LOL sounds nice and fancy but seriously, if you need a diploma to drive a bus, who is going to take it up when there are so many other diplomas with better prospects and faster rises? Also If bus driving becomes a diploma, you sure companies can afford to pay bus drivers a diploma's pay?
Originally posted by JurongWestresident:One very one-size-fits-all solution that can be used to address the shortage of number of people working as Bus Drivers/Captains:
Introduce a Certificate course at the ITE, and/or introduce a Diploma course at the Polytechnic, to train people to drive buses.
Right now, isn't there already a new Diploma on transport management? Maybe in future, we can have new diploma or certificate courses on driving buses.
Maybe entry level as technicians, to familiarise with the components. Then rise to be bus drivers, to drive the bus. then rise from single to double decker. Thereafter, with technician and bus driver experience, rise to traffic controller. Thereafter, to supervisor. Etcetera...
Rise until top already, then promote to work for LTA. within LTA, rise, rise, rise,... rise... rise until top of LTA already, then promote to work for the transport ministry.
Well, #justsaying.
so many vacancies available at the higher management??
Originally posted by randomguy10:LOL sounds nice and fancy but seriously, if you need a diploma to drive a bus, who is going to take it up when there are so many other diplomas with better prospects and faster rises? Also If bus driving becomes a diploma, you sure companies can afford to pay bus drivers a diploma's pay?
people have degree driving taxi. you might not know in the future people with diploma might drive bus as there are too many dip and de holders too few high pay job for them. just take a look at taiwan.
at least at the technicians level... maybe can partner with some MAE or EEE diplomas in the polytechnic.
bus driver...maybe can partner with ITE...
ITE entry level at bus driver, Poly entry level at technicians. career progression from bus driver to technicians.
from entry level technicians to experienced technicians to supervisor of technicians.
after technicians, one level higher should be the controllers at bus interchange.
controllers can be entry level for university graduates with related degree. after the controllers, maybe next level up is working at bus depot control station. so on and so forth.
Well, #justsaying If there is a certain kind of career progression path available, I believe it should make jobs in the bus service industry more attractive to Singaporeans.
Originally posted by JurongWestresident:at least at the technicians level... maybe can partner with some MAE or EEE diplomas in the polytechnic.
bus driver...maybe can partner with ITE...
ITE entry level at bus driver, Poly entry level at technicians. career progression from bus driver to technicians.
from entry level technicians to experienced technicians to supervisor of technicians.
after technicians, one level higher should be the controllers at bus interchange.
controllers can be entry level for university graduates with related degree. after the controllers, maybe next level up is working at bus depot control station. so on and so forth.
Well, #justsaying If there is a certain kind of career progression path available, I believe it should make jobs in the bus service industry more attractive to Singaporeans.
EEE-related degree(?) + Business - Overall IC
EEE diploma - Tech/Senior Tech
ITE - BC/Senior-BC/Tech
Bus Fan - BC
Need a team of Engineers + Business + CASS ppl working in the company, not just Business course...
really ah, I think hor, if want to attract Singaporeans to be bus drivers, one of the best way is to introduce a bus driver course at the ITE and the Polytechnic.
at least bus driver is not like fast food. not any tom, harry or dick can be bus driver. no such thing as part-time driver, right? see? bus driver all full time de. some more there is a certain barrier to entry to be bus driver. must have a certain driving license then can be bus driver.
so, why not have a bus driver course? (instead of some low demand high supply course... shall not say here... but you probably know a few... high cop, no choice then study de... those few...) cop can be set very high..... dont need maths and science also can do.... so long as english or mt good can already....
just curious,
Q: what is the starting salary for a bus driver at entry level?
Haha IMO, only bus fans will love the job of being a BC.
Even ITE/Poly students will look for other better job(eg. retail) with fixed. no of off day, less OTs etc.
Previously when SMRT starts the 2 days off per week rotation scheme,They succeed in recruiting more Singaporeans to work,But ever since they cut back to a day off per week more locals quit..You have to wait till Sunday then you can have Monday off too..Think TT need this style of environment as a start
Multi skilling like what they do in Australia might not work in Singapore. Our environment does not quite have the resources for it.
also in Australia they have casual pools of drivers who can fill shifts at short notice.
In Sydney, drivers are paid A$24 (S$26) per hour and they can choose to work extra hours if they want to earn more money. They typically work about eight hours per shift.
Mr Balkin noted that Sydney has high cost of living and tax rates. There is also a strong union presence. Labour regulations stipulate that the ordinary hours of work should not exceed an average of 38 hours per week, excluding meal breaks.
http://www.todayonline.com/print-edition/am/16-05-2015#page-8
Sydney a proving ground for Spore’s newest bus entrant
Drivers’ benefits: BBQs and presents Transit Systems employs 324 drivers. Of these, nine are full-time female drivers. About 11 per cent — or 35 — of the drivers work part-time. “At present ... most employees are looking for full time employment, but we attempt to provide flexibility within the needs of the business,” said MrBalkin. All their part-time drivers go through the “same comprehensive training programme” as their fulltime counterparts. Mr Sergio Fiorenza, 51, who owns a business, drives the bus part-time. Describing working conditions as “pretty good”, he said: “If you tell them you need to do this on a certain day, then they’ll change your shift, especially if you’re someone who always helps them. It’s a give-and-take, I’ve never had a problem.” He added: “No matter how trivial you think the matter is, if they think you deserve the day off they’ll give it to you.”
SINGAPORE - The new bus contracting model, in which routes are tendered out for operators to bid for, will benefit both commuters and transport workers, Senior Minister of State for Transport Josephine Teo said on Saturday.
"Competition for skills... people to do the jobs will intensify," she said. " From that perspective, we see the bus contracting as providing that opportunity for operators - present and future - to think about how they could step it up to a different level."
With the potential for more players to enter the market, bus companies must not only ensure operations are well run, but also step up their recruitment, staff training and career development, she added.
The inaugural tender under the Government contracting model was awarded to London-based Tower Transit on May 8. The firm beat seven other bidders including incumbents SBS Transit and SMRT.
- ST
JUST MY THOUGHTS..
Will S'poreans consider joining TT? Or any operators? Given that the package will be up for bid every 5years, how to encourage more ppl to join?
Isn't it telling them that you may or may not lose your job in 5 years time. Govt. say they will help to "transfer" them over to new enviroment, but how successful will that be? Different company have different guidelines + salary + standard leh..
Originally posted by wsy1234:In Sydney, drivers are paid A$24 (S$26) per hour and they can choose to work extra hours if they want to earn more money. They typically work about eight hours per shift.
Mr Balkin noted that Sydney has high cost of living and tax rates. There is also a strong union presence. Labour regulations stipulate that the ordinary hours of work should not exceed an average of 38 hours per week, excluding meal breaks.
and sydney bus fares is as below.... each section is around 1.6km... so are you going to pay AUS$4.70 for a 10km journey?
1-2 Section - AUS $2.40
3-5 Section -AUS $3.80
6+ Section - AUS $4.70
based on SBST/SMRT bus fares revenue for 2014, they collected around 1 billion in fare revenue from bus operations..
so based on the current tender price of 115 mil x 12 tenders = 1.38 billion, LTA is going to lose 380 million per year by having this GCM... and this does not even include the cost of building bus depots/buying buses... so how much they are going to increase the fares?
Originally posted by lemon1974:and sydney bus fares is as below.... each section is around 1.6km... so are you going to pay AUS$4.70 for a 10km journey?
1-2 Section - AUS $2.40
3-5 Section -AUS $3.80
6+ Section - AUS $4.70
Or Melbourne's myki fare at A$3.76 (A$3.58 last year) and Adelaide fare at A$3.39 (S$1.84 for distance of a feeder bus).
London's bus fare starts at £1.50 (S$3.11).
Are you ready for S$3 minimum bus fare in 5 years' time?
Originally posted by sgbuses:Or Melbourne's myki fare at A$3.76 (A$3.58 last year) and Adelaide fare at A$3.39 (S$1.84 for distance of a feeder bus).
London's bus fare starts at £1.50 (S$3.11).
Are you ready for S$3 minimum bus fare in 5 years' time?
london price dropped? last time (many years ago) i went i paid £2.00 per trip (flat fare i think).. now SG increase 2 cents ppl already kpkb...
Originally posted by lemon1974:london price dropped? last time (many years ago) i went i paid £2.00 per trip (flat fare i think).. now SG increase 2 cents ppl already kpkb...
Oyster card fare. London Buses doesn't take cash anymore. The cash fare for tram is £2.50 (card fare £1.50).
http://transport.asiaone.com/news/general/story/new-bus-model-raises-hopes-better-service
Some figures to consider from the article: $252,727 per bus per year for the new operator, compared to the current amount of approximately $154,500 per bus per year for the two incumbents.
Originally posted by lemon1974:london price dropped? last time (many years ago) i went i paid £2.00 per trip (flat fare i think).. now SG increase 2 cents ppl already kpkb...
sry lor bo bian we too poor. Maybe Mr lemon1974 here is very rich?
Im also one of those who kpkb about the fare increase because im like other Singaporeans trying to make ends meet and you are here squeezing lemons on us ~ You got money to travel to london then also say SG bus fares are still cheap you are very rich ~ ang mor got money you know how powderful is pounds compared to our currency??
Originally posted by sbst191:sry lor bo bian we too poor. Maybe Mr lemon1974 here is very rich?
Im also one of those who kpkb about the fare increase because im like other Singaporeans trying to make ends meet and you are here squeezing lemons on us ~ You got money to travel to london then also say SG bus fares are still cheap you are very rich ~ ang mor got money you know how powderful is pounds compared to our currency??
Went London because of work. Airfare pay by company. I am not rich. Pls lah. 2 cents increase complain but your eyes does not blink at all when go McDonald's n pay 2.50 for a soft drink or coffee or go Starbucks buy those $5 coffee.
u should go London find a job n earn pounds lah since pound is so powerful. Why stay in Singapore ??
Originally posted by sgbuses:http://transport.asiaone.com/news/general/story/new-bus-model-raises-hopes-better-service
Some figures to consider from the article: $252,727 per bus per year for the new operator, compared to the current amount of approximately $154,500 per bus per year for the two incumbents.
100k per bus x 4000 buses is around 400 million which is close to the estimated $380 subsidy in my earlier post.
Bus arrival time in Singapore is really difficult to control ESP due to traffic condition. So many road work n accidents which can cause buses to get delay. Some buses waiting to right turn at certain junctions take 2-3 traffic light changes to turn. Thus delaying the arrival time.
Originally posted by lemon1974:100k per bus x 4000 buses is around 400 million which is close to the estimated $380 subsidy in my earlier post.
Bus arrival time in Singapore is really difficult to control ESP due to traffic condition. So many road work n accidents which can cause buses to get delay. Some buses waiting to right turn at certain junctions take 2-3 traffic light changes to turn. Thus delaying the arrival time.
London faces the same problem. The solution?
They terminate their journey without warning and kick you off the bus. Oh, and you may have to pay your fare one more time.
So much talk of "best practices" from overseas to be introduced here - I can't wait to see what reaction this entails.