Originally posted by SMB3095S:851, 854, 857 and 860 will be getting DDs soon. These DDs are tested on these services and I saw some E500s entering Yishun Temp Int for testing.
yeyeye.. but now its high time they announce opening of Yishun temp interchange.... both E500 and WEG were seen entering the temp int for testing even in Nov... now that's already 2 months back.
maybe they noticed some issues that time and so opening has gotten delayed. is the bus stop along central ready now?
169 requires 190 treatment ONLY DURING PEAK HOURS
esp Morning peak hours at amk side
Many students left behind at amk int due to 169 deploying O405/MAN A22 and 166 deploy KUB and most of the time pack to the front by first stop
Originally posted by TIB1112L:169 requires 190 treatment ONLY DURING PEAK HOURS
esp Morning peak hours at amk side
Many students left behind at amk int due to 169 deploying O405/MAN A22 and 166 deploy KUB and most of the time pack to the front by first stop
Ya... 169 surely need more high capacity buses... Give it bendies if u have... but drive out those rigids.
I am not saying DDs on 190 is bad... thats a super myopic view. Im just using the example of the E500 on 190 to illustrate why the "still 25% go up is better" is not the way things should be because the "Idont want to climb up" mentality is prevalent in Singapore. I believe the 25% go up part was to DD on 964 in the first place (not 190). Too bad everytime I take an E500 its usually on 190 and so I can only bear reference to incidents I personally encounter.
I have already said before that I support the use of DDs on 190. More than once. Dont believe go read. Im NOT biased against DDs on 190 but YES, I feel bendys are better on 964 than DDs. Its probably you have something against bendys.
Originally posted by randomguy10:I am not saying DDs on 190 is bad... thats a super myopic view. Im just using the example of the E500 on 190 to illustrate why the "still 25% go up is better" is not the way things should be because the "Idont want to climb up" mentality is prevalent in Singapore. I believe the 25% go up part was to DD on 964 in the first place (not 190). Too bad everytime I take an E500 its usually on 190 and so I can only bear reference to incidents I personally encounter.
I have already said before that I support the use of DDs on 190. More than once. Dont believe go read. Im NOT biased against DDs on 190 but YES, I feel bendys are better on 964 than DDs. Its probably you have something against bendys.
Excuse me, I don't mind bendies nor DDs but I don't like the way the PTOs are using it. It is not good if they think DDs can solve all the problem. It is not a one-size fit all. There is still way too many rigids on 190.
Yes it has some issues when buses entering Yishun Temp on Nov. But now, I always see buses entering Yishun Temp for testing and I can see that there are no issues when buses entering Yishun Temp as of now. So the temp will likely to open soon since the buses always enter the temp int. Maybe Yishun will use most of the E500 5000X series buses. KJDEP will receive more Enviros as of now. WPDEP will receive more Enviros in the next round later, because of the delay of Yishun Temp.
Yishun Temporary Bus Interchange will open on 15 March 2015.
What issue?Go height barrier?Narrow turns?All looks ok to me leh.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Expected. sv 187 has extremely high loading... yet very very few high capacity buses... smrt everyday lose so much revenue on sv 187... even at Lakeside MRT stop, you will see pax cannot board sv 187... already full... those who want to go beyond JE Ave 1... will cramp into bus... others just take 98.
Not enough DDs to play around,This SMRT also play wait n see games..hoping for LTA to add more DDs to the fleets
in case if anyone here wants to catch 3559 on 187
1715hrs at blk 441 bus-stop along jurong west ave 1 twrds Woodlands (weekdays)
not sure about weekends
Originally posted by azharjj:in case if anyone here wants to catch 3559 on 187
not sure about weekends
Want crowding, would be in the afternoon timing, 1245hr from WRI... ![]()
SMB3567Y, SMB3571J & SMB5012T have blue-tinted upperdeck windscreen... Accidental mix during production...
Originally posted by TIB1234T:SMB3567Y, SMB3571J & SMB5012T have blue-tinted upperdeck windscreen... Accidental mix during production...
Do the original windows have any color tint? And which operator they mixed up with?
27 Jan 2014
SMB5027B[Split] + SMB3567Y - 964..5027B replaces bendy/SD(likely), whereas the back MAN replaces an bendy/SD(likely too)..
Order - 5027B > MAN > 3567Y
For people who complain, My question would be how many of them even bother going to upper deck when a DD appears? LTA also can only that much mah. rest really depends on the people
Originally posted by randomguy10:For people who complain, My question would be how many of them even bother going to upper deck when a DD appears? LTA also can only that much mah. rest really depends on the people
It is all about habit and getting used to. You will be surprised to see how many ppl go to upper deck on Sv 72 at HG MRT just for few stops to HG ave 9. Likewise with Sv 45A in am from Lor Ah Soo to Serangoon. Just 4 stops, but last time I saw upper deck had around 30/35 pax. same for 13A.
all these SWT has DDs deployed bcoz they ferry more pax compared to KUB and def much more than Citaro. Suggest u see in SBST strong holds.. Ppl not that lazy. Will change in woodlands also once ppl get used to DDs.
Question is how many trips you see ppl going up for these short svc,Out of 5 darn trips i see only a couple the most,Thats it if they miss the first bus..LPPL
not sure about weekends
4.20/4.30pm will reach Opp Jurong Polyclinic bus stop... (twrds Boon Lay)
Hmm i must say for Sv 72, there are more trips where bus is full with quite a substantial space on upper deck. I see it quite often at HG Central. For 45A and 13A I not sure. But for 72, DDs are still necessary because people from tampines sure go up if they travel to hougang.
It would be good to introduce a Full Day SWT 72M between HG Central and YCK road Blk 953 just like 43M. Can operate full fleet SD for 72M.
Originally posted by randomguy10:Hmm i must say for Sv 72, there are more trips where bus is full with quite a substantial space on upper deck. I see it quite often at HG Central. For 45A and 13A I not sure. But for 72, DDs are still necessary because people from tampines sure go up if they travel to hougang.
It would be good to introduce a Full Day SWT 72M between HG Central and YCK road Blk 953 just like 43M. Can operate full fleet SD for 72M.
Not needed la... sv 72 already has very good frequency... and managing the load very well after so many buses added... AM/PM peak... full upper deck... during off-peak even lower deck not full... so upper deck not good to judge as well.
As I said, there is a reason why DDs ply on SWTs that have just 3-4 stops including 13A, 45A, 72B because at the end DDs still carry more pax than what a SD does and helps clear load at bus stops.
Also people have problem with DDs on sv 225G. Please see at Bedok interchange, how when a DD comes the queue goes empty, while with KUB, queue still has 10-15 pax left. This only shows whether upper deck full or not, DD still takes in more pax, effectively clearing loads at interchange.
Originally posted by SBS9C:Do the original windows have any color tint? And which operator they mixed up with?
No, dun have... so far almost all i see is the normal windscreen like the one at lowerdeck except that 3, but there might be more...
Suspect is accidental mix up with HK ones during production... Could have been mixed up with MTR E500MMC...
Last year, the MTR Batch 1 E500MMC has blue-tinted windscreen for all, then their recent Batch 2 came in with the same normal windscreen as our SMRT E500MMCs, when 1 or 2 of Batch 2 were blue-tinted...
not sure about weekends
another timing for that bus-stop is 2037hrs
Month of Feb should see deployment of E500s in a big way.