Has anyone done loading for 177 recently?
If anything, I wonder how much would the opening of Cashew station affect the load for 177.
Sbs 102 is launched today. I spotted that it has DD. Service plate number is 3446D at 11.45am at Hougang interchange. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by AJQZC:Has anyone done loading for 177 recently?
If anything, I wonder how much would the opening of Cashew station affect the load for 177.
177 should convert into full day service under BSEP next year with DTL2. This is my feeling and makes sense also with the # of condos opening up at Hillview and poor connectivity in general to BBT MRT
Originally posted by dupdup77:Sbs 102 is launched today. I spotted that it has DD. Service plate number is 3446D at 11.45am at Hougang interchange. Cheers. Thanks.
This means 3446D is HGDEP and not SLBP unlike some stated.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:177 should convert into full day service under BSEP next year with DTL2. This is my feeling and makes sense also with the # of condos opening up at Hillview and poor connectivity in general to BBT MRT
That would be good. The service can be extended to serve Yew Tee as well.
But does the Hillview area get high demand? 176 seems to be doing okay for now.
Originally posted by AJQZC:That would be good. The service can be extended to serve Yew Tee as well.
But does the Hillview area get high demand? 176 seems to be doing okay for now.
Hillview are def got good demand.. Both sv 176 / 963 / 970 do quite well in Hillview area.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Hillview are def got good demand.. Both sv 176 / 963 / 970 do quite well in Hillview area.
Can kill 173 already. Split it up, with the current 173 going to Bt Panjang after Hume Ave, and a new short trunk from Bt Batok making a loop around Hume Ave / Upp Bt Timah Rd / Hillview Rd.
Either way, I hope either 177 or 173 (Bt Batok section) gets an extension to Yew Tee.
service 52 always don't make it on time at the bus interchange on the 825 and 832 timing. 410w full of people
Loading on sv 83 @ 07.40am from Punggol Interchange
Punggol Interchange -- 11
Punggol Central -- 15 (0/4), 18 (0/3), 18 (-4/4), 25 (-2/9)
Punggol East -- 27 (-1/3)
Punggol Field -- 36 (-3/12), 39 (-2/5), 38 (-5/4)
Punggol Road -- 35 (-9/6), 24 (-17/6)
Compassalve St -- 22 (-4/2), 24 (0/2)
Sengkang East Rd -- 28 (-2/6), 14 (-14/0)...
** Peak loading = 39 pax
** Most pax I feel used sv 83 to change to other service along Punggol road
** Spotted 4 buses in opposite direction, not a single bus had standing pax and seats
** This explains why sv 83 has still not got fleet add or upgrade in spite of BSEP introduced 3 years back and massive development in Punggol / Sengkang towns (def sv 50, sv 371 and DD upgrade on sv 3/85 might have shared some of its load)
** If sv 83 is diverted via Compassalve crescent, may see surge in loading between
Crescent and MRT
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Loading on sv 83 @ 07.40am from Punggol Interchange
Punggol Interchange -- 11
Punggol Central -- 15 (0/4), 18 (0/3), 18 (-4/4), 25 (-2/9)
Punggol East -- 27 (-1/3)
Punggol Field -- 36 (-3/12), 39 (-2/5), 38 (-5/4)
Punggol Road -- 35 (-9/6), 24 (-17/6)
Compassalve St -- 22 (-4/2), 24 (0/2)
Sengkang East Rd -- 28 (-2/6), 14 (-14/0)...
** Peak loading = 39 pax
** Most pax I feel used sv 83 to change to other service along Punggol road
** Spotted 4 buses in opposite direction, not a single bus had standing pax and seats
** This explains why sv 83 has still not got fleet add or upgrade in spite of BSEP introduced 3 years back and massive development in Punggol / Sengkang towns (def sv 50, sv 371 and DD upgrade on sv 3/85 might have shared some of its load)
** If sv 83 is diverted via Compassalve crescent, may see surge in loading between
Crescent and MRT
Any chance of 83 being extended? On either end?
Should observe Service 102's loading
Sv 83 loading where got so jialat. Maybe few trips only.
As for 102 the demand now can say like 324. As for DDs, Ppl dont move upstairs and only alight after a few stops. 102's demand i can say its only on weekends like sv 84
Originally posted by Sbs6750E:Should observe during weekdays evening from Sengkang Interchange. Packed the door.
Hi mr sbs6750E, yes I agree. I am inside the bus on SBS 83 on most evenings. Observed huge crowds even until 8.45pm on weekdays. This is one crucial bus which goes inside Punggol and many people alight at the stops along Punggol field Blk 196A, Blk 173B, Punggol plaza bus stop. As of present, current fleet can still handle demand. No DD is required because it is a short service mainly. People used this bus service for very few stops. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by sbst191:Sv 83 loading where got so jialat. Maybe few trips only.
As for 102 the demand now can say like 324. As for DDs, Ppl dont move upstairs and only alight after a few stops. 102's demand i can say its only on weekends like sv 84
Isn't it too early to comment on 102's loading? Also it has not even done one weekend properly to compare it to sv 84 of all...
Originally posted by Sbs6750E:Should observe during weekdays evening from Sengkang Interchange. Packed the door.
sv 83 is operating at around 10-12 mins frequency. If the bus is late to loop @ Sengkang possible to have higher loading bcoz still many people in Punggol area depend on Compass Point and amenities around Sengkang MRT / Kopitiam to get things done. But overall loading has dropped IMO b/w Sengkang and Punggol town.
Observation of services at Whitley towards PIE (Toa Payoh direction) from 18.00 - 19.00 hours
105 - spotted 3 SDs all had some standees (around 45-50 pax on board)
132 - spotted 4 DDs (2 of which had may be 70-80 pax, one was in the range of 50-60 pax and 4th one that came at 2 minute interval from previous one had around 15-20 pax on board)
151 - spotted 3 SDs all with few standees (around 40 pax on board)
153 - buses were quite packed and had many people who alighted at Whitley to transfer to 190/972 (2 DDs seemed to have around 70/80 pax and SD had around 50/60 pax as per my observation)
154 - mostly SDs came (opp direction were DDs).. most had standing but manageable is what I would say (range of 50-55 pax)
156 - only two bus came in 1 hour observaton duration and that too had no standees (around 30 pax on board)
186 - spotted 1 DD and 2 SDs... all 3 buses must have had around 20 pax on board
** Overall, all buses leading to Toa Payoh direction had modest loading and no issues with loading. 153 to me was surprising that it seemed to have the highest loading among all services that called during that time followed with 132 and 154.
Observation of services at Whitley towards PIE (BPJ direction) from 18.00 - 19.00 hours
190 - buses came at an interval of 03-05 minutes (16 buses) with many DDs bunching as well. In the duration I observed, no SD came but I saw 4 SDs in the opposite direction towards NBR. I would say at least 2 DDs were packed to door, where as all others could be in the range of 80-100 pax. 1 bendy that came during the period also was packed to door but had DD right behind that took the pax. So overall 190 is doing great with a high frequency and people are able to board well now. Take note that apart from the frequency, there was not one bus that left Whitley stop without standees.
700 - spotted 3 SDs in the duration of 1 hour compared to around 16 buses on sv 190. Surprisingly, the buses came to Whitley stop with maybe 40-50 pax on board only. So SDs managed the loading very well. Definitely 972 has tanked its loading. So it is mainly the Petir road residents who take 700 these days. Absolutely manageable with SDs
960 - spotted only 5 buses in 1 hour duration... that to me seemed very less.. also to note, not even 1 of them was a DD... the 5 buses were 3 bendies and 2 SDs... and all 5 of them had standees but none of them were packed to door. Most buses in opposite direction were DDs towards Marina Center.. I was confused. So are the DDs deployed for Woodlands Road industrial estate towards BPJ to cater to the high loading there? Or maybe it is just the hour I observed didn't have DDs towards WRI... maybe has before 6pm and after 7pm. Also frequency seemed lower than expected but overall no complain because buses were not overly packed. I think also to do with 190/972 alternatives
972 - spotted around 11 DDs... buses came at frequency of 02-07 mins... Every time the Steven road signal turned green... either a 972 came or 190 or both... 972 loading is lesser than 190 as expected but has on average 60 pax loading.. Most buses were around the range of 55-60 pax loading, there were few that came in after 07 mins that were packed but none packed-to-door. Clearly when you stand at Whitley, you notice that even if 190 or 700 calls, passengers wait for 972 as direct option. Didn't see that with 700 and 960.
** Overall such a huge improvement to BPJ services. I just can't imagine how the loading was managed before DDs came on 190 and 972... Well done on this sector to manage the loading :)
SBS3028C more than 58 passengers in the lower deck
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Observation of services at Whitley towards PIE (BPJ direction) from 18.00 - 19.00 hours
190 - buses came at an interval of 03-05 minutes (16 buses) with many DDs bunching as well. In the duration I observed, no SD came but I saw 4 SDs in the opposite direction towards NBR. I would say at least 2 DDs were packed to door, where as all others could be in the range of 80-100 pax. 1 bendy that came during the period also was packed to door but had DD right behind that took the pax. So overall 190 is doing great with a high frequency and people are able to board well now. Take note that apart from the frequency, there was not one bus that left Whitley stop without standees.
700 - spotted 3 SDs in the duration of 1 hour compared to around 16 buses on sv 190. Surprisingly, the buses came to Whitley stop with maybe 40-50 pax on board only. So SDs managed the loading very well. Definitely 972 has tanked its loading. So it is mainly the Petir road residents who take 700 these days. Absolutely manageable with SDs
960 - spotted only 5 buses in 1 hour duration... that to me seemed very less.. also to note, not even 1 of them was a DD... the 5 buses were 3 bendies and 2 SDs... and all 5 of them had standees but none of them were packed to door. Most buses in opposite direction were DDs towards Marina Center.. I was confused. So are the DDs deployed for Woodlands Road industrial estate towards BPJ to cater to the high loading there? Or maybe it is just the hour I observed didn't have DDs towards WRI... maybe has before 6pm and after 7pm. Also frequency seemed lower than expected but overall no complain because buses were not overly packed. I think also to do with 190/972 alternatives
972 - spotted around 11 DDs... buses came at frequency of 02-07 mins... Every time the Steven road signal turned green... either a 972 came or 190 or both... 972 loading is lesser than 190 as expected but has on average 60 pax loading.. Most buses were around the range of 55-60 pax loading, there were few that came in after 07 mins that were packed but none packed-to-door. Clearly when you stand at Whitley, you notice that even if 190 or 700 calls, passengers wait for 972 as direct option. Didn't see that with 700 and 960.
** Overall such a huge improvement to BPJ services. I just can't imagine how the loading was managed before DDs came on 190 and 972... Well done on this sector to manage the loading :)
u wait one hour. i nev go to whitley so good happy to read.
busanal- so no missing bus on 190 . video person happy? post happy video shud now.
The following was done YESTERDAY (Friday, 25 Sept 2015).
@array88 - appreciate if you could post different route loading as separate posts, easier to reply.
- the time you observed before peak hours is hard to judge whether bus needs high capacity or not as most services during this time have very low loading.
- 113 loading is typically this way even during peak hours, where the sector from Kovan to Hougang will not see more than 20 pax. It is also the reason why 113 operates with such poor frequency, especially when 113A operates, frequency b.w Kovan and Hougang is bet 20-25 mins per bus
- The HDB block at Upper Serangoon Crescent is huge apparently. There is also a new one on Upper Serangoon road, equally big just opened up. This will see 102 loading rise in future. 102 too early to do loading check. Maybe 1 month is a good time. also the service was only introduced to public 5 days before launch
- Natural to have higher loading on 806 to 103... you have 4 806 bendies that will come before one 103
On 171 - def Yishun to Shenton does not need DDs during peak. Opp direction, 2 DDs is fine if timed correctly. Moreover 171 needs DDs more for AM peak than PM peak.
169 - It is doing very well with DDs even with my observation. TIB429E though keeps complaining about DDs being misfit on 169, which really is not the case.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:On 171 - def Yishun to Shenton does not need DDs during peak. Opp direction, 2 DDs is fine if timed correctly. Moreover 171 needs DDs more for AM peak than PM peak.
169 - It is doing very well with DDs even with my observation. TIB429E though keeps complaining about DDs being misfit on 169, which really is not the case.
I didnt know that 171 goes to Shenton Way