Problem with 972 is their freq and traffic conditions,2 DDs pass by with half empty then 3rd one you guaranteed see a healthy loadings..15A/P and 10 split is just enough..no need until 29 buses..wasted resource
Originally posted by array88:Note: The following was done on 31 Dec 2015 (New Year's Eve).
New year eve loading on 109 SD (SBS8620J)
I happened to be at Serangoon Int and observed long queues for 109, so I decided to board. Bus behind is 15 mins.
(Technically it's not PM peak)(16:53) Serangoon Int - 70 (2 pax chose not to board)
Serangoon Ave 2 - [-3] 67
(17:00) Boundary Rd - [-16+4] 55, [-1] 54
(17:03) Yio Chu Kang Link - [+1] 55
(17:03) Yio Chu Kang Rd - 55, 55, [+1] 56, [-2+5] 59, [+7] 66
(17:13) Hougang Ave 9 - [-29+3] 40, [-14+2] 28, [-10] 18
(17:17) Hougang Ave 4 - [-3+1] 16, [-2] 14
(17:20) Buangkok Green - [-3+2] 13, 13
(17:22) Sengkang East Rd - 13, [-2] 11, [-1+2] 12, [-1+1] 12, [+2] 14
(17:30) TPE - 14
(17:36) Pasir Ris Dr 12 - [-2+3] 15
(17:37) Pasir Ris Dr 1 - [-1+2] 16, 16, 16, [+1] 17, [-1] 16, 16, [+3] 19 (Pasir Ris MRT, 17:41 - I alighted here)- Surprising to see so many pax alighting at Boundary Rd
- Most pax alight at Hougang Ave 9, maybe because of CCL they alight at Serangoon and take 109 (instead of 72/116 at Hougang). Or they were shopping at NEX
- Make sense for DDs as they travel quite long to Hougang Ave 9
- Somehow there were pax boarding at Yio Chu Kang Rd... Guess they're going to Hougang 1 mall
You took the bus on a day when most people take 1/2 day or do not go to work, yet the loading is quite good. This is typical PM loading from S'goon Interchange before 109A kicks in. From 430pm to about 6pm, you have long queues and the KUBs/Citaros are not able to tank the load.
Every bus gets approx. 70 pax and most alight along HG Ave 9. Few alight at Boundary road and this should not be a surprise because there are huge HDBs there and people can alight and walk straight home rather than crossing road with 22/53/315/317. Having said this, if queue on 109 is long many do take 315/317 from interchange to Boundary road as well.
Regarding those boarding at YCK road, this is normal. Especially the stop after AMK Ave 3, you have a good 15-20 people who board, and these are mostly transfer pax from other services. 109 alighting along YCK road is almost 0 or those who board at Boundary road as people prefer the more direct option of 43/43M/70.
109 ideal fleet is 10 SDs and 7 DDs..There is plus minus.
Originally posted by carbikebus:109 ideal fleet is 10 SDs and 7 DDs..There is plus minus.
I would say 16 buses is good enough, but need 8 DDs, 8 SDs. Need 2 extra DDs to take care of the Serangoon-HG Ave 9 loading, as all the DDs are timed bet 4.30-5.45pm from Changi Village to Serangoon. The first DD starts from Serangoon only around 6pm.
Saw 983 DD with full loadings today
Originally posted by carbikebus:Saw 983 DD with full loadings today
School started I guess that's why they are deploying DDs on 983...
Originally posted by SBS 9256 X:School started I guess that's why they are deploying DDs on 983...
Also note work has started. Last week was between Christmas and NY and many people take holiday to finish off their leave or leave work early to shop etc.
From this week onwards, we should measure the true loading on 47, 117, 118, 979 and 983. Cheers! :)
Service 118
-> Punggol Int
Begin: CBP Ter
End: Punggol Int
Time board: 3.00pm
Bus: SBS3519C
All figures exclude myself
CBP Int: 0
CBP Ctrl 2: 3
CS Ave 2: 14 (+11, 3 pax ran for bus)
CS Ave 1: 15
Xilin Ave: 16
Simei Ave: 17 (+1, ITE stop, missed sch hours), 17, 17 (±1)
- TIME CHECK: 3.19pm -
Tamp Ave 1: 16, 20, 34 (-1, +15), 40
Tamp Ave 8: 40, 39
*Tamp Ave 5 stop skipped as it is U/C*
Tamp Ave 10: 39, 39, 38, 38, 36 (-4, +2)
- TIME CHECK: 3.35pm -
[[EXPRESS]]
TPE: 10 (-26, 13-15 of which boarded the 27 ahead)
- TIME CHECK: 3.41pm -
Punggol Way: 10, 6
Punggol Ctrl: 6
Punggol Int: 0 (-6)
- JOURNEY END: 3.51pm -
Comments:
- Only have one thing to say: URGENT NEED FOT PEAK PERIOD SPUR TO SENGKANG AND HOUGANG. The number says it all; need me repeat? Clearly some arrogant user here insists he knows it all and denounces it as being "pampering", further flagging the majority as minority. The world doesnt only turn around your dear little town; there are more people staying elsewhere.
47 today noon SBS3417 Full lower deck and 1/4 filled upper deck in Bedok South heading CBP
Service 117
-> Sembawang Int
Begin: Punggol Int
End: Sembawang Int
Time board: 4.09pm
Bus: SBS3493S
Punggol Int: 8
Punggol Ctrl: 8
Punggol Way: 8, 12
- TIME CHECK: 4.15pm -
[[EXPRESS]]
Jalan Kayu: 12
- TIME CHECK: 4.22pm -
Piccadilly Rd: 12
*svc 117 spotted opp; around 3 on board*
SA Dr: 14 (+2), 14, 14, 14
- TIME CHECK: 4.28pm -
[[EXPRESS]]
Yishun Ave 1: 14
- TIME CHECK: 4.34pm -
Yishun Ave 1: 16, 15, 15, 15, 15, 15
Yishun Ave 2: 17, 22 (-1, +6; Khatib MRT)
- TIME CHECK: 4.49pm -
Yishun Ave 2: 22, 23, 23 (±7; Yishun MRT)
- TIME CHECK: 4.54pm -
Yishun Ave 2: 22, 20, 18 (-4, +2)
*At Canberra Stn site, two buses spotted opp: a packed 169 A22 followed directly by an empty 117 DD*
Canberra Link: 13
Sembawang Way: 10
Sembawang Dr: 3
Sembawang Int: 0 (-3)
- JOURNEY END: 5.09pm -
Comments:
- Extremely disappointing travel time. 40 mins to Khatib, an hour to Sembawang. BC macam driving golf cart. C'mon, its been two weeks, how long will it take to learn the route! Given how many stops were skipped the ride to Khatib should have been 20 mins or, at max, 25 mins. Cannot imagine the time needed when the new flats kick in at Punggol, Canberra and Ave 1! Fellow friends, do not be fooled by the express sector. The speed is crazy slow. For a svc to be EXPRESS the speed has to be too. We are talking about wide, empty roads here btw. Only then will ppl want to take this in/out of Punggol.
- This svc do not deserve DDs at the Canberra sector. Rather this svc needs FLEET ADD as ppl tend to choose the much more frequent 169 over 117. Only with competitive freq can this svc snatch pax in the northern end.
Originally posted by SMB128B:Service 118
-> Punggol Int
Begin: CBP Ter
End: Punggol Int
Time board: 3.00pm
Bus: SBS3519C
CBP Int: 0
CBP Ctrl 2: 3
CS Ave 2: 14 (+11, 3 pax ran for bus)
CS Ave 1: 15
Xilin Ave: 16
Simei Ave: 17 (+1, ITE stop, missed sch hours), 17, 17 (±1)
- TIME CHECK: 3.19pm -
Tamp Ave 1: 16, 20, 34 (-1, +15), 40
Tamp Ave 8: 40, 39
*Tamp Ave 5 stop skipped as it is U/C*
Tamp Ave 10: 39, 39, 38, 38, 36 (-4, +2)
- TIME CHECK: 3.35pm -
[[EXPRESS]]
TPE: 10 (-26, 13-15 of which boarded the 27 ahead)
- TIME CHECK: 3.41pm -
Punggol Way: 10, 6
Punggol Ctrl: 6
Punggol Int: 0 (-6)
- JOURNEY END: 3.51pm -
Comments:
- Only have one thing to say: URGENT NEED FOT PEAK PERIOD SPUR TO SENGKANG AND HOUGANG. The number says it all; need me repeat? Clearly some arrogant user here insists he knows it all and denounces it as being "pampering", further flagging the majority as minority. The world doesnt only turn around your dear little town; there are more people staying elsewhere.
Hi mr SMB128B, that person who says pampering is me! Your figures given show no need for urgent need to sengkang and Hougang. There is sbs 27 and Sbs 89 to transfer to. There is no such thing as my dear little town. If LTA sees the need to, they will introduce a total new service for Sengkang in future which I believe will come soon. There is no need to resort to such petty ways of talking which is clearly in your mind. There is totally no need to have offsprings of sbs 118. New services should be the way to connect sengkang west especially. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by SMB128B:Service 117
-> Sembawang Int
Begin: Punggol Int
End: Sembawang Int
Time board: 4.09pm
Bus: SBS3493S
Punggol Int: 8
Punggol Ctrl: 8
Punggol Way: 8, 12
- TIME CHECK: 4.15pm -
[[EXPRESS]]
Jalan Kayu: 12
- TIME CHECK: 4.22pm -
Piccadilly Rd: 12
*svc 117 spotted opp; around 3 on board*
SA Dr: 14 (+2), 14, 14, 14
- TIME CHECK: 4.28pm -
[[EXPRESS]]
Yishun Ave 1: 14
- TIME CHECK: 4.34pm -
Yishun Ave 1: 16, 15, 15, 15, 15, 15
Yishun Ave 2: 17, 22 (-1, +6; Khatib MRT)
- TIME CHECK: 4.49pm -
Yishun Ave 2: 22, 23, 23 (±7; Yishun MRT)
- TIME CHECK: 4.54pm -
Yishun Ave 2: 22, 20, 18 (-4, +2)
*At Canberra Stn site, two buses spotted opp: a packed 169 A22 followed directly by an empty 117 DD*
Canberra Link: 13
Sembawang Way: 10
Sembawang Dr: 3
Sembawang Int: 0 (-3)
- JOURNEY END: 5.09pm -
Comments:
- Extremely disappointing travel time. 40 mins to Khatib, an hour to Sembawang. BC macam driving golf cart. C'mon, its been two weeks, how long will it take to learn the route! Given how many stops were skipped the ride to Khatib should have been 20 mins or, at max, 25 mins. Cannot imagine the time needed when the new flats kick in at Punggol, Canberra and Ave 1! Fellow friends, do not be fooled by the express sector. The speed is crazy slow. For a svc to be EXPRESS the speed has to be too. We are talking about wide, empty roads here btw. Only then will ppl want to take this in/out of Punggol.
- This svc do not deserve DDs at the Canberra sector. Rather this svc needs FLEET ADD as ppl tend to choose the much more frequent 169 over 117. Only with competitive freq can this svc snatch pax in the northern end.
Hi mr SMB128B, these are my observations.
Stay in Punggol west -take sbs 117 direct to khatib (35 min)/yishun (40 min)
Stay in punggol east -take sbs 85 direct to Khatib (40 min)yishun (45 min) .
Stay in sengkang east (for those with sbs 85 at doorstep)- take sbs 85 direct to khatib (30 min)/yishun (35 min)
stay in sengkang east (for those with smrt 965 at doorstep)-take SMRT 965 direct to khatib (22 min)/ yishun (28 min).
stay in punggol east/sengkang east (near TPE stop)-take 39/858/969 to khatib (22 min)/ yishun (28 min)
stay in sengkang west -take sbs 85 to khatib (18 min)/ yishun (23 min).
cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr SMB128B, that person who says pampering is me! Your figures given show no need for urgent need to sengkang and Hougang. There is sbs 27 and Sbs 89 to transfer to. There is no such thing as my dear little town. If LTA sees the need to, they will introduce a total new service for Sengkang in future which I believe will come soon. There is no need to resort to such petty ways of talking which is clearly in your mind. There is totally no need to have offsprings of sbs 118. New services should be the way to connect sengkang west especially. Cheers. Thanks.
This is what I call self-delusion.
Even when 2/3 of the bus alights at a single stop, still say no need for something to be done.
You wanna know why I suggested a SPUR instead of a new svc?? Becoz I know, conservative dudes like you will kpkb about it! I would love a new svc instead of a spur; that way Sengkang and Hougang residents not only enjoy direct connection to Changi during peak, but all day everyday. I am alr giving a compromise, knowing demand comes mainly during peak. So you are trying to say, a new svc from Hougang to CBP via Sengkang and TPE will do better than spur?
Maybe the BC adhere strictly to the timings..wait for next month maybe they adjust the freq.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Maybe the BC adhere strictly to the timings..wait for next month maybe they adjust the freq.
What I kinda thought so too... The route planners set the tt too loosely...
Originally posted by SMB128B:What I kinda thought so too... The route planners set the tt too loosely...
Wait till some BCs start to arrive early between point frequently..
Originally posted by SMB128B:This is what I call self-delusion.
Even when 2/3 of the bus alights at a single stop, still say no need for something to be done.
You wanna know why I suggested a SPUR instead of a new svc?? Becoz I know, conservative dudes like you will kpkb about it! I would love a new svc instead of a spur; that way Sengkang and Hougang residents not only enjoy direct connection to Changi during peak, but all day everyday. I am alr giving a compromise, knowing demand comes mainly during peak. So you are trying to say, a new svc from Hougang to CBP via Sengkang and TPE will do better than spur?
Hi mr SMB128B, I am not self-delusional. Time will tell if a new service is needed. I am not conservative. For me, if a route has super high demand and requires a new service, so be it. Introduce a new service. No need for whatever spur or offsprings of a current service. Moreover, the route is to a different destination so it should not be M or P or whatever letter. Should be totally new number. But currently, it is still too early to judge. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr SMB128B, I am not self-delusional. Time will tell if a new service is needed. I am not conservative. For me, if a route has super high demand and requires a new service, so be it. Introduce a new service. No need for whatever spur or offsprings of a current service. But currently, it is still too early to judge. Cheers. Thanks.
Spurs and offsprings are common and accepted in many other parts of the world eg. Hong Kong, Tokyo.
Originally posted by SMB128B:Spurs and offsprings are common and accepted in many other parts of the world eg. Hong Kong, Tokyo.
Hi mr SMB128B, Spurs and offsprings should be used if they are parts of the original route. However in this case, it is to a new destination completely. Routes are different and should definitely use new numbers. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr SMB128B, Spurs and offsprings should be used if they are parts of the original route. However in this case, it is to a new destination completely. Routes are different and should definitely use new numbers. Cheers. Thanks.
Untrue.
HK: NWFB 798B is spur of svc 798, covers same Shatin sector, different TKO sector.
Tokyo (train): Will use a more widely known example. Ōme branch, covers same route as mother line Chū� Rapid Line until Tachikawa, then splits off into Ōme.
Originally posted by SMB128B:Untrue.
HK: NWFB 798B is spur of svc 798, covers same Shatin sector, different TKO sector.
Tokyo (train): Will use a more widely known example. Ōme branch, covers same route as mother line Chū� Rapid Line until Tachikawa, then splits off into Ōme.
Hi mr SMB128B, I understood you travelled frequently either for work or leisure. I understood other countries have such cases. However what I meant is local singapore context. There will be many people who get confused by same number going to different places. Older residents sometimes are unable to differentiate with an extra letter behind the same number.
Towns by towns will be beefed up with new services. CCK, punggol, yishun are beefed up. Sengkang west will be one of the next few. Interchange is currently being expanded. Authorities are looking into it one by one. Everybody turn especially new towns will come. Cheers. Thanks.
How much does the students actually pay for their bus fares only? $0.36? $0.56? Some even travel on concession fares of $27.50/month for bus concession pass while we adults pay $0.79 to $2++ and yet we do not complain much.
Like you said, they are students. Students would plan their travel time and check the sgbuses app for the bus freq as they are tech-savvy. If the frequency of sv 118 is too long, im pretty sure there's Sv 27 and Sv 168 to tampines as well. Better frequency? The demand now does not prove otherwise. I'm pretty sure that LTA and SBS Transit will increase the frequency and pump in buses when the timing is ripe. Right now, just let it be. It's like Sv 45 in the past few years. [Look at Sv 45 now? DDs and high freq during peak hours.]
Sv 118 might be another Sv 72 in the near future to have 11 buses serving the high demand sectors while might be temasek polytechnic to jalan kayu stretch(hopefully), and high freq during school dismissal periods. Sv 72 is different because it also caters to industrial folks along amk ave 5 and tampines while most folks taking 118 are students.
Nowadays bus services run on 10-15mins freq ppl also complain.. in the past buses come within 15 minutes we cheo high high liao.. I think the old folks taking sv 115 should complain because it is meant to create convenience for old folks along hougang ave 3 and the frequency is 15-20mins.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr SMB128B, that person who says pampering is me! Your figures given show no need for urgent need to sengkang and Hougang. There is sbs 27 and Sbs 89 to transfer to. There is no such thing as my dear little town. If LTA sees the need to, they will introduce a total new service for Sengkang in future which I believe will come soon. There is no need to resort to such petty ways of talking which is clearly in your mind. There is totally no need to have offsprings of sbs 118. New services should be the way to connect sengkang west especially. Cheers. Thanks.
no need reply smb128b. he a jerk. he need to grow up instead of telling others that they immature. not happy with dd new service. still cry. 118 better than 27 which people struggle for years. he just care about his little town. i hate the way he speaks. always talk hk. go live there. already it start become like china. he dun deserve live singapore.
Originally posted by sbst191:How much does the students actually pay for their bus fares only? $0.36? $0.56? Some even travel on concession fares of $27.50/month for bus concession pass while we adults pay $0.79 to $2++ and yet we do not complain much.
Like you said, they are students. Students would plan their travel time and check the sgbuses app for the bus freq as they are tech-savvy. If the frequency of sv 118 is too long, im pretty sure there's Sv 27 and Sv 168 to tampines as well. Better frequency? The demand now does not prove otherwise. I'm pretty sure that LTA and SBS Transit will increase the frequency and pump in buses when the timing is ripe. Right now, just let it be. It's like Sv 45 in the past few years. [Look at Sv 45 now? DDs and high freq during peak hours.]
Sv 118 might be another Sv 72 in the near future to have 11 buses serving the high demand sectors while might be temasek polytechnic to jalan kayu stretch(hopefully), and high freq during school dismissal periods. Sv 72 is different because it also caters to industrial folks along amk ave 5 and tampines while most folks taking 118 are students.
Nowadays bus services run on 10-15mins freq ppl also complain.. in the past buses come within 15 minutes we cheo high high liao.. I think the old folks taking sv 115 should complain because it is meant to create convenience for old folks along hougang ave 3 and the frequency is 15-20mins.
I think you read the wrong post. Better freq for 117, not 118. This is due to the inherent nature of pax pool in the North, where they look out for the more frequent buses to board. If 117 remain at its current freq it isnt gonna get optimistic loading in the North.
For 118, I was pushing for a spur seeing how majority of pax alight to head down to Sengkang South, and it will do them good to have a peak-period trip down without transferring.
seem like 960/190 loading have dropped esp for 960.
this morning at around 845am - 9am, saw 4 960 buses (3xbendies +1 A22) on PIE/BKE toward marina... 2 bendies have less than 10 paxes... 1 bendy have around 30 paxes.. A22 have around 15-20 paxes...
2x190 DD + 1 bendy, still have plenty of seating space...
2x972 DD - first one full to door, 2nd one have some seating space (no standee)
2x700 A22 - one with few paxes standing... one with some seating capacity..
also saw 2x 966 A22 -- one is full to door, the other one have a few standee..
in the past, during this peak hour, all the buses (except 700) will be full to door...