Originally posted by phillipC:Me too, as long as not SMRT is perfectly fine!
Lol
SBST aren't as good as you think
If SMRT win the first tender,Imagine them taking over J East/Clementi feeders with majority SBST svc still there?Unless 60% of the svc including feeders tendered out to SMRT.
Well, who cares which company wins the first package?
I believe when LTA looks at the first proposal, the proposals submitted would not have the name of the company, but instead, they are labelled 'proposal A', 'proposal B', 'proposal C', etc... randomly arranged by an independent party.
The companies with the best first proposal would then be selected by LTA, and an independent party would then retrieve the second proposals of the selected companies, also labelled 'proposal A', 'proposal B', 'proposal C', etc...
It would be good if there is a colour code used in these processes.
Once the particiular colour code or alphabet is selected, LTA would then ask the independent party(-ies) to tell them which company the first and second proposals belong to, then award the company the first package.
So, it does not matter who is competiting, because what matters is instead on the proposals that are being submitted.
Otherwise, if the emphasis is on who is competiting, I do not think this would be a fair competition.
Competition?All owned by the same person mah..Unless the third foreign co join and win,Thats competition..
Originally posted by carbikebus:If SMRT win the first tender,Imagine them taking over J East/Clementi feeders with majority SBST svc still there?Unless 60% of the svc including feeders tendered out to SMRT.
i can imagine high demand route like Sv143 and 97 running with the Man Lion buses.
Disaster
Originally posted by phillipC:i can imagine high demand route like Sv143 and 97 running with the Man Lion buses.
Disaster
No la,By the time LTA wont allow they run with 70% SDs for those svc..
Originally posted by phillipC:i can imagine high demand route like Sv143 and 97 running with the Man Lion buses.
Disaster
if i didnt interpret wrongly, government will gradually take over all the bus assets and deploy them accordingly to the services depending on the demand. Hence, after 2016, theres no such thing as SMRT buses or SBS Transit buses, we will likely see a mixture of both on several services. For example, 143 can have WEG, Enviros, KUBs, Citaros and A22s in its fleet. All buses will be under LTA. The operator of the package will just have to manage the frequency and service standards, they have nothing to do with the bus assets anymore.
Similarly, if a private/overseas operator were to win the tender, they will also be allocated the buses (previously from SBST or SMRT) to operate the services.
This is actually a very good plan.
One svc will still be under one operator running,Interchange/Terminals yes will be mix of all 3 operators..For example SBST dominated Toa Payoh might see 2-3 svc under SMRT and a couple more under the new player if its include under the package.
Is 201 under the 26 bus tender package?If not i suspect the new J East feeder svc then..LTA might just add 99,105,166 & 175 inside the package to make it 30
And seriously i dont think Woodlands stand a chance despite their track records,The 3rd operator will be either Tower Transit or Veoila group just like Changi Airport favours of ASIG to built up foreign investment here...Why would we think establish airlines like Jetstar group,Air Asia group and SIA Engineering would lose out to non Asia experience ground handler ASIG?Ever since ASIG step into Changi,another BBA Aviation co Signature also invest here for a piece of business jet market here.
Well nothing is affirmed yet, Especially the minor details, imagine the company who won the tender has to manage difference types of buses, wouldnt it be more messy for the drivers and the maintaineance as well?
The only thing confirmed is SMRT will be applying for fare hike with the PTC in the coming weeks, hope SMRT will be more proactive in their bus maintainanace and initiative than every year without failed applying for fare hike.
off topic, thought the BPLRT capacity boost complete in year end 2014. Now read the news that the total 13 carrianges will be delivered by end of 2015.
Philip Chee,I dun think if SBST win Bt Batok they will be given A22s,Enviros,OCs..They will use their usual buses
Originally posted by phillipC:Well nothing is affirmed yet, Especially the minor details, imagine the company who won the tender has to manage difference types of buses, wouldnt it be more messy for the drivers and the maintaineance as well?
The only thing confirmed is SMRT will be applying for fare hike with the PTC in the coming weeks, hope SMRT will be more proactive in their bus maintainanace and initiative than every year without failed applying for fare hike.
off topic, thought the BPLRT capacity boost complete in year end 2014. Now read the news that the total 13 carrianges will be delivered by end of 2015.
The logical approach is to pool the different bus models together and confine a few models for each parcel tender. This has been practiced in Transperth.
In other news, Woodlands Transport is bidding for the first parcel tender and should be going in alone:
Transcab is considering whether to enter the bid (a previous report indicated that they have obtained a copy of the tender).
Tong Tar is also eligible to bid, while smaller operators including Bedok Transport, Ren Quan Transport, Bus Hub, and MyBus were effectively ruled out from bidding without a large consortium or tie-up with foreign operators:
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/stifling-requirement-sees/1485028.html
Hate me if u will but i dont wish WT win the contract,Let the foreign co win it..I'll be delighted to join them if attractive
I hope LTA add another 4 more service to make it 30 for e first package..
Hopes 99,156,166 & 175 included
Originally posted by carbikebus:Hate me if u will but i dont wish WT win the contract,Let the foreign co win it..I'll be delighted to join them if attractive
Better if WT and FT can join forces. Also surprised that Tong Tar was eligible too.
156 better off with SKG route group considering it is majority HGDEP. It should be in the next package for LYBP if LTA wants SKG to be under LYBP.
My opinions:LTA should close down SBST Bukit Batok/Ayer Rajah,SMRT Ang Mo Kio and Kranji Depot to make way for other developments..Replace with a bigger multi storey depots at Pasir Panjang,Mandai(For cross border svc too),Yio Chu Kang and Sengkang.All with minimum 400 and 600 maximum capacity to accomodate more newer buses also to complement Soon Lee,Bulim,Woodlands,Ang Mo Kio,Braddell,Hougang,Bedok North and Loyang.
News and interviews with prospective foreign operators:
http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/e74f99fe-5937-11e4-a33c-00144feab7de.html#axzz3KMt6vlC1
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/foreign-transport/1490040.html
Disaster
i wish it running with MAN buses but MAN DD buses HAHA. but i think it will be mix buses.
You can see SMRT buying more ADL E500s and A95s if they win the first package tender...So another 2 package sure its either the new operator or SBS Transit which i favour more the former...LTA wanna break SBST monopoly
SMRT install service guides, arrival panels at each berth, interactive screens and frequency displays at buses only at bukit batok? why not be consistent and at least install service guides at all bus interchanges? SMRT want wayang to LTA so that they can win the first contract?
Originally posted by carbikebus:You can see SMRT buying more ADL E500s and A95s if they win the first package tender...So another 2 package sure its either the new operator or SBS Transit which i favour more the former...LTA wanna break SBST monopoly
government manged state media has hyped up the foreign operators by quite a bit so i expect them to seize the first contract. govt also said more operators to add more competition, who is better positioned to introduce heated competition other than experienced overseas operators? some more election year soon. if not people will see govt as wayang again
Originally posted by sgbuses:The logical approach is to pool the different bus models together and confine a few models for each parcel tender. This has been practiced in Transperth.
In other news, Woodlands Transport is bidding for the first parcel tender and should be going in alone:
Transcab is considering whether to enter the bid (a previous report indicated that they have obtained a copy of the tender).
Tong Tar is also eligible to bid, while smaller operators including Bedok Transport, Ren Quan Transport, Bus Hub, and MyBus were effectively ruled out from bidding without a large consortium or tie-up with foreign operators:
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/stifling-requirement-sees/1485028.html
i hope for the third or fourth tender they can roll back the fleet size managed requirements so that smaller operators could have a piece of the competition