Originally posted by iveco:Your reply seems to hint that you know little about the events of 1999. Maybe you weren't even born then. I was a teenager about to complete my secondary education and get drafted to the army that year, so I remember heaps. Tibs, the operator of bendy buses, were made to hand back SKG and PGL to SBS, in exchange for CCK and BBT when the latter won the NEL tender, which I suspect was rigged by Potong Pasir reject Mah Bow Tan, then transport minister. If that didn't take place, it is very likely the Habit bendies would have been deployed on routes 864 & 865 in large numbers.
OT, Mr MBT used to be one of the board directors of SBS
Originally posted by Acx1688:OT, Mr MBT used to be one of the board directors of SBS
no wonder the public transport system in a mess. under MBT alway talk about answer to the share holders first before anyone else when people asking him to improve the public transport operartion, that when MBT was a transport minister and also this raymond lim was another answer to share holder minister. until WP win big then both "get sacked" from bringing transport minister.
Originally posted by wsy1234:no wonder the public transport system in a mess. under MBT alway talk about answer to the share holders first before anyone else when people asking him to improve the public transport operartion, that when MBT was a transport minister and also this raymond lim was another answer to share holder minister. until WP win big then both "get sacked" from bringing transport minister.
Our housing (HDB) is also screwed up by the same guy. Buy less buses bulid less lines inflated population.
Totally agreed,The old horse already cock up and the replacement is talk cock paper general..LTY is enough already,Have to answer to shareholders,Who is the biggest shareholders by the way?He get very "popular" with motorists already,Thanks to him COE range from 60-75k on average and even dont sparred motorcyclists,COE for motorbikes from $100+ to $6200 now...
KMB ATENU474 & 475 are registered yesterday. Probably ATENU474 is the 1st E500MMC in the world to be fitted with Voith gearbox, likewise for 475 the 2nd. Another thing to note is, ATENU474 doesn't have the 4 brakelight sticks at the rear...
SMB3584Y on 67 today >> KJ BSEP
Hinting 187 going to be partial BU next time? SMB3558Z from 61 pulled to 187 yesterday... It's either pulled from BBT downrt 187 or BU and start from BNL Int...
Originally posted by TIB1234T:Hinting 187 going to be partial BU next time? SMB3558Z from 61 pulled to 187 yesterday... It's either pulled from BBT downrt 187 or BU and start from BNL Int...
Not really sure but as far as i know Kjdep and Wldep always do epull using each other buses from last time..But if really Bulim part control then its good news cause the last 3 buses from WRI can deploy Budep buses.178,176 & 963 all can minor Budep control..
Originally posted by carbikebus:Not really sure but as far as i know Kjdep and Wldep always do epull using each other buses from last time..But if really Bulim part control then its good news cause the last 3 buses from WRI can deploy Budep buses.178,176 & 963 all can minor Budep control..
Those slots that always have the tendency of downrt halfway, say BBT, can be partial from BU... Like you said, no need waste time, waste fuel, waste energy... More efficient...
169 better to be under SBST. Confirm majority DD fleet.
Anyway, Senoko also has 856 plying right?
Originally posted by iveco:169 better to be under SBST. Confirm majority DD fleet.
Senoko has 856/981
Admiralty Rd West has 169/856/981
Originally posted by iveco:169 better to be under SBST. Confirm majority DD fleet.
I don't think that 169 will be under SBST as SMRT will still continue deloying DD.
Sorry, I rather it to be under SMRT. Mixture of DD n Bendy.
169 staring point is at Woodlands not Ang Mo Kio,Unless the Woodlands GCM is won by SBST then itsdifferentstory
SMB3540Z - 169
Trip : 8:35pm from WRI
Situation : Slightly lesser pax, but still got ppl rather stand at lower deck than going up. But in this case, those standing are alighting at 3rd Stop. Left about 6-8 pax standing at lower deck.
Overall : This trip is suitable for DD.
Seats @ 8:35PM :
Lower deck - 95% FULL
Upper deck - Rather EMPTY
Compare with 7:25PM :
Lower Deck - 95% FULL + Foreign Workers + Residents standing
Upper Deck - Rather EMPTY(Like the one in the picture)

Originally posted by TIB429E:SMB3540Z - 169
Trip : 8:35pm from WRI
Situation : Slightly lesser pax, but still got ppl rather stand at lower deck than going up. But in this case, those standing are alighting at 3rd Stop. Left about 6-8 pax standing at lower deck.
Overall : This trip is suitable for DD.Seats @ 8:35PM :
Lower deck - 95% FULL
Upper deck - Rather EMPTY
Compare with 7:25PM :
Lower Deck - 95% FULL + Foreign Workers + Residents standing
Upper Deck - Rather EMPTY(Like the one in the picture)
encounter this before while on 3504D on 190...coz many of those who boarded at CCK INT or Lot 1 only took till teck whye, so most did not go to the upper deck..
But then this is not true for 190 coming from NBR
Aiyo this is Singapore mah..You put whatever great things also ppl not happy not satisfied,As for PTO to deploy those DDs,their job is done..You wanna stay or camp at lower deck then its your business.
Originally posted by SMB42P:
encounter this before while on 3504D on 190...coz many of those who boarded at CCK INT or Lot 1 only took till teck whye, so most did not go to the upper deck..But then this is not true for 190 coming from NBR
At least that I have yet to see BC asking pax to move up @ Int..
But for 169, I have honestly witnessed it because there are more pax unable to board and the lower deck is full.(Yes upper deck rather empty)
Originally posted by TIB429E:At least that I have yet to see BC asking pax to move up @ Int..
But for 169, I have honestly witnessed it because there are more pax unable to board and the lower deck is full.(Yes upper deck rather empty)
for the case of 190 i mentioned, BC just dun care..once he sees cannot board liao he just close door and drove off...a few passengers couldnt board...i think he also lazy ask ppl move up...haha!
Yeah this is Singapore, we cant do much! So many of our bus routes (excluding those with express sectors) are more suited for bendys than DDs simply because of the number of busstops along the route. General public chooses to take bus to MRT station and transfer and DDs really lay over for quite long. But this is Singapore, we cant afford to use so many bendys with the land constraints that we have.
So according to PTOs, when people complain cant board, they just throw in DD and the ball is back to the public's court as to whether they want to go up or not. But either way, they cant complain the PTO is not doing its job properly. So the solution? Its obvious, we cant move to having more bendys on the roads, so the choice will be to design bus trunk routes that suit DDs like those in HK so that the DDs are used properly and not just there for show that the PTOs have done their part. Feeders to provide linkage to MRT for people who prefer MRT comuting and trunk routes as alternatives to MRT for people who prefer bus. This will probably take ages or may never ever happen unless someone takes a bold step forward. Its the sad reality.
Till then, just live with it. Even though the DD is quite empty on top, it still carries more people than a SD and so its still better because you cant use so many bendys on our roads. Its because 169 has bendys as well that people can do this comparison and say bendy is better etc. So many SBST services also go this issue but we never had a direct comparison so people just live with it. Atleast I still do respect SMRT for seeing the use in bendys for their feeders and still purchasing new units for their feeders as opposed to SBST which is just throwing in DDs to show they have done their job.
Woodlands, I doubt will leave the hands of SMRT even in GCM. So many bendys over there...
Originally posted by randomguy10:Yeah this is Singapore, we cant do much! So many of our bus routes (excluding those with express sectors) are more suited for bendys than DDs simply because of the number of busstops along the route. General public chooses to take bus to MRT station and transfer and DDs really lay over for quite long. But this is Singapore, we cant afford to use so many bendys with the land constraints that we have.
So according to PTOs, when people complain cant board, they just throw in DD and the ball is back to the public's court as to whether they want to go up or not. But either way, they cant complain the PTO is not doing its job properly. So the solution? Its obvious, we cant move to having more bendys on the roads, so the choice will be to design bus trunk routes that suit DDs like those in HK so that the DDs are used properly and not just there for show that the PTOs have done their part. Feeders to provide linkage to MRT for people who prefer MRT comuting and trunk routes as alternatives to MRT for people who prefer bus. This will probably take ages or may never ever happen unless someone takes a bold step forward. Its the sad reality.
Till then, just live with it. Even though the DD is quite empty on top, it still carries more people than a SD and so its still better because you cant use so many bendys on our roads. Its because 169 has bendys as well that people can do this comparison and say bendy is better etc. So many SBST services also go this issue but we never had a direct comparison so people just live with it. Atleast I still do respect SMRT for seeing the use in bendys for their feeders and still purchasing new units for their feeders as opposed to SBST which is just throwing in DDs to show they have done their job.
Woodlands, I doubt will leave the hands of SMRT even in GCM. So many bendys over there...
If you observe, it is only people in SMRT area that complain about DDs. It is because they are not used to them yet, which is understandable. On SBST side, I have also posted many pics to show how the smallest feeder route 225 has DDs... and has full upper deck when it leaves interchange during PM peak.
Last week, I had another observation: sv 45 DD at Tanah Merah MRT towards UEC Terminal had almost full upper deck. Around 45-50 pax boarded at TNM MRT and many many of them went to upper deck. If you see, its only 4 stops from there to terminating point.
Give it some more time, you will see upper decks getting better utilized for short distance also.
Will 67 & 960 get banned aft an incident on a 960 DD yesterday?
A 960 DD hit a tree on the side along Newton, shattering top left 1st & last windows... DD suffered dents and scratched on the front topside... Roofsides, i believe much more serious if the tree protrued a bit more and that's it!
I believe last time i mentioned before, things like this, waiting for accident to happen even if NParks/LTA/3rd party thinks it's passable and gave green light... Can't everything blame it on BC in such case, should be the one who's incharge and gave green light... If complained, they will close one eye until something really happen then they play blame game! ![]()
Originally posted by TIB1234T:Will 67 & 960 get banned aft an incident on a 960 DD yesterday?
A 960 DD hit a tree on the side along Newton, shattering top left 1st & last windows... DD suffered dents and scratched on the front topside... Roofsides, i believe much more serious if the tree protrued a bit more and that's it!
I believe last time i mentioned before, things like this, waiting for accident to happen even if NParks/LTA/3rd party thinks it's passable and gave green light... Can't everything blame it on BC in such case, should be the one who's incharge and gave green light... If complained, they will close one eye until something really happen then they play blame game!
They need to get better at pruning the branches. This is very common these days. Even roads such as Mountbatten road having huge number of DDs on 12, 14, 196 have tree branches not cut and many times they hit the upper deck. Some slacking in work here.
Newton one is damm jialat cause first time DDs ply there,Henderson also must take note,Later one case happen who is to blame?
SMRT Service Enhancement Deployment of Double Deck
67:
- 2 buses in Feb 2015 : SMB3546H SMB3572G
- 3 buses in Mar 2015 : SMB5037Y SMB5038U SMB5039S
- 1 bus in Apr 2015 : SMB3575Z
188:
- 2 buses in Sep 2014 : SMB3522B SMB3533U
- 1 bus in Oct 2014 : SMB5015H
- 2 buses in Nov 2014 : SMB5016H SMB5017E
190:
- 3 buses in Aug 2014 : SMB3504D SMB3505B SMB3506Z
- 4 buses in Oct 2014 : SMB5003U SMB5006L SMB5007J SMB5010Z