Originally posted by carbikebus:Saw two K230UBs,1 Citaro and 2 WEGs all empty passing by Tampines Ave 5 today..
Which service?
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Which service?
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Imagine traveling on a rigid on 969. In peak hours, you will have 60-65 pax board at Tampines Interchange. 30-35 pax have to stand all the way upto Khatib, where some people will alight. Of course, there will be many who will wait for another 969 so that they get place to sit.
Others who are getting late, will still take it and stick it out, complaining, fuming about SMRTs 969 when they see 168/161 zooming with all people getting a seat.
Hence, from SMRT side, it needs to upgrade both its bendy and rigid slots to DDs.
985 is another service that is long overdue for high capacity buses. Surely, people will use MRT than stand all the way along PIE to get back home.
If that's the case, SMRT should make 969 a loop svc, where drivers get 5-10mins toilet break before returning to WRI, for their proper break.
Standing all the way to Khatib isn't like standing from Jurong East to Changi Airport right? Even 858, 27, 34 etc. commuters have to stand their way from Airport back home..
If they got plenty of time to queue for 969, just for the seats, why not walk out take 168(with seats @ UOB building) to Woodlands, take bus to Admiralty/Yishun? Higher chances of getting seats...
Loading on sv 139 from Toa Payoh Interchange @ 7.40am KUB
Toa Payoh Interchange -- 44
Opp Trellis Towers -- 49 (-4/9)
Balestier Rd -- 48 (-5/4)
Ah Hood Rd -- 43 (-9/4)
Jalan Rajah -- 40 (-11/8), 34 (-14/8)
Whampoa Rd -- 34 (-5/5)
Jalan Bahagia -- 38 (-5/9), 44 (-4/10)
Kim Keat Rd -- 52 (0/8), 58 (-1/7)
Balestiar Rd -- 58 (-6/6), 64 (-4/10), 67 (-2/5), 71 (-3/7)
Boon Keng Rd -- 52 (-25/6) high # pax alighting to take NEL at this stop
Bendemeer Rd -- 48 (-6/2)
Jalan Besar -- 56 (-3/11), 55 (-8/7), 59 (-6/10), 58 (-3/2)
Bencoolen -- 52 (-9/3)
Middle Rd -- 48 (-7/3)
Bencoolen -- 44 (-4/0)
Stamford Rd -- 43 (-7/6)
Clemenceau Ave -- 44 (-3/4)
River Valley Rd -- 40 (-8/4) I alighted here as I had work at UE Square
** Just before Boon Keng MRT, # pax went 70+ (the only DD loading area on the bus I took)
** Except for me I think all the 40 pax who boarded at TPY Interchange alighted before the bus hit Balestiar again... so it definitely has 2 distinct loading patterns (this must have prompted introduction of 139M)
** I left the bus at River Valley, but dont expect loading to go beyond 45-50 pax between River Valley and Bukit Merah
** Want to take the DD once and see for the DD timings what the loading is like.
I took sv 136 this morning from Punggol Interchange given the # of comments on this service in this forum and I needed to get to Ang Mo Kio for work anyway.
Bus: KUB (was hoping would get the DD), Time: 7.25am
Punggol Interchange -- 16
Punggol Central -- 24 (0/8), 35 (-2/13)
Edgefield Plains -- 44 (-6/15)
Punggol Field -- 52 (-2/10)
Punggol Rd -- 56 (-9/13), 57 (-8/9), 61 (-2/6)
Sengkang East Way -- 59 (-8/6), 63 (-5/9)
Rivervale Dr -- 66 (-7/10), 72 (-2/10)* 2 pax could not board bus, 71 (-6/5)* 5-6 pax could not board bus as it was totally packed
Upper Serangoon Rd -- 72 (-5/7) * 3 pax left behind, 68 (-4/0)* 4-5 pax on stop who could not board as BC did not open front door, 71 (-4/7)* after 4 stops, no people were left behind, 64 (-13/6), 63 (-5/4), 60 (-7/4), 50 (-16/6)* many pax alighted at SGN JC, 52 (0/2), 48 (-12/8), 47 (-4/3), 46 (-3/2)
YCK Road -- 46 (-2/2), 47 (-2/3), 45 (-3/1)
Serangoon Garden Way -- 47 (-2/4), 48 (-3/4), 42 (-12/6)* many pax alight at Chomp Chomp
Lor Chuan -- 46 (-1/5), 48 (-1/3)
Boundary Rd -- 47 (-4/3)
AMK Ave 1 -- 46 (-3/2), 45 (-3/2), 42 (-5/2), 37 (-5/0), 36 (-3/2)
AMK Ave 6 -- 28 (-10/2)
AMK Ave 3 -- 19 (-9/0)
** Heavy loading between Rivervale and Kovan. People could not board for 4-5 stops. Is this normal? sbst91 and sbs5010P say this bus has no loading... but my observation is very different from today morning
** The bus I took should def have been the crossover DD slot.. either it was late or the increase in # of housing complexes in Punggol/Sengkang/Upper Serangoon area have led to major increase in loading
** I am sure this bus was late as it waited for lot of time along Rivervale/Upper Serangoon for people to alight/board
** No wonder SBST decided to experiment DD on this service even during PM. I will take this bus one of the days to observe peak hour PM loading
** Loading drops after Kovan
If anyone else volunteers to observe AM loading on this service, please do!!
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I took sv 136 this morning from Punggol Interchange given the # of comments on this service in this forum and I needed to get to Ang Mo Kio for work anyway.
Bus: KUB (was hoping would get the DD), Time: 7.25am
Punggol Interchange -- 16
Punggol Central -- 24 (0/8), 35 (-2/13)
Edgefield Plains -- 44 (-6/15)
Punggol Field -- 52 (-2/10)
Punggol Rd -- 56 (-9/13), 57 (-8/9), 61 (-2/6)
Sengkang East Way -- 59 (-8/6), 63 (-5/9)
Rivervale Dr -- 66 (-7/10), 72 (-2/10)* 2 pax could not board bus, 71 (-6/5)* 5-6 pax could not board bus as it was totally packed
Upper Serangoon Rd -- 72 (-5/7) * 3 pax left behind, 68 (-4/0)* 4-5 pax on stop who could not board as BC did not open front door, 71 (-4/7)* after 4 stops, no people were left behind, 64 (-13/6), 63 (-5/4), 60 (-7/4), 50 (-16/6)* many pax alighted at SGN JC, 52 (0/2), 48 (-12/8), 47 (-4/3), 46 (-3/2)
YCK Road -- 46 (-2/2), 47 (-2/3), 45 (-3/1)
Serangoon Garden Way -- 47 (-2/4), 48 (-3/4), 42 (-12/6)* many pax alight at Chomp Chomp
Lor Chuan -- 46 (-1/5), 48 (-1/3)
Boundary Rd -- 47 (-4/3)
AMK Ave 1 -- 46 (-3/2), 45 (-3/2), 42 (-5/2), 37 (-5/0), 36 (-3/2)
AMK Ave 6 -- 28 (-10/2)
AMK Ave 3 -- 19 (-9/0)
** Heavy loading between Rivervale and Kovan. People could not board for 4-5 stops. Is this normal? sbst91 and sbs5010P say this bus has no loading... but my observation is very different from today morning
** The bus I took should def have been the crossover DD slot.. either it was late or the increase in # of housing complexes in Punggol/Sengkang/Upper Serangoon area have led to major increase in loading
** I am sure this bus was late as it waited for lot of time along Rivervale/Upper Serangoon for people to alight/board
** No wonder SBST decided to experiment DD on this service even during PM. I will take this bus one of the days to observe peak hour PM loading
** Loading drops after Kovan
If anyone else volunteers to observe AM loading on this service, please do!!
Hi mr busanalyser, this loading from Punggol to kovan is typical every weekday morning (School day) from 6.30am onwards to around 9.30am. Nothing strange about it. Good frequency in the early morning. The route that sbs 136 is on currently does not have many new HDB flats coming up (save for the few condos near Rivervale drive/upper serangoon rd). Cheers.
Isn't today Teacher's Day? Might have less pax than usual
Originally posted by ButIAmAToilet:Isn't today Teacher's Day? Might have less pax than usual
Yes.. there were not many students.. they were office people who alighted near Serangoon JC and Kovan to change to maybe other service/take train.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Eh seriously 136 doesnt need DDs..only 1 or 2 trips full after that you will see ghost loadings..Sat and Sun more worse.Unlike 45 or 50.
Bro.. You might be right... But my loading observation does show strong loading in AM peak. Maybe that's why you have 2 AM DDs crossover from Sv 22 coz only during those few trips, loading can be huge and then it goes flat.
if you get time, pls do survey on 136 bet 7-730 am from Punggol coz even I was shocked seeing the loading. I did not expect some ppl will not be able to board a 136 bus.
there could be few factors:
1. Huge time gap bet bus ahead and this one
2. 62 and 119 have not called the stops, hence all load from Sengkang East Way, Fernvale, Upper Serangoon board 136
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Bro.. You might be right... But my loading observation does show strong loading in AM peak. Maybe that's why you have 2 AM DDs crossover from Sv 22 coz only during those few trips, loading can be huge and then it goes flat.
if you get time, pls do survey on 136 bet 7-730 am from Punggol coz even I was shocked seeing the loading. I did not expect some ppl will not be able to board a 136 bus.
there could be few factors:
1. Huge time gap bet bus ahead and this one
2. 62 and 119 have not called the stops, hence all load from Sengkang East Way, Fernvale, Upper Serangoon board 136
Hi mr busanalyser, nothing very strange. Not only sbs 136. Heavy loading for sbs 3 from 6.40am all the way up to 8.10am on weekdays morning. Many people cannot board too. Have to squeeze into all the single deck sbs 3. Need 2 DDs for sbs 3 during this timing. Only when sbs 3 reach UMC bus stop after TPE, then the crowd subsides. When will they finally put DDs on sbs 3 in this timing??? Btw, the word fernvale in last statement should be Rivervale. Cheers!
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr busanalyser, nothing very strange. Not only sbs 136. Heavy loading for sbs 3 from 6.40am all the way up to 8.10am on weekdays morning. Many people cannot board too. Have to squeeze into all the single deck sbs 3. Need 2 DDs for sbs 3 during this timing. Only when sbs 3 reach UMC bus stop after TPE, then the crowd subsides. When will they finally put DDs on sbs 3 in this timing??? Btw, the word fernvale in last statement should be Rivervale. Cheers!
I agree with you. After higher occupancy in PGL now.. Sbs 3 is also getting over crowded and they should experiment 2 DDs on its route. Just thinking - would there be turning restriction near Pasir Ris st 21.
Tamp direction should not be an issue. Pasir Ris St 21 might be possible with slow driving. The Tamp St 21 junction near Pasir Ris Sec might be an issue though.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Tampines is not an issue cause i ever saw SBST ever test a DD from the school(Opp blk 241/240) there..Pasir Ris narrow roads is the cause hence you see why 358/359 nvr get DDs
Hi mr carbikebus, so is it pasir ris at 21 or tampines st 21 issue? Cheers.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr carbikebus, so is it pasir ris at 21 or tampines st 21 issue? Cheers.
Yes it is Pasir Ris st 21 where the issue could be for sv 3.
Though they can start 3M between Pasir Ris Interchange and Punggol Interchange with DDs. Anyway M is the new fancy of LTA after trying stupid P routes.
I have to say I do prefer the M variants to the P anyday!!!
Originally posted by carbikebus:So 3M Tampines to PSR skipping PSR St 21?Bsep with 4 DDs and 2 Citaros?Lol
Hi mr carbikebus, i am afraid current sbs 3 can handle tampines to pasir ris well. It is 3M for punggol to pasir ris int and also pasir ris int to punggol. And please take out 3A, 3B when 3M is implemented. Cheers.
Originally posted by carbikebus:So 3M Tampines to PSR skipping PSR St 21?Bsep with 4 DDs and 2 Citaros?Lol
The route I have proposed is 3M from Pasir Ris Interchange to Punggol.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr carbikebus, i am afraid current sbs 3 can handle tampines to pasir ris well. It is 3M for punggol to pasir ris int and also pasir ris int to punggol. And please take out 3A, 3B when 3M is implemented. Cheers.
Maybe only need a SWT from Pasir Ris Interchange during PM peak between 17.45 and 19.30 hours to terminate at Pasir Ris Dr 1 for residents along Pasir Ris St 21 who have only sv 3 to get home from MRT. 1-2 buses can crossover from sv 3 during this time slot as capacity will be enhanced with 3M between Pasir Ris and Punggol anyway.
Depots:
Buses:
SBS970B SBS1925B SBS1971S SBS2645C
5 Volvo B10M Mark IV (2 DM / 3 Strider)
SBS6387X
1 Mercedes-Benz O530 Citaro (1 BSEP Batch 2)
SBS8220E SBS8570U SBS8571S SBS8572P SBS8573L SBS8575G SBS8576D SBS8579X SBS8593D SBS8601P SBS8631C SBS8632A SBS8633Y SBS8668Y
14 Scania K230UB (1 Batch 2 Euro IV / 13 Batch 1 Euro V)
SBS6469T SBS6473E
2 Mercedes-Benz O530 Citaro (2 BSEP Batch 2)
SBS5232R SBS8620J
2 Scania K230UB (1 Batch 1 Euro V / 1 Batch 2 Euro V)