Looking at the recent frequency for 106 every morning, I am able to say that the buses are running at 2-5mins frequency and the buses are quite close to one another[mostly DD n Bendy].
Non-peak waiting time is acceptable, sometimes better than svc105.
Hopefully TT will continue to "preserve" this type of svc..
Originally posted by wsy1234:why compare a bus service to airline service? it two different company. i like the plan of employ after that have chance of upgrade to higher position in the company.
U ask carbikebus lah.
As for the prospect of upgrade to higher position, do u think really it is possible? 700 bus drivers all will get chance to upgrade ? So many management position to fill?then need to find another 700 bus drivers?? Now they need to hire bus captain of course say nice nice thing lah.
Originally posted by wsy1234:look like smrt and sbst have to watch out as they might not even have a chance to renew the licence if LTA think different and the new company set a higher standard of employment and service.
Everyone seem to think that foreign companies will definitely improve the standard... How much u wan them to improve ? So u will expect all buses will arrive on schedule on every stop every trip? Dun expect too much. Say is easier than done.
Dont expect miracle when a new company take over let alone foreign one,1st thing sure got problems,2nd thing is the culture..It will takes time..Dont expect thing is the same overnight.I didnt say foreign company is more better so dont anyhow assume
to be honest, ang moh companies are very good at fanciful speech, no doubt. Action wise we got to see for ourselves if they really perform.
slightly off topic, can our million dollar pay transport minister do a better job than raising concern? these things common people know how to say lah. not rocket science.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/govt-to-keep-eye-on-smrt/1839748.html
Also Lui needs to account for the loss of SGD500million claims for the insolvency of Apline Bau for the DTL2 mrt stations constructions. Needs to scrutised more on this tax payers loss, where is the due diligence check and progessive payments to the contractors? This should be debated in the parliament, same degree of attention like they debate on the Aljunied Hougang Punggol TC
Originally posted by phillipC:to be honest, ang moh companies are very good at fanciful speech, no doubt. Action wise we got to see for ourselves if they really perform.
slightly off topic, can our million dollar pay transport minister do a better job than raising concern? these things common people know how to say lah. not rocket science.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/govt-to-keep-eye-on-smrt/1839748.html
Also Lui needs to account for the loss of SGD500million claims for the insolvency of Apline Bau for the DTL2 mrt stations constructions. Needs to scrutised more on this tax payers loss, where is the due diligence check and progessive payments to the contractors? This should be debated in the parliament, same degree of attention like they debate on the Aljunied Hougang Punggol TC
There is no 500 mil loss. They are claiming for all the penalty n delay cost n cost of not fulfilling the contract n cost of work that have been done as well. All these project are based on progressive payment.
There is no sign of bankruptcy at all in 2009 when contract is awarded. Lta are not auditors n I dun think every company will open up their accounts to every one. if every tender wan to check until like that then I think each tender need 3-4 year to complete the check. award to local company also will have same issue. So how?
OT, at Changi Airport, Swissport bow out due to strong incumbent of SATS, DNATA.
New American entrant came in for Jetstar n teething problems were reported in ST.
Tower Transit MIGHT cross train BCs as ARGM, controllers, tech mechs. Anything is possible.
TT gonna pay a high salary than incumbents, BCs will/might choose to go with the service rather than stay with incumbents.
Swissport main losses is cargo,open up big complex but only a few airlines..Their pax ground handling still going strong with Northwest,Swiss,Air Asia group and Adam Air..At one time even Qantas show interest with them till SATS slashed nearly 50% handling fees..But now with 10 years license and the upcoming T4 anything can happen..This Air Asia group already show interest to handle them starting November..Current Asig flights is 3K,Jetstar Asia(35 over flights per day on average),JQ Jetstar Intl(2 flights per day) and BL Jetstar Pacific(1 per day)..
Originally posted by sgbuses:You should come to Perth and experience the standard of service for yourself before making such a comment.
It was enough to motivate me to actually get a driving license in Australia.
If you change your mind later, be prepared to buy a car in Singapore.
You have been warned.
Look, I know what you mean. The operator for my area has done what they could and I appreciate their efforts. However I still drive a lot as connections between locations even within the same vicinity aren't seamless enough.
having said that I sometimes wonder if different contract areas have different levels if profitability corresponding to ridership. I have reason to believe Fremantle to be more lucrative than Claremont, so more is done to improve service standards in the former.
even so one can get a decent used car for less than AU$2000 if they know how to find it.
Originally posted by lemon1974:There is no 500 mil loss. They are claiming for all the penalty n delay cost n cost of not fulfilling the contract n cost of work that have been done as well. All these project are based on progressive payment.
There is no sign of bankruptcy at all in 2009 when contract is awarded. Lta are not auditors n I dun think every company will open up their accounts to every one. if every tender wan to check until like that then I think each tender need 3-4 year to complete the check. award to local company also will have same issue. So how?
Thats one side of the story. Thought LTA mentioned no delayed at all. Still remember the bike purchasing incident for national park. 2k bicycle?
now the PTE sector scare they lost local bus drivers to the new public bus company. if go back to the time where bus driver made about 3k to 4k per month why not join them or see the PTE bus company can offer higher pay than now.
the impact is simple first government slowly remove forginers drivers from the sector than in come the new public bus company offer pay better benefits. look like suddenly local bus drivers in demand. wow. not compare these to other country airline this is not airline industry. do you know that in USA the budget airline pilot pay lower than a bus driver?
http://news.omy.sg/News/Local-News/story20150511-345577. this is from yesterday chinese news paper. i wonder any english version soon?
Originally posted by phillipC:Thats one side of the story. Thought LTA mentioned no delayed at all. Still remember the bike purchasing incident for national park. 2k bicycle?
when did LTA mention no delay at all? there is one year delay, which was minimize to 3 months.. Govt alway pay on progress... They wont be giving out 500 million to a contractor at start of project.. like that i also want to bid and then run road... LTA's contract consist of lots of penalty for delaying/breaking contract, which can come up to 1million per day of delay...
what wrong with the bike purchasing incident? that guy was charge for providing wrong info, but the procurement process is ok...
Originally posted by wsy1234:now the PTE sector scare they lost local bus drivers to the new public bus company. if go back to the time where bus driver made about 3k to 4k per month why not join them or see the PTE bus company can offer higher pay than now.
the impact is simple first government slowly remove forginers drivers from the sector than in come the new public bus company offer pay better benefits. look like suddenly local bus drivers in demand. wow. not compare these to other country airline this is not airline industry. do you know that in USA the budget airline pilot pay lower than a bus driver?
http://news.omy.sg/News/Local-News/story20150511-345577. this is from yesterday chinese news paper. i wonder any english version soon?
pls lah.. how many locals want to be bus drivers? unless really no choices.....
First of all as a new company its MOM law to hire local/PR first then the balance quota is foreigners..I bet they will have a hard time finding more unless the pay and off days are attractive.
TT should get Soon Lee along with Bulim.
SMB can have Seletar and Mandai, while the rest should remain in SBS hands.
SMRT should not even be in the public bus sector at all. SMRT should take over all the MRT and LRT lines control and even control the speed train line in singapore and give up it bus operation to other new tenders. just bringing a full rail network company will be better. if they want to go to be the new teleco operator i support the idea if they give up bus operation.
Originally posted by iveco:TT should get Soon Lee along with Bulim.
SMB can have Seletar and Mandai, while the rest should remain in SBS hands.
I prefer Tower Transit get Bulim,Seletar and either Loyang or Changi
SMRT Buses get Mandai,Ulu Pandan and either Loyang or Changi
Rest goes to SBS Transit
Not sure if any one has come across this recent news about Tower Transit. Does that mean that none of our local guys can do a better job than them or is it the case of foreigners can always do a better job? And at the price of 100 million dollars of tax payers' money over the lowest bid!
London bus strike: Tower Transit drivers strike over pay - BBC News - http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-london-30612808
Not sure if any one has come across this recent news of Tower Transit. Is it really the case of our local boys not being able to match up to the foreign operators? And at a premium of 100 million dollars of tax payers' money for the imported talent.
London bus strike: Tower Transit drivers strike over pay - BBC News - http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-london-30612808
In my opinion, at the end of the day, everything remains the same. People who drive bus will continue to drive bus. People who maintain the bus will continue to maintain the bus. People who control bus services will control bus services. ..... It is just a change of name, that's all. and, of course, pay.
In my opinion, I do not think pay will keep increasing. eventually, it will be kept constant at a certain level, unless if one or a few other variables experience a fall in costs, then maybe pay will then increase.
well, in my opinion, I feel that the objective of the GCM is only to work on the management level, to make adjustments to which company manages the bus services, that's all.
just my two cents worth. just some casual remarks. #justsaying
*pls do not take my words seriously. just saying without thinking much... #justsaying
just wanna say, sometimes, some words are biased. it's always best to read a story from all angles. #justsaying
Originally posted by Xtinct:Not sure if any one has come across this recent news about Tower Transit. Does that mean that none of our local guys can do a better job than them or is it the case of foreigners can always do a better job? And at the price of 100 million dollars of tax payers' money over the lowest bid!
Strike happened in Singapore with SMRT China drivers, outcome is repatriated back to China within 2 weeks. So that is the outcome of strike if foreign drivers want to make it happen
London bus companies handle strikes all the time, drivers here can't even strike, legally of course. Manpower management should not be much of a problem for Tower Transit although they may face some challenges in getting BCs from SMRT and SBST to join them.
But come to think of it, SMRT and SBST will not want to keep extra BCs on their payroll.
Originally posted by TIB868X:London bus companies handle strikes all the time, drivers here can't even strike, legally of course. Manpower management should not be much of a problem for Tower Transit although they may face some challenges in getting BCs from SMRT and SBST to join them.
But come to think of it, SMRT and SBST will not want to keep extra BCs on their payroll.
they are short of BC now.. and definitely if these BC choose to stay, they can definitely be deploy somewhere, esp with more BSEP buses coming in.... 350 BSEP buses mean at least 500 BC more plus if they have more BCs, they can give the BC a day off each week (for SBST case, as understand that currently some BCs are only having 1 day off every 2 weeks)..
One very one-size-fits-all solution that can be used to address the shortage of number of people working as Bus Drivers/Captains:
Introduce a Certificate course at the ITE, and/or introduce a Diploma course at the Polytechnic, to train people to drive buses.
Right now, isn't there already a new Diploma on transport management? Maybe in future, we can have new diploma or certificate courses on driving buses.
Maybe entry level as technicians, to familiarise with the components. Then rise to be bus drivers, to drive the bus. then rise from single to double decker. Thereafter, with technician and bus driver experience, rise to traffic controller. Thereafter, to supervisor. Etcetera...
Rise until top already, then promote to work for LTA. within LTA, rise, rise, rise,... rise... rise until top of LTA already, then promote to work for the transport ministry.
Well, #justsaying.