Originally posted by TIB868X:Some people need to wake up and smell the coffee, and accept the facts about the future of bendy buses here. All of you can argue until your faces turn blue, LTA isn't buying bendy buses anytime soon.
If you have seen and understood my post, you'd have realise that a) I support the use of bendies, b) I recognise the fact that LTA isn't really looking into bendies and c) I support a measured use of different types of buses, including double deckers and bendies.
The problem with this discourse and that of many other in Singapore is that people tend to want an extreme yes or no answer, without any compromise. We don't need responses like "SMRT should replace all of their A24 on order with double decks" like a certain member has repeatedly done so, which has not helped the quality of the argument. You also have to realise that this is a forum, and not a meeting to decide on company direction/investment decision/etc, and everyone has a choice to make their own argument about different possibilities based on a wider range of probabilities (so long as it remains civil), instead of just brushing people off.
The lack of compromise and a rush to fix self inflicted problems is also the exact reason why things have not been improving in quite a lot of issues in this country. This brings me to the part of my post which states that even though LTA is unlikely to change their stance on bendy buses, I had made it a point to show what can go wrong. And on that subject matter itself, I am holding a "time will tell" stance, which may be different from another person's (such as your's) stance.
2c worth,
All refer to official press release last year, which i repeated
DDs for city services, bendies for feeder
As most of the DDs r almost registered, wait for official press release for fleet enhancement...
Originally posted by TIB429E:Regardless of Singapore size...don't be bothered by it lah...
If they are interested in PT sector, they would have done like what they did to our Airport..or even introduce 10.4m/11.3m etc.
I would say they most likely target 65% SDs, 25% DDs, 10% Bendy...
50% Rigids, 45% DDs and 5% bendies
Originally posted by carbikebus:Still living in your world of fantasy,Wake up and accept the facts on why LTA doesnt want to buy bendy buses first then you can come and explain to us on the disadvantages of our bus infrastructure first,Come i challenge every single one of you insist that bendy buses is faster..
Who's the one living in the world of fantasy sia...
Wake up your bloody ideas la bro, you know very bloody well how HK bus system runs what...
That's why they could even justify the use of zero bendies!
I'm here to slap u awake ah, in "land-scarce" and "time-precious" SG there could only be TWO choices: Either you introduce more point-to-point express svcs and scrap the bendies, or you retain the current infrastructure, and quit complaining about how bendies is occupying half your car space!
It is clearly UNFEASIBLE and nearly IMPOSSIBLE to sustain DDs on feeders and intratowns in the long run, DDs just aren't designed for this purpose! Just like how bendies aren't designed to ply busy roads! Oh yah, I'm sorry hor, I know u last time drive bendies mah, only know how to kpkb and change to DDs, got think about how much travel time will be added?
My point being, if there are going to be no bendies, I'd rather feeders and intratowns be used to merely get to town centre, but intro more express in the neighbourhood itself to popular destinations! In other words, scrap current hub-and-spoke!
Sorry lah hor, I know you like to bootlick LTA a lot, want to save land space but thinks that there doesn't need to be a compromise somewhere...
You see this is why SG PT still isn't the "world-class" transport as described by the gvmt!
Oh and who are you to force me to accept the "realities of no bendies" first? I want talk about bus infra tgt cannot ah? Just that you are too ignorant to recognise that I did not bring the both together for no reason! The type of routes you intro will automatically mean the need to determine the best type of buses to use what, this is common sense!!
And I tell you here now, I will only accept it if LTA shows some sincerity in really making journeys faster and providing more choice! Introducing more and MORE feeders with problematic DDs and forcing ppl to walk and transfer to the even more problematic MRT is definitely not sincerity!
u want bendies so much go work for LTA lah
Then at least don't discuss about articulated buses in a topic about double-deck buses. Do all the articulated bus discussions in the A24 thread. What is that topic for?
Originally posted by SMB128B:Who's the one living in the world of fantasy sia...
Wake up your bloody ideas la bro, you know very bloody well how HK bus system runs what...
I'm here to slap u awake ah, in "land-scarce" and "time-precious" SG there could only be TWO choices: Either you introduce more point-to-point express svcs and scrap the bendies, or you retain the current infrastructure, and quit complaining about how bendies is occupying half your car space!
It is clearly UNFEASIBLE and nearly IMPOSSIBLE to sustain DDs on feeders and intratowns in the long run, DDs just aren't designed for this purpose! Just like how bendies aren't designed to ply busy roads! Oh yah, I'm sorry hor, I know u last time drive bendies mah, only know how to kpkb and change to DDs, got think about how much travel time will be added?
My point being, if there are going to be no bendies, I'd rather feeders and intratowns be used to merely get to town centre, but intro more express in the neighbourhood itself to popular destinations! In other words, scrap current hub-and-spoke!
Sorry lah hor, I know you like to bootlick LTA a lot, want to save land space but thinks that there doesn't need to be a compromise somewhere...
You see this is why SG PT still isn't the "world-class" transport as described by the gvmt!
Oh and who are you to force me to accept the "realities of no bendies" first? I want talk about bus infra tgt cannot ah? Just that you are too ignorant to recognise that I did not bring the both together for no reason! The type of routes you intro will automatically mean the need to determine the best type of buses to use what, this is common sense!!
And I tell you here now, I will only accept it if LTA shows some sincerity in really making journeys faster and providing more choice! Introducing more and MORE feeders with problematic DDs and forcing ppl to walk and transfer to the even more problematic MRT is definitely not sincerity!
I am sorry but I get really mad when I read such posts.
If SG public transport is not world class, tell me which one is?? We have one of the best public transports in the world..
Originally posted by SMB145B:50% Rigids, 45% DDs and 5% bendies
I think in future it will be 50% SDs, 50% DDs... Sadly post 2020, I don't think we will see any bendies in SG.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I think in future it will be 50% SDs, 50% DDs... Sadly post 2020, I don't think we will see any bendies in SG.
you mean the A24s are gone and replaced with DDs (E50s/A39s)?
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I am sorry but I get really mad when I read such posts.
If SG public transport is not world class, tell me which one is?? We have one of the best public transports in the world..
They are too pampered already. No wab bus complain. No aircon also complain. Wait a few min longer also complain. No new bus also complain. Ask them go stay in jb n experience their public transport. No direct bus service also complain. Ask to introduce more express service from neighborhood to town? So sengkang need 4-5 express services from different neighborhood to town? Or just one with long winded route in sengkang (just like 518) before hitting expressway?
Originally posted by SMB128B:Who's the one living in the world of fantasy sia...
I will slap you first before you could even blink your bloody eyes..If Sg is not one of the best then which category do we fall in?Wake your bloody ideas and dont talk cock about your HK bus system here,Accept the fact that Sg is what we are and HK is what are they are..If you really wanna bendy for any other routes then you directly join LTA and see what is happening there and the planning of future Transportation..
Originally posted by lemon1974:They are too pampered already. No wab bus complain. No aircon also complain. Wait a few min longer also complain. No new bus also complain. Ask them go stay in jb n experience their public transport. No direct bus service also complain. Ask to introduce more express service from neighborhood to town? So sengkang need 4-5 express services from different neighborhood to town? Or just one with long winded route in sengkang (just like 518) before hitting expressway?
Those kids hardly taste hardship before unlike those pre 70s/80s kids..Nowaday not happy only post online to express their unhappiness without thinking of what is happening.Kids nowaday are really spoilt to the extend that they even have the cheek to sue own family
Originally posted by carbikebus:I will slap you first before you could even blink your bloody eyes..If Sg is not one of the best then which category do we fall in?Wake your bloody ideas and dont talk cock about your HK bus system here,Accept the fact that Sg is what we are and HK is what are they are..If you really wanna bendy for any other routes then you directly join LTA and see what is happening there and the planning of future Transportation..
To add to it.. HK has no great public transport... the MTR routes there are always crowded... heavy traffic jams at tunnel always cause delays in buses... the MTR routes between Kowloon and HK also not planned well.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:To add to it.. HK has no great public transport... the MTR routes there are always crowded... heavy traffic jams at tunnel always cause delays in buses... the MTR routes between Kowloon and HK also not planned well.
Not planned well??
Originally posted by SMB128B:Not planned well??
YES... and you haven't answered my question.. If you say SG is not world class public transport, WHICH COUNTRY is???
London, United Kingdom.
In my opinion, I feel that London is our role model. :)
Ignore the recent service disruption at London. That one is due to welfare issues, not technical issues.
In terms of bus and train, I think London is ahead of everyone.
Part 2 ... continued here
If bendys are restricted to be used in just feeder/intratown services and selected short trunk services (184, 962, 964), together with SDs, the number of bendy buses in Singapore will still be well below the maximum number of bendy buses SMRT ever had. No one ever spoke of increasing the bendy population in Singapore and we all know Singapore cannot sustain a growing bendy infrastructure. Its just use where it is needed.
LTA has not purchased any bendy buses under BSEP but neither has it openly said no more bendy buses. LTA's moves can be used as evidence, I dont deny, but they are still just assumptions and LTA wont be stupid enough to be totally blind to the performance on Feeders. The very reason of insufficient space in the depots with the old O405Gs around could be the reason why LTA hasnt ordered Bendys.
I would say London PT is world-class and HK is still ahead of Singapore. Singapore has modern buses, I dont deny, but PTOs have not mastered to use the right type of buses on the right services. I know these 2 cities have 0 bendy buses but please look at the bus infrastructure in those cities before talking. Also, the people supporting the use of bendy buses are not blindly saying bendys must stay in Singapore. We are merely saying that the type of buses used in the city must suit the bus infrastructure.
If wanna go to SD and DD only, LTA has to relook at the bus routes. Is either design routes that suit DDs or get the correct type of buses to suit the routes being planned. Spamming DDs and keeping our existing routes is just gonna bring our public transport further away from worldclass system, which is why I will say BSEP is only partially successful.
Originally posted by SMB145B:50% Rigids, 45% DDs and 5% bendies
Rigids and DD won't be that close for sure...
It's rather 60% Rigids, 35% DDs (on whole scale). Don't forget that there's a need to deploy buses during train disruptions, plus LTA will tend to introduce more SDs route under BSEP.
Originally posted by randomguy10:If bendys are restricted to be used in just feeder/intratown services and selected short trunk services (184, 962, 964), together with SDs, the number of bendy buses in Singapore will still be well below the maximum number of bendy buses SMRT ever had. No one ever spoke of increasing the bendy population in Singapore and we all know Singapore cannot sustain a growing bendy infrastructure. Its just use where it is needed.
LTA has not purchased any bendy buses under BSEP but neither has it openly said no more bendy buses. LTA's moves can be used as evidence, I dont deny, but they are still just assumptions and LTA wont be stupid enough to be totally blind to the performance on Feeders. The very reason of insufficient space in the depots with the old O405Gs around could be the reason why LTA hasnt ordered Bendys.
I would say London PT is world-class and HK is still ahead of Singapore. Singapore has modern buses, I dont deny, but PTOs have not mastered to use the right type of buses on the right services. I know these 2 cities have 0 bendy buses but please look at the bus infrastructure in those cities before talking. Also, the people supporting the use of bendy buses are not blindly saying bendys must stay in Singapore. We are merely saying that the type of buses used in the city must suit the bus infrastructure.
If wanna go to SD and DD only, LTA has to relook at the bus routes. Is either design routes that suit DDs or get the correct type of buses to suit the routes being planned. Spamming DDs and keeping our existing routes is just gonna bring our public transport further away from worldclass system, which is why I will say BSEP is only partially successful.
That is why pray hard that SMRT would buy at least another 40-50 more A24s and they have till middle of next year to decide.