Originally posted by SBS6465E:40's loading will be similar. Main source will be between Bedok to Katong part of East Coast Rd. Siglap Rd loading will mostly come from Flamingo Valley. May have loading from Global Indian International Sch at that time as well.
For 32 you missed loading for St Stephen's Sch at La Salle St (along Frankel Av).
And yes, Frankel largely landed-property. I agree having only 1 service is justifiable. But we cannot have routes for the sake of having them. 32 is quite useless because it doesn't connect Kembangan MRT. Only good for going Katong and does not connect amenities on Marine Parade. Very few residents from Frankel will go Bedok. Siglap Rd at least has 401 on weekends.
If you have time, go try 42 from Opposite Kembangan Stn during evening peak hour. Most demand will be to Opera Estate. Very few going to Siglap Rd or Siglap Dr. Compare to morning which will have higher demand between Siglap Dr to Kembangan because 42 is only one-way to Kembangan MRT. You will also see a lot more pax going into Kembangan Estate because got a lot of condo plus HDB.
32 should just ply Telok Kurau. Katong-Bedok still intact where most demand is. Then new service from Kembangan to Marine Parade via Frankel. Frankel Av still got only 1 service but at least more useful than 32, plus sure got demand from Kembangan to Marine Parade.
frm frankel to bedok bus stop at kembangan mrt. short walk to mrt less than 5 min. yet bus i take only 2 peop alight at kembangan mrt. r u sure that peop there want go kembangan mrt? as i see most peop there hav fancy car. 42 also there and 42 do better kembangan north estate.
Originally posted by proudtobeme:frm frankel to bedok bus stop at kembangan mrt. short walk to mrt less than 5 min. yet bus i take only 2 peop alight at kembangan mrt. r u sure that peop there want go kembangan mrt? as i see most peop there hav fancy car. 42 also there and 42 do better kembangan north estate.
Going to Kembangan, most people will take 42, as it is more direct and frequent. On the way back, 32 does not serve Kembangan, and 42 can take up to 13-15 mins plus waiting time even longer. 42 will go Opera first via Sims Av East, used to ply Frankel 2-ways before Siglap Dr become 1 way. Yes, can walk from Kembangan MRT to Frankel Av bus stop (Aft Frankel Terr). Must cross road 3 times, def not 5 mins. 32 freq also very poor, 16-18 mins evening peak D1.
The most logical connection to for fast connection on public transport to the city is via MRT. Whether someone has a car is irrelevant. Like that, Frankel no need bus. Bukit Timah also no need MRT station.
Originally posted by SBS6465E:Going to Kembangan, most people will take 42, as it is more direct and frequent. On the way back, 32 does not serve Kembangan, and 42 can take up to 13-15 mins plus waiting time even longer. 42 will go Opera first via Sims Av East, used to ply Frankel 2-ways before Siglap Dr become 1 way. Yes, can walk from Kembangan MRT to Frankel Av bus stop (Aft Frankel Terr). Must cross road 3 times, def not 5 mins. 32 freq also very poor, 16-18 mins evening peak D1.
The most logical connection to for fast connection on public transport to the city is via MRT. Whether someone has a car is irrelevant. Like that, Frankel no need bus. Bukit Timah also no need MRT station.
ok i plan take both 40 42 for fun. will do in next few day and post my observes.
Originally posted by proudtobeme:ok i plan take both 40 42 for fun. will do in next few day and post my observes.
Don't expect high loading on 42 pls. It will be seated loading. Opera Estate will be like Serangoon Gardens, a lot of terrace houses.
You will notice much higher loading at Lengkong 3/4 due to HDBs & condo. That side will have standees.
Also note, 42 has very erratic frequency. It can range from 7-20 mins. I suggest you check the timetable for departures from Kembangan Stn. If less than 10 mins between buses, surely very poor loading. If 15-20 mins interval, you will definitely get better loading. Dont' worry, timetable is very accurate for such a short route like 42.
1845 & 1855 hrs departure from Kembangan Stn is quite packed.
For 40 you will see similar loading patterns to 32, maybe higher loading because it is more frequent.
Cheers
Originally posted by SBS6465E:Don't expect high loading on 42 pls. It will be seated loading. Opera Estate will be like Serangoon Gardens, a lot of terrace houses.
You will notice much higher loading at Lengkong 3/4 due to HDBs & condo. That side will have standees.
Also note, 42 has very erratic frequency. It can range from 7-20 mins. I suggest you check the timetable for departures from Kembangan Stn. If less than 10 mins between buses, surely very poor loading. If 15-20 mins interval, you will definitely get better loading. Dont' worry, timetable is very accurate for such a short route like 42.
1845 & 1855 hrs departure from Kembangan Stn is quite packed.
For 40 you will see similar loading patterns to 32, maybe higher loading because it is more frequent.
Cheers
Loading on sv 42 @ 18.20 hours from Kembangan Station
Kembangan Station -- 25
Lengkong Tiga -- 25 (0/0), 16 (-11/2)
Lengkong Empat -- 13 (-8/5), 11 (-5/3)
Jalan Selamat -- 12 (-2/3)
Taman Kembangan -- 14 (0/2)
Kembangan Station -- 21 (-2/19)
Sims Ave East -- 21 (-2/2)
Fidelio St -- 19 (-2/0), 17 (-2/0), 16 (-1/0), 16 (0/0), 16 (0/0), 16 (0/0)
Siglap Dr -- 7 (-12/3), 7 (-2/2)
Frankel Ave -- 6 (-1/0), 7 (0/1), 7 (0/0)
Kembangan Station (-7)
high point to kmbgn north = 25 peop (to), 14 (back)
high point to frankel/fidelio = 21 peop (to), 7 (back)
frankel got only 1 peop board to kembangan. you r right most loading is for flamingo valley condo. but i dun know y u ask serv to frankel when got no loading. opp side bus stop also for 32 got no peop waiting. and this is during 630pm peak hour.
this first time i do both board/alight count on every stop because loading so little easy to count. i am improving in my loading update i feel.
Wait this was just now izit? Just now 6.30pm not peak hour leh. Saturday only have AM peak no PM peak
Originally posted by proudtobeme:Loading on sv 42 @ 18.20 hours from Kembangan Station
Kembangan Station -- 25
Lengkong Tiga -- 25 (0/0), 16 (-11/2)
Lengkong Empat -- 13 (-8/5), 11 (-5/3)
Jalan Selamat -- 12 (-2/3)
Taman Kembangan -- 14 (0/2)
Kembangan Station -- 21 (-2/19)
Sims Ave East -- 21 (-2/2)
Fidelio St -- 19 (-2/0), 17 (-2/0), 16 (-1/0), 16 (0/0), 16 (0/0), 16 (0/0)
Siglap Dr -- 7 (-12/3), 7 (-2/2)
Frankel Ave -- 6 (-1/0), 7 (0/1), 7 (0/0)
Kembangan Station (-7)
high point to kmbgn north = 25 peop (to), 14 (back)
high point to frankel/fidelio = 21 peop (to), 7 (back)
frankel got only 1 peop board to kembangan. you r right most loading is for flamingo valley condo. but i dun know y u ask serv to frankel when got no loading. opp side bus stop also for 32 got no peop waiting. and this is during 630pm peak hour.
You did Friday or Saturday? I am assumign you did it on Friday because Saturday's demand patterns are not very fixed.
Yea, because Frankel is mostly residential. So the main demand in the evening is from Kembangan MRT by commuters who want to go home. But, who wants to go in one big round inside Fidelio St on 42? Most people will walk or cycle from Kembangan MRT or take taxi.
Btw, the Siglap Dr bus stop is inside Frankel Estate. So, Siglap Dr and Frankel Av I would consider the same area. There is also usually no demand from the last 2 Frankel Av bus stops because it is so close to Kembangan MRT. So most demand from Frankel is captured via Siglap Dr.
Also, Flamingo Valley is along Siglap Rd not Siglap Dr, which is not included on your updates. If so, you missed one bus stop.
You saw nobody on 32 side because it is not needed at that time. It only goes to Katong and to the City and does not connect with Kembangan MRT.
You have to take 42 in the morning to compare. You will see that there is more demand going to Kembangan MRT from Siglap Dr/Frankel Av. Then in the evening, you will notice there is much less going back from Kembangan MRT because 42 is so long-winded.
I will do an evening and morning loading schedule on Monday for you to see the diff.
Originally posted by TIB 585L:Wait this was just now izit? Just now 6.30pm not peak hour leh. Saturday only have AM peak no PM peak
no was friday
Originally posted by SBS6465E:You did Friday or Saturday? I am assumign you did it on Friday because Saturday's demand patterns are not very fixed.
Yea, because Frankel is mostly residential. So the main demand in the evening is from Kembangan MRT by commuters who want to go home. But, who wants to go in one big round inside Fidelio St on 42? Most people will walk or cycle from Kembangan MRT or take taxi.
Btw, the Siglap Dr bus stop is inside Frankel Estate. So, Siglap Dr and Frankel Av I would consider the same area. There is also usually no demand from the last 2 Frankel Av bus stops because it is so close to Kembangan MRT. So most demand from Frankel is captured via Siglap Dr.
Also, Flamingo Valley is along Siglap Rd not Siglap Dr, which is not included on your updates. If so, you missed one bus stop.
You saw nobody on 32 side because it is not needed at that time. It only goes to Katong and to the City and does not connect with Kembangan MRT.
You have to take 42 in the morning to compare. You will see that there is more demand going to Kembangan MRT from Siglap Dr/Frankel Av. Then in the evening, you will notice there is much less going back from Kembangan MRT because 42 is so long-winded.
I will do an evening and morning loading schedule on Monday for you to see the diff.
i did on friday evening not saturday.
Originally posted by SBS6465E:You did Friday or Saturday? I am assumign you did it on Friday because Saturday's demand patterns are not very fixed.
ok my mistake. i noted flamingo valey stop where 12 peop got down but wrote siglap dr and not siglap rd. i just post what i observe. my only point if loading so bad no need more service.
even 225 to bdk nth st 3 is residential but return journey got 20 peop even if frequency is 4 min per bus. same for 291/292/293 got 20-30 peop on return journey from residential estate. 42 got only 12 and 7 peop that show no need for extra service. bsep kind so gave one bus to improve freq. bus come every 12-14 min now compare to 18-20 min before.
Originally posted by proudtobeme:ok my mistake. i noted flamingo valey stop where 12 peop got down but wrote siglap dr and not siglap rd. i just post what i observe. my only point if loading so bad no need more service.
even 225 to bdk nth st 3 is residential but return journey got 20 peop even if frequency is 4 min per bus. same for 291/292/293 got 20-30 peop on return journey from residential estate. 42 got only 12 and 7 peop that show no need for extra service. bsep kind so gave one bus to improve freq. bus come every 12-14 min now compare to 18-20 min before.
Loading is very bad in part also because 42 goes in and out of Fidelio St, you should have observed this when you took the bus, that going from Siglap Dr to Kembangan MRT is MUCH shorter than coming from Kembangan. And I have never said that Flamingo Valley is where most loading comes from. I said that for 40, go read my previous posts. In fact, it is unusual that Flamingo Valley got most of the loading, because most people prefer the more direct 40 from Bedok Int.
BUT, if you have read my postings, you wouldn't be talking over my head about loadings. I have never argued for a new service because 42 is facing capacity issues. That will NEVER happen. I am focused on CONNECTIVITY. In this case, providing a reliable form of link TO & FROM Kembangan MRT. For most residents, 42 only provides a one-way connection TO Kembangan MRT. Even though commuters can take the bus FROM Kembangan MRT all the way to Siglap Dr/Frankel Av, I don't know if you would've noticed that it is an EXTREMELY LONG-WINDED WAY of doing so. Maybe you were TOO FOCUSED on loadings. I will demonstrate this by showing that demand TO Kembangan MRT from Fidelio/Frankel is always HIGHER than demand FROM Kembanagan MRT to Fidelio/Frankel, by recording the loadings for both sectors on Monday.
Go que for taxis at Kembangan MRT, you will find that most residents are taking taxis to Siglap/Frankel estates.
The best is if 42 can ply Frankel Av on both sides, then go up Siglap Dr > Siglap Rd> Fidelio St, and then loop back. But this cannot be done because Siglap Dr is one-way. So, you cannot amend 42, period.
Nobody in this forum will understand this unless you live here.
Cheers
Originally posted by SBS6465E:Loading is very bad in part also because 42 goes in and out of Fidelio St, you should have observed this when you took the bus, that going from Siglap Dr to Kembangan MRT is MUCH shorter than coming from Kembangan. And I have never said that Flamingo Valley is where most loading comes from. I said that for 40, go read my previous posts. In fact, it is unusual that Flamingo Valley got most of the loading, because most people prefer the more direct 40 from Bedok Int.
BUT, if you have read my postings, you wouldn't be talking over my head about loadings. I have never argued for a new service because 42 is facing capacity issues. That will NEVER happen. I am focused on CONNECTIVITY. In this case, providing a reliable form of link TO & FROM Kembangan MRT. For most residents, 42 only provides a one-way connection TO Kembangan MRT. Even though commuters can take the bus FROM Kembangan MRT all the way to Siglap Dr/Frankel Av, I don't know if you would've noticed that it is an EXTREMELY LONG-WINDED WAY of doing so. Maybe you were TOO FOCUSED on loadings. I will demonstrate this by showing that demand TO Kembangan MRT from Fidelio/Frankel is always HIGHER than demand FROM Kembanagan MRT to Fidelio/Frankel, by recording the loadings for both sectors on Monday.
Go que for taxis at Kembangan MRT, you will find that most residents are taking taxis to Siglap/Frankel estates.
The best is if 42 can ply Frankel Av on both sides, then go up Siglap Dr > Siglap Rd> Fidelio St, and then loop back. But this cannot be done because Siglap Dr is one-way. So, you cannot amend 42, period.
Nobody in this forum will understand this unless you live here.
Cheers
Hi Mr. SBS6465E,
Understand your frustration with the lack of bus services in Frankel area as I often frequent there too. However I often head to the end nearer to east coast road where it's still walkable to more services such as 10,12 etc. However, I feel that it's pretty difficult to plan routes serving the entire Frankel estate (other than tweaking bus 42, which is hard due to the fact that many more inaccessible areas will be affected). I feel that it's probably due to the assumption that people staying along Frankel will commute via car/taxi as the pathetic frequency of 32 (could wait up to 25mins if suay) can frustrate people hugely.
Also, proposing an alternative route (say from Eunos) will not be really viable either since you'll only get the link FROM kembangan and not TO kembangan from frankel.
I guess the only way to get about the poor transport links about the estate would be to appeal for an improved frequency for 32 (say during peak timings), I believe for 40 as well, in order to cater to the needs for commuters who still ply via public transport. Just sharing my two cents worth. Cheers!
I boarded 258 from Joo Koon to Boon Lay Int, SBS3487K, boarding time 2:06pm
I observed that the Joo Koon - Pioneer stretch have low loading as expected, but during the evening peak the lower deck is packed due to the high loading at Jurong Camp bus stop (where 192 and 258 gets decent loading towards Pioneer MRT)
There was less than 10 people during the JK - Pioneer MRT stretch with 1 person alighting at Pioneer but nobody boarded the bus.
From Gek Poh Shopping Centre to Boon Lay Int, the upper deck have about 10-15 people, and the lower deck have 19 people at Boon Lay Int, which all of them alighted (including the 10-15 on the upper deck, which means about 30 people alighted at Boon Lay).
From my observation, 258 loading from Gek Poh to Boon Lay is dependent on which bus comes first: 181, 243W or 258 as I spotted SBS3T on 181 at the junction before the Blk 762 bus stop while I was on 3487K. In the case where 181 came first, 258 would not have much loading towards Boon Lay as most likely it would just pick up any passanger that missed the previous bus.
Originally posted by SBS8002T:I boarded 258 from Joo Koon to Boon Lay Int, SBS3487K, boarding time 2:06pm
I observed that the Joo Koon - Pioneer stretch have low loading as expected, but during the evening peak the lower deck is packed due to the high loading at Jurong Camp bus stop (where 192 and 258 gets decent loading towards Pioneer MRT)
There was less than 10 people during the JK - Pioneer MRT stretch with 1 person alighting at Pioneer but nobody boarded the bus.
From Gek Poh Shopping Centre to Boon Lay Int, the upper deck have about 10-15 people, and the lower deck have 19 people at Boon Lay Int, which all of them alighted (including the 10-15 on the upper deck, which means about 30 people alighted at Boon Lay).
From my observation, 258 loading from Gek Poh to Boon Lay is dependent on which bus comes first: 181, 243W or 258 as I spotted SBS3T on 181 at the junction before the Blk 762 bus stop while I was on 3487K. In the case where 181 came first, 258 would not have much loading towards Boon Lay as most likely it would just pick up any passanger that missed the previous bus.
Demand on 258 has been lower than expected. The St 81/82 - Boon Lay loading depends very much on whether 243 has called the stop or not. Given 243 has peak frequency of 03-04 mins, it is likely that there will always be a 243 in front of a 258.
The Pioneer MRT - st 81/82 loading has failed to pick up. Most loading still comes from Joo Koon only during industrial hours to Jurong West Town.
Typical loading during PM
Joo Koon - 30 pax
Joon Koon / Pioneer MRT - 45 pax (peak)
Pioneer MRT - 45/50 pax (only 15-20 pax board here)
Rest depends on 243 arrival time.
From my observation svc 190 can reduce 3 single deck duties.No need 42 buses since 972 already full fleet DDs.700 can reduce 1 split duty too.DTL obviously steal some of its passengers.972 also no need 28 buses.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Demand on 258 has been lower than expected. The St 81/82 - Boon Lay loading depends very much on whether 243 has called the stop or not. Given 243 has peak frequency of 03-04 mins, it is likely that there will always be a 243 in front of a 258.
The Pioneer MRT - st 81/82 loading has failed to pick up. Most loading still comes from Joo Koon only during industrial hours to Jurong West Town.
Typical loading during PM
Joo Koon - 30 pax
Joon Koon / Pioneer MRT - 45 pax (peak)
Pioneer MRT - 45/50 pax (only 15-20 pax board here)
Rest depends on 243 arrival time.
Personally, I also felt that 258's loading is quite disappointing as I thought 258 will take off some loading from 243 where commuters board from Pioneer to St 81 instead of from Boon Lay to St 81.
I feel that 258 can downgrade the DDs to a full SD fleet while adding 1-2 SDs to boost frequency as 258 loading from St 81 to Boon Lay is dependent on whether there is a 243 (or 181 starting from Gek Poh) in front of it.
Though 258 have decent loading during PM peak for the Joo Koon - Pioneer MRT stretch as the Jurong Camp bus stop have quite good loading, but it also depends if 192 or 258 comes first as both ply the same route to Pioneer.
Usually, the bottom deck is packed but the upper deck is not well utilised as most people alight at Pioneer MRT.
I have also observed that 192 gets more loading at Jurong Camp bus stop compared to 258 as 192 takes the "direct" route to Boon Lay Interchange for passangers transferring to the other buses at the interchange.
Originally posted by SBS8002T:Personally, I also felt that 258's loading is quite disappointing as I thought 258 will take off some loading from 243 where commuters board from Pioneer to St 81 instead of from Boon Lay to St 81.
I feel that 258 can downgrade the DDs to a full SD fleet while adding 1-2 SDs to boost frequency as 258 loading from St 81 to Boon Lay is dependent on whether there is a 243 (or 181 starting from Gek Poh) in front of it.
Though 258 have decent loading during PM peak for the Joo Koon - Pioneer MRT stretch as the Jurong Camp bus stop have quite good loading, but it also depends if 192 or 258 comes first as both ply the same route to Pioneer.
Usually, the bottom deck is packed but the upper deck is not well utilised as most people alight at Pioneer MRT.
I have also observed that 192 gets more loading at Jurong Camp bus stop compared to 258 as 192 takes the "direct" route to Boon Lay Interchange for passangers transferring to the other buses at the interchange.
seem like ppl are having expectation that every new service will be very popular and will have good ridership.....
basically 258 act as a supplementary service....so demand will definitely fluctuate...
Loading on sv 386 @ 18.17, earlier bus left @ 18.08
Punggol Interchange -- 42 (0/42)
Punggol Central -- 46 (0/4), 45 (-4/3)
Edgefield Plains -- 45 (-2/2) surprised to see 2 people board here, 06 (-45/6) absolutely no one from before this stop going further. All 6 are new pax who boarded
Punggol Dr -- 07 (0/1)
Edgedale Plains -- 07 (0/0), 07 (0/0)
Punggol Field -- 10 (-7/10) again everyone alighted here and 10 new pax boarded
Punggol East -- 12 (0/2)
Punggol Central -- 12 (0/0)
Edgedale Plains -- 09 (-3/0)
Punggol Dr -- 08 (-1/0)
Edgefield Plains -- 08 (-8/8) very interesting observation. again all 8 pax on bus alighted and 8 new pax boarded, 8 (0/0)
Punggol Central -- 12 (0/4), 12 (0/0) stop before interchange.
** can have 825 style mini bus for Edgefield Plains <> Punggol Field for Punggol Plaza. It is two distinct routes
** Healthy loading of 45 pax at single stop at Edgefield Plains end. Still many flats look empty.
** peak loading = 46 pax.
Loading on sv 83 @ 18.54
Punggol Interchange -- 63 (0/63)
Punggol Central -- 68 (0/5), 46 (-24/2), 34 (-14/2), 14 (-23/3)
Punggol East -- 12 (-4/2)
Punggol Field -- 08 (-7/3), 11 (0/3), 14 (-2/5)
Punggol Road -- 13 (-6/5), 14 (-9/10)
Compassalve St -- 17 (0/3), 12 (-5/0)
Sengkang East Rd -- 11 (-4/3), 04 (-7/0) I alighted here.
* Surprised to see such poor loading between Punggol and Sengkang towns
* Loading mainly for 83 comes for 3 stops along Punggol Central like a feeder bus
* Opposite direction spotted 2 buses towards Punggol both empty. One at Compassalve St had less than 20 pax on board also.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Loading on sv 83 @ 18.54
* Loading mainly for 83 comes for 3 stops along Punggol Central like a feeder bus
* Opposite direction spotted 2 buses towards Punggol both empty. One at Compassalve St had less than 20 pax on board also.
Originally posted by Sbs6750E:
If you are from Waterway Pt going to Compassvale Street Blk 291? 1. Take MRT, > 83. 2. 43/82/119 direct and walk. 3. 83 all the way. #Justcurious
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Loading on sv 83 @ 18.54
Hi mr busanalyser, this is the reason why sbs 83 must start from Punggol interchange to loop at sengkang instead of reversing to start from Sengkang interchange. Finally, all should realize Sbs 83 is very crucial in serving huge sectors of residents along Punggol central. Cheers. Thanks.