 71 u have 242. bad route as per me. i hope can give honest feedback here. thank u.
Thanks for your opinion.
When I analysed the distance savings from this route, I realise most of the savings are from Jurong West Street 71/Avenue 5 area; 242's coverage. The savings are around one kilometre, which are quite significant.
If a route can enable one to travel shorter distance, thus save on transport costs, it will yield loadings. If a route can enable one to travel faster, even if longer distance, it will also yield loadings.
Not sure if you know, it is quite hard to take the feeder buses 242, 243G and 243W during evening peak period at the interchange. It is nearly impossible to board 181 and 243G along Jurong West Street 64 during evening peak period.
During morning peak period, by the time 179, 241 and 241A arrive at blk 705, they are usually already full. While most of 241 and 241A's loadings originate from Jurong West Neighbourhood 9, most of 179's loading concentrate at blk 840.
Not sure if you are aware, the number of people at blk 840 waiting for 179 during weekday morning peak period is comparable to the number of people waiting for 243G/243W/242 at the interchange during evening peak period.
I do not understand why more buses are added to 179A instead of 179. 179A does not serve Pioneer Road North. During the 0630-0730 period, most commuters taking 179 are residents commuting on it to the MRT (Mass Rapid Transit) stations and bus interchange.
It would be good if more of 179's resources can be deployed for residents during the 0630-0730 period. On other periods, more of 179's resources can be deployed for NTU (Nanyang Technological University) students. After all, NTU's peak period is not 0630-0730.
Rather than short trips, the authorities can simply add buses into 179 halfway in the route, like what it is done on 243, during the 0630-0730 period.
If resources can be utilised like this, we can have a even smaller fleet size on 179, with only more buses during the 0630-0730 resident's peak period and during the NTU students' peak period (in addition to 179A) - which in total is only around 2 to 3 hours of the approximately 18 hours 179 is operated in a day.
Meanwhile, this new route provides a new bus connection, to Soon Lee Street: where engineering tools and equipments are sold (no need to go all the way to SLT/SLS at Bugis) and cheap daily necessities are sold.
There are new HDB (Housing and Development Board) flats coming up along Jurong West Avenue 4/5. Opposite Pioneer Mall, there will be one new flat specially designed for the elderly. Along Pioneer Road North, there will be a few new rental flats. All will be ready by around 2017/2018. If BSEP is primarily meant for new residential developments, I believe these new HDB flats along Jurong West Avenue 4/5 should make Jurong West Street 61/71/81 eligible for new BSEP (Bus Service Enhancement Programme) routes.
In addition, there will be a new Polyclinic and a new Hawker centre built at Jurong West Street 61, which would increase the demand for bus connection to Jurong West Street 61. When the new nursing home at Jurong West Street 93 is completed later this year, the demand for bus connection to Jurong West Street 91 will increase.
By 2030/2040, the 2West developments will be completed, and this will result in a further increase in demand for public transport in Pioneer (Jurong West) and Boon Lay (Jurong West).
As various areas in Pioneer (Jurong West) experience increase in traffic over time, there will come a time when the existing bus network is not able to cope with the demand. There is a limit in the number of additional buses that can be added to bus route 243G, 243W, 242 and 241. New bus routes will be required here some day.
Amendment Service 983
Choa Chu Kang - Sembawang
New Service 984
Sembawang - Woodlands
New Service 986
Sembawang - Bt Merah
Proposal for sv 983
CCK Interchange
CCK Dr (Northvale Condo, Opp Blk 704)
CCK North 5 (Blk 754)
CCK st 54 (Kranji Pri School, Opp Blk 771A)
CCK North 6 (Blk 790)
CCK Dr (Yew Tee MRT)
CCK North 7 (Blk 619, Blk 614)
CCK Way (Blk 610A, Bet Blk 552 & Blk 552A, Blk 523, Blk 511A, Blk 307)
CCK Ave 4 (existing stops)
CCK Ave 5 (existing stops)
CCK Ave 6 (Blk 490A)
CCK Ave 1 (existing stops)
CCK Way (existing stops)
CCK Rd (existing stops)
Upper Bukit Timah Rd (BPJ MRT)
Petir Rd (BPJ LRT)
Jelubu Rd (existing stop)
BPJ Road (existing stop)
CCK road & back to CCK Interchange via Keat Hong/Yew Tee.
* Indicates new stops
* Planned extension to BPJ MRT (will connect ave 4, 5, 6, 1 to DTL2)
* Yew Tee will get direct connection to DTL2, no need to do MRT, LRT, MRT
* Yew Tee st 54, CCK Way, North 7 will get new stops with direct connection to YT MRT (neglected today)
* Will act as an intratown within CCK town
* Such a service will get huge loading, and will require high capacity buses. If someone from LTA reading, should surely implement.
Route Suggestion on BSEP 306, 983 & 984...
Service 306 [Choa Chu Kang Int <> Choa Chu Kang St 54, North 6/7]
- Revert 300G/W back to 300 as a 1-way trip to make space for 306
- Provide better access link to Yew Tee and army camps along Choa Chu Kang Way
- Help divert loading from 302, 302A & 307
Service 983 [Choa Chu Kang Int <> Bt Panjang] (LOOP)
- Pair of new bus stops already shaped near Keat Hong Close currently, that will possibly make way for future 983 extension (labeled with orange line as indication in the map)
- To make up the speed along the route, it'll will ply Brickland as a suggestion for now, so that pax can head back to their estate in a shorter time
Service 984 [Sembawang Int <> Choa Chu Kang Terminal]
- A new roadside terminal beside the landscape & current CCK Interchange encouraged
- Better connection to CCK via Woodlands/BKE/Mandai Rd/Sungei Kadut Ave/Yew Tee
- Many uncovered sections would be served
- Semi-parallel MRT service
https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=zs70d3gkW184.kjc8MfdPMvAo
Service 928
Kranji Depot - Yew Tee (Loop)
Bukit Panjang - Yew Tee (Loop)
902 can extend to Outside Wldep?
Originally posted by carbikebus:902 can extend to Outside Wldep?
There will be new road beside RP where it will lead to Woodlands North Stn, which I think 902 will be extended to serve there then maybe to Admiralty Rd West and Wlands Ind Park sector...
Great!
https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=zMyj24OYJjug.k_Zog65GqaC0
Route Suggestion: Service 134
- Better connection from Ang Mo Kio Int to Nanyang Poly/YCK Station (eases SVC 86)
- Direct connection from AMK/YCK Road to Seletar Mall (eases SVC 50/86)
- New connection from Seletar Mall to Farmway LRT
- Better Connectivity in Punggol West
NOTES
-Can start off with a fleet of 2 DDs, 7 SDs
-To be amended to Sengkang West Road once it opens
-AMDEP controlled
-Service 130 to be shifted to 261/269 berth, with 134 using 130 berth
-My route planning skills isn't good so please give me some feedback on this!
- Edited: 08/02/2015 1503 hours
https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=zMyj24OYJjug.kHa98yvo7vV8
Route Suggestion: Extension of Service 103
- Direct connection from Yishun to Seletar Airport/Serangoon
- Red/white plate at West Camp Road
- Fleet: 14 SDs
https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=zMyj24OYJjug.kgT2vaTZ5ZQE
Route Suggestion: Extension of Service 138
- Fast and Direct connection from Choa Chu Kang/Bukit Panjang to Ang Mo Kio/Singapore Zoo
- Withdrawal of Service 927
- Calls at Bt Panjang ITH
- Red/white plate at Singapore Zoo
- Fleet:
Originally posted by TIB1112L:https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=zMyj24OYJjug.k_Zog65GqaC0
Route Suggestion: Service 134
- Better connection from Ang Mo Kio Int to Nanyang Poly/YCK Station (eases SVC 86)
- Direct connection from AMK/YCK Road to Seletar Mall (eases SVC 50/86)
- New connection from Seletar Mall to Farmway LRT
- Better Connectivity in Punggol West
NOTES
-Can start off with a fleet of 2 DDs, 7 SDs
-To be amended to Sengkang West Road once it opens
-AMDEP controlled
-Service 130 to be shifted to 261/269 berth, with 134 using 130 berth
-My route planning skills isn't good so please give me some feedback on this!
- Edited: 08/02/2015 1503 hours
All your three routes are quite good, especially 103. However, I'm not sure if 138's extension can be implemented, as the route is quite long... But still, keep up the good suggestions.
Originally posted by TIB1112L:https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=zMyj24OYJjug.kgT2vaTZ5ZQE
Route Suggestion: Extension of Service 138
- Fast and Direct connection from Choa Chu Kang/Bukit Panjang to Ang Mo Kio/Singapore Zoo
- Withdrawal of Service 927
- Calls at Bt Panjang ITH
- Red/white plate at Singapore Zoo
- Fleet:
- Weekday - 14 SDs
- Weekends and PH - 20 SDs
Hmmm, I rather delete the Zoo sector. For Zoo sector, 927 can be amended to started from BPJ (since it will have DTL soon) and 138M for AMK side.
Originally posted by ButIAmAToilet:Hmmm, I rather delete the Zoo sector. For Zoo sector, 927 can be amended to started from BPJ (since it will have DTL soon) and 138M for AMK side.
delete Zoo then no purpose since 138 loading much higher than 927
Originally posted by 23ispolo:All your three routes are quite good, especially 103. However, I'm not sure if 138's extension can be implemented, as the route is quite long... But still, keep up the good suggestions.
103 is BusAnalayser's favourite LOL