Originally posted by ButIAmAToilet:
Anyway, I also notice some interesting stuff while waiting.
Pax seems to like taking 972 from Plaza Sing stop. I do not know why currently.
#endofrant
Very simple reason bro. Got seat at PS bus stop. If u take at penang road bus stop, prob got to stand 1hrs to bt panjang with the man a22 buses.
We need more buses
Originally posted by phillipC:Very simple reason bro. Got seat at PS bus stop. If u take at penang road bus stop, prob got to stand 1hrs to bt panjang with the man a22 buses.
Haha.. No la... Bus not full at Penang road.. Only advantage is you can choose ur seat and do not need to cross road... MAN will have standees only at Somerset MRT and will be packed to door at Scotts.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Haha.. No la... Bus not full at Penang road.. Only advantage is you can choose ur seat and do not need to cross road... MAN will have standees only at Somerset MRT and will be packed to door at Scotts.
bro i beg to differ on your statement especially during evening peak hours from 6pm to 8pm. All the seats are chopped by the people who boarded at PS bus stop. Very hardly you will find any seat even at the YMCA bus stop with the MAN Lion buses. That's why you see a lot of smart people choose to board at PS Bus stop for Sv972.
SMRT should have 25 DDs and 16 bendies for 190,If A95 order is confirmed then all DDs
10 DDs and 4 SDs for 972
10 DDs and 8 SDs for 700
Originally posted by carbikebus:SMRT should have 25 DDs and 16 bendies for 190,If A95 order is confirmed then all DDs
10 DDs and 4 SDs for 972
10 DDs and 8 SDs for 700
Sv 700 don't need so many DDs... 6 DDs, 12 SDs is good enough. Agree with other two.
700 can provide alternative for those going Orchard
Originally posted by carbikebus:700 can provide alternative for those going Orchard
But now days 700 has become more of service for Petir residents as BPJ ring residents use 972 (who would earlier use LRT/920/922 and change to 700). BPJ road have option bet 190 and 700. Seen 700 loading suffer... Not as high as used to be.
As far as i know 700 loadings has not decreased,if loading is poor explain why get 19 buses from 15 in a year time?Still got 2-3 DDs somemore leh..Dun anyhow assume la bro,My uncle drive 700 leh bro..where got loading decrease?
Originally posted by carbikebus:As far as i know 700 loadings has not decreased,if loading is poor explain why get 19 buses from 15 in a year time?Still got 2-3 DDs somemore leh..Dun anyhow assume la bro,My uncle drive 700 leh bro..where got loading decrease?
Which also explains why bendies are also still seen... I think someone has to seriously look at how 700's loading are right now and find out where the passengers come from.
The load prob come from bt panjang road blk 604 bus stop, where commuters got the choice of 190 and 700 headings to orchard. If 700 go back to the new interchange, think 190 will suffer again, 700 load may drop. May drop, dont shoot me.
On the other hand, not many will choose 972 at that bus stop cos merry go around in bt panjang b4 heading BKE N PIE. Save money n time, only ppl living inside will take 972. Interesting to see ppl running up n down that bus stops (opp blk 183 and bus stop at blk 604) catching 922 n 972 due to LTA solid planning.
Originally posted by carbikebus:As far as i know 700 loadings has not decreased,if loading is poor explain why get 19 buses from 15 in a year time?Still got 2-3 DDs somemore leh..Dun anyhow assume la bro,My uncle drive 700 leh bro..where got loading decrease?
Not assuming. It's real observation. Have seen even SDs during peak hours easily managing loads... This wasn't the case a year back.. Also 700 had 15 buses 2.5 years back.. Since then it got BSEP/non-BSEP fleet add. You need to also consider back then 972 didn't have DDs, was a new service. 190 fleet also didn't have DDs. Situation has improved a lot and I think where it is relevant, we need to applaud LTA for good efforts on this sector.
Imho 190 & 972 cannot relieve all the BPJ pax towards Orchard..Observe and driving the bus itself is a different thing...How long do you observe?4 hrs?4 days?4 weeks?
700 come handy when 190 & 972 in front packed to the max,even 700 bendy also full seated plus standees..
190 need full 42 DDs,972 is best with all DDs too..700 40% DDs will do
Originally posted by carbikebus:Imho 190 & 972 cannot relieve all the BPJ pax towards Orchard..Observe and driving the bus itself is a different thing...How long do you observe?4 hrs?4 days?4 weeks?
700 come handy when 190 & 972 in front packed to the max,even 700 bendy also full seated plus standees..
190 need full 42 DDs,972 is best with all DDs too..700 40% DDs will do
Ok bro.
Originally posted by ButIAmAToilet:Pax seems to like taking 972 from Plaza Sing stop. I do not know why currently.
#endofrant
One reason would be that most people realize it is the last stop before 972 loops around to head back to BPJ and that it'll be empty as everyone heading towards town from BPJ would've probably alighted which means there will be so many empty seats available if you board from plaza sing.
Few services where SMRT has blundered big time.
=> 187 (only 4 high capacity buses when fleet should have had maximum bendy/high capacity fleet given it has consistent high loading. Sector between Jurong East Ave 1 and Lakeside, everyday lose pax to sv 98...)
=> 851 (number of bendies reduced to big extent... when actually should have been majority bendy fleet as well... has lost pax to other services)
=> 854 (another big blunder... sv 25 consistenly comes as DDs with one off SDs.. and 854 has kept on losing bendies... and more and more SDs are coming... irritating ppl with spamming overflowing SDs)
=> 985 (another service... where there should have been at least 5-6 bendies or DDs... yet not a single high capacity bus... buses are packed.. and I am sure more pax would have taken bus if it were high capacity)
=> 969 (needs so many more DDs... consistent high loading yet you see SDs during peak hours... that make you go WTH)
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Few services where SMRT has blundered big time.
=> 187 (only 4 high capacity buses when fleet should have had maximum bendy/high capacity fleet given it has consistent high loading. Sector between Jurong East Ave 1 and Lakeside, everyday lose pax to sv 98...)
=> 851 (number of bendies reduced to big extent... when actually should have been majority bendy fleet as well... has lost pax to other services)
=> 854 (another big blunder... sv 25 consistenly comes as DDs with one off SDs.. and 854 has kept on losing bendies... and more and more SDs are coming... irritating ppl with spamming overflowing SDs)
=> 985 (another service... where there should have been at least 5-6 bendies or DDs... yet not a single high capacity bus... buses are packed.. and I am sure more pax would have taken bus if it were high capacity)
=> 969 (needs so many more DDs... consistent high loading yet you see SDs during peak hours... that make you go WTH)
Need bigger depot that the main reason,985 got to do with the low lying branches at Lor 1
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Few services where SMRT has blundered big time.
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:
yes. clearly, many of us here agree that even if all the 201 ADL are deployed, there is still not enough ADDs. so best is SMRT should quickly order production batches of the A95. in this way, 2 different manufacturers release new buses in batches would help double-up the time to intro more ADDs on the roads.
Agreed,Will be worsen if SMRT win the first tender package,41,49,78,79,96,97,98,143,183,285,334...They need at least another 300 more if these service is won.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Agreed,Will be worsen if SMRT win the first tender package,41,49,78,79,96,97,98,143,183,285,334...They need at least another 300 more if these service is won.
Just to your point, I feel it is impossible for SMRT to win the tender given services lik 78, 79, 143, 183, 285, 334 just cannot survive without DDs and if you total these DDs + the other BBT services under package, SMRT will fall short big time.
If it has to remain competitive, it needs to place an order soon.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Just to your point, I feel it is impossible for SMRT to win the tender given services lik 78, 79, 143, 183, 285, 334 just cannot survive without DDs and if you total these DDs + the other BBT services under package, SMRT will fall short big time.
If it has to remain competitive, it needs to place an order soon.
I guess everyone seemed to have forgotten that under the new tendering system, the PTO does not need to own those asset. So in actual fact, there is no pressure on SMRT to procure new fleet to secure the tenders that are up for grabs.
(although they can jolly well do so to improve the capacity of the routes that wont be included in the competitve tendering system in the short run to gain more brownie points and "look good" in front of the general public and especially LTA.)
Originally posted by Simply.90:I guess everyone seemed to have forgotten that under the new tendering system, the PTO does not need to own those asset. So in actual fact, there is no pressure on SMRT to procure new fleet to secure the tenders that are up for grabs.
(although they can jolly well do so to improve the capacity of the routes that wont be included in the competitve tendering system in the short run to gain more brownie points and "look good" in front of the general public and especially LTA.)
Yes you are right. Thanks for the reminder (:
Thats why theyre so smart despite the cheapskate attitude,Once if they win Govt already order more Enviro 500s or even A95s(If they purchase before 2016) to beef up the fleets..But ive strong feeling that SBST wont get all the 3 package offered..1st tender either SMRT or new operator,2nd tender new operator and 3rd package SBST,SMRT or new player..
Weekends mah,thus you see 84 almost full..Their peak loadings is from Friday evening,Saturdays,Sundays and PHs..Can get an average of 35-45 pax per bus..Normal days just 20-25 odd pax the most.