Haha actually no need argue so much. So far, SMRT has been doing a good job in purchasing those DDs and putting them on their trunk services. Especially Services like 190, 857, 963 and 966 have improved greatly from the past where they had crowd management issues.
In my own opinion, I would really like to see Bendys being used on Feeder services and especially those short haul feeder services because the efficiency of bendys in those areas cant be denied. Take Sercice 804 and you can see it (Or go see the youbtube videos of A24 on 804). I stay in a SBST area and I do find it frustrating when people crowd the lower deck and I cant board even though the upper deck is so empty, for feeder routes. Which is a reason why I prefer AMDEP's operation of 265, 268 with 3-4mins frequency and all SD.
BUT, yes, we are a small country and space is important too. Simply saving space and overlooking the benefits to the publics is not wise and similarly using bendys where DDs can do a better job and simultaneously save sapce is not wise too (which is one reason why I cant understand why SMRT chooses to perm A24s on 851,854 etc). No point arguing to see DDs or Bendys just because of personal preferences.
If you want more people to patronise the upper deck of a DD even on feeders, its actually pretty easy. No need for 12.5m 3-axle etc. Just need to deploy staff on the ground to encourage people to go up and over time, the habit should stick (I can see it working for SMRT trunks). The 12.5m 3-axle only improves alighting efficiency but not necessarily encourage more people to go up.
But we are an ageing population and it will be quite contradictory to have purchased low floor buses, only to make people climb more steps to the upper deck even for short distances. There will come a time in future when the number of seats just in the lower deck wont be sufficient to seat all the older citizens and some will be forced to go up or stand. So these are things that LTA will need to take into consideration before making the right decisions that benefit the people as a whole.
Originally posted by SMB145B:but is 80 A24s enough? there could be E50s to fill in the gaps.
80 is confirm enough, with the current BSEP A22s adding in. I would say that the quantity will never be over 100.
DD for 963/966/969 is simply excellence. Perhaps SMRT might consider ordering more A95s for these svces.
It's a sad and pity that svc like 172/180/184 still have not get DD. Same goes for 854.
Originally posted by SMB1333T:315 HGDEP bro...
was just borrowing 315 as example.
on the other hand, 119 is ...
Originally posted by TIB429E:DD for 963/966/969 is simply excellence. Perhaps SMRT might consider ordering more A95s for these svces.
It's a sad and pity that svc like 172/180/184 still have not get DD. Same goes for 854.
851 has no DDs given its WAB svc status.
190 in the past was full DD about 30 buses, then under SBS. when Tibs took over, bendies took their place as they do not have DDs yet.
right now 184 is more towards 179. 179 only has NTU and NIE pax while 184 has SIM, NP and Maju camp pax
Originally posted by SMB145B:190 in the past was full DD about 30 buses, then under SBS. when Tibs took over, bendies took their place as they do not have DDs yet.
right now 184 is more towards 179. 179 only has NTU and NIE pax while 184 has SIM, NP and Maju camp pax
184 better with bendy since so many alight/board at clementi. 189 can get few dd. 75 also.
Originally posted by proudtobeme:184 better with bendy since so many alight/board at clementi. 189 can get few dd. 75 also.
I would like to see DDs especially for medium and long haul trunk svc..
Originally posted by proudtobeme:184 better with bendy since so many alight/board at clementi. 189 can get few dd. 75 also.
184/189 both should have got BSEP add but haven't. Very strange. Same with 172/180. 75 has BSEP add. If LTA wanted, would have given DD already to 75. Does the loading warrant DDs? Maybe not. The high loading comes between Cashew and Ngee Ann, but since 184 is there to complement, I think those who miss 75 can take 184, unless they have to go further to Ullu Pandan, Holland.
True 184 is better with bendy buses. But then, I would increase the capacity since there's plenty of students boarding it until BPJ.
Need not have faster boarding/alighting for them since the higher demand usually comes from opposite NP bus stop ; whereas those from NP bus stop got 184 and their shuttle bus alternatives(means there's not a need to go upper deck for students taking 184).
Plus, Clementi forever gets jam with all the taxis, cars stopping here and there. Should have created some indicators to tell the 3rd bus to "cut-in" at the very first spot in the bus bay.
giving 902 DDs is like can clear but will have heavy unloading; give it full bendy, int tak boleh tahan.
now at 184: bendies okay, let say replace bendies with DDs, will it be like 72/72B?
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:184/189 both should have got BSEP add but haven't. Very strange. Same with 172/180. 75 has BSEP add. If LTA wanted, would have given DD already to 75. Does the loading warrant DDs? Maybe not. The high loading comes between Cashew and Ngee Ann, but since 184 is there to complement, I think those who miss 75 can take 184, unless they have to go further to Ullu Pandan, Holland.
if 184 had BSEP add, it could have A22s or E50s. A22s cannot handle the load. If giving it some E50s in between the A24s/O405Gs, that may be the case.
Given the current route of 184, bendys are better. If wanna use DD, should let the bus terminate at Clementi and then use the staff there to encourage ppl to go to the upper deck. Similar to what happens to 179 but I clementi interchange is quite unlikely to be able to support it.
189 going over to TT anyway right. Most likely will get DD after the handover but dont need so many. The old 189 route could have justified more DDs but the current route is pretty short.
189 proved sucessful with DDs during SBS time and why DDs arent suitable?SMRT itself already declared that they will use DD for trunk service and the bendy you still see is because there arent enough DDs to play around..accept the truth leh..Big Boss LTA next year doesnt favour bendy for trunk svc..You dont believe me just see and watch next year..
I will never agree 902 use DD, 1 bus stop, 3 mins away only, i reckon use bendy, the frequency would be better.
My experience at Clementi
9489R took almost 10 mins to clear tat bus stop, Bus in front was 184 bendy, took less than 5 mins to clear that bus stop
reason: Almost all the upper deck alighted there, Then a whole bunch of NP or SIM students boarding 154 until upper deck is totally full and lower deck is packed to the door. By the time, 1392Y came behind, take pax and leave that area leaving 9489R behind
Originally posted by randomguy10:Given the current route of 184, bendys are better. If wanna use DD, should let the bus terminate at Clementi and then use the staff there to encourage ppl to go to the upper deck. Similar to what happens to 179 but I clementi interchange is quite unlikely to be able to support it.
189 going over to TT anyway right. Most likely will get DD after the handover but dont need so many. The old 189 route could have justified more DDs but the current route is pretty short.
in the 1st place, is clementi avenue 1 suitable for DD to ply?
Originally posted by TIB 585L:I will never agree 902 use DD, 1 bus stop, 3 mins away only, i reckon use bendy, the frequency would be better.
My experience at Clementi
9489R took almost 10 mins to clear tat bus stop, Bus in front was 184 bendy, took less than 5 mins to clear that bus stop
reason: Almost all the upper deck alighted there, Then a whole bunch of NP or SIM students boarding 154 until upper deck is totally full and lower deck is packed to the door. By the time, 1392Y came behind, take pax and leave that area leaving 9489R behind
Yes, similarly, at the NP and SIM bus stops, the SBS double deckers are actually causing the jams, the bendies actually take less than half the time to clear a full load. In fact in this case, due to the large percentage of students, and the nature of the schools' timetables, more often than not, most passengers alight from the buses, and are replaced by a fresh batch of passengers.
It is actually very easy to visualise the passenger flow. On a bendy or 12 metre bus, passengers head from where they are standing or seating to the nearest door, and due to the way the buses are designed and where their doors are positioned, the distance they need to do so is typically shorter than that of the lower deck of a double decker. On top of that, there is a choke point on the double deck where passengers wanting to head upstairs or to the back of the lower deck will have to wait for passengers coming from the upper deck, who expectedly are the passengers who take the longest amount of time to disembark. On a bendy, there may be a short wait for the people at the doors to alight, but that is significantly shorter than the choke point situation on the double deck.
If DDs causing the jams then you should take note how many pax the DDs had vs the bendy have..Ridiculous statement.How many SBST svc there vs SMRT svc.5 mins apart DD vs Bendy sure or not?
Two-way stairs would eliminate the need for boarding pax who wish to head to the upper deck to wait for the alighting pax from the upper deck.
Originally posted by carbikebus:If DDs causing the jams then you should take note how many pax the DDs had vs the bendy have..Ridiculous statement.How many SBST svc there vs SMRT svc.5 mins apart DD vs Bendy sure or not?
The capacity of the E50s and the A24s are the same.
Originally posted by SMB145B:The capacity of the E50s and the A24s are the same.
in theory, it is the same.. but do u really see 80 standees in a bendy?
same go for the MRT carriage which they say can carry 300 person each carriage....
Originally posted by randomguy10:Given the current route of 184, bendys are better. If wanna use DD, should let the bus terminate at Clementi and then use the staff there to encourage ppl to go to the upper deck. Similar to what happens to 179 but I clementi interchange is quite unlikely to be able to support it.
The current route of 189 is also quite packed between Clementi and Bukit Batok. Yes has lost its heavy loading between West Coast and Clementi. Still need more high capacity buses.
Originally posted by iveco:in the 1st place, is clementi avenue 1 suitable for DD to ply?
Yes for sure.
In our kiasu society do you all really think there is 70-80 standees in a bendy buses??